Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 559 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: After Kick-Ass' insane bravery inspires a new wave of self-made masked crusaders, led by the badass Colonel Stars and Stripes, our hero joins them on patrol. When these amateur superheroes are hunted down by Red Mist -- reborn as The Mother F%&*^r -- only the blade-wielding Hit Girl canAfter Kick-Ass' insane bravery inspires a new wave of self-made masked crusaders, led by the badass Colonel Stars and Stripes, our hero joins them on patrol. When these amateur superheroes are hunted down by Red Mist -- reborn as The Mother F%&*^r -- only the blade-wielding Hit Girl can prevent their annihilation. When we last saw junior assassin Hit Girl and young vigilante Kick-Ass, they were trying to live as normal teenagers Mindy and Dave. With graduation looming and uncertain what to do, Dave decides to start the world's first superhero team with Mindy. Unfortunately, when Mindy is busted for sneaking out as Hit Girl, she's forced to retire-leaving her to navigate the terrifying world of high-school mean girls on her own. With no one left to turn to, Dave joins forces with Justice Forever, run by a born-again ex-mobster named Colonel Stars and Stripes. Just as they start to make a real difference on the streets, the world's first super villain, The Mother F%&*^r, assembles his own evil league and puts a plan in motion to make Kick-Ass and Hit Girl pay for what they did to his dad. But there's only one problem with his scheme: If you mess with one member of Justice Forever, you mess with them all. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 35
  2. Negative: 10 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Aug 14, 2013
    70
    The film delivers almost exactly what fans of the first installment are hoping for.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Aug 15, 2013
    63
    Tone isn't the movie's sole problem. There's something off-putting about Christopher Mitz-Plasse as the chief bad guy.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Risley
    Aug 12, 2013
    60
    A fun if sporadically schizoid return to one of the brighter, brasher comic-bookers of recent years.
  4. 50
    That makes Kick Ass 2 more sour than sweet, a movie that jokes about comic book fanboys but stops short of mocking them the way the first film did.
  5. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    Aug 14, 2013
    50
    Even with its edges sanded down, Kick-Ass 2 is unmistakably Millaresque — a juvenile comedy of excess, in which skewering adolescent power fantasies looks an awful lot like indulging in them.
  6. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Aug 15, 2013
    38
    Kick-Ass 2 is an uninspired retread. All too often it plays like a Comic-Con gone insane, with costumed do-gooders taking on costumed criminals in gratuitously vicious battles.
  7. Reviewed by: Ali Arikan
    Aug 16, 2013
    0
    One of the year's worst films.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 144
  1. LTR
    Aug 16, 2013
    10
    This movie is AMAZING!The story is great,the characters are funny and in some points very serious.If you want to have a movie that has ll inThis movie is AMAZING!The story is great,the characters are funny and in some points very serious.If you want to have a movie that has ll in one package,watch this movie. Expand
  2. GFC
    Aug 21, 2013
    10
    This movie was fantastic! I was a huge fan of the first Kick-Ass movie and when I first heard the rumors of Kick-Ass 2 Balls To the Wall I wasThis movie was fantastic! I was a huge fan of the first Kick-Ass movie and when I first heard the rumors of Kick-Ass 2 Balls To the Wall I was excited. The acting was great especially from The Kick-Ass himself seems like a better hero than he ever was before and Hit Girl is still a bad ass. Jim Carreys performance was great but he wasn't in the movie enough. I'd say he had twenty minutes of screen time which was a big disappointment. A big problem with this movie is that they entered so many new characters but they never had any character progression. But even with that you don't even notice it.

    Just a quick message I would like to see the final Kick-Ass movie come out so please support the movie by buying it instead of pirating it online.
    Expand
  3. Aug 17, 2013
    9
    Do not listen to critics! Competitors studios are clearly paying critics to attack the Kick-Ass franchise.
    Do not make the mistake of not
    Do not listen to critics! Competitors studios are clearly paying critics to attack the Kick-Ass franchise.
    Do not make the mistake of not watching Kick-Ass 2 in theaters like you did for the first one. Kick-Ass became a financial success thanks to word of mouth when released on DVD/Blu-Ray because few people worldwide went watching it in theaters.
    Kick-Ass 2 is an almost excellent movie. Compared to the first one it has some little issues BUT it still is a 8/10 movie at least where the first one was a 9/10 or more. So I am voting 9/10 here for good reasons to support it as much as possible despite the glitches.
    Critics are getting paid to make you believe that the movie is bad in the 3/10 league. DO NOT TRUST THE CRITICS They are liars!
    Kick-Ass 2 is worth watching in theaters just like the first movie was. Go and watch it! Support the franchise to make the 3rd and last movie happen with no budget cuts!
    Expand
  4. Aug 19, 2013
    8
    If you were a fan of the comicbook series, be aware of the fact that the violence is not as prevalent in the film translation, also there's aIf you were a fan of the comicbook series, be aware of the fact that the violence is not as prevalent in the film translation, also there's a mildly awkward love story between two characters.

    If you were a fan of the first film SEE THIS ONE. I wasn't a fan of the first one, and all the issues I had with the first one were pretty much fixed in the second. My friends that liked the first one left being happy with the film.
    Expand
  5. Dec 13, 2013
    7
    Although it doesn't quite match up to the original Kick Ass, this sequel still keeps an excellent mix of action, bloody violence, and humour.Although it doesn't quite match up to the original Kick Ass, this sequel still keeps an excellent mix of action, bloody violence, and humour. What needs to be realised is that Kick Ass 2 is meant to be a fun movie more than a drama, although some of the lines are quite inexcusable... Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2013
    5
    I looked up my review of the original and was more disappointed that I remembered. This sequel amplifies the serious side to the detriment ofI looked up my review of the original and was more disappointed that I remembered. This sequel amplifies the serious side to the detriment of surprise and warped comedy. The titular character (nerdy cute and super cut Aaron Taylor-Johnson) is back as a human "superhero," who's in a moral dilemna with his purple-haired partner (Chloë Grace Moretz). Should they give up their vigilante crime fighting or amp it up? The drama takes even more prominence to the detriment of the action. There's almost none of the original's fun and the fights are flashy, but cruelly violent. This film isn't sure what it wants to be, so it's a leaden dud. NOTE: Stay thru the credits for one more bad gag. Expand
  7. Aug 20, 2013
    0
    Worst, non-superhero EVER!!! Movie about annoying teenagers doing bad,bad tricks, and trying to act like adults, the girls is pretty hotWorst, non-superhero EVER!!! Movie about annoying teenagers doing bad,bad tricks, and trying to act like adults, the girls is pretty hot tought (I´m 15 lol), still it´s dreadful movie Expand

See all 144 User Reviews

Trailers