Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 527 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: After Kick-Ass' insane bravery inspires a new wave of self-made masked crusaders, led by the badass Colonel Stars and Stripes, our hero joins them on patrol. When these amateur superheroes are hunted down by Red Mist -- reborn as The Mother F%&*^r -- only the blade-wielding Hit Girl can prevent their annihilation. When we last saw junior assassin Hit Girl and young vigilante Kick-Ass, they were trying to live as normal teenagers Mindy and Dave. With graduation looming and uncertain what to do, Dave decides to start the world's first superhero team with Mindy. Unfortunately, when Mindy is busted for sneaking out as Hit Girl, she's forced to retire-leaving her to navigate the terrifying world of high-school mean girls on her own. With no one left to turn to, Dave joins forces with Justice Forever, run by a born-again ex-mobster named Colonel Stars and Stripes. Just as they start to make a real difference on the streets, the world's first super villain, The Mother F%&*^r, assembles his own evil league and puts a plan in motion to make Kick-Ass and Hit Girl pay for what they did to his dad. But there's only one problem with his scheme: If you mess with one member of Justice Forever, you mess with them all. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 35
  2. Negative: 10 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Aug 14, 2013
    70
    The film delivers almost exactly what fans of the first installment are hoping for.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Aug 15, 2013
    63
    Tone isn't the movie's sole problem. There's something off-putting about Christopher Mitz-Plasse as the chief bad guy.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Risley
    Aug 12, 2013
    60
    A fun if sporadically schizoid return to one of the brighter, brasher comic-bookers of recent years.
  4. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Aug 14, 2013
    50
    That makes Kick Ass 2 more sour than sweet, a movie that jokes about comic book fanboys but stops short of mocking them the way the first film did.
  5. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    Aug 14, 2013
    50
    Even with its edges sanded down, Kick-Ass 2 is unmistakably Millaresque — a juvenile comedy of excess, in which skewering adolescent power fantasies looks an awful lot like indulging in them.
  6. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Aug 15, 2013
    38
    Kick-Ass 2 is an uninspired retread. All too often it plays like a Comic-Con gone insane, with costumed do-gooders taking on costumed criminals in gratuitously vicious battles.
  7. Reviewed by: Ali Arikan
    Aug 16, 2013
    0
    One of the year's worst films.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 137
  1. LTR
    Aug 16, 2013
    10
    This movie is AMAZING!The story is great,the characters are funny and in some points very serious.If you want to have a movie that has ll in one package,watch this movie. Expand
  2. GFC
    Aug 21, 2013
    10
    This movie was fantastic! I was a huge fan of the first Kick-Ass movie and when I first heard the rumors of Kick-Ass 2 Balls To the Wall I was excited. The acting was great especially from The Kick-Ass himself seems like a better hero than he ever was before and Hit Girl is still a bad ass. Jim Carreys performance was great but he wasn't in the movie enough. I'd say he had twenty minutes of screen time which was a big disappointment. A big problem with this movie is that they entered so many new characters but they never had any character progression. But even with that you don't even notice it.

    Just a quick message I would like to see the final Kick-Ass movie come out so please support the movie by buying it instead of pirating it online.
    Expand
  3. Jul 1, 2014
    9
    This movie clearly shows, that those "critics" on the left are clueless what the real moviefan wants to see.
    This movie was awesome, in my
    opinion even better than the first. The switch in the lifes of Kickass becoming a more real hero and Hitgirl trieing to get used to a more normal life is (wich comes a little short tho) is nicely written and entertaining. The final is epic and brutal.
    Action: 9
    Acting:9
    Story:8
    Badassfactor:10 (+)
    The message at the end is clear and inspiring.
    All in one: Just watch that movie if you still havent.

    Ps: sorry for the rather bad english. I tried my best to get my opinion out there *G*
    Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was a good squeal, not as good or hard hitting then the first one, and im kinda pissed about the ending of the movie with Mindy and Dave kissing, really didn't seem necessary because i believed that the relationship between Mindy and Dave seemed more like a brother sister thing, in fact that is what i kinda wanted it to be, also i didn't like the fact that they kept the Dog Decapitation out of the film for i believe that moment in the comic book was hard hitting, overall Kick Ass 2 is a great squeal not as good as the first yet still accomplices and has the same feel as the original movie. Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2013
    7
    I enjoyed this movie, but I was also disappointed in it. It was good, acting was great, effects good, story okay, but it just didn't meet the magic of the first one. Where the first one was a completely unexpected anti-hero story, this actually turned out to be mostly cliche and lacking in originality. It felt like what the first Kick Ass would have been had a producer gotten hold of the script before it went to production. Unfortunately, I think that is what happened here.

    An enjoyable movie and one worth seeing in the theater, but nowhere near as good as the original.
    Expand
  6. Sep 28, 2013
    5
    As a fan of the first Kick Ass movie I have to say I was a bit disappointed with Kick Ass 2. It seemed more of a "Teen Drama" then the real superhero movie the first one was. Instead of most of the movie being spent on action it's spent dealing with Hit Girl trying to fit into High School. Its just not the sequel I hoped for, and a huge let down for me. Expand
  7. Aug 20, 2013
    0
    Worst, non-superhero EVER!!! Movie about annoying teenagers doing bad,bad tricks, and trying to act like adults, the girls is pretty hot tought (I´m 15 lol), still it´s dreadful movie Expand

See all 137 User Reviews

Trailers