Lionsgate | Release Date: April 16, 2010
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1088 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
968
Mixed:
75
Negative:
45
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AustinTApr 17, 2010
This movie is so careless with its humor that you can't help but join the ride of wild violence, gore, and toilet comedy and if you go with the flow you will have a great time with the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KimApr 17, 2010
I honestly thought this movie was hilarious. The movie also wasn't pointless. It had a storyline, had protagonists and antagonists. There was that tiny bit of drama, which mixed in with the comedy that was equalled out with some of the I honestly thought this movie was hilarious. The movie also wasn't pointless. It had a storyline, had protagonists and antagonists. There was that tiny bit of drama, which mixed in with the comedy that was equalled out with some of the suspense. the movie wasn't cheaply made either. 10/10 no doubt. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdPApr 17, 2010
Damn good movie! Will probably want to read the comics now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleApr 17, 2010
Bad. Ass. One of the best movies to come out in this otherwise dry period. Excellent in every sense, worth watching, and my new personal favorite.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianF.Apr 17, 2010
The Big Daddy warehouse shootout was epic.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
DavidPApr 17, 2010
Chloe Moretz delivers a wonderful performance, and all the buzz about a 12 year old actress engaging in the ultraviolence of her role is, I think, very overblown. But all this misses the point. In the end, when she and Nic Cage aren't Chloe Moretz delivers a wonderful performance, and all the buzz about a 12 year old actress engaging in the ultraviolence of her role is, I think, very overblown. But all this misses the point. In the end, when she and Nic Cage aren't on screen, the film is just a dull amalgam of superhero spoof and highschool comedy. And it's not very funny, either. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
5
BW.Apr 17, 2010
Very disappointing film. I went in really hyped up to see it, the comic was ok, Vaugn is a very talented director and i'd heard good things unfortunately I came out feeling it was just a bit well...average. The action is top notch mind Very disappointing film. I went in really hyped up to see it, the comic was ok, Vaugn is a very talented director and i'd heard good things unfortunately I came out feeling it was just a bit well...average. The action is top notch mind you, although it does jar with the 'realism' of a superhero I still found myself being carried along for the ride. A lot of people put the violence as a particular high point but it was just violent, sometimes a bit too cartoonish, sometimes too realistic, it almost felt like the director wasn't sure what he wanted. The acting was all decent and the girl was very good, but here it felt like they where trying to be shocking by making her swear and kill people which didn't really work for me. Overall it was a good watch once and mildly entertain but not particularly better than your average superhero movie (which it slowly degenerated into. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JoshEApr 17, 2010
Absolutely not for children. Not for adults who can't turn on their fantasy/not reality brain. For people who want to have fun watching an amazing little girl shoot, stab, slice, and wisecrack though a lot of bad guys. "Kick-Ass" is a Absolutely not for children. Not for adults who can't turn on their fantasy/not reality brain. For people who want to have fun watching an amazing little girl shoot, stab, slice, and wisecrack though a lot of bad guys. "Kick-Ass" is a very dark, very funny, look at what "real-life" super heroes might be like. Hit-Girl may not be the main character of the movie, but she's the main thing you'll be talking about when you leave. Add the rest of the characters to Hit Girl, the story, and the production quality, and you've got a movie like you've never seen. Awesome! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DanWApr 17, 2010
This movie is not good. It first suggests that a *real* person can become a *real* superhero, then plays absolutely against that with over the top cartoon violence. It doesn't make any sense, and the fact that it involves children is This movie is not good. It first suggests that a *real* person can become a *real* superhero, then plays absolutely against that with over the top cartoon violence. It doesn't make any sense, and the fact that it involves children is morally questionable at best. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
DillonMApr 17, 2010
Good superhero movies are hard to come by, but Kick Ass removes the super from hero, and destroys any and all doubts about this movie being dumb and bloody. Lines are reminiscent of Superbad, dripping wit. The characters are real enough to Good superhero movies are hard to come by, but Kick Ass removes the super from hero, and destroys any and all doubts about this movie being dumb and bloody. Lines are reminiscent of Superbad, dripping wit. The characters are real enough to relate to, and crazy enough to cheer for. The action is perfectly set up. It can often reach a level of hilarity by being extremely absurd. The "super"heroes Hit-Girl and Big Daddy steal the show, being a perfect father-daughter duo. Their life style is "questionable" to say the least, but this adds to the movie. Aaron Johnson captures the geekiness of Dave Lizewski perfectly. Every part of this movie is picture-perfect. Action, comedy, acting, absurdity. If you like movies, this is a must-see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JordanSApr 17, 2010
Hit girl freaking owns!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeNApr 17, 2010
Entertaining and violent as can be. I haven't laughed so hard in a long time! Not for kids under 17.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisApr 17, 2010
Any of the critic´s who gave this a score lower then 60 doesn't know what a good movie is when they watch it! This movie is ultra-violent, it got amazing stunts, and is very very funny! This movie is defiantly on the number 1 spot Any of the critic´s who gave this a score lower then 60 doesn't know what a good movie is when they watch it! This movie is ultra-violent, it got amazing stunts, and is very very funny! This movie is defiantly on the number 1 spot on Movie Of The Year! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattW.Apr 17, 2010
About half way though i realized this movie was incredible. Being now, my new favorite movie of all time, i think its up there with dark knight as being one of the greatest movies of our generation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesApr 17, 2010
A shockingly entertaining movie! Don't listen to those negative reviews, in fact most of those sounded like they were looking for something else entirely. The movie has laughs and some great action scenes and with characters you A shockingly entertaining movie! Don't listen to those negative reviews, in fact most of those sounded like they were looking for something else entirely. The movie has laughs and some great action scenes and with characters you can't believe you are rooting for. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GDApr 17, 2010
Amazing movie. Ultra violent. This is not Superbad mixed with spider-man. Its Pulp Fiction mixed with Sin City. Funny, deeply disturbing but an amazing experience the whole way through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrianN.Apr 17, 2010
It was as violent and funny as I expected it to be. While they disappointed me a little by the alteration from the comic, I know why it was done. Just as I had hoped, Hit-Girl stole the show. Moretz played one mean, cute, little girl. She It was as violent and funny as I expected it to be. While they disappointed me a little by the alteration from the comic, I know why it was done. Just as I had hoped, Hit-Girl stole the show. Moretz played one mean, cute, little girl. She definitely brought Kill Bill to my mind on more than one occasion. A must-see, especially if you haven't already read the comics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamJ.Apr 16, 2010
Too many curse words. Not for kids, but is very funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EvinCApr 16, 2010
Wasn't quite what i expected and it took itself way too seriously. But it was still a pretty awesome flick that one could own. Chloe Moretz is my new hero and Nic Cage has a great little comeback.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
IanMApr 16, 2010
Seriously fun movie to watch. The violence was definitely over the top, and that made it even better. Would watch again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BernieW.Apr 16, 2010
Awesome film, I think the reviewers who had bad things to say are taking themselves way too seriously. Especially Ebert. I loved the action sequences and it was cool to hear some of the songs in this again. Loved it all around and will Awesome film, I think the reviewers who had bad things to say are taking themselves way too seriously. Especially Ebert. I loved the action sequences and it was cool to hear some of the songs in this again. Loved it all around and will probably see it again in theaters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HishamI.Apr 16, 2010
This movie is fantastic. It blends comedy, violence and emotion and delivers it in a nice package. Each actor did a solid job in capturing the essence of the characters. All I got to say is you must watch this movie, because it will show you This movie is fantastic. It blends comedy, violence and emotion and delivers it in a nice package. Each actor did a solid job in capturing the essence of the characters. All I got to say is you must watch this movie, because it will show you a good time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FredD.Apr 16, 2010
This is not the godfather, but it's hard not to thoroughly enjoy this movie which oozes fun and brilliant one liners. Had the audience laughing and clapping all the way through, brilliant fun
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DougEApr 16, 2010
This is a Disney movie where kids have adult roles and are powerful, and a Tarantino ultraviolent movie. I loved hearing the Banana Splits song. again One of the best action movies of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamM.Apr 16, 2010
This movie is a blast from beginning to end. If you want to go the the movies and watch something to have a good time, this is the movie to watch. Over the top violence, hugely entertaining moments, and of course it's funny. The only This movie is a blast from beginning to end. If you want to go the the movies and watch something to have a good time, this is the movie to watch. Over the top violence, hugely entertaining moments, and of course it's funny. The only people that seemed to dislike this movie missed the point and took Hit-Girl too seriously. I doubt any little girl is going to replicate what happened in this movie, this comic-book movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DesmondM.Apr 16, 2010
This movie is an all-out riot, you will have a great time watching it. Hit girl is the coolest and most badass little person I have ever seen. A definite must see! and has awesome soundtrack.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TedFApr 16, 2010
Kick ass is my favorite movie of all time I loved the fighting comedy and action actors were great mertz was amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EddieMApr 16, 2010
Amazing movie, the best ive seen since the dark knight! I feel that watching this movie made me realize you dont need anything to be a superhero. The acting was flawless, and I had to say, Hit Girl stole the show, but Aaron Johnson as Kick Amazing movie, the best ive seen since the dark knight! I feel that watching this movie made me realize you dont need anything to be a superhero. The acting was flawless, and I had to say, Hit Girl stole the show, but Aaron Johnson as Kick Ass was my favorite person, and for one reason, at the end which im not going to give away. But my favorite 5 films of all time. Definitely going to buy the soundtrack! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlbertS.Apr 16, 2010
Corney, funny, violent, great all around movie. The music track was perfect in setting the scene. Superb violence, yet not insanely over the top. A fun film to watch with friends.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoradTApr 16, 2010
I really dunno what some of the low scoring critics are smoking. This is a FANTASTIC movie. I very much enjoyed it. What I like about it is the fact that it can almost related to. I'm sure quite a lot of people have at some stage wanted I really dunno what some of the low scoring critics are smoking. This is a FANTASTIC movie. I very much enjoyed it. What I like about it is the fact that it can almost related to. I'm sure quite a lot of people have at some stage wanted to be a superhero and this demonstrates that really well. Apart from that it's hilarious and excessive. The film never really takes itself too seriously. If it does something, it does that to the MAX. Definitely a must see. I'll be waiting anxiously for the DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DarrenM>Apr 16, 2010
Fantastically fun movie... but one that is for a specific audience. The action scenes are great, but the real gem is how the main character and his arch-nemesis are the sorriest excuses for costumed heroes/villains ever seen on screen. The Fantastically fun movie... but one that is for a specific audience. The action scenes are great, but the real gem is how the main character and his arch-nemesis are the sorriest excuses for costumed heroes/villains ever seen on screen. The movie is a parody of the genre, but one that is done with care and respect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RichardKApr 16, 2010
Switch off your brain for a while and just enjoy what is a great film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennyM.Apr 16, 2010
Original, funny and violent - this is a superb film. Watch out for the fabulous use of the songs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AbhinavR.Apr 16, 2010
A blend of shockingly awesome violence and a semi-interesting premise, Kick-Ass is great fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregF.Apr 16, 2010
Saw it at South by Southwest, and loved it even more the second time. Just an awesome movie. Mertz is an amazing little actress.
0 of 0 users found this helpful