Lionsgate | Release Date: April 16, 2010
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1077 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
958
Mixed:
73
Negative:
46
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
EdPApr 17, 2010
Damn good movie! Will probably want to read the comics now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AustinTApr 17, 2010
This movie is so careless with its humor that you can't help but join the ride of wild violence, gore, and toilet comedy and if you go with the flow you will have a great time with the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JacobH.Apr 17, 2010
Sometimes flicks are just too damned schizophrenic. Kick-Ass is of those movies. It can't decide if it wants to be a biting satire or a celebration of movie-goers' unquenchable thirst for indiscriminate bloodshed. This results in a Sometimes flicks are just too damned schizophrenic. Kick-Ass is of those movies. It can't decide if it wants to be a biting satire or a celebration of movie-goers' unquenchable thirst for indiscriminate bloodshed. This results in a film that spends the first third of its story setting up a joke that is then dropped, on a dime, in favor of a second and third act filled with nothing but what the film seemed to want to hate. The Hit-Girl character is the most infuriating aspect of this flick. She kills without remorse, and spouts vulgarities as if she was fathered by Kevin Smith (a less talented Kevin Smith, that is), which is funny. The first time. But nothing is done with this. Nothing of substance analyzed. Nothing of importance poked or prodded at by this character. She is just there to be a tool of that aforementioned indiscriminate bloodshed. Something that wouldn't fly, and would be typically labeled as painfully cliche and pointless; but she is young! So that makes it fresh! And as such, Hollywood's continually deteriorating definition of 'fresh' is exposed once again. I am going to base my theory on what this film's tone was supposed to be upon what I was set-up for in the first act; a satire. This is never capitalized on. This is never even paid attention to. This movie wants so much to be Tarantino-esque. But it doesn't have the the substance, the knowledge, nor the talent to tread those waters, let alone try and dive in. But it did anyway, and was swept under in a heartbeat, ripped apart by whatever lied beneath. What drifts to shore is something so lost, hurt and confused that one's first reaction is to pity it. Then you remember it jumped in willingly. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KylerC.Apr 17, 2010
Awesome. Everything that is great about superhero movies all bundled up into a nice little package.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DerekW.Apr 18, 2010
This is an enjoyable film. As expected, Chloe Moretz steals the show with her foul mouth and extreme violence. I really enjoyed Aaron Johnson's character for the first half of the film, too--after that, his character ceases to develop This is an enjoyable film. As expected, Chloe Moretz steals the show with her foul mouth and extreme violence. I really enjoyed Aaron Johnson's character for the first half of the film, too--after that, his character ceases to develop and the film feels lost. There are some great moments in this film, and it had me laughing on a mostly-regular basis, but the dialogue could have been much better and the soundtrack was terrible. (The one exception is the scene that introduces Hit-Girl--the bright pop music juxtaposes the violent action sequence, to hilarious results.) If you're a fan of the genre and not turned off by strong language and violence, this is a movie worth seeing. Unnecessary sub-plots (boy-seeks-girl) and bad soundtrack aside, this movie entertains most of the time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DrewFApr 18, 2010
Kick-Ass was truly great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveR.Apr 18, 2010
Just about the most fun I've had in a movie theatre for ages. Took me well into the next morning to come off the adrenalin rush.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MariusJ.Apr 18, 2010
This movie is freaking awesome. Deserves at least an 80/100. Perfectly paced, comical, sad, intense, action filled.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CarlosSApr 18, 2010
Amazing fight scenes with the sometimes awkward time in between. Had a good time watching this as did others that were watching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeR.Apr 18, 2010
Original. Funny. Extremely graphic and violent. It felt like an amazing gasp of fresh air. Simply a great piece of entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ZackSApr 19, 2010
The sad thing about this movie is that Nicholas Cage isn't even the worst thing about it. Think about that for a moment. There are things in this movie worse than Nicholas Cage.
0 of 5 users found this helpful
1
BartApr 22, 2010
The title should be changed so that the word "Kick" is replaced with the word "Sucks".
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MargoBApr 22, 2010
Outstanding. Smart as hell and gloriously beautiful filmmaking. The performances are uniformly great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleCApr 23, 2010
A great movie that never stops being fun. Chloe Moretz gave an incredible performance as "Hit-Girl," and Nicolas Cage was great in his zaniest off-the-wall role as "Big Daddy." It got my juices pumping. Go see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
benbApr 23, 2010
Brief moments of interest amid a sea of dullness.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SamR.Apr 24, 2010
I loved this movie great action great plot and it was funny, the language was colorful and all was good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyTApr 24, 2010
FABULOUSLY ENTERTAINING. great for those who read the comics, only six of them anyway, and great for those who just want to see because the name is censored by some companies lol.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Elij.Apr 25, 2010
Great movie, it was really fun to watch. I dont usually say that about most films either. I hated both transformers and the second and third Pirates of the Caribbean movies. It was good quality film making and was very well done, but to Great movie, it was really fun to watch. I dont usually say that about most films either. I hated both transformers and the second and third Pirates of the Caribbean movies. It was good quality film making and was very well done, but to compare comic book/graphic novels i was shocked that this out scored watchmen. I thought watchmen was well executed as well and deserved to get in the sixties or even the seventies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoeSApr 26, 2010
A great movie that narrowly avoids the pitfalls that so many movies like it manage to get stuck in, you'll leave this movie with an odd feeling that you really like it but you're not sure why. It will slowly dawn on you over the A great movie that narrowly avoids the pitfalls that so many movies like it manage to get stuck in, you'll leave this movie with an odd feeling that you really like it but you're not sure why. It will slowly dawn on you over the next 24 hours until finally you just want to see it again. The main character feels like a kid that really does just want to do some good in a world of onlookers, and the supporting characters, while coming dangerously close to the ends-justifies-the-means good guys that you ultimately dislike, they pull out just in time to make you feel satisfied with the ending. After all was said and done, I couldn't wait to see the sequel when the main character manages to get a little more professional training in. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerGApr 28, 2010
I don't write reviews, but today I had to come out of my shell to let anyone reading this, know that Kick Ass is probably the best 2 hours you will spend in a movie theater this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CatSApr 29, 2010
Everyone keeps talking about how hitgirl doesn't show any emotion, but that is not true. The scene where Big Daddy and Kick-ass are tied to chairs and hitgirl is running around with the night-vision goggles on (those of you who have Everyone keeps talking about how hitgirl doesn't show any emotion, but that is not true. The scene where Big Daddy and Kick-ass are tied to chairs and hitgirl is running around with the night-vision goggles on (those of you who have seen this know what happens here) is one of the most heartbreaking scenes I have seen in a movie in a long time -- especially a comic-book movie. And, those of you who think this is so out of the realm of decency (or that it is something new) to dress little girls up as school girls and also have them be killers need to take in some decent anime. Japan has been doing this type of stuff for years (both anime and live-action) and they seem to be surviving as a country. So chill out, bad reviewers -- this movie is highly entertaining and far above the level of most of the dreck that gets released. Also, we tend to get all on about the innocence of children, but children can be hugely cruel to one another. Ever think that maybe hitgirl just puts the id in kid? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielR.Apr 29, 2010
The reason I rate the film a perfect ten is not because it's perfect; because it is not. I would generally give Kick-Ass a 9/10 or maybe even an 8/10, but the user score read 8.3, which Kick-Ass deserves better than. I honestly thought The reason I rate the film a perfect ten is not because it's perfect; because it is not. I would generally give Kick-Ass a 9/10 or maybe even an 8/10, but the user score read 8.3, which Kick-Ass deserves better than. I honestly thought that the film was by far the most violent and purely entertaining movie I have ever seen. The acting seems to be fairly genuine, the plot a little ridiculous, but I would see it a hundred times over, as several others probably would. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SachinPMay 17, 2010
This is a brilliant film - I think the low critic's score shows just how out of touch and snooty critics are. They wouldn't know a good film if it hit them on the head.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelL.May 21, 2010
This film does bring up topics the other films don't even mention. The first 30 minutes may seem like a generic comedy or "hero movie in reality", but after interesting characters and events are added, it delivers a totally different This film does bring up topics the other films don't even mention. The first 30 minutes may seem like a generic comedy or "hero movie in reality", but after interesting characters and events are added, it delivers a totally different from just a comedy. Anyone interested in ti should watch it, unless you are a parent that complains on your son/ daughter cursing and playing too many violent video games because you'll be very disappointed by knowing how dark this world is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RickS.May 25, 2010
This is the only movie I have ever gone to see in theaters and ever considered walking out on...Worst Movie I Have Ever Seen In My Life!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JorgeA.Jun 14, 2010
Ok, that's a silly movie. Was expecting something bold since the premise is nice. But the execution is flat as a door. Nicolas Cage is ridiculous in the character, clearly under-acting. And the childs are just boring. There's no Ok, that's a silly movie. Was expecting something bold since the premise is nice. But the execution is flat as a door. Nicolas Cage is ridiculous in the character, clearly under-acting. And the childs are just boring. There's no empathy, no boldness like I thought it would be, no nothing. Just a dry land that resembles something else. All the time. Sad. I had some expectations on this one. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
aabender002Aug 11, 2010
Funny, bloody, and even strangely powerful in places, 'Kick Ass' is fun entertainment of the highest order. You'll have a blast if you leave political correctness at the door.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RansackAug 12, 2010
Kick Ass is actually a great movie. Many will love it, since it might be "the goriest superhero movie" I can understand that the whole base of it, is stupid, but refreshingly entertaining
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
PheonixdbfAug 11, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Kick-Ass The past decade has offered many successful comic adaptations, which not only nail the feel of the comic, but also entertain fans and audiences alike. In 2008 we were given The Dark Knight which is undoubtedly the most successful comic adaptation of all time, but the newest adaptation Kick-Ass could very well be held to The Dark Knightâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
pulptikAug 14, 2010
Movie was awesome. A few great moments; Cage burning up for example. Hit Girl definitely stole the show though, she was too good. Her acting was solid.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
JUIKERAug 28, 2010
An imaginative reboot of the superhero story with some cool visuals. I hate superhero stories at this point but this ranks in the top four of all time on my list, behind The Dark Knight, Iron Man and Spiderman 2, although this may be betterAn imaginative reboot of the superhero story with some cool visuals. I hate superhero stories at this point but this ranks in the top four of all time on my list, behind The Dark Knight, Iron Man and Spiderman 2, although this may be better than S2. Chloe Moretz is a very cool young actress. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
thelordoffilmAug 13, 2010
Kick-Ass is one of those films where either you like it or not. This movie really divides people. The movie got a lot of buzz around its release because an 11 year old girl cusses rather graphically and performs gratuitous violence in theKick-Ass is one of those films where either you like it or not. This movie really divides people. The movie got a lot of buzz around its release because an 11 year old girl cusses rather graphically and performs gratuitous violence in the movie. Kick-Ass is a critic's wet dream it's the kind of movie you can bash or praise. Sadly I fall in the category of only liking it halfway so I will give it a mixed review and a mixed rating. The movie has at least three plots, the first consisting of Dave Lizewski (Aaron Johnson) a normal high school kid who likes to read comic books with his friends. One day he thinks to himself why a real person doesn't stands up and becomes a real superhero. He goes and buys a suit from eBay and decides to fight crime. The next one is involving Frank D'Amico (Mark Strong) a ruthless, psychotic gangster who son who is played by Christopher Mintz-Plasse, who blames Kick-Ass for stealing his drugs and killing his men. The last one which caused the buzz, is of Hit Girl played by Chloe Grace Moretz and her father Big Daddy played by Nicolas Cage. That's when the movie hits a down low. Hit Girl is an 11 year old girl who's been brain washed by her father to kill as much bad guys as possible. She cusses like an adult and has very cool ways to kill people. This movie made a mistake that it should have made clear. Hit Girl's innocence as a little kid. It ignores it completely and just makes her an engine of violence. There is a scene where her birthday comes and she asks for a puppy and Big Daddy looks at her weird. She says she's joking and wants a butterfly knife. Instead of a birthday cake or decorations it's talk about weapons and killing people. No matter how ruthless or mean a young child is that kid still has innocence. The kid can cry and be happy ask for nice things. Kick-Ass ignores that and in the process offends people. There's an emotional scene in the movie that I could not enjoy because of all the ruthless violence. The movie exploits her innocence just to make more scenes of violence and action. I might be exaggerating but I wonder why the hell MPAA didn't give it NC-17 rating. (SPOLIER) Here's something to think about this girl gets brutally beaten by a grown man. I'm a father and don't think I'm crazy I imagined my daughter in that situation. You're probably saying but just don't think it's your daughter. How I'm I suppose to do that when in this world there's enough sickos who actually like doing that to 11 year old girls. Here's food for your mind how de we know as movie goers that a pedophile likes what happens to Hit Girl in the movie. She's wearing a purple wing with a purple clothes to top all of she has a purple skirt. How do we know if a sick f@#k is sitting in the audience saying yeah that's what she gets? The worst part of it all it's a damn shame this movie fell to that because there all a lot of things that I was entertained with. I laughed at the jokes and liked Dave Lizewskie/Kick-Ass side of his story about wanting to help people. The movie was going to get three stars from me but I can't shake the feeling of seeing (SPOLIER) Red Mist shoot Hit Girl several times in the chest with no remorse, an 11 YEAR OLD GIRL. That's just my opinion though. The movie had potential but fails. My favorite critic Roger Ebert called it morally reprehensible. I find it morally reprehensible half way. Maybe I'll rent the DVD and see it again, it might change my opinion. NOTE: Quentin Tarantino use anime to express pedophilia in telling the story of O-Ren Ishii in Kill Bill Volume1 why couldn't director Matthew Vaughn did that for Hit Girl's action scenes. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
9
ArkonBladeAug 21, 2010
wow this movie was just awsome . it was a unexpected suprise . i really didnt think it was gona be that good .i original wanted to see it because it had the guy who played Mclovin in super bad in it . i thought it would be funny with him as awow this movie was just awsome . it was a unexpected suprise . i really didnt think it was gona be that good .i original wanted to see it because it had the guy who played Mclovin in super bad in it . i thought it would be funny with him as a super hero .after seeing it though i quikly relised that the star of the show was not him or even kick ass him self . it was the little girl mindy AKA Hit Girl . i mean i hate kids and despise them but this was one kid i liked her acting. her lines where even better and her action was fantasticaly enjoyable to wach . the plotof this film was really enjoyable as well . it pretty much asks the question what if super heroes where real in are world what would they be like . the film feels original and is well acted by all except nicholas cage who is spotty at best . seems like cage was only in this for the money and pretty much just phoned his performance in . all in all the this movie will probubly be the best movie of the year . i really dont think i'll see any thing better then this . Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
DarkCriticAug 28, 2010
Kick-Ass is a beautifully well done superhero film of the year with lots of laughs and gushes with lots of blood. I love the cast,especially the new actor who played Kick-Ass character was very good and he could be the new star for theKick-Ass is a beautifully well done superhero film of the year with lots of laughs and gushes with lots of blood. I love the cast,especially the new actor who played Kick-Ass character was very good and he could be the new star for the 2010's. I love Nicholas Cage playing bad ass superhero who crosses between Batman and Nightowl. The young girl who plays the Hit-Girl and I give this girl for credit for doing some action scenes and beats the s*** all over those bad guys. It has lots of dark humor and seriously scenes between being a superhero it's a real thing or not? But I enjoy this movie and really love it for my best 2010 films on my list. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
CoDFatherSep 11, 2010
Ok, let me start out by saying this was obviously a cult movie, but, according to the 270+ positive ratings for Metacritic, and the four- star ratings by the magazines that saw this movie. That being said, this is pretty fake at most actionOk, let me start out by saying this was obviously a cult movie, but, according to the 270+ positive ratings for Metacritic, and the four- star ratings by the magazines that saw this movie. That being said, this is pretty fake at most action parts, which downed my happiness on how good the movie was to that first point. Now, that being said, this is a very good cult movie, even better than From Paris With Love, and that movie was **** sweet. This is a movie that is for sure, one of the movies in my top 20. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
GavGav96Dec 10, 2010
'Kick-Ass' is a seriously bloody, action-packed, fun-loving, imaginative, and above all, ridiculously hilarious piece of work. The levels of outrageousness and the action sequences are the film's most hooking elements.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
sebastianJun 4, 2011
Both the favorable and unfavorable reviews miss the moral question at the center of Vaughn's film: why are we bystanders? Kick-Ass' world is riotous, self-deprecating, and awesome; but it is the exact opposite of irresponsible. Rather, itBoth the favorable and unfavorable reviews miss the moral question at the center of Vaughn's film: why are we bystanders? Kick-Ass' world is riotous, self-deprecating, and awesome; but it is the exact opposite of irresponsible. Rather, it unmasks an adult world in which police officers operate on both sides of crime, citizens are voyeurs into one another's suffering, and we all wonder who is going to change it. By now, it is clear that neither adults nor teenagers are willing to risk their routines for their neighbors. At least teenagers still fantasize about doing something. So the obvious answer is a little girl who, with some sidekick mockery from Nic Cage, makes Batman look like a man dressed up like a bat. To echo other reviewers, Hitgirl is the new standard of awesome. But, until Kick-Ass' moment of transformation, she is also the last human willing to offer an embodied answer to injustice. That Vaughn hides this seriousness in such absolutely brilliant awesomeness might confuse some, but it should not be misinterpreted as a statement of "coolness" or teenage hormonal self-gratification. It's saying much more than that. Why hold the fact that it's also cool against it? Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Acewrite09Aug 18, 2010
I can't quite agree with most of the tut-tutting critics. I admit that several things in the film made me raise an eyebrow, and it did make me think, because I've never seen stuff like an 11-year old girl swearing like a truck driver andI can't quite agree with most of the tut-tutting critics. I admit that several things in the film made me raise an eyebrow, and it did make me think, because I've never seen stuff like an 11-year old girl swearing like a truck driver and killing people in brutally violent ways in a film. Ultimately I think the ones crying "for shame!" are over-reacting just a tad. The film does puts its toes to the line, but for me it doesn't quite cross it. And let's face it, it's a funny, clever idea, extremely well executed. It doesn't make the mistake of many such films by diving into the action immediately before we've gotten to know the characters. People are oblivious to the fact that it makes it more exciting if we care about what happens to them, if it's not just frenetic mindless action. Vaughn takes his time and his pacing is impeccable, just the right amount of build-up to the climactic scenes, and he deftly makes these scenes emotional as well as exciting. The cast is pretty much great, with the possible exception of Mark Strong, who is not quite loathesome enough to be the arch-villain. Every critic and every "user", however, has agreed on one thing: this film contains a star in the making. Chloe Grace Moretz is astoundingly assured and inspired at 11 years old. Never seen a child actor this compelling EVER, not Anna Paquin, not Natalie Portman, not Jodie Foster. She steals every scene she's in and steals the movie. See it just for her. Also, great music. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
femasculineAug 20, 2010
Unless you think people getting graphically killed is hilarious, and enjoy watching every woman in the movie extremely degraded then I would not recommend Kick-Ass. If I was with anybody other than my best friend I would have got up andUnless you think people getting graphically killed is hilarious, and enjoy watching every woman in the movie extremely degraded then I would not recommend Kick-Ass. If I was with anybody other than my best friend I would have got up and walked out, especially if I was with my brother, because how humiliating would it be to sit there and watch some guy jerk off to his teacher acting like she was out of a porn video. Watching an eleven year old sociopath murder people and the crowd laughing is not my idea of a good time. Not to mention it was homophobic. The teacher, the gang woman, the girlfriend and her friend, and the bad guys wife. I think thatâ Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
9
AJackson729Feb 19, 2011
Extremely clever take on the superhero genre. The movie is very fast-paced, and will you keep you entertained during the entire run time. Features some of the most incredible action scenes you'll see in any movie this year. Despite the youngExtremely clever take on the superhero genre. The movie is very fast-paced, and will you keep you entertained during the entire run time. Features some of the most incredible action scenes you'll see in any movie this year. Despite the young age of the actors in the film, this is definitely not a kids movie. The film depicts a much more realistic take on vigilante justice while remaining fun and exciting throughout. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ComasiAug 27, 2010
Love the film, imaginative, action-packed, and funny. Love Chloe Moretz acting as HIt-Girl, she was phenomenal. It's entertaining. Good soundtrack too.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
shlugalugSep 3, 2010
Kick-Ass is possibly one of the best films so far this year. It's brilliant - funny, violent and just so damn cool. Matthew Vaughn took a risk making this film and I can guarantee it's paid off. The film is packed full of comic bookKick-Ass is possibly one of the best films so far this year. It's brilliant - funny, violent and just so damn cool. Matthew Vaughn took a risk making this film and I can guarantee it's paid off. The film is packed full of comic book references and homages to film like Batman, Kill Bill and Scarface. The title character is played Aaron Johnson, who justifies his place on the screen. I thought his American accent (he's British) was very natural and he brings this 'loser' character to life. But don't think he's the star, it's actually his smaller companion played by Chloe Grace Moretz - the merciless and skilled fighter Hit Girl. She was effective, outstanding and gives one of the best performances by a child actor that I've seen in a while. She'll be remembered for quite some time. Other standouts performances include Nicolas Cage's performance as Hit Girl's father Big Daddy who was reminiscent of Adam West's Batman and Mark Strong's drug lord mobster Frank D'Amico actually was pretty funny. Matthew Vaughn's third film is nothing short of a miracle because some superhero movies are pretty awful now, I definitely think this will be a cult film from now on. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
KarthXLRMay 19, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A good action movie, very meh in every other category. The gore is really all over the place, being ridiculous in some scenes (microwave scene, car crusher scene), and average in others. And for a movie that tries to act realistic most of the time, it pulls a lot of unbelievable twists. I mean, it's mainly just because it's being hypocritical. Overall, I enjoyed it, but it's definitely not for everyone. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
WWABTT123Sep 8, 2010
I reward it a "The Best Action Movie In 2010"
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
theycallmespikeSep 8, 2010
I'm not ashamed to admit this is one of my favorite movies of all time. The entire premise is ridiculous, but the movie takes itself so seriously that it feels like an actual attempt to make a super hero movie.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
phildogSep 10, 2010
Holy **** this movie is **** amazing. It starts out kinda ****ty and mediocre and then it just suddenly cranks the awesomeness to 11. An amazing story that comes up with a truly unique answer to the question, why aren't their any superheroes?
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
GrahamWDiffeeSep 15, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I give this a 10, i have watched this movie so many times now and i believe it is one of my favorites, as a huge fan of Chloe Grace Moretz, ill defend her on her behalf, People are saying this is terrible kid is cussing and killing people and got beat up from an older man, what people need to realize is that this is only a movie and its not actually happening, There were many great moment like when Cage was burning and Hit-Girl had to save him, and much more please go watch it and buy it on Blu-Ray Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Forrestgump1Oct 9, 2010
"Kick Ass , As far as Action films go , is amazing , stunning , and will keep you entertained for its 2hr run time , which sometimes maybe hard to do , Aaron Johnson leads a all star cast , with lots of action , fun and Excitement this is the"Kick Ass , As far as Action films go , is amazing , stunning , and will keep you entertained for its 2hr run time , which sometimes maybe hard to do , Aaron Johnson leads a all star cast , with lots of action , fun and Excitement this is the one movie that lives up to its TITLE!." A Expand
13 of 15 users found this helpful132
All this user's reviews
10
Justinavery7074Oct 11, 2011
Holy **** **** does this movie rule. The first time, it felt a little of the edge and all over the place. But as I rewatched it, I absolutely acknowledged its awesomeness. I knew what I was getting myself into, but holy **** It's better thanHoly **** **** does this movie rule. The first time, it felt a little of the edge and all over the place. But as I rewatched it, I absolutely acknowledged its awesomeness. I knew what I was getting myself into, but holy **** It's better than any action movie from last year. Or any comedy. It's breath-taking. captivating, stunning, hilarious, beautifully perverse and all around fantastic. What Matthew Vaughn did to the superhero genre was take it, **** it and out plopped the greatest action movie of 2010. The acting is supreme - I'll never find a hitgirl beter than Chloe Grace Moretz -, the editing, jaw droppingly terrific, the directing and writing, pants-****tingly great. It's ****ing perfect. I can't really find any faults or problems with it. IT IS ****ING AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love you Matthew Vaughn. In a non gay/platonic way. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ExogenesisApr 9, 2011
The most eye opening and attention demanding movie I've ever seen, it expertly combines Action, Comedy and even a bit of romance, a fantastic, fun movie
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Andys_ReviewsNov 22, 2012
I must first say that it is a really well made film with some excellent stunt work. I thought the music chosen for the score was really great as well. Excellent performances from all of the leading cast, Aaron Johnson as DaveI must first say that it is a really well made film with some excellent stunt work. I thought the music chosen for the score was really great as well. Excellent performances from all of the leading cast, Aaron Johnson as Dave Lizewski/Kick-Ass, Nicolas Cage as Damon Macready/Big Daddy is excellent, Chloe Moretz as Mindy Macready/Hit-Girl (also superb), Mark Strong as Frank D Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
The_DirtyRabbitOct 2, 2010
This movie was great on so many levels. Not only was the story intriguing and exciting. The acting was great. The character development was fantastic. The use of comic pages to tell the story gave you a real feeling of fantasy in reality.This movie was great on so many levels. Not only was the story intriguing and exciting. The acting was great. The character development was fantastic. The use of comic pages to tell the story gave you a real feeling of fantasy in reality. Some other great things about the movie were the fight chreoography which was much better than one would expect for a movie like this. The amazing musical score and soundtrack. As well as a bunch of very comedic scenes. This movie hits you with all the tools and If could remake it I wouldn't change a thing. Would highly recommend this movie to anyone. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
JudddyOct 4, 2010
Hugely entertaining, thanks mainly to the ass-kicking character 'Hit Girl', played by Chloe Moretz. This is Quentin Tarantino meets the superhero genre and is funny, gory and action-packed! Controversial? Definitely. Best film of the year soHugely entertaining, thanks mainly to the ass-kicking character 'Hit Girl', played by Chloe Moretz. This is Quentin Tarantino meets the superhero genre and is funny, gory and action-packed! Controversial? Definitely. Best film of the year so far? Maybe. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MartyJOct 12, 2010
Kick Ass, what a great film it consists of 4 Superish Heroes, Kick Ass, Red Mist, Hit Girl and Big Daddy.

Now they're all geeks or weirdo's but their lovable and there are some stand out funny parts by far Hit Girl is the funniest and
Kick Ass, what a great film it consists of 4 Superish Heroes, Kick Ass, Red Mist, Hit Girl and Big Daddy.

Now they're all geeks or weirdo's but their lovable and there are some stand out funny parts by far Hit Girl is the funniest and hardest hitting young girl going and the whole film brings a smile to my face while watching.

If you want a simple pseudo-comic hero film then this is up your street! If you just want a good action film then this is brilliant, well worth a watch.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
TonyOct 12, 2010
A fun, overly stylized film, but absolutely did not live up to the fanboy hype. Aaron Johnson was cute and charming, and I enjoyed most of the story, but it ultimately did not leave that much of an impression on me.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
AsaldiviOct 28, 2010
Watchmen meets Super Bad and Spy Kids. The film confuses, at first it seems like a movie for children, but suddenly scenes come up they shouldn't be watching, however that's what makes it unique.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
OscarPicks2010Dec 21, 2010
Dave is a loser with a nerdy comicy brain. No one knew him at his school and his friends are just a bunch of losers. One day he saw a guy being beat up by a bunch of thugs and decided to jump in a help with his superhero costume. The videoDave is a loser with a nerdy comicy brain. No one knew him at his school and his friends are just a bunch of losers. One day he saw a guy being beat up by a bunch of thugs and decided to jump in a help with his superhero costume. The video was captured and became an internet phenomenon. Everyone tried to figure out who was this guy and named his Kick-Ass. Kick-Ass became a pop icon just in days. After hearing about Kick-Ass, hitmen Big Daddy & Hit Girl decided to go after him to join him with their group. Going through lots of violence and profanity, Kick-Ass finally got that these two don't kid around. They kill mercilessly, they enjoy taking lives, and they cuss like a bunch of New Yorkers. Kick-Ass is a refreshingly new film that adds to the comic-action-films genre. Kudos to strong performances from crazyass Nicolas Cage and the fouled-mouth Chloe Moretz.
OscarBuzz: Long shots for Best Visual Effect
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
R7criticalJun 28, 2011
This movie starts off well enough, geeky kid gets crumpled up trying to play superhero, establishes this is the "Real World" we're supposed to be talking about, but then it goes downhill when super-human reflexes, shooting, and agility comeThis movie starts off well enough, geeky kid gets crumpled up trying to play superhero, establishes this is the "Real World" we're supposed to be talking about, but then it goes downhill when super-human reflexes, shooting, and agility come in with "Hit girl" and Batm... "Big daddy". These two have some of the most uninspired character designs I've seen in a long time. They look like garbage that would come out of a super hero MMORPG's character creator. Batman clone and anime schoolgirl. This trash is not clever at all. I don't know about the comic this was based on, nor do I care. Had the movie stayed true to the 'real world' ruleset it establishes in the beginning, it may have been better, but it quickly descended into horrifyingly bad when a little girl was zipping around DODGING BULLETS and performing ridiculous kills that would be over the top and showy in any medium. What little attempts at humor present in this movie are vastly overshadowed by how disturbing the father daughter duo's relationship is. The man brainwashes and trains his little girl to be an evil, remorseless killer and somehow these people are supposed to be heros? Final Verdict: This movie is intellectually insulting, shallow, and fails to keep with the rules it sets within itself. Don't waste your time with this one. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
GregFisherDec 16, 2010
Aptly titled Kick-Ass is an excellent comic book adaptation that proves that there is no stagnation in a superhero genre whatsoever. Based on Mark Millar's violent tale Kick-Ass is directed by Matthew Vaughn, the filmmaker who happens to haveAptly titled Kick-Ass is an excellent comic book adaptation that proves that there is no stagnation in a superhero genre whatsoever. Based on Mark Millar's violent tale Kick-Ass is directed by Matthew Vaughn, the filmmaker who happens to have a real knack for both action movies (Layer Cake) and teen fantasies (Stardust). It's more than evident in Kick-Ass and although the film has some problems with selecting the proper tone: it verges between campy comedy, dramatic piece and action spectacle, this is a gripping ride from start to finish.Vaughn's direction is nothing less than clever and kinetic. By employing video game techniques inspired by Shoot 'Em Up and Crank movies, Vaughn really excels at showing highly-stylized bloody violence on screen. As for the script, the main concept of an ordinary teenager who chooses to become a superhero is downright effective evoking loads of laughs and our sympathy. Aaron Johnson's cool, unrestrained performance also helps a great deal.The film revitalizes the genre by undermining its rules. The characters involved have no special powers, most of them, no necessary backstory and no turning point that resulted in them becoming superheroes, much like in Watchmen. Despite this, the movie establishes its own pantheon of heroes and the director knows that there's nothing more fascinating than the battle between good and evil shown in a vivid, exciting fashion.What's controversial about the film is the extensive use of pitch-black humor including the character of 11-year-old Mindy McReady aka Hit-Girl who has been trained from the early years to become a killing machine by her loving father aka Big Daddy. The whole subplot may be immoral for some who don't understand this kind of cinema, yet it's surprisingly plausible due to a tongue-in-cheek writing and acting talents of Chloe Moretz and Nicolas Cage who are as subversive in their respective parts as you can get. Last but not least, the artist formerly known as McLovin' channels a wannabe villain named Red Mist. You may be actually surprised by how smart he is in his plotting.Overall, Kick-Ass is a refreshingly funny and wickedly entertaining spectacle that warrants the whole franchise of masked teenagers to come. 9/10 (A-) Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerMar 7, 2011
This was one of my most anticipated movie of 2010, and it delivered on almost every front, it's about an average comic book nerd who decides to become a super hero, and because it's real life he gets his ass kicked, it's a great movie withThis was one of my most anticipated movie of 2010, and it delivered on almost every front, it's about an average comic book nerd who decides to become a super hero, and because it's real life he gets his ass kicked, it's a great movie with humor and action, the reason it's so appealing is because it's real life, the only flaw is at the end is that it gets unrealistic, which hurts the movie, but this is still one I can highly recommend. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuMar 18, 2013
Kick-Ass is a very funny, very violent and very original super hero flick. The action sequences are exceptionally well directed; exciting, grotesque and laugh-out-loud funny all at the same time. This is a great film, stuffed full ofKick-Ass is a very funny, very violent and very original super hero flick. The action sequences are exceptionally well directed; exciting, grotesque and laugh-out-loud funny all at the same time. This is a great film, stuffed full of memorable moments and characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
adverbApr 16, 2011
I found it utterly original and audacious. It left me feeling giddy and a little ashamed. Very funny and intelligent. And I liked it despite the inclusion of Nicolas Cage in the cast.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
ovi_bzMar 5, 2011
This is a very trivial movie. An unhappy story with superheroes, where the main character is a fake hero, but a 11 years girl kills dozens of men. Nicolas Cage performance is bad, as in the most of his recent movies (too bad... he use to be aThis is a very trivial movie. An unhappy story with superheroes, where the main character is a fake hero, but a 11 years girl kills dozens of men. Nicolas Cage performance is bad, as in the most of his recent movies (too bad... he use to be a good actor). I don't have anything with the scenario, but the writers are very, very, very not inspired. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
7
JonnyFendiJan 11, 2011
When you were child, have you ever wanted to be a superhero? I thought all the kids who were born in 80s and up ever thought about that, at least once. Thiz movie was very confident since the beginning, they advertise it rapidly and theWhen you were child, have you ever wanted to be a superhero? I thought all the kids who were born in 80s and up ever thought about that, at least once. Thiz movie was very confident since the beginning, they advertise it rapidly and the posters were very intriguing too. It is about Dave (Aaron Johnson), unpopular and nerdy boy at school who wants to be a superhero even without super power. He tried to save the world with alter-ego named kick-ass, on the contrary he got his ass kicked. Meanwhile, Big Daddy (Nicolas Cage) and her eleven-year-old daughter named Hit-Girl (Chloë Grace Moretz) who has been the real superheroes were fighting the crime againts drug dealer mob, Frank D Amico (Mark strong). Frank attempted to put his son, Chris (Christopher Mintz-Plasse) as undercover superhero named Red Mist, his intentions was to trap Kick-Ass. Mark Strong once again succesfully brought an interesting villain character. Recently, He had been bad guy for ROCKNROLLA (2008), THE YOUNG VICTORIA (2009), SHERLOCK HOLMES (2009), ROBIN HOOD (2010) and upcoming GREEN LANTERN (2011) and previously many more. He could deliver different bad guy characters with his aura and I admired him for that. I officially gave him Bad Guy of The Year award (if I could). Other casts, Johnson was standard and Cage performance was just what we needed. It is Chloë Grace Moretz who surprised us with believeable and easy-going performance. Outside of her Hit-Girl fight scene which was awesome (we knew probably substituted by stunt double) but she was also good in drama. The Director is Matthew Vaughn who directed STARDUST (2004) and respectable LAYER CAKE (2007). Actually on thiz movie, the conversation was rude (considered it as family movie) and the fight scene was bloody brutal, but we have to admit the story was original and effectively hilarious. The movie was brave enough to challenge the mainstream and it worked well in some moments. In my point of view, when we dare enough to laugh on ourself for our own stupidity or feebleness, that is the time we showed the big heart of us.

Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
juliankleissMay 31, 2011
Being based on the comic book of the same name, the movie "Kick-Ass" respects the traditions of the comic book superhero genre by consciously getting inspiration from Spiderman and Batman. However, it transcends simple imitation by far. TheBeing based on the comic book of the same name, the movie "Kick-Ass" respects the traditions of the comic book superhero genre by consciously getting inspiration from Spiderman and Batman. However, it transcends simple imitation by far. The production of the movie is awesome. Above all mentionable is the film's magnificent use of music. First off, in terms of the script, the movie does a wonderful job in criticizing the perceived lack of responsibility to people passing and watching a crime happen without doing anything against it. If many people start helping in bad situations that are not too dangerous, and if children are already being raised to intervene, everyone could contribute to a more secure society. This would also lessen the chance of getting mugged at some point in your life. On the other hand morally controversial, is the glorification of the revenge murdering committed by two of the protagonists who are less than more on the side of the righteous heroes. Even a woman that was not a threat but tried to flee was stabbed to death. Revenge killing is not a necessary evil for a good cause (as would be a killing in self defense). Therefore, they are hardly any different than some villain who kills for power. Rather than portraying the revenge in a neutral way or actually suggesting that revenge is morally bad, the cinematic glorification of it makes the movie less likable. Nevertheless, "Kick-Ass" is totally worth watching. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
jimmytancrediAug 12, 2011
Kick-Ass is, for sure, a fine homage to super heroes. Besides entering on a cliche universe, however peculiar, from the characters (special abilities, graphic violence, good humor, and really versus evilness), the film brings a curiousKick-Ass is, for sure, a fine homage to super heroes. Besides entering on a cliche universe, however peculiar, from the characters (special abilities, graphic violence, good humor, and really versus evilness), the film brings a curious narrative which accosts the contrast between existentialism and the consequences of being a 'demigod'. The production, inspired in the graphic novel by John Romita Jr. and Mark Millar, is really well directed by the Britain and the debutant Matthew Vaughn. Apart from the cool balconies of metalanguage and creativity in conducting cameras, Vaughn brings a clever script that prints a breathtaking pace balancing drama, action (with inventive scenes and quality) and comedy in good measure. Telling more details about the heroes in "Kick-Ass" would be such a immorality. The amazing true story about the 'alter egos' work as well as the stories of famous 'vigilantes' on crime. Kick it Hit-Girl! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
alleyt1989Feb 25, 2011
This is one of the most enjoyable superhero movies of the last few years, with a decent storyline that is true to the original comic style. The killing scenes are quite impressive, but the story of Big Daddy and Hit Girl became a little tooThis is one of the most enjoyable superhero movies of the last few years, with a decent storyline that is true to the original comic style. The killing scenes are quite impressive, but the story of Big Daddy and Hit Girl became a little too sappy to compliment the remainder of the film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
XxKingLeonidasMar 22, 2011
Just another example of how great violent superhero movies can be. Great action scenes, memorable characters, a truly unique world, all helps create an experience like no other.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
movie__manAug 10, 2011
It's a good movie. Just don't take it too seriously. Lots of hardcore violence that i didn't expect and some very memorable characters. Kids, don't take advice on girls from a guy that looks like a hobbit. Enjoy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AnezayMay 7, 2011
Entertaining deconstruction of the superhero trope. If you're easily offended by profanity, gratuitous violence, and the thought of children not being good and perfect little angels, don't watch this film (or go outside). Otherwise, be sureEntertaining deconstruction of the superhero trope. If you're easily offended by profanity, gratuitous violence, and the thought of children not being good and perfect little angels, don't watch this film (or go outside). Otherwise, be sure to give this one a try. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
CursedKnight187Apr 28, 2011
There's no doubting it, this movie is pretty funny. It kept me laughing for a while, but after a short time it does seem to get quite boring.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
lovemusicMay 15, 2011
I LOVE THIS MOVIE SO MUCH IT WAS FUNNY AND VIOLENT. IT WILL ENTERTAIN YOU. IT KICKED ASS. 10 out of 10 it was a great action movie. it was kinda like the comic book
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
HalfwelshmanMay 9, 2012
Kick-Ass is without question the best of the recent trend of postmodern superhero films. It's not mercilessly bleak like Watchmen, not depraved like Super and it's certainly not for kids like Sky High. A lot of the film's quality hinges on aKick-Ass is without question the best of the recent trend of postmodern superhero films. It's not mercilessly bleak like Watchmen, not depraved like Super and it's certainly not for kids like Sky High. A lot of the film's quality hinges on a truly great cast. Aaron Johnson makes a great loveable loser Dave Lizewski who decides to become the titular, wet-suited hero, Mark Strong adds another great despicable villain, the powerful gangster Frank D'Amico to his repertoire and Christopher Mintz-Plasse is great as always playing Frank's lonely son and (disturbingly willing) heir to the D'Amico criminal empire, who masquerades as a new hero Red Mist to contact Kick-Ass under the pretence of friendship. The real highlights of the film are the dream pairing of a moustachioed Nicholas Cage doing his best Adam West impression and a hilariously filthy-mouthed Chloe Grace Moretz playing the vengeful father/daughter hero team of Big Daddy and Hit Girl. Let's be honest, Mr Cage has had some stinkers in his career, but when he gets it right, he really gets it right - he has the opportunity to show his undeniable talent for both comedy and pathos here, and the character arc of Damon and Mindy Macready is certainly the most rewarding and entertaining of the whole film. There are a few instances where the story runs out of steam, and Matthew Vaughn's Brit-dominated cast of villains do occasionally slip out of their American tough-guy accents, but a wealth of affectionate digs at comic book lore, Jane Goldman's delightfully sweary script, some gloriously violent action and Matthew Vaughn's accomplished direction more than make up for it. Kick-Ass is an immensely enjoyable viewing experience, that will please comic fans, comedy fans and fans of terrifying murderous tweens alike. I just hope the inevitable sequel doesn't lose any of its charm, inventiveness and especially its sense of fun. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
RichBlackSep 12, 2011
After watching this movie the second time, I can easily say that this is one of my favorite Superhero films, and then watching it the third time, I absolutely loved it even more! I found out how awesome the action scenes were and how theAfter watching this movie the second time, I can easily say that this is one of my favorite Superhero films, and then watching it the third time, I absolutely loved it even more! I found out how awesome the action scenes were and how the characters did a perfect job. I really didn't think this movie can be that dark and funny at the same time. Just can't see how some people would hate it. Well, I guess if you took your child to this movie thinking it will be for kids, but who would think of that with the title Kick-Ass. What Im really surprised about is how Nicholas cage did in this movie, playing Big Daddy. It wasn't one of his same old acting, but it was something most of us was waiting for. Of course, Hit Girl, played by Cloe Moretz, was my favorite character. She did the most awesome moves when fighting. Aaron Johnson might have been a new face to all of you, if you haven't seen Nowhere Boy, which you have to see. Aaron played the main character, Kick-Ass, who's got sick and tired of getting picked on. So he becomes a superhero, and becomes really famous. Then somehow everything turns out wrong, when a part of gang gets taken down by kick-Ass, Hit girl, and Big Daddy. The last two action scenes is so awesome and intense that I almost peed myself. Kick-Ass and Red Mist are probably the ones that make this movie have hilarious parts. I also discovered that this had songs from Danny Boyle's "28 days later" and "Sunshine" during the fight scenes that really made it's mark. I will definitely love this film, and the characters, and I think I just found a new favorite director, Mathew Vahn, who directed "Stardust" ( who would've guessed that), and produced "Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels". This movie is not the average superhero movie, but is definitely one of my favorites. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ZiggyStardustJun 16, 2011
Finally something new. Kick-Ass is meant for everybody! Whether you're young or old, you will enjoy this movie. The actors did a really good job and the question whether being a super-hero in our today's society would be any good is answered.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
myopinionJun 28, 2011
first thing man up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
if it disturbes u that a kid kills dudes than dont watch an r movie ok the movie shows tat wether ur a sicopah or a regular dude y can make a diff
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
bighead6000Jul 27, 2011
In my opinion, this movie was much better than I expected it to be. The story is pretty interesting, along with the action throughout the whole movie. This movie is a good movie that I think everyone would enjoy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
J-ShapAug 28, 2011
Kick-Ass, despite all its grandiose, action, pop songs, violence, swearing, humor, and commentary, ends up to a film that simply wants to be cool and doesn't know when to stop. Eventually, all this effort and need to be important kills anyKick-Ass, despite all its grandiose, action, pop songs, violence, swearing, humor, and commentary, ends up to a film that simply wants to be cool and doesn't know when to stop. Eventually, all this effort and need to be important kills any sense of wonder, and the final product comes up as rather tame. The violence never has any punch because it is so forced (without the creative wit of some like Quentin Tarantino, it comes across as shock), and the comedy is too wink-and-a-nod to entertain. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
alexandergreenSep 4, 2011
I was disappointed, to be honest. The film has few good moments, and I personally couldn't follow the plot due to a simple lack of interest in the characters.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 21, 2011
Now, what "Kick Ass" presents to us is the new era of superheroes; it screws the old, classical heroes like "Batman", "Spiderman", and "Superman", and delivers addictive violence and superheroes that actually have a normal story with a normalNow, what "Kick Ass" presents to us is the new era of superheroes; it screws the old, classical heroes like "Batman", "Spiderman", and "Superman", and delivers addictive violence and superheroes that actually have a normal story with a normal goal. The movie is stunning and powerful. However, it is Chloe Moretz, the girl who was Hit Girl, that bloodied up the screen for the craving audience. This film certainly DOES kick ass! Expand
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
8
papamurrthSep 14, 2011
The 21st century has seen a revival in the superhero genre of films, and few are as unique and as brilliant as Kick-Ass. Created in the writing rooms of Marvel, the transition to cinema has been almost entirely successful, and has catapultedThe 21st century has seen a revival in the superhero genre of films, and few are as unique and as brilliant as Kick-Ass. Created in the writing rooms of Marvel, the transition to cinema has been almost entirely successful, and has catapulted this excellent comic into the mainstream. An outstanding aspect of the film is the casting, in particular bringing all of our attention to Chloë Moretz in the controversial role of Hit Girl. Others performed admirably too; Cage turned in a decent performance; Aaron Johnson played the eponymous role well; and comedy was provided from all angles in the form of Dave Lizewski's buddies, Marty and Todd. The real brilliance of the film though is routed in the realistic nature of the setting and characters, with the plot showing fantastic uniqueness. Kick-Ass has succeeded in being a great film, good fun to watch and yet at the same time making the audience feel emotionally invested in the characters. The action sequences are worth a special mention, in particular those involving the character Hit Girl, because of the way in which they are shot. Matthew Vaughn has pulled out all the stops in creating visually stunning fight sequences, and coupled with a well chosen soundtrack, he has created some of the best action sequences in recent times. None of this compromises the emotional integrity of the film, and for that the film creators deserve great credit given how gory the comic was. A great film, a kick-ass film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
VladasinOct 8, 2011
Generally terrible movie. Amalgam of weird geek sense of humor, action and... This movie left me untouched and it wasted my two hour of my precious life!
Though my negative opinions there were few good actors and they knew what to do.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
EssenceOfSugarJul 20, 2012
It's unfair to say that films that are this inappropriate are highlighted as 'not for children'. Well, duh, of course not, but just because this film is violent and full of profanity, does that make it any less better than other films thatIt's unfair to say that films that are this inappropriate are highlighted as 'not for children'. Well, duh, of course not, but just because this film is violent and full of profanity, does that make it any less better than other films that are considered more appropriate? This is pure entertainment and the jokes were never few and far between - it felt funny, fresh and original. Yeah, so, the beginning had little fire-power to it, but that didn't matter. The songs rocked and there were some extremely colourful characters - Strong certainly had a field day playing Frank D'Amico. On that note, it was brilliant to see some well-known and likeable actors playing them, although it's the first time that I've seen Cage excel at his acting! The costumes were certainly colourful too - especially Christopher, who could not look better in that epic Red Mist outfit! Action-packed, beautifully paced, side-splitting tear-inducing falling-off-sofa humoured solid gold entertainment, and, despite what the critics think (Average review score of 66? Please, show yourself to the door this instant), this film really knows how to Kick-Ass! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
StevenFMar 8, 2013
Word of advice, don't follow the trailer on this one, because Kick-Ass is further away than the dumbed down superhero comedy that the trailer indicated.
The film is narrated by Dave Lizewski (Aaron Johnson) who often seriously thinks about
Word of advice, don't follow the trailer on this one, because Kick-Ass is further away than the dumbed down superhero comedy that the trailer indicated.
The film is narrated by Dave Lizewski (Aaron Johnson) who often seriously thinks about being a superhero, not necessarily one with superhuman abilities or with mountains of cash, but one who is a genuine citizen in a cheap spandex suit trying to right the wrongs of the city, so he does exactly that.
The story the takes an interesting turn as there are already superheroes present in New York, in the form of Big Daddy (Nicolas Cage) and Hit-Girl (Chloë Moretz). They are quite the dynamic duo as they are already skilled in the art of fighting and, well, being heroic.
There is no hero without the villain of course, and Mark Strong puts in a strong performance as gang boss Frank D'Amico, who is attempting to dispose the heroes, with the accompaniment of his son, Chris (Christopher Mintz-Plasse).
This was quite a risky and fragile road to take in turning this comic book into a film, it makes no attempt in hiding its promotion of unadulterated violence and all out crude and profanity laced dialogue, yet it still turns out to be one of the best and very different comedies of its time.
Hit-Girl is obviously the talk of the film, controversy surrounds Moretz's roll as an 11 year old swearing, stabbing and killing machine, but films need to take risks like this in order to evolve and adapt to other genres, because there is no doubt that this film doesn't hold back in using shock and awe tactics to create a stellar film, one which, with the type of movie you see, the writers know will not please everyone.
Johnson is quite likeable in his role as Kick-Ass, he explains everything in a pop-cultured yet realistic manner that cannot be ignored, it all fits together with the comedic but grounded tone of the film.
There is of course plenty of action with some impressive sequences, one involving Hit-Girl taking down a small army of men along to 'Bad Reputation' by Joan Jett, quite brilliant. Nicolas Cage does an excellent turn as Big Daddy, playing a very different role to what we are used to, but its Moretz and Johnson who steal the show as the young heroes, forever unpredictable and of course full of teenage kicks.
Quite a different sort of superhero and comedy film, but naturally one which will not be funny to everyone.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
heyitsmegrif4Dec 30, 2011
Kick- Ass offers an unforgettable performance from Chloe Moretz, gore, action and humor and the whole movie just bathes in profanity I give this movie 86%.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
Jedi_JettsonJan 21, 2012
Its not for all kids, but the plot of Kick-Ass teaches people not to hesitate and stand up to bullies and criminals, makes a difference in fighting crime, teamwork is well-structured into the story than other superhero films, and deliversIts not for all kids, but the plot of Kick-Ass teaches people not to hesitate and stand up to bullies and criminals, makes a difference in fighting crime, teamwork is well-structured into the story than other superhero films, and delivers non-stop comic action and laughs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TarintinoCodFanDec 17, 2011
I'm just going to write a short review as I'm watching it at the moment for the third time today. This film is realistic as in it could happen. It is so funny. Everytime I watch it I laugh louder. The soundtrack is the best ever in the filmI'm just going to write a short review as I'm watching it at the moment for the third time today. This film is realistic as in it could happen. It is so funny. Everytime I watch it I laugh louder. The soundtrack is the best ever in the film and I listen to whilst playing MW3 multiplayer. Nicholas Cage and Chloe Moretz should have got an oscar for this spectacular performance. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
KICK-ASSfanboyDec 16, 2011
In my opinion this is the greatest movie ever made. The actors are so easy to fall in love with, and i think that is one of the most important aspects of this movie. The music in this is phenomenal and to me remains the greatest score ever. IIn my opinion this is the greatest movie ever made. The actors are so easy to fall in love with, and i think that is one of the most important aspects of this movie. The music in this is phenomenal and to me remains the greatest score ever. I would just like to thank Matthew Vaughn for the brilliant directing, Danny Elfmen, Henry Jackman, John Murphy, Marius De Vries and IIan Eshkeri for the mindblowingly amazing music they created. And last but certainly not least i would like to thank Aaron Johnson, Christopher Mintz-Plasse, Mark Strong, Nicolas Cage and Chloe Moretz, you did what knowone predicted and that's act like nothing before. Thankyou for making this dream a reality Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Bruce722Aug 20, 2013
Kick-Ass is one of the best "superhero" movies ever. I put quotes around the word "superhero" because it is not your traditional superhero film. The entire concept behind it is very unique and refreshing, the characters are not archetypal atKick-Ass is one of the best "superhero" movies ever. I put quotes around the word "superhero" because it is not your traditional superhero film. The entire concept behind it is very unique and refreshing, the characters are not archetypal at all, the acting is good enough, and the style is very in-your-face. Granted, that in-your-face, overly graphic and profane style will certainly rub many people the wrong way. This is not a film for everyone. The only weak element of the film, and it's also part of its strength, is the ridiculousness of certain scenes and action sequences. I can't know it for that because the fact that it doesn't take itself too seriously is also part of its appeal but there are times when aggravation occurs. Overall, this is a great movie that, while everyone won't enjoy, those that do will certainly love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
It wasn't what I expected. I thought it would be a fun mix of comedy and action, but it wasn't. It started out pretty good, but then it just went way over the top, filled with clique violence and often used catch phrases. It was predictable,It wasn't what I expected. I thought it would be a fun mix of comedy and action, but it wasn't. It started out pretty good, but then it just went way over the top, filled with clique violence and often used catch phrases. It was predictable, all be it entertaining. If you were like me however, expecting anything more than just another shoot 'em up, blow 'em up, action film, you're gonna be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
oxanaAug 24, 2014
This movie was not what I expected it to be. It was better, bloodier, a little less funny, and definitely more stylish than I could have hoped for.

This is not a comedy. This is not your traditional superhero movie. There are no
This movie was not what I expected it to be. It was better, bloodier, a little less funny, and definitely more stylish than I could have hoped for.

This is not a comedy. This is not your traditional superhero movie. There are no superpowers, no spider-senses, no cryptonite or radiation poisoning.

There is just one guy who asks himself: Why hasn't anyone tried to be a superhero before?

Meet Kick-Ass. Or, Ass-Kick, as some people are so fond of calling him... He may be a total loser, but at least he's trying. Playing a gay BFF to a girl he likes because he is too afraid to tell her the truth, and trying to be the one to help people when no one else does, he'll soon notice that there is a reason why people don't simply put on a costume and run into the night to save the world from evil; the evil fights back, hard. Sometimes harder than you can take.

Then there's Big Daddy (Nicholas Cage, who really made an impression in this role as a slightly crazed "copy" of a Batman) and Hit Girl (so young, so talented, so **** up if you come to think of it). Those two are driven by a hate for a gangster Frank D'Amico. They are a step closer to a real superhero act, although they have chosen the bloody bath to get to their goal.

I liked the style of this movie, the casting was good, the acting was brilliant, and the camera work gave the film such a distinctive way to tell the story that... I don't really know how to describe it, other than 'damn good'.

There's a lot of blood. In a way it is tasteful and very real. People get beaten up. People die. The tricks are not inhuman. This movie is so sad and painfully real it hurts.

See it if you haven't already.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
mrniceDec 18, 2013
Within the genre, this is quite spectacular, lots of fun, and more emotionally engaging than any fun superhero movie has the right to be. If you're in doubts about what superhero movie to see next, take me recommendation. And no, it's NOT for kids.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sjbn002Aug 3, 2013
Una pelicula con superheroes e intentos de superheroes muy divertida, la traduccion al español es fenomenal (Mexico), me parecio muy comica y original, me hizo llorar de la risa, la musica muy acorde a los momentos cumbre de la pelicula, queUna pelicula con superheroes e intentos de superheroes muy divertida, la traduccion al español es fenomenal (Mexico), me parecio muy comica y original, me hizo llorar de la risa, la musica muy acorde a los momentos cumbre de la pelicula, que mas se puede pedir el reparto de 10, saludos.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
paulgreenFeb 15, 2012
Kick-Ass is very funny and interesting movie ! I like it very much and I give to it 10 from 10 ! I am loking forward for second part!
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
Horsemad7009May 6, 2012
Kick-Ass is an amazing film, however, you can't get upset by people dying. If you do, you will be crying throughout the entire film. A little girl swearing can't offend you either.

An awesome film, would highly recommend
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
fabien7474Apr 15, 2012
What can I say about this movies that was not already said ?

It is simply awesome. I saw it 3 or 4 times and each time I discover new details that make me think that I will need to watch it again. What an entertainment !
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
OfficialMar 8, 2014
It's crude and violent, but it's great. How many comic book movies can you think of that offers you ridiculously hilarious content and a compelling story and action at the same time?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleJul 8, 2016
I typically detest films like Kick-Ass. Yet, here I am. I actually quite enjoyed Kick-Ass. It is funny, thrilling, and thoroughly entertaining. It is truly infectiously fun. Chloe Grace Moretz certainly steals the show as the 11-year oldI typically detest films like Kick-Ass. Yet, here I am. I actually quite enjoyed Kick-Ass. It is funny, thrilling, and thoroughly entertaining. It is truly infectiously fun. Chloe Grace Moretz certainly steals the show as the 11-year old assassin Hit Girl who kicks major ass. Aaron Taylor-Johnson is also solid in the lead role and does a fine job, though Moretz certainly hints at her future potential as a great actress in this role. Fun, well paced, and actually quite well written, Kick-Ass may be a little skin deep and may indulge in gratuitous violence and silly, over-the-top moments a little too often, but it is hard to resist its charms. Plus, who does not appreciate a film with Nicolas Cage that can actually be labelled as "good"? Overall, Kick-Ass is just as silly and dumb as you may think, but it works thanks to stylish direction from Matthew Vaughn and a unique approach to the superhero genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
dev92Aug 24, 2012
Matthew Vaughn produces a great film here with a very young cast. Obviously Vaughn has been involved in many British films and I feel as if they (as well as his upbringing in the UK) have greatly influenced the way he portrays comedic momentsMatthew Vaughn produces a great film here with a very young cast. Obviously Vaughn has been involved in many British films and I feel as if they (as well as his upbringing in the UK) have greatly influenced the way he portrays comedic moments within an action film. All-in-all, this was a very enjoyable film which I would happily watch again and again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ReubenIsAGodAug 26, 2013
This is a great movie, its fun entertaining and has a whole Lota violent's, Honestly the best superhero movie ive seen in a long time, it was just a great film, not the best movie of all time but still one bad-ass movie i definitelyThis is a great movie, its fun entertaining and has a whole Lota violent's, Honestly the best superhero movie ive seen in a long time, it was just a great film, not the best movie of all time but still one bad-ass movie i definitely recommend siting down and watching it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews