User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 811 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 811
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    Kick-Ass is very funny and interesting movie ! I like it very much and I give to it 10 from 10 ! I am loking forward for second part!
  2. ZiezK.
    Apr 20, 2010
    10
    This film was fantastic and everything I hoped it would be. I had never read the comic but this film was amazing. The acting was great, the visuals, fight scenes, and gore were top of the line.
  3. BrianF.
    Apr 17, 2010
    10
    The Big Daddy warehouse shootout was epic.
  4. johnN.
    Apr 20, 2010
    10
    Loved it. The love reviews are comical. It was fun. Period.
  5. JakeA.
    Apr 23, 2010
    10
    I went into this movie thinking it would be a comedy, but oh was I wrong. The movie keeps you on the edge of your seat with with violent action scenes and when the movie does slow down they hit you with a joke. I suggest going to see this movie while you still can.
  6. AtticusM.
    Apr 24, 2010
    10
    What is not to like about this movie? Brutal violence, great performances, a kick-ass soundtrack and overall one of the best film experiences to come along in a very long time. You will not be disappointed.
  7. JustinB
    Apr 27, 2010
    9
    Excellent movie. Was laughing throughout. Definitely recommended.
  8. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    Holy **** **** does this movie rule. The first time, it felt a little of the edge and all over the place. But as I rewatched it, I absolutely acknowledged its awesomeness. I knew what I was getting myself into, but holy **** It's better than any action movie from last year. Or any comedy. It's breath-taking. captivating, stunning, hilarious, beautifully perverse and all around fantastic.Holy **** **** does this movie rule. The first time, it felt a little of the edge and all over the place. But as I rewatched it, I absolutely acknowledged its awesomeness. I knew what I was getting myself into, but holy **** It's better than any action movie from last year. Or any comedy. It's breath-taking. captivating, stunning, hilarious, beautifully perverse and all around fantastic. What Matthew Vaughn did to the superhero genre was take it, **** it and out plopped the greatest action movie of 2010. The acting is supreme - I'll never find a hitgirl beter than Chloe Grace Moretz -, the editing, jaw droppingly terrific, the directing and writing, pants-****tingly great. It's ****ing perfect. I can't really find any faults or problems with it. IT IS ****ING AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love you Matthew Vaughn. In a non gay/platonic way. Expand
  9. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    I'm just going to write a short review as I'm watching it at the moment for the third time today. This film is realistic as in it could happen. It is so funny. Everytime I watch it I laugh louder. The soundtrack is the best ever in the film and I listen to whilst playing MW3 multiplayer. Nicholas Cage and Chloe Moretz should have got an oscar for this spectacular performance.
  10. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    In my opinion this is the greatest movie ever made. The actors are so easy to fall in love with, and i think that is one of the most important aspects of this movie. The music in this is phenomenal and to me remains the greatest score ever. I would just like to thank Matthew Vaughn for the brilliant directing, Danny Elfmen, Henry Jackman, John Murphy, Marius De Vries and IIan Eshkeri forIn my opinion this is the greatest movie ever made. The actors are so easy to fall in love with, and i think that is one of the most important aspects of this movie. The music in this is phenomenal and to me remains the greatest score ever. I would just like to thank Matthew Vaughn for the brilliant directing, Danny Elfmen, Henry Jackman, John Murphy, Marius De Vries and IIan Eshkeri for the mindblowingly amazing music they created. And last but certainly not least i would like to thank Aaron Johnson, Christopher Mintz-Plasse, Mark Strong, Nicolas Cage and Chloe Moretz, you did what knowone predicted and that's act like nothing before. Thankyou for making this dream a reality Expand
  11. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    What can I say about this movies that was not already said ?

    It is simply awesome. I saw it 3 or 4 times and each time I discover new details that make me think that I will need to watch it again. What an entertainment !
  12. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    Kick Ass is awesome. Period. No questions asked. This film brings life to people that love superheroes in a cool way, I mean look at the action scenes! They are damn good! Kick Ass is a really well done movie and I really can't wait for the next part. Kick ass has those Hollywood elements that director Matthew Vaughn has put together, with cool weapons and jetpacks! The story or plot aboutKick Ass is awesome. Period. No questions asked. This film brings life to people that love superheroes in a cool way, I mean look at the action scenes! They are damn good! Kick Ass is a really well done movie and I really can't wait for the next part. Kick ass has those Hollywood elements that director Matthew Vaughn has put together, with cool weapons and jetpacks! The story or plot about Dave Liwinzki has been put together real good and the characters like Mindy and Big Daddy are the major elements for the movie to thrive. The film has emotions, action and lots of it, gore and man a lot of gore, and superheroes saving the city from ruthless drug crime lords. If you haven't seen or finished the movie, watch the climax. Expand
  13. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    Kick Ass is not a superhero, but just a normal college kid hoping to become a bad ass hero! He thinks he's a pretty big deal after his video went viral, but then he meets Hit Girl and Big Daddy, the real superheroes. The movie is very well filmed, with even yet colorful detail and an interesting story.
  14. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    Like all good action films kick-ass contains strong gory violence and outrageous comedy. Kick ass explodes to life with amazing special effects and hilarious scenes that will keep you entertained for the 117 mins of run time. Kick-ass kicks spiderman and superman in the ass. literally. You will have never scene a superhero film like this. This movie is definitely worth watching, and ifLike all good action films kick-ass contains strong gory violence and outrageous comedy. Kick ass explodes to life with amazing special effects and hilarious scenes that will keep you entertained for the 117 mins of run time. Kick-ass kicks spiderman and superman in the ass. literally. You will have never scene a superhero film like this. This movie is definitely worth watching, and if you like superheroes, action, strong violence and comedy moments that will surely make you laugh, It is about time you see a movie that kicks ass. Kick-ass is the film4u. Expand
  15. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    Kick-Ass is my favorite movie of all time, tied with Donnie Darko. Kick-Ass is truly amazing, and I love every second of it. The idea is unique, and is executed beautifully. The movie is hilarious, serious, sad, action-packed, brilliant and mesmerizing. Kick-Ass truly kicked MY ass, and there's really nothing more to say. If you have not seen this movie, then you really f*cking need to. 10/10
  16. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    "Kick Ass , As far as Action films go , is amazing , stunning , and will keep you entertained for its 2hr run time , which sometimes maybe hard to do , Aaron Johnson leads a all star cast , with lots of action , fun and Excitement this is the one movie that lives up to its TITLE!." A
  17. Sep 8, 2010
    10
    I'm not ashamed to admit this is one of my favorite movies of all time. The entire premise is ridiculous, but the movie takes itself so seriously that it feels like an actual attempt to make a super hero movie.
  18. Aug 12, 2010
    9
    Kick Ass is actually a great movie. Many will love it, since it might be "the goriest superhero movie" I can understand that the whole base of it, is stupid, but refreshingly entertaining
  19. Sep 8, 2010
    10
    I reward it a "The Best Action Movie In 2010"
  20. Aug 28, 2010
    9
    An imaginative reboot of the superhero story with some cool visuals. I hate superhero stories at this point but this ranks in the top four of all time on my list, behind The Dark Knight, Iron Man and Spiderman 2, although this may be better than S2. Chloe Moretz is a very cool young actress.
  21. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    I can't quite agree with most of the tut-tutting critics. I admit that several things in the film made me raise an eyebrow, and it did make me think, because I've never seen stuff like an 11-year old girl swearing like a truck driver and killing people in brutally violent ways in a film. Ultimately I think the ones crying "for shame!" are over-reacting just a tad. The film does puts itsI can't quite agree with most of the tut-tutting critics. I admit that several things in the film made me raise an eyebrow, and it did make me think, because I've never seen stuff like an 11-year old girl swearing like a truck driver and killing people in brutally violent ways in a film. Ultimately I think the ones crying "for shame!" are over-reacting just a tad. The film does puts its toes to the line, but for me it doesn't quite cross it. And let's face it, it's a funny, clever idea, extremely well executed. It doesn't make the mistake of many such films by diving into the action immediately before we've gotten to know the characters. People are oblivious to the fact that it makes it more exciting if we care about what happens to them, if it's not just frenetic mindless action. Vaughn takes his time and his pacing is impeccable, just the right amount of build-up to the climactic scenes, and he deftly makes these scenes emotional as well as exciting. The cast is pretty much great, with the possible exception of Mark Strong, who is not quite loathesome enough to be the arch-villain. Every critic and every "user", however, has agreed on one thing: this film contains a star in the making. Chloe Grace Moretz is astoundingly assured and inspired at 11 years old. Never seen a child actor this compelling EVER, not Anna Paquin, not Natalie Portman, not Jodie Foster. She steals every scene she's in and steals the movie. See it just for her. Also, great music. Expand
  22. Sep 10, 2010
    10
    Holy **** this movie is **** amazing. It starts out kinda ****ty and mediocre and then it just suddenly cranks the awesomeness to 11. An amazing story that comes up with a truly unique answer to the question, why aren't their any superheroes?
  23. DanielC
    Apr 20, 2010
    9
    Seriously, average review of 66? This film was funny, had some of the best action sequences I've ever seen, and was presented very well, some amazing song choices for the soundtrack. Its hard hitting in places too. I was genuinely surprised to see the fairly average score of 66 on here.
  24. m0trenurt
    Apr 30, 2010
    9
    The critics obviously need a lesson in whats good about a movie. No one cares about your moral outrage or your political correctness. Im just glad you lot werent in the focus greoup for this film. This film is fun and thats one of the most important things about main stream media. If this movie offends you, you need to take along hard look at what your life has become.
  25. Aug 21, 2010
    9
    wow this movie was just awsome . it was a unexpected suprise . i really didnt think it was gona be that good .i original wanted to see it because it had the guy who played Mclovin in super bad in it . i thought it would be funny with him as a super hero .after seeing it though i quikly relised that the star of the show was not him or even kick ass him self . it was the little girl mindywow this movie was just awsome . it was a unexpected suprise . i really didnt think it was gona be that good .i original wanted to see it because it had the guy who played Mclovin in super bad in it . i thought it would be funny with him as a super hero .after seeing it though i quikly relised that the star of the show was not him or even kick ass him self . it was the little girl mindy AKA Hit Girl . i mean i hate kids and despise them but this was one kid i liked her acting. her lines where even better and her action was fantasticaly enjoyable to wach . the plotof this film was really enjoyable as well . it pretty much asks the question what if super heroes where real in are world what would they be like . the film feels original and is well acted by all except nicholas cage who is spotty at best . seems like cage was only in this for the money and pretty much just phoned his performance in . all in all the this movie will probubly be the best movie of the year . i really dont think i'll see any thing better then this . Expand
  26. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    Both the favorable and unfavorable reviews miss the moral question at the center of Vaughn's film: why are we bystanders? Kick-Ass' world is riotous, self-deprecating, and awesome; but it is the exact opposite of irresponsible. Rather, it unmasks an adult world in which police officers operate on both sides of crime, citizens are voyeurs into one another's suffering, and we all wonderBoth the favorable and unfavorable reviews miss the moral question at the center of Vaughn's film: why are we bystanders? Kick-Ass' world is riotous, self-deprecating, and awesome; but it is the exact opposite of irresponsible. Rather, it unmasks an adult world in which police officers operate on both sides of crime, citizens are voyeurs into one another's suffering, and we all wonder who is going to change it. By now, it is clear that neither adults nor teenagers are willing to risk their routines for their neighbors. At least teenagers still fantasize about doing something. So the obvious answer is a little girl who, with some sidekick mockery from Nic Cage, makes Batman look like a man dressed up like a bat. To echo other reviewers, Hitgirl is the new standard of awesome. But, until Kick-Ass' moment of transformation, she is also the last human willing to offer an embodied answer to injustice. That Vaughn hides this seriousness in such absolutely brilliant awesomeness might confuse some, but it should not be misinterpreted as a statement of "coolness" or teenage hormonal self-gratification. It's saying much more than that. Why hold the fact that it's also cool against it? Expand
  27. Sep 3, 2010
    10
    Kick-Ass is possibly one of the best films so far this year. It's brilliant - funny, violent and just so damn cool. Matthew Vaughn took a risk making this film and I can guarantee it's paid off. The film is packed full of comic book references and homages to film like Batman, Kill Bill and Scarface. The title character is played Aaron Johnson, who justifies his place on the screen. IKick-Ass is possibly one of the best films so far this year. It's brilliant - funny, violent and just so damn cool. Matthew Vaughn took a risk making this film and I can guarantee it's paid off. The film is packed full of comic book references and homages to film like Batman, Kill Bill and Scarface. The title character is played Aaron Johnson, who justifies his place on the screen. I thought his American accent (he's British) was very natural and he brings this 'loser' character to life. But don't think he's the star, it's actually his smaller companion played by Chloe Grace Moretz - the merciless and skilled fighter Hit Girl. She was effective, outstanding and gives one of the best performances by a child actor that I've seen in a while. She'll be remembered for quite some time. Other standouts performances include Nicolas Cage's performance as Hit Girl's father Big Daddy who was reminiscent of Adam West's Batman and Mark Strong's drug lord mobster Frank D'Amico actually was pretty funny. Matthew Vaughn's third film is nothing short of a miracle because some superhero movies are pretty awful now, I definitely think this will be a cult film from now on. Expand
  28. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I give this a 10, i have watched this movie so many times now and i believe it is one of my favorites, as a huge fan of Chloe Grace Moretz, ill defend her on her behalf, People are saying this is terrible kid is cussing and killing people and got beat up from an older man, what people need to realize is that this is only a movie and its not actually happening, There were many great moment like when Cage was burning and Hit-Girl had to save him, and much more please go watch it and buy it on Blu-Ray Expand
  29. Apr 9, 2011
    10
    The most eye opening and attention demanding movie I've ever seen, it expertly combines Action, Comedy and even a bit of romance, a fantastic, fun movie
  30. Oct 2, 2010
    9
    This movie was great on so many levels. Not only was the story intriguing and exciting. The acting was great. The character development was fantastic. The use of comic pages to tell the story gave you a real feeling of fantasy in reality. Some other great things about the movie were the fight chreoography which was much better than one would expect for a movie like this. The amazingThis movie was great on so many levels. Not only was the story intriguing and exciting. The acting was great. The character development was fantastic. The use of comic pages to tell the story gave you a real feeling of fantasy in reality. Some other great things about the movie were the fight chreoography which was much better than one would expect for a movie like this. The amazing musical score and soundtrack. As well as a bunch of very comedic scenes. This movie hits you with all the tools and If could remake it I wouldn't change a thing. Would highly recommend this movie to anyone. Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38
  1. A clever movie premise based on an obscure comic book has been turned into, okay we’ll say it, a fanboy’s kick-ass wet dream of a movie that could be a surprise Spring smash.
  2. 100
    A ridiculously entertaining, perfectly paced, ultra-violent cinematic rush that kicks the places other movies struggle to reach.
  3. Reviewed by: John Defore
    80
    Its balancing act between innocence and gore perfectly matches the expectations of genre fans, who should embrace the movie.