Universal Pictures | Release Date: May 13, 2005
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 212 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
180
Mixed:
18
Negative:
14
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
VinceH.Jun 3, 2005
How much you like/dislike this film will mainly depend on how much you can tolerate of Will Ferrell's mugging and scenery-chewing. Personally I think a movie of the guy doing his taxes would be entertaining, so as a Ferrell fan you will How much you like/dislike this film will mainly depend on how much you can tolerate of Will Ferrell's mugging and scenery-chewing. Personally I think a movie of the guy doing his taxes would be entertaining, so as a Ferrell fan you will be satisfied. Sure the movie is harmless and you will walk away unbruised and with limbs intact, but in the end it fails. It fails as a children's/family movie, given that there is actually very little "children's-movie" material in it (unless having children appear onscreen and breathing and talking is considered a family film). At the screening I attended, the only people laughing were pre-teens and adolescents, with the majority of children looking bored and falling asleep. As a comedy, it has one genuinely funny episode (Ferrell in a coffee shop ordering his first decaf latte), and that's it. Everything else feels like scraps from The Bad News Bears and other loser-sport movies you've already seen a thousand-and-a-half times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MarkTMay 29, 2005
Lazily (unforgivably) written, poorly shot, an embarrassment from start to finish. I doubt whether Ferrell, Duvall, or even Ditka can bring themselves to watch five minutes of this. Save your money and watch the best of Will Ferrell on SNL instead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
chrisNMay 13, 2005
Just another half-baked Will Ferrell movie with a few stupid laughs stemming from Ferrell's boring and repetetive delivery.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MarkB.May 26, 2005
We'll all find out in a few weeks whether the upcoming Billy Bob Thornton remake of Michael Ritchie's 1976 kiddie-sports classic The Bad News Bears turns out to be enjoyable but unnecessary or just plain unnecessary, but in the We'll all find out in a few weeks whether the upcoming Billy Bob Thornton remake of Michael Ritchie's 1976 kiddie-sports classic The Bad News Bears turns out to be enjoyable but unnecessary or just plain unnecessary, but in the meantime there's always this cynically sloppy, lazy unofficial do-over to avoid. Ritchie's untimely early death a few years ago is the only factor preventing him from justifiably and understandably suing the perpetuators of this plagiarism, which steals everything from the terrific Walter Matthau/Tatum O'Neal original except what made it work: a witty script that perfectly blended big laughs and understated but effective sentiment, and gave each kid on the team a very distinct, mutidimensional personality. (Sorry, guys: the ability to eat worms whole does NOT count as a personality trait.) Will Ferrell, as a reluctant soccer dad who turns rabid, is game as always if somewhat constrained by the movie's PG restrictions, and as Melinda and Melinda and even Old School demonstrate, handles serious, dramatic moments with admirable sincerity...but honestly, even though I'm a fairly easy person to get a laugh out of at the movies, I smiled once and only once throughout Kicking's tortuously endless 95 minutes. (It was the bit in which Ferrell and his team rush straight to a game from a butcher shop.) In fact, I don't know which element of this movie depressed me more: 1.) Robert Duvall's willingness, in the role of Ferrell's hypercompetitive dad (and rival coach) to prostitute his memorable role in The Great Santini, which his character mirthlessly parodies here; I mean, if I want to watch actors spoof previous iconic performances, I'll rewatch Marlon Brando in The Freshman; 2.) the fact that Duvall turned down a third chance to play Tom Hagen in The Godfather Part III because his paycheck wasn't big enough, yet has no trouble accepting cash of any amount for junk like this; or 3.) the participation of Judd Apatow, a producer associated with quirky, quality TV shows such as Freaks and Geeks and Undeclared; maybe he got tired of quick cancellations and decided to sell his soul for the privilege of working a film guaranteed two moderately profitable weekends and, later, a gazillion DVDs flying out of stores. To be completely fair, I really liked two supporting performances: Chicago Bears coaching legend Mike Ditka as a neighbor who gets involved in the Ferrell/Duvall rivalry, who as anyone who watched him in the old Saturday Night Live "Superfans" sketches knows, has impeccable comic timing...and child actor Elliott Cho, who as the littlest member of Ferrell's team, performs with irresistable sweetness, enthusiasm and joy--no wonder director Jesse Dylan is always pointing his camera at him. Cho does for this film what a very, very young Macaulay Culkin did for Uncle Buck in 1987; what should be everyone's overwhelming wish to prevent this lovable, apparently unaffected kid from ending up as the NEXT Macaulay Culkin should be one more terrific reason to keep everybody running and screaming as far away from Kicking and Screaming as humanly possible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
richardbMay 28, 2005
Inept script with most of jokes falling flat due to poor directing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KenHJun 6, 2005
The only reason I gave it any stars was that my 9 and 4 year old boys loved it, otherwise this movie was awful Hollywood formula crap (and I love Will Ferrell).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MxBizNov 27, 2005
Slightly better than horrendous.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
joef123Jun 19, 2014
Only a couple of laughs. (only chuckles though). I didn't go into the film with really high hopes, but I had no idea I would be this disappointed. Don't see
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
CameraBounceGodMar 2, 2015
Enough of this.....introduce kids to coffee by getting them half-caf....and the movie has somehow accomplished what it set out to do.....if I didn't already hate Will Farrell ...i'm there now...who I really hate is people who need to laugh atEnough of this.....introduce kids to coffee by getting them half-caf....and the movie has somehow accomplished what it set out to do.....if I didn't already hate Will Farrell ...i'm there now...who I really hate is people who need to laugh at him together.....Might as well have an entire movie on Fat Bastard only now hes played by Will Farrell..... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews