Miramax Films | Release Date: October 10, 2003
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1237 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,035
Mixed:
64
Negative:
138
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
BobJ.Mar 4, 2006
Too unrealistic gory scenes. Like a cartoon.
2 of 6 users found this helpful
5
grandpajoe6191Sep 21, 2011
"Kill Bill: Vol 1" is a bloody mess filled with bizarre **** and unique garbage. Director Tarantino's presentation may have been cool or stunning, but it can't save the movie from its terrible plot with shallow depth. He should have made this"Kill Bill: Vol 1" is a bloody mess filled with bizarre **** and unique garbage. Director Tarantino's presentation may have been cool or stunning, but it can't save the movie from its terrible plot with shallow depth. He should have made this into a **** anime, not a movie. Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
4
CooterPatooterMar 3, 2012
I just gave this film the same score that I gave Kindergarten Cop, if that tells you anything.
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
4
DamianP.Nov 5, 2003
Violence doesn't bother me (thank you, Hollywood), so I'm not complaining about that. The story was run of the mill, but I'm well used to that. What was truly awful was having to sit in a cinema in Tokyo and listen to everyone Violence doesn't bother me (thank you, Hollywood), so I'm not complaining about that. The story was run of the mill, but I'm well used to that. What was truly awful was having to sit in a cinema in Tokyo and listen to everyone laughing at the Westerners blurting out words that no one over here uses anymore, going on about their souls and the FIGHTING WITH SWORDS!!! The Japanese joke that it only happens in American movies, and this proves them right. And there isn't a word to describe the cringe-factor of listening to Uma mispronouncing 'Okinawa' time and time again. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
GaneshV.May 16, 2005
Quentin Tarantino has done it again...he has finally revealed to the world how much b.s. he has up in his brain...i mean , can u carry a sword in the aircraft?...yes u can if u are uma thurman and u are a samurai...some good violent scenes Quentin Tarantino has done it again...he has finally revealed to the world how much b.s. he has up in his brain...i mean , can u carry a sword in the aircraft?...yes u can if u are uma thurman and u are a samurai...some good violent scenes but really unbelievable and exagerrated.........its good on a saturaday afternoon when u have nothing to do...with the same old monotonous direction style...gimme a break...totally over rated movie...i dont understand why quentin tarantion had to spend 8years to release this b.s...if ur really stressed out and want some sadistic fun just watch out for the gory fight scenes. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
ArkonBladeAug 23, 2010
its a film built on nostalgia . if you grew up in the 70s or even just growing up seeing the 70's cheesy kung fu films and loved them . then you will most likely love kill bill. ive seen some lof theese growing up so i have a little bit of aits a film built on nostalgia . if you grew up in the 70s or even just growing up seeing the 70's cheesy kung fu films and loved them . then you will most likely love kill bill. ive seen some lof theese growing up so i have a little bit of a like for theese films but not enough to really appriciate what terintino has done with this. its not a bad film its action packed , bloody as hell , and cheesy and i liked that in sin city but doesnt quite pull it off as interestingly as it did with sin city. its still a enjoyable film and i respect terintino for what he tried to do but like i said from the begining your nostalgia will really make or break how you like this film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
spadenxJan 5, 2012
It was ok. For an action film it was rather over the top, A little too over the top for my taste. Yet the plot was interesting but a little poorly executed, Which is suprising from Tarantino. I expected better.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
CraigS.Dec 3, 2003
Regarding KB and have to say i may never go to see another film produced in the US again in protest. In their desperation to produce serials and trilogies instead of GOOD FILMS, it seems like really-very-thin plot lines are being stretched Regarding KB and have to say i may never go to see another film produced in the US again in protest. In their desperation to produce serials and trilogies instead of GOOD FILMS, it seems like really-very-thin plot lines are being stretched over too much celluloid (or, if you're George Lucas, digital memory - he films all in digital, you know). Don't get me wrong, KB is entertaining stuff and well worth a look (with a great twist at the end), but Tarantitillationio seems to have replaced witty and snappy dialogue (a la Pulp Fiction, all hail to him for that) with... er... no dialogue at all. Just long silences in which people pose with a variety of weapons and give each other "meaningful" glances before exploding into ludicrous violence. No plot, because it seems we have to wait for part 2 for that, unlike the Matrix sequels where it was all plot in 2 and violence in 3. Beautifully filmed, directed and choreographed, but absolutely no substance at all, just like Matrix II and III and the League of Extraordinary Cr*p. Go and see Goodbye Lenin. At least the Germans haven't forgotten how to make a film. DISCLAIMER: The excellent Finding Nemo is of course excempt from the above vented spleen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
NinaS.Oct 8, 2004
I just saw this for the first time on DVD. While I appreciate the extreme stylishness of this movie (parts of it are extraordinary, both funny and startling) by the end of it I found myself simply bored by tedious dialogue, cartoonish I just saw this for the first time on DVD. While I appreciate the extreme stylishness of this movie (parts of it are extraordinary, both funny and startling) by the end of it I found myself simply bored by tedious dialogue, cartoonish violence and self-indulgent, padded (even swollen) scenes that should have been cut down or out. I understand that it's an homage to movies that QT loves -- that's clear. But this movie certainly didn't make me love it or them, and it left me instead with a sense of its essential emptiness. I wouldn't call it a waste of time, because even QT's failures are interesting, but it was a bit of a yawn. Ah well, to each his or her own, I suppose. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JerryT.Oct 9, 2003
A little too gory for me but a pretty cool movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MikeN.Feb 9, 2004
Okay, I like great fight scenes as much as most people. Even more than most people, apparently. But enough is enough. After 90 minutes or so, even non-stop action is no longer exciting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
WAKOJAKOOct 11, 2003
Worth watching if you can stand the wall-to-wall violence, at times so excessive that it's just ludicrous. Some action sequences are so lengthy they begin to test your patience. But in the end, it's Uma Thurman's total Worth watching if you can stand the wall-to-wall violence, at times so excessive that it's just ludicrous. Some action sequences are so lengthy they begin to test your patience. But in the end, it's Uma Thurman's total commitment to the role of the vengeful Bride that saves this picture from tilting into innanity. Boo to the director for cheating the audience out of the second half and to the greedy producers who agreed to release this film in two parts. One thing for sure: I will see Kill Bill 2, but not until it arrives at the dollar cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
VentrueOct 15, 2003
To put it simply: it's crap! It looks and sounds good, but has a weak story, and no character development. If I wanted to see that much blood I'd watch House of a Thousand Corpses, or another movie of that effect. I felt bored when To put it simply: it's crap! It looks and sounds good, but has a weak story, and no character development. If I wanted to see that much blood I'd watch House of a Thousand Corpses, or another movie of that effect. I felt bored when I watched it. Hell, Underworld, 28 Days Later, or Reloaded had more depth to it than that film. Wow. I really have nothing else to say about it except: it's crap! I will give it props on the action sequences, but thats it.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AlanB.Nov 7, 2003
I was expecting a lot from this movie, being a fan of Reservoir Dogs, Pulp Fiction, and Curdled-(remember Bruce Willis' morbidly curious cab driver? Curdled is her story.) I guess what I like about Tarantino's other films is that I was expecting a lot from this movie, being a fan of Reservoir Dogs, Pulp Fiction, and Curdled-(remember Bruce Willis' morbidly curious cab driver? Curdled is her story.) I guess what I like about Tarantino's other films is that they are raw, clever, and depict realistic human reactions to extraordinary (and violent) events. Kill Bill is not raw or realistic. It's like a Bugs Bunny cartoon. Very violent, yes, but in a ridiculous way- almost like Monty Python and the Holy Grail's Black Knight. Uma Thurman is invincible, she takes on 100 men at once with only a sword. The film is set in modern times, but not one of these bad guys has a gun! The big fight scene is like a video game. The mindless drones keep coming but only one will attack at a time. This film is not really clever, either, except for the very end- a plot twist which prepares you for Volume 2. When Pulp Fiction is on cable and I happen to catch it flipping through the channels, it always sucks me in no matter how many times I've seen it. You guys know what I mean. Kill Bill is just not that type of movie. Perhaps if you go in knowing that Kill Bill takes place in a stylized, martial arts fantasy world, and suspend your disbelief, you will enjoy this movie for its action, great soundtrack, and severed body parts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JohnD.Oct 19, 2003
Ok Film, Reminded me of the kung fu movies I watched when I was 10. But even they did not lay it on that thick. If they had one more cutesy film angle in the movie I would have left the theater. The plot was as thin as the samuri sword Uma Ok Film, Reminded me of the kung fu movies I watched when I was 10. But even they did not lay it on that thick. If they had one more cutesy film angle in the movie I would have left the theater. The plot was as thin as the samuri sword Uma used to decapate half the cast of the movie. I figured out the supposed shocker at the end of the movie 15 minutes into it and only continued to watch to see how long they would wait to reveal it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarcK.Oct 29, 2003
Until the Lucy Liu and crew versus Uma fight scenes, I thought this may have been one of the worst pictures of the year. I'm no prude, but the violence was excessive, and showing daughters watching their mommies being murdered is Until the Lucy Liu and crew versus Uma fight scenes, I thought this may have been one of the worst pictures of the year. I'm no prude, but the violence was excessive, and showing daughters watching their mommies being murdered is offensive. I loved Pulp Fiction, but apparently it was just a fluke. Unfortunately, Tarantino has bought into all the adulation. This movie is a pretentious piece of crap. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BillR.Mar 14, 2004
Most movies, even the basic throwaway crap variety, are fundamentally self-important, so no use calling Bill's bluff there, on one hand. But on the other, talk about the OMDS (overly meaningful dialogue syndrome) confrontational stink Most movies, even the basic throwaway crap variety, are fundamentally self-important, so no use calling Bill's bluff there, on one hand. But on the other, talk about the OMDS (overly meaningful dialogue syndrome) confrontational stink rising from this one! Match it up with some of the most pompously pulseless, poker-faced delivery you'll hear from 2003 (only Carradine's sounds vaguely, eerily appropriate), and it's a toxic mix. Kill Bill, at best, is just a curiously flaccid poser of a kickass drive-in show with a 100% self-imposed illusion of depth. An insubstantial, pretentious trifle, that an amusing number of so-called buffs have wasted their time inventing pretentious excuses for, and nothing more. Thurman throws herself into her role like a sacrificial lamb, for what little that's worth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
StaceyG.Apr 25, 2004
Hype, or no hype, Kill Bill was not near as good as i expected. Sure, it had flashes of brilliance and QT is a brilliant man but the film had too many flaws and lacked too many things to be anything more than OK. I hear KB 2 is much better, Hype, or no hype, Kill Bill was not near as good as i expected. Sure, it had flashes of brilliance and QT is a brilliant man but the film had too many flaws and lacked too many things to be anything more than OK. I hear KB 2 is much better, Let's hope so. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GregH.May 13, 2004
Some beautiful footage, but the story left me wanting. The only dramatic tension created was by myriad fight scenes. Overrated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PeterJ.Jan 20, 2005
The battle at the cafe or whatever it was just took way too long for me. I couldn't wait for it to end. With that said, I thought it was a very imagintive and innovative movie. Overkill may be the most appropriate and literal word...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
XiongC.Oct 18, 2003
Positive reviews of "Kill Bill" seem to demand of the reader considerable experience with the Hong Kong B-films Tarantino here worships. I say, better to go see the original trash -- more cheaply produced, but perhaps more forgiveable for Positive reviews of "Kill Bill" seem to demand of the reader considerable experience with the Hong Kong B-films Tarantino here worships. I say, better to go see the original trash -- more cheaply produced, but perhaps more forgiveable for that reason. Tarantino has no good excuse for this badly unbalanced work. He leaves too much out in favor of "action" -- blood -- although I'll admit that what he does do, he does well. Better you should see "So Close" -- just as much blood, much more feeling, and a plot and characters you can get your teeth into. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ScottE.Dec 18, 2003
This is not the movie I was expecting from Quentin Tarantino. In fact, I doubt that this was the movie that anyone was expecting from the prolific imagination that brought us "Pulp Fiction" and "Reservoir Dogs." Tarantino has taken his This is not the movie I was expecting from Quentin Tarantino. In fact, I doubt that this was the movie that anyone was expecting from the prolific imagination that brought us "Pulp Fiction" and "Reservoir Dogs." Tarantino has taken his fetishistic, ultra-violent subconcious and puked it onto the screen pages of this wretched cartoon of a movie. Whereas Uma Thurman was once the ultra-cool diva of "Pulp Fiction," she is now the psychopathically vengeful Bride in Tarantino's latest character incarnation. I found so few redeeming qualities in her characterization that I twice looked over at the Exit Door to verify that it was still there, as the plot continued to spiral into its inevitable death swoon. I cannot put into words how despondent my friends felt after enduring the hours of spurting blood and gratuitous violence that was offered up by this half-assed script. The only saving graces to this film were the few artful touches that Tarantino brought to a few segments of his abomination of a film. The bamboo water-catcher marking time in the House of Blue Leavers sword sequence and the School Bus arriving in the background of the initial battle with Vivica Fox are the only redeeming visions that I retain of this film. The rest is all filled with fanboy wet dreams of sophmoric perversion and almost-pornographic gore. This movie leeches so much from other genres that it lacks even the semblance of its own individual personality. If there was a petition to keep KBV2 from reaching theatres, trust me, I would sign it in a heartbeat! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PeytonW.Dec 6, 2003
A pretty good movie. Is the violence excessive? Perhaps. So, essentially, whether you like the movie depends on how much you appreciate stylized gore, and the cartoonish depiction of serious issues. Overall, I found it fairly entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MelissaM.Apr 13, 2004
I was not impressed. How can critics rate such a horrible acted movie "100"? Poor time-line and completely unbelieveable fight seens.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DennisP.Apr 22, 2004
Based on the other ratings for Kill Bill Vol 1, this seems to be a love it or hate it type of film. But, I must admit that I am split down the middle on this one. Kill Bill 1 is definitely not Tarantino's best movie (it is perhaps his Based on the other ratings for Kill Bill Vol 1, this seems to be a love it or hate it type of film. But, I must admit that I am split down the middle on this one. Kill Bill 1 is definitely not Tarantino's best movie (it is perhaps his worst effort), but there is still many memorable moments. The opening is classic QT, the hospital scenes are wonderfully repulsive and creepy, and music is used to great effect throughout. I especially liked the Santa Esmarelda track used for the final fight scene. The parts of the movie I didn't care for were the fight scenes (which is about half the movie). They seemed to go on and on, and the cartoon gore and violence quickly became tiresome. Still, worth seeing, and here's hoping KB2 is a better flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
beingryanjudeAug 27, 2014
Certainly no shortage of flair and panache, Volume 1 is a super-violent tale of betrayal and revenge. By no means Tarantino's finest work, but you'll be entertained.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
csw12Mar 30, 2012
Maybe its just me but i find Kill Bill no big deal. performances are pretty good with some descent music but unlike Tarantino's Pulp Fiction the violence is why over the top and funny at the same time. That is not a great mix.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TheWalrus2000Mar 9, 2013
Kill Bill is a very silly written film, not to mention it has no reasoning for its sustained violence unlike most of Tarantino's films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
BrendanCogs99Mar 16, 2013
The problem with Kill Bill is that when the bloody deaths get old and the crappy story becomes a bore. The only thing that makes this film decent is the way that Tarantino creates a good old kung fu revenge film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
calhouniteJan 20, 2016
best nutcracker suite ever .. don't get the red stuff thobest nutcracker suite ever .. don't get the red stuff tho ......................................................................................................................................................................................................... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
oDjentoDec 30, 2015
I am going back and reviewing all Tarantino films i have watched in conjunction with Hateful 8 release. Sadly i don't really think this film ever clicked with me. I can see some good dialogue but i think at times the acting soundtrack andI am going back and reviewing all Tarantino films i have watched in conjunction with Hateful 8 release. Sadly i don't really think this film ever clicked with me. I can see some good dialogue but i think at times the acting soundtrack and direction can at times make the film seem to comic-like and it just takes away from me. The fight sequences are pretty incredible and some shots are well made but this film seems like a sour taste sadly in my mouth.
5.5/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
PfenderStrat621Apr 5, 2015
This movie can be an accomplishment, but one that proves Tarantino's immaturity. It is by far a lot of style without substance, i really didn't like it. I am just giving a 5 because it has good aspects like the acting, script (wasn't as greatThis movie can be an accomplishment, but one that proves Tarantino's immaturity. It is by far a lot of style without substance, i really didn't like it. I am just giving a 5 because it has good aspects like the acting, script (wasn't as great as Inglorious Basterds and Pulp Fiction), and some directing. But overall it was a dull, uninspiring, immature, and dislikable movie that was abusing about its own premise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews