Kill Bill: Vol. 1

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1201 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. MacJustice
    Oct 19, 2003
    10
    An utterly brilliant exercise in style. Those complaining of the violence are ignoring the part of their humanity that thirsts for chaos and destruction. Every element of this movie, from the soundtrack, to the cinematography, the editing, costume and set design, and acting of this movie is done just so, to the point where it is like a well crafted samurai sword, folded upon itself over An utterly brilliant exercise in style. Those complaining of the violence are ignoring the part of their humanity that thirsts for chaos and destruction. Every element of this movie, from the soundtrack, to the cinematography, the editing, costume and set design, and acting of this movie is done just so, to the point where it is like a well crafted samurai sword, folded upon itself over and over until it reaches perfection. This movie may not try to teach you any life lessons, but it is a visceral, sublime experience in pure cinematic enjoyment. Expand
  2. ChrisD.
    Oct 19, 2003
    10
    Anyone who cannot see what he is doing is this film needs to take the critic's dunce cap off and enjoy an excellent homage.
  3. ValentinS.
    Oct 19, 2003
    8
    Tarantino shows the violence in this movie without emotion. There's nearly never a sign to understand: Was this bloodbath now meant to be funny or not? So all i can tell you: Leaving the cinema i had ambivalent feelings.. the dialogues weren't really satisfying, but on the other hand its style, its coolness, its sound was brilliant.
  4. Trevor
    Oct 21, 2003
    10
    A perfect martial arts film. Just the kind of exuberant, exhiliarating, preposterous film you could hope for from Tarantino and then some. I haven't had so much fun in a movie theater in many years, maybe ever. Kill Bill is a genuine work of art that pays wonderful tribute to such classic samurai films as Yojimbo and Sanjuro, just to name a few. The soundtrack also perfectly matched A perfect martial arts film. Just the kind of exuberant, exhiliarating, preposterous film you could hope for from Tarantino and then some. I haven't had so much fun in a movie theater in many years, maybe ever. Kill Bill is a genuine work of art that pays wonderful tribute to such classic samurai films as Yojimbo and Sanjuro, just to name a few. The soundtrack also perfectly matched the film and I think Tarantino did a fine job selecting the music. All in all, Kill Bill is practially flawless. It's a masterpiece. Expand
  5. KobeeH.
    Oct 20, 2003
    10
    Tarantino Masterpiece. Leaving Kill Bill, there was a sense of awe at what I had just seen. It is truly unbelievable that this is only Quentin's 4th movie! I mean even some of the best directors like Spielberg and Scorcese had warm up periods before blowing the audiences away. Mr. Tarantino did it right out the gate with Reservoir Dogs, and he keeps at it. Kill Bill has so many Tarantino Masterpiece. Leaving Kill Bill, there was a sense of awe at what I had just seen. It is truly unbelievable that this is only Quentin's 4th movie! I mean even some of the best directors like Spielberg and Scorcese had warm up periods before blowing the audiences away. Mr. Tarantino did it right out the gate with Reservoir Dogs, and he keeps at it. Kill Bill has so many styles thrown in that you would think it would have to be horrible. But it's all executed so damn well that you're just amazed! He has created an live-action anime. But more importantly, an excellent, engaging revenge story. He is a genius. He is having a full-blown love affair with movies, and it shows. From crime stories to paying homage to a slew of asian films, he is an incredible visionary. An incredible artist. Trust me. See Kill Bill:Volume One and join me in frothing over the release of Volume Two in Feburary. Expand
  6. TokerC.
    Oct 20, 2003
    10
    This movie is a pilgrimage to Tarantino's holy land, a stylistic visual orgasm defining his perception of art. Tarantino marched to Mecca, samurai sword in hand and fulfilled a cinematic dream, filming an ode to kungfu masterpieces in an in-your-face theme park thrill ride effort. The film does what it?s supposed to do, and nothing more. The film is what it?s intended to be and This movie is a pilgrimage to Tarantino's holy land, a stylistic visual orgasm defining his perception of art. Tarantino marched to Mecca, samurai sword in hand and fulfilled a cinematic dream, filming an ode to kungfu masterpieces in an in-your-face theme park thrill ride effort. The film does what it?s supposed to do, and nothing more. The film is what it?s intended to be and nothing less. Tarantino?s genius is accomplishing his vision with perfect precision, and timing, allowing the audience to experience his creativity on his level. Anything else would have been a perverted disaster. Expand
  7. TomB.
    Oct 20, 2003
    9
    I've gotta admit, when I first heard that Quentin Tarantino was a big fan of the Hong Kong martial arts action flicks (they don't even deserve to be called "films") I was a little shocked~You know, sort of like if you read about a world class chef being crazy about 7/11 nachos? So of course when I heard that "Kill Bill" was going to be his homage to those same sorry-ass flicks I I've gotta admit, when I first heard that Quentin Tarantino was a big fan of the Hong Kong martial arts action flicks (they don't even deserve to be called "films") I was a little shocked~You know, sort of like if you read about a world class chef being crazy about 7/11 nachos? So of course when I heard that "Kill Bill" was going to be his homage to those same sorry-ass flicks I was ready to skip it. But you know what? He somehow managed to take the elements of that sad and empty-headed genre and transform it into a fun and exciting experience that someone other than a pimply faced nerd could sink his teeth into. Uma Thurman is wonderful as are the other players and the music which accompanies each scene becomes a character in and of itself. Don't believe what you hear about how brutal the action is either; There is indeed a lot of violence but it's done in such an over-the-top manner that it takes on the kind of cringing comical feel of Monty Python and there's no way any intelligent adult could take it seriously. Does it rate up there with "Pulp Fiction"? Well...maybe not quite...but darn close! Expand
  8. Marc-o
    Oct 22, 2003
    10
    This film was the daddy!!! A few points 1: Too Short i could easily of done the whole 3 hours 2: The best Friday night i have spent at the cinema 3: Don't know about you guys but i'm going to see that again.
  9. SongK.
    Oct 27, 2003
    10
    A movie that pleases you all over. There is so much action, comedy, gore, and fighting. This movie deserves way more. The low rating are from people who have a hard time seeing humor and get offended easily. You have to see this movie if you love fighting and gory movies.
  10. EricP.
    Oct 28, 2003
    8
    Stylized violence and a minimal script with the Tarantino charm. Very watchable.
  11. JayK.
    Oct 29, 2003
    9
    Don't rate this until you've seen the second volume. That said, this movie Kicks Ass.
  12. UnzippedZach
    Oct 31, 2003
    10
    Love it or hate it. loved it because it went places no one ever dares/wants to go. and thats something you dont see everyday in a movie. and so i gave this film a perfect ten because it offend's people and carries a great big set of balls.
  13. D.S.
    Oct 6, 2003
    9
    Was far better than critics seem to be giving it credit for. The action was brilliant and it was just an all out fun movie to go to.
  14. NicolasO.
    Oct 9, 2003
    10
    Quentin's back, and he's in shape like never. This movie rocks, and it's the best I've ever seen.
  15. KyleA.
    Jan 31, 2004
    10
    I LOVED this film, and im not even particularly a fan of martial-arts movies (In fact, i think this is the only one i've ever liked). As for the people that gave this movie a 0, they just didn't "get" the film. I took it as a bloody, comedy/spoof of martial arts films with almost no plotline, which is what Tarantino intended, but also is why it's so incredible! There is I LOVED this film, and im not even particularly a fan of martial-arts movies (In fact, i think this is the only one i've ever liked). As for the people that gave this movie a 0, they just didn't "get" the film. I took it as a bloody, comedy/spoof of martial arts films with almost no plotline, which is what Tarantino intended, but also is why it's so incredible! There is nothing else like out there even remotely similar to this film. Tarantino is a genius. Expand
  16. BrianL.
    Feb 19, 2004
    9
    Yes, it's gory; yes, it's shallow; yes, it's reminiscent of other movies. At the same time, if you can get past that, it's an amazing piece of work. It's the film equivalent of a trashy novel: it may lack substance or taste, but it's a great time.
  17. CameronS.
    Feb 26, 2004
    10
    Quentin Tarantino has compared his new masterpiece to be his great kung fu, Revenge, Epic Spaghetti Western picture. He admires Sergio Leone more than any of directors to my knowledge. But there is another director that I am reminded of the resonance similar to Quentin Tarantino, that man is Stanley Kubrick. The production of this project and the long wait between features for these Quentin Tarantino has compared his new masterpiece to be his great kung fu, Revenge, Epic Spaghetti Western picture. He admires Sergio Leone more than any of directors to my knowledge. But there is another director that I am reminded of the resonance similar to Quentin Tarantino, that man is Stanley Kubrick. The production of this project and the long wait between features for these directors is pretty alike. Kill Bill is more than just Quentin Tarantino?s epic grindhouse western revenge martial arts masterpiece, it?s his 2001: A Space Odyssey. When Kubrick did 2001, there was a gap of four years between that one and one of Kubrick?s other masterpieces, Dr. Strangelove, while it has been six years since Quentin Tarantino has directed a film. 2001 was also [plagued] by over running the budget and going extremely over schedule. The production of that movie lasted four years. Kill Bill didn?t go on that long, but it did go quite over budget and was in production for much longer than suspected. There was a great celebration Another great connection to be made between the two chef d'oeuvres is the music. Kubrick revolutionized the way music was to be used in the movies with 2001, Tarantino marvels his scenes with great music. They?re usually popular songs and are used very well in each scene, and ring well with the action on screen. Although Kill Bill (after volume 1) isn?t Tarantino?s finest, it is his epic, just the same as 2001 wasn?t Kubrick?s greatest film, but his greatest achievement. All the technical parts to the film work extremely well with the great, physical acting & the inordinate screenplay & narrative. The editing is great, something that action films of late have lacked in. And the cinematography is one of the years best. Twice, I noticed a great white light behind characters. The first white, symbolic, Christ-like lighting comes from the character Hattori Hanzo (Sonny Chiba), who befriends The Bride (Uma Thurman) and builds her, without ego, his greatest sword ever. He knows that the sword will kill many men, and tells The Bride that if she comes face to face with God, the sword will cut him. These little moments that are involved in this kind of metaphorical lighting should seal some cinematography nomination come Oscar season. And the production design is also very lustrous and symbolic. There isn?t much to the story. The Bride belonged to a ?bad? Charlie?s Angels group, called the Deadly Viper Assassination Squad, or DiVAS. She decided to leave this squad, and get on with a life of her own. She was pregnant and to marry, when the uninvited guests showed up, and killed 8 people at the wedding. The Bride was to marry, and was pregnant with Bill?s child, she tells him this before he puts a bullet in her head. Four years later, she wakes up from a comatose to exact her revenge on the DiVAS. Her list reads: 1. O-Ren Ishii, AKA Cottonmouth (Lucy Liu), 2. Vernita Green, AKA Copperhead (Vivica A. Fox), 3. Budd, AKA Sidewinder, 4. Elle Driver/California Mountain Snake, and 5. Bill. You?ll have to wait until February to see Uma Thurman Kill Bill. But, in the year 2003, you will get to see, Uma Thurman, KILL LOT?S of PEOPLE, most all of them guilty. There isn?t anything wrong with the films? elementary plot, the execution is right one for everything A real interesting thing that was done in Kill Bill was to serialize it, the film is cut into chapters, much like Flash Gordon and other serials of the thirties and fourties. The unfolding chapters are each about a reel long, and the film also includes a prologue. This also gives me the idea of-What if the film had been cut up into 10 or so installments? Just a thought, not really a good idea, just a throwback to the Lost Art and I suspect that something like that will happen soon. O-Ren Ishii, the most developed antagonist since probably Darth Vader?But Darth Vader didn?t benefit from a flashback story being told from Luke?s point of view (Unless George Lucas decides to add in something when he further molests his classics). O-Ren?s story involves one of great pain and sorrow. And how she grows to great success. Her story is told in what could go down as one of the greatest, most emotional anime sequences ever. Without letting too much out, we start to feel a lot of sympathy for her, as it is already known that she dies by a clue earlier in the film. But there is a very funny, part that comes after that. She is the new leader of the Japanese Yakuza, and is being putdown by an older gentleman. He declares her election as a perverse intrusion on the Yakuza tradition, and calls her describes her heritage as negative. There is quite a payoff to be seen. As with the whole chapter that she envelopes. The film is quite violent. Easily the most violent, in terms of gore, ?R? certified American movie released on 3,000+ screens. And it may be gratuitous, but in a very likeable, comic sense. Limbs fly awry all over the House of the Blue Leaves, the largest part of this movie. And the film sports an unearthly body count. 109 dead or wounded. If you really feel the movie is incomplete, try to divulge on what happens throughout its arc. This is a movie with three individual acts. The first act introduces us to its characters, the second act has The Bride travel to Okinawa and learns how to sword fight, and receives her grand weapon. The third act would be the House of Blue Leaves. The best reason to see this film, although there are other reasons. Also, take a good look at Reloaded, was that really a complete movie? And remember, it?s not hype when it?s this good. As far as the complaints of having to pay twice as much for a whole three and a half-hour movie, I can?t quite disagree with this outcry. But the movie is intense and great, and has quite an ending that brings a huge twist for the second film, one greater than that of Matrix: Reloaded. Which is another movie that you have to pay twice for?What if you had to sit through the entire 7-hour prequel Trilogy? Let?s not be hypocritical, The Matrix sequels are on a pretty similar basis. Gene Siskel once asked a question about bad movies. Could a movie about the actors & crew eating lunch, behind the scenes make for a more interesting film? The answer would be false if you were talking about Kill Bill, but boy would I like to see one on the DVD. Kill Bill is what I would refer to as ?Real Cinema?. One of a few entries of the year, this is what I would classify as the first ?Action Masterpiece? of the 21st Century. A similar benchmark was made last year, with Punch-Drunk Love being the first ?Romantic Masterpiece? of the 21st Century. Expand
  18. JohnO.
    Feb 3, 2004
    8
    A powerful piece of art. Unfortunately, it loves blood a little too much, but that's a minor quibble.
  19. JaneT.
    Mar 29, 2004
    10
    I think it rocked. I will admit, at first I was almost ready to leave because of the violence (which I wasn't used to), but my friend who's a kung fu/grind house geek stopped me and said this is how these movies are. And he's right. After watching KB, I did some research and noticed many of QT's inspiration movies to be bloody. I think this is the main reason for I think it rocked. I will admit, at first I was almost ready to leave because of the violence (which I wasn't used to), but my friend who's a kung fu/grind house geek stopped me and said this is how these movies are. And he's right. After watching KB, I did some research and noticed many of QT's inspiration movies to be bloody. I think this is the main reason for people hating it. I almost did, until I did some research. I feel sorry for the people who didn't enjoy it or understand it for its film value. Sorry you guys and girls missed out on the fun. It is plainly obvious he did loot obsessively from other movies, but at least it didn't look cheap and nasty on screen. I would call his looting 'DADA' (found objects) lol. Expand
  20. TDeL.
    Mar 8, 2004
    7
    I believe that one of the interesting plot twists to come will be an explanation of O-Ren ISHII's relationship to Bill. How did she become one of Bill's assassins when it is quite clear in the anime scene that it was Bill who actually stabbed/killed her father, (the ring on the finger, the embroidery on the sword is identical to that shown in the two two scenes where Bill is I believe that one of the interesting plot twists to come will be an explanation of O-Ren ISHII's relationship to Bill. How did she become one of Bill's assassins when it is quite clear in the anime scene that it was Bill who actually stabbed/killed her father, (the ring on the finger, the embroidery on the sword is identical to that shown in the two two scenes where Bill is speaking in the film) the cosmetic likeness of the anime killer to David Carradine further aludes to this. I would have given it a 9 had i not been so disenchanted that Miramax accountants have pulled a flanker and split what is obviously not by structure a 2 part story into 2 films Expand
  21. TDeL.
    Mar 8, 2004
    7
    I believe that one of the interesting plot twists to come will be an explanation of O-Ren ISHII's relationship to Bill. How did she become one of Bill's assassins when it is quite clear in the anime scene that it was Bill who actually stabbed/killed her father, (the ring on the finger, the embroidery on the sword is identical to that shown in the two two scenes where Bill is I believe that one of the interesting plot twists to come will be an explanation of O-Ren ISHII's relationship to Bill. How did she become one of Bill's assassins when it is quite clear in the anime scene that it was Bill who actually stabbed/killed her father, (the ring on the finger, the embroidery on the sword is identical to that shown in the two two scenes where Bill is speaking in the film) the cosmetic likeness of the anime killer to David Carradine further aludes to this. I would have given it a 9 had i not been so disenchanted that Miramax accountants have pulled a flanker and split what is obviously not by structure a 2 part story into 2 films Expand
  22. JoelC.
    Apr 12, 2004
    9
    I thought this movie was great. It so saturated with style, and so original. I personally haven't seen a movie with this much gore, and after seeing it a second time I did almost throw up, literally, just because of all of the blood shooting out from everyone. Excellent! This is the first film that has ever made me feel sick because of violence. Incredible. I don't understand I thought this movie was great. It so saturated with style, and so original. I personally haven't seen a movie with this much gore, and after seeing it a second time I did almost throw up, literally, just because of all of the blood shooting out from everyone. Excellent! This is the first film that has ever made me feel sick because of violence. Incredible. I don't understand why it has such a low score from user reviews, I'm guessing these are older folks who were just so shocked and had to try and let everyone know "This movie is just awful, plain and simple." The people who liked it probably could care less, but one who doesn't like will try to warn everyone else. I showed my friends this flick and they felt the same way about it. When we went to the theater they were kind of like, "Eh, I suppose Ill go," but at the end they were shocked and never expected it to be so good. You have to understand the genius of this film. Are you a person that looks at a tree, and is happy or someone who just thinks, it's a tree? Expand
  23. StephenS.
    Apr 13, 2004
    9
    It was a typical Tarantino flick that delivered on all fronts. Volume 2 looks to continue the fun, and thats what tarantino is about movie making at its most fun.
  24. [Anonymous]
    Apr 13, 2004
    10
    Excellent movie, I don't really see why people are complaining about the blood, gore and violence - it's reated R for a reason, if you can't handle it then don't see it. Can't wait for part 2.
  25. JimJ.
    Apr 15, 2004
    10
    This movie is incredible. Wowzers. Can't wait for Vol. 2!
  26. Pat
    Apr 16, 2004
    9
    I hate Pulp Fiction but liked this movie.
  27. MattJ.
    Apr 16, 2004
    8
    To those who didn't enjoy this film for it's lack of "substance" and "meaning," all I have to say is two words...come ON!!! that's right: Come ON! COME ONNNN! It's all in good fun, guys! Don't take it so seriously.
  28. MikeK.
    Apr 17, 2004
    10
    I don't care what people say that it's stupid it's the people who said that are dumb. QT is so cool and i like the music he picked in the movie even in his other movies pulp fiction and resavoir dogs are also good so this and the other movies are so cool. i just like seeing them.
  29. ShaunT.
    Apr 20, 2004
    10
    Tarantino has done it again!
  30. JonathanH.
    Apr 2, 2004
    10
    Wonderful style over substance, strangely brilliant in its own way, with a amazingly great performance from Uma Thurman, it lags in the middle just a bit but then picks back up.
  31. BenjaminB.
    Apr 20, 2004
    10
    Tarantino has long made cinema pastiche his trademark, and here he expounds upon his artistry tenfold--this is not a story told to be a believable story, maybe the story isn't even the point--the art and execution (hehe) of this film is so top-notch that it's over the top...gives tingly pleasure to my brain. Yum.
  32. KatieB.
    Apr 22, 2004
    10
    QT is a wonderful director. He proved it with Pulp Fiction and Reservoir Dogs, and he has simply outdone himself with KBV1. The best thing about watching this movie was thinking about how much fun they must have had making it. The worst part was that I had to wait 4 more months to see Volume 2!
  33. DaveC.
    Apr 24, 2004
    8
    Excellent. A riveting story is complemented by some of the most mind-blowing action commited to celluloid and to top it all off, a kick ass soundtrack. The only criticism I could give is that Tarantino went a bit too far with his stylistic plagiarism which in RD and PF looked right at home. Here, it sticks out like like a saw thumb but it also keeps the film vibrant and exciting. Excellent. A riveting story is complemented by some of the most mind-blowing action commited to celluloid and to top it all off, a kick ass soundtrack. The only criticism I could give is that Tarantino went a bit too far with his stylistic plagiarism which in RD and PF looked right at home. Here, it sticks out like like a saw thumb but it also keeps the film vibrant and exciting. Tarantino still has yet to make a bad film. Expand
  34. AdrianW.
    May 26, 2004
    10
    Genius. Absolute genius. It's actually NOT gory. And it's actually NOT that violent. It's beautiful, and stylish. The Bride vs. the Crazy 88's is a display verging on the poetic. And the critics from the San Francisco Chronicle, the Wall St. Journal and the New Yorker have made a fools of themselves. I can understand a critic having reservations and some objections, Genius. Absolute genius. It's actually NOT gory. And it's actually NOT that violent. It's beautiful, and stylish. The Bride vs. the Crazy 88's is a display verging on the poetic. And the critics from the San Francisco Chronicle, the Wall St. Journal and the New Yorker have made a fools of themselves. I can understand a critic having reservations and some objections, but anyone who has ever loved movies will see at least a love of film in ample evidence on that screen. Perhaps a condor raking their privates with its razor sharp talons would snap them out of their torpor. Expand
  35. LockneO.
    May 31, 2004
    10
    Kill Bill, Volume 1 is a great example of a fantastic movie. Tarantino succeeds while directing the film in Tokyo, California, and Texas. Uma Thurman and Lucy Liu both play the parts of assassins beautifully. The directing is beautifully accepted. The suspense and drama of this story combine to make an invigorating work of art.
  36. WalterP.
    Jun 10, 2004
    10
    Dam good movie, it is one of the best movies ever made. Good job Tarantino you've done it again.
  37. CarlosB.
    Jul 4, 2004
    10
    I dont know how there exist people that does not aprecciate a masterpiece like this, not movie, miracle.
  38. ReeceH.
    Mar 13, 2005
    10
    This movie was so cool!
  39. RogerS.
    Mar 3, 2005
    10
    THE BEST!
  40. Jan
    Jun 29, 2005
    8
    Often criticized for being bland and superficial it`s beauty is in the way it's presented wich is to say: pretty damn good!
  41. LouisH.
    Aug 3, 2005
    9
    One of Tarintinos Best Movies.
  42. JackB.
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    This movie is one of the best that I've EVER seen. Also, the blood and gore is part of the style.
  43. Saige
    Aug 23, 2006
    10
    I love this movie. Quentin Tarantino has a pretty twisted mind, but all his corny violence is what makes the movie so great. I loved the anime scene.
  44. Jake
    May 11, 2008
    8
    Very cool movie. Great Dialogues. Tarantino is my favourite director and even though this film has it's lengths I still enjoy watching this Movie because of the creative way it's shot and all the little details that make this film special.
  45. EddieV.
    Mar 15, 2009
    10
    The best vendetta movie ever... Great plot, sensational cast, and superb dialog. Thank you Quentin!
  46. KM
    Mar 19, 2009
    10
    Love the absolute brutality of the film, great revenge flick.
  47. KendoJ
    Jun 10, 2009
    8
    Make it a 7.6 Very cool, very violent, very sexy. The O-Ren anime scene is brilliant.
  48. GavinC
    Jul 27, 2009
    9
    Where there isn't poetry, there's action and where there isn't action, there's poetry.
  49. TelyS.
    Oct 11, 2003
    7
    Kill Bill has the critics polarized, and I can't blame em. It's the craziest thing to come out of mainstream Hollywood since, well, Pulp Fiction, but, since it's intentionally hokey, it lacks the emotional intensity that has been Tarantino's greatest strength in all his previous films. The action is overall well done, but if you're a fan of Asian action cinema Kill Bill has the critics polarized, and I can't blame em. It's the craziest thing to come out of mainstream Hollywood since, well, Pulp Fiction, but, since it's intentionally hokey, it lacks the emotional intensity that has been Tarantino's greatest strength in all his previous films. The action is overall well done, but if you're a fan of Asian action cinema like myself, there's little we haven't seen before, and done better. Still, Uma Thurman's performance was fantastic, if there's any justice she'll get an Oscar nomination. Expand
  50. JohnS.
    Oct 11, 2003
    9
    I had some minor reservations about "Kill Bill", since most reviews suggested that the movie was non-stop violence. It's not true. Sure, the movie has beautifully stylized violence and fascinating combat sequences that are much more satisfying than the chop/chop hand-to-hand combat in "Matrix Reloaded". Sure, the last battle has more decapitations than the French Revolution. But, the I had some minor reservations about "Kill Bill", since most reviews suggested that the movie was non-stop violence. It's not true. Sure, the movie has beautifully stylized violence and fascinating combat sequences that are much more satisfying than the chop/chop hand-to-hand combat in "Matrix Reloaded". Sure, the last battle has more decapitations than the French Revolution. But, the movie also has style, drive, good pacing, brief-but-terrific characters, and an involving revenge story. it's all done with perfect pitch. It may not have the snappy dialogue of "Pulp Fiction", but that doesn't mean it is lacking in substance, character, or tone. It's just a bit more laconic than his other films. Uma is perfect in the role, and several of the henchmen she goes after have that quirky sensibility of a Saturday kung fu drama. Think of this as the dark, speedy cousin to "Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon". To boot, it also has Tarantino's trademark ecclectic music: each choice more unexpected, yet perfect, than the last. And don't forget his wry sense of humor -- the scene-opener proves that he's in a league of his own. My only complaint is that they chopped up the film in two parts. It ends with a satisfying "Pow", and doesn't have a cliff-ending. But, I was ready for more. And when I get more, I hope there's more Tarantino-esque dialogue in it. But, if it's more of the same, I'll still be eager to see it. Expand
  51. MichealD.
    Oct 11, 2003
    7
    Kill Bill was all about stylized 'wow' and 'cool'. It was succesful. I don't think it tries (or succeeds at) being 'deep', but rather creates an old fashoned revenge thrill that will no doubt make the expecting viewer ecstatic.
  52. NobitaN.
    Nov 19, 2003
    10
    DO NOT watch this movie for satire. DO NOT watch this movie if you'd rather laugh at things than laugh WITH them. DO NOT watch this movie if your expecting a Hong Kong style Kungfu flick (it's more of a samurai flick). DO watch this movie if you love sincere straightforward movies of any kind. Sincerity is this movies strong point. This movie believes in itself every step of the DO NOT watch this movie for satire. DO NOT watch this movie if you'd rather laugh at things than laugh WITH them. DO NOT watch this movie if your expecting a Hong Kong style Kungfu flick (it's more of a samurai flick). DO watch this movie if you love sincere straightforward movies of any kind. Sincerity is this movies strong point. This movie believes in itself every step of the way, and if you pay attention you will too. As ridiculous as some of the scenes may sound in synopsis, they play out with such gravity that they take you out of the theatre and into the story. Watch this movie if you love good storytelling. Expand
  53. BrandonS.
    Oct 12, 2003
    10
    This movie was for us not them...hmm, I'm sort of wondering what the hell that means. Oh yeah, wait until both come out on video, then watch them in a row, it'll be better that way, this really is half a movie.
  54. SarahM.
    Nov 28, 2003
    10
    Absolutley amazing! I'm speechless with awe at Tarantio's amazing work!
  55. C.W.
    Oct 13, 2003
    7
    Uma runs around cutting people's appendages off with a samurai sword. Great style, action, and camera work, but it lacked the witty QT dialogue. Thus, when I left the theatre, all I wanted was a creamcheese bagel.
  56. BillC.
    Oct 14, 2003
    10
    Quentin Tarantino makes movies for people that loves movies. That's why I love of his flicks, even the underrated Jackie Brown. This movie is simply awesome--visually, script-wise, performances, special effects--ALL AROUND AWESOME. Can't wait for volume II.
  57. Elliott
    Oct 14, 2003
    10
    You can easily credit all of Tarantino's films with being masterpieces (with the exception of the ill-developed Jackie Brown), but Kill Bill is far and away his most entertaining work thus far. I haven't had such a blast at the theater in a long, long time. I can't wait for the next installment.
  58. SoliW.
    Oct 14, 2003
    9
    Can't wait for the second part.
  59. ChadS.
    Oct 14, 2003
    10
    The New York Critics Film Circle gave Best Actress to Cameron Diaz for "There's Something About Mary" in 1998. Uma Thurman's performance is another instance of strong acting from an equally unlikely source. Think about it. In a 2003 mainstream film(as of Oct.): Who is more memorable than Thurman's "The Bride"? American filmmakers like Todd Solondz(who Tarantino might be The New York Critics Film Circle gave Best Actress to Cameron Diaz for "There's Something About Mary" in 1998. Uma Thurman's performance is another instance of strong acting from an equally unlikely source. Think about it. In a 2003 mainstream film(as of Oct.): Who is more memorable than Thurman's "The Bride"? American filmmakers like Todd Solondz(who Tarantino might be satirizing when Thurman squares off with Fox) and David Gordon Green are more to my liking, but "Kill Bill: Volume 1", for what it wants to be, The Action Film By Which All Others Will Be Judged, is nothing less than a masterpiece. Tarantino notwithstanding, the editing and RZA's soundtrack work are brilliant. But it all comes down to Uma Thurman. Be she willing her toe to wiggle, slicin' and dicin' men(and women), or apologizing to the precocious; Thurman appropriates a corresponding demeanor and/or line delivery that is perfect. If there's a flaw, which wouldn't be one had the film been kept intact, it's the "anime" sequence. It becomes too prominent with this shorter running time. Expand
  60. SteveyG.
    Nov 5, 2003
    10
    This movie was brilliant! A+
  61. Wax
    Nov 7, 2003
    8
    Relentlessly violent, but with tongue so firmly planted in cheek that it almost pokes through. Visually stimulating, amusing dialogue and wholesome blood- drenched entertainment. It's all done in fun, and is well worth seeing. As for whether or not I could sit through a second version of the same thing... well, that's another story. The climactic fight scene did rather drag on - Relentlessly violent, but with tongue so firmly planted in cheek that it almost pokes through. Visually stimulating, amusing dialogue and wholesome blood- drenched entertainment. It's all done in fun, and is well worth seeing. As for whether or not I could sit through a second version of the same thing... well, that's another story. The climactic fight scene did rather drag on - but then again, killing dozens of people one-by-one, is time consuming. As much as I enjoyed this fillum, I'm not sure that I'd want to sit through its twin in part two, as she works down her list of walking dead. Expand
  62. [Anonymous]
    Oct 17, 2003
    10
    Rarely has an action movie been so entertaining and incredibly memorable a week later. A true standout of style, emotion and character that is rarely seen on the big screen in this day and age. If there's one complaint to be had, it's that by the time the film ends, you're ready for another 2 hours of controlled mayhem. Mr. Bay and Mr. Bruckheimer should be taking notes.
  63. ToshiroM.
    Oct 17, 2003
    10
    Ok, kids, listen up. If you have not seen Samurai films or HK movies, then you don't understand what this is about. The picture opens like a Shaw Brothers' production (Shaw Brothers made a ton of Martial Arts films in HK, years ago) and continues like a hybrid of Asian cult cinema. Much like most Asian action films, it's a story of revenge and contains many pop culture Ok, kids, listen up. If you have not seen Samurai films or HK movies, then you don't understand what this is about. The picture opens like a Shaw Brothers' production (Shaw Brothers made a ton of Martial Arts films in HK, years ago) and continues like a hybrid of Asian cult cinema. Much like most Asian action films, it's a story of revenge and contains many pop culture characters. The anime segment is very cool, it's almost as if the whole picture could have been animated. Films like these are no longer made, Tarantino believes that we're due. The action, dialogue, camera angles, music, set design and acting make this film very good. Some feel that this movie is too violent, however I think that it is so overdone that it no longer becomes violent, it's entertainment. For a reference, please watch the Japanese movie "Lady Snowblood" to grasp what Tarantino is doing. Expand
  64. Cy
    Oct 18, 2003
    10
    Maybe a little slow, but it turns out to be prehaps the greatest action film i have ever seen. Pure film making. QT is back, and has definantley made a hit.
  65. BunifaJ.
    Nov 8, 2003
    9
    Well, It wuz OK. I watched it with my friend Sonya and we were laffin like mad man. Oh no snap snap. That Sigourney Weavahh aka: Miss Horney Jeebird, was terrabull in dis movie. I can't balieve dat they let herr in dis movie Oh no snap snap is what I thot when I seen her face on that TV screen. OH no .
  66. Laura
    Oct 18, 2003
    7
    Very gory and at times disturbing, but some how it still seemed to be a good film overall...makes you think.
  67. LindaM.
    Oct 19, 2003
    9
    One of the most gory, violent, and entertaining movies I have ever seen. I hated the anime though.
  68. MatthewN.
    Oct 19, 2003
    8
    Extremely well-paced; as entertaining as a mutli-million dollar slice-and-dice fest in the skilled hands of tarantino can be; we patiently wait for the reason for all the violence.
  69. ErwinK.
    Oct 19, 2003
    8
    Bizarre, stylish, super violent, uber cool, B-Grade romp. (BTW - what did I miss at the end of the credits???). Erwin.
  70. Joe
    Oct 19, 2003
    7
    I used to sell knives door-to-door, and I know some cool knife tricks. I think that's why I like this movie more than my friends.
  71. Daher
    Dec 1, 2003
    10
    Just incredible... music, performances, fights, everything is just amazing. The way Tarantino can bring a simple story so complex is to be admired.
  72. Maikeldebest
    Dec 12, 2003
    9
    I loved it. cant wait to see vol. 2 its a good movie with lots of humor in it.
  73. PaulA.
    Dec 12, 2003
    8
    Wonderfully satirical and stylised, making no attempt with itself to be serious. I'm not normally a fan of these kind of films but I loved KB.
  74. LeonardD.
    Dec 19, 2003
    10
    Its just genius... whoever didnt laugh, didnt get it... whoever was complaining about a "lack of substance" should stop going to movies - this is postmodern perfection.
  75. MitchellO.
    Dec 31, 2003
    10
    It's off-beat, unexpected and simple amazing. There are absolutelly no movies that are like Kill Bill. It is directed in a way that that keeps your eyes and ears completely stimulated. Every fight scene felt like a different movie. Some parts all you could see is shadows behind a blue screen. Other parts of the movie where like a Steven Siegal knife fight. Others still, are more of a It's off-beat, unexpected and simple amazing. There are absolutelly no movies that are like Kill Bill. It is directed in a way that that keeps your eyes and ears completely stimulated. Every fight scene felt like a different movie. Some parts all you could see is shadows behind a blue screen. Other parts of the movie where like a Steven Siegal knife fight. Others still, are more of a showdown with kitana swords. People who can't take gore or don't appreciate a good scene will probebly not like this movie. I have never scene any of QTs movies, which probebly let me appreciate it even more because I had no expectations. Try not to expect anything and you'll be giving it a 10 too. A final note, I never, ever type reviews up for movies. It may not be made for everyone, but Kill Bill is very underrated and was definitlly THE BEST movie I have seen all year. Collapse
  76. MooCow
    Dec 30, 2003
    8
    Simple story, great visuals. Delivers the great pop-corn action scenes without pandering to the stupidest common denominator. Great characters, beautiful settings, brisk pace. Story is generally lacking in substance(no Tolkein here!), but udderwise very kewl. Will definitely see Part 2.
  77. AngelP.
    Oct 25, 2003
    8
    Honest reveiw, better than average but not a classic-yet. The thing we all need to consider, love or hate it is that Kill Bill ISN'T FINISHED YET! Now the supposed violence didn't get to me because it was so cartoonlike and obviously fake. It was a big risk for Quentin to do that and run the risk of his movie being called fake. He did it like an anime movie so it wouldn't Honest reveiw, better than average but not a classic-yet. The thing we all need to consider, love or hate it is that Kill Bill ISN'T FINISHED YET! Now the supposed violence didn't get to me because it was so cartoonlike and obviously fake. It was a big risk for Quentin to do that and run the risk of his movie being called fake. He did it like an anime movie so it wouldn't be so violent. Now can we talk about the brilliance of this man's casting? Always choosing the right peolpe for the job and not just the a-list folks. Let's not forget the salute to Japanense fighting movies like Game of Death even down to the striped yellow jumpsit. I just wish that this was a finished film rather than a plot to make more money. I would've gladly sat through 4 hours of Kill Bill. ...and you know they're gonne relase it that way anyway, don't you? When Kill Bill vol. 2 comes out? As a double feature? Money is always the bottom line. Expand
  78. Jonathan
    Oct 25, 2003
    9
    One of the coolest movies this year. Yes, it is extremely gory to the point of absurdity, the profanity is horrible, and it has some elements in the plot that are just wrong (yeah, like that...ahem), but Kill Bill is honestly just a good time. The action is upbeat and very well choreographed, some of the best fight scenes since Cowboy Bebop. There are also countless homages to old school One of the coolest movies this year. Yes, it is extremely gory to the point of absurdity, the profanity is horrible, and it has some elements in the plot that are just wrong (yeah, like that...ahem), but Kill Bill is honestly just a good time. The action is upbeat and very well choreographed, some of the best fight scenes since Cowboy Bebop. There are also countless homages to old school kung fu flicks and anime, which I really appreciate. If you can handle the ridiculous violence, then go see KB right now. Great movie. Expand
  79. MikeY.
    Oct 25, 2003
    10
    I have figured out that there are two types of people in this world, those that think QT is a genius and those who think he is completely full of it. For those in the latter, I feel bad for you. Kill Bill was the most incredible experience I have ever had in a movie theater. Everything was first rate. Ending set up vol 2 nicely. I think as a whole, we'll find out that there is more I have figured out that there are two types of people in this world, those that think QT is a genius and those who think he is completely full of it. For those in the latter, I feel bad for you. Kill Bill was the most incredible experience I have ever had in a movie theater. Everything was first rate. Ending set up vol 2 nicely. I think as a whole, we'll find out that there is more to kill bill than shown in vol 1. Expand
  80. SamL.
    Oct 26, 2003
    7
    Well, the film was acceptable, with some good parts, but it doesn't even compare to Pulp Fiction.
  81. McNaughton
    Oct 26, 2003
    9
    THIS is the reason I go to the cinema. Sit back and enjoy the ride.
  82. DarylF.
    Oct 26, 2003
    10
    One of the best movies of all time!!!! This movie doesn't deserve the put downs its getting for violence. The violence is so unrealistic and cartoon-like that it doesnt even gross you out. (intentionally) And don't always listen to the critics. They're not "special" its just their opinion of the movie. And not everyone is gonna have the same taste as you so just see the One of the best movies of all time!!!! This movie doesn't deserve the put downs its getting for violence. The violence is so unrealistic and cartoon-like that it doesnt even gross you out. (intentionally) And don't always listen to the critics. They're not "special" its just their opinion of the movie. And not everyone is gonna have the same taste as you so just see the movie and judge for yourself. Expand
  83. Legolasvmf
    Oct 26, 2003
    10
    Kill Bill, pure art, i dont want to see matrix now, the fights are more superior and less computer; Kill Bill vol 1 is like putting Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, pulp fiction and Mortal Kombat all together.
  84. CrazyPJ
    Oct 31, 2003
    9
    Those who dislike this movie either came in expecting to hate it or have no taste in film or theatre. The only main flaw i see in this movie is that it was split in 2. It should have been 1 long clever masterpiece.
  85. MattL.
    Dec 15, 2004
    9
    Stan J, you're a complete idiot. This movie had awesome visuals and the fighting were spectacular. The guy is JAPANESE, not Chinese. Can't you tell the difference between 2 completely different cultures? Get your facts straight, kid.
  86. Dazzle
    Dec 19, 2004
    8
    Matt L firstly neither you or Stan are correct, the man is okinawan, though classed as Japanese I would think any okinawan would be offended to be called that LOL! though there is a LOT of history and its not as simple as I just said, I believe it would be best to term him as okinawan.... As for the film it wont be everyones cup of tea as you need to go with the attitude of what the film Matt L firstly neither you or Stan are correct, the man is okinawan, though classed as Japanese I would think any okinawan would be offended to be called that LOL! though there is a LOT of history and its not as simple as I just said, I believe it would be best to term him as okinawan.... As for the film it wont be everyones cup of tea as you need to go with the attitude of what the film is about or you will think it is stupid (wires on the plane etc) and corny. If you like this sort of thing you will LOVE it. Its certainly pretty unique in this day and age.... Expand
  87. BaldEagle
    Jan 25, 2004
    10
    Kill Bill is beautiful, extremely well-done movie, and wildly entertaining if you can stomache the bloodbath. What a work of art. This movie left me wanting more. A lot more. The zero ratings make me laugh, but heed them if you are squeamish. This movie more than delievers on all of Tarantino's trademarks, except for his classic diologue, and blows his previous films away concerning Kill Bill is beautiful, extremely well-done movie, and wildly entertaining if you can stomache the bloodbath. What a work of art. This movie left me wanting more. A lot more. The zero ratings make me laugh, but heed them if you are squeamish. This movie more than delievers on all of Tarantino's trademarks, except for his classic diologue, and blows his previous films away concerning stunning imagery. Expand
  88. KenshinH.
    Jan 29, 2004
    10
    WOW! Any fan of action films will love this. Well almost any fan I believe castrated individuals wont.
  89. Parker
    Feb 28, 2004
    10
    Coolest movie ever made.
  90. UnaccountedFor
    Feb 29, 2004
    7
    The ultimate guilty sin, "KillBill Vol. 1" is nothing less than a vapor thin plotline with intentionally cheesy dialogue, intentionally over the top(usually intentionally comic) violence, and an intentionally whimsical/dramatic soundtrack/score/sound effects. None the less, it is the one film that you will like but will never want to admit to liking it to anyone you respect. Suceeds in The ultimate guilty sin, "KillBill Vol. 1" is nothing less than a vapor thin plotline with intentionally cheesy dialogue, intentionally over the top(usually intentionally comic) violence, and an intentionally whimsical/dramatic soundtrack/score/sound effects. None the less, it is the one film that you will like but will never want to admit to liking it to anyone you respect. Suceeds in being a "badass" film by laughing at every aspect that makes up a "badass" film. It also features some of the best (if not the best) cinematography ever. I only recommend this film to those who feel they can truly appreciate the intentionally absurd and have seen at least one blacksploitation film as well as at least two japanese hack'n slash flicks. Expand
  91. J.Scott
    Mar 11, 2004
    10
    I find the review posted by J. Cinnante to be very very offensive to fans of QT, like myself. Just because you're puny brain is too weak to comprehend the genius of Tarantino ( he has an IQ of 160, so i'm not just "being faithful" or talking outta my ass) doesn't mean that you have to rag on those who get him. Tarantino is the essence of a great filmmaker...not only does he I find the review posted by J. Cinnante to be very very offensive to fans of QT, like myself. Just because you're puny brain is too weak to comprehend the genius of Tarantino ( he has an IQ of 160, so i'm not just "being faithful" or talking outta my ass) doesn't mean that you have to rag on those who get him. Tarantino is the essence of a great filmmaker...not only does he know how to construct an interesting story, but he has the balls to go against the "standards" of cinema. He's an R-rated, American Jean-Luc Godard. I GET THAT...don't post your gibberish if it's all insults to somebody's fans..that's just totally rude. The fact that you think the film is "just blood and guts all over the place" shows that you really don't see the movie for what it is. It's a totally blank statement. Other than the anime sequence...there's not even half a pint of blood for the first half of the f.ckin film. Expand
  92. N.M.
    Apr 13, 2004
    9
    Kill Bill may be the best directed film I have ever seen. The film oozes style. Every visual is meant to convey a certain atmosphere, and the construction of these shots is so good, that they do so effortlessly. The movie is simplistic, and has little substance, but I don't mean this as a criticism. Kill Bill is a great film, not because of what happens in it, but because of how it Kill Bill may be the best directed film I have ever seen. The film oozes style. Every visual is meant to convey a certain atmosphere, and the construction of these shots is so good, that they do so effortlessly. The movie is simplistic, and has little substance, but I don't mean this as a criticism. Kill Bill is a great film, not because of what happens in it, but because of how it happens. Quentin Tarantino clearly had a lot of influences when making this film, and he put them together perfectly. Expand
  93. SandfE.
    Apr 24, 2004
    9
    Waaah! this movie is a great cinema masterpiece, even if the story is not deep enough. I would have given 10 if the movie could have been a little bit more developed. Other than that, all was great: The camera view, the music,etc... Anyway i'm too lazy to write more:P
  94. SandfE.
    Apr 24, 2004
    9
    Waaah! this movie is a great cinema masterpiece, even if the story is not deep enough. I would have given 10 if the movie could have been a little bit more developed. Other than that, all was great: The camera view, the music,etc... Anyway i'm too lazy to write more:P
  95. SlipS.
    May 16, 2004
    10
    Great intriguing fun movie. A bit more violent than I usually like but it is all a cartoonish sort of violence, except for the actual cartoon portion.
  96. BillKill
    May 19, 2004
    10
    Pure cinematic marvel, i hired it out once and much like tarantino's other movies found myself enjoying it more after repeated veiwings, and so what if the story's thin in vol 1 who needs substance when you've got this much style.
  97. JasonT.
    May 28, 2004
    9
    A superior popcorn flick, both entertaining and hilarious. The anime piece in the middle of the film was brilliant, and was vital in creating the fantasy amosphere the story needs to be successfull.
  98. LeviF.
    Aug 19, 2004
    10
    This is an excellant movie. tarantino at his best & uma thurman is sensational.
  99. RobertM.
    Sep 12, 2004
    8
    Well, it's not deep or anything, but it's fun, cool and entertaining. If you want to see a movie full of stuff that makes you think, this isn't a good movie. If you want pure entertainment and meaningless violence, it rocks.
  100. Mike
    Feb 14, 2005
    9
    A little too much over the top bloody violence. Uma is great in this movie! great story. Highly recommend it!
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 43
  2. Negative: 5 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Jim Agnew
    70
    A hyper-violent, hyper-gory, kung-fu grindhouse flick. And there’s nothing at all wrong with that.
  2. Is Kill Bill a homage to great Asian action movies? Yes. Is Tarantino trying to outdo his cherished masters (on a budget that dwarfs their films)? Of course. Is there any other point of any of this? Let's see "Vol. 2."
  3. 63
    An incomplete movie, artlessly cleft in the middle. Cinema interruptus.