Miramax Films | Release Date: October 10, 2003
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1245 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,041
Mixed:
65
Negative:
139
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
DillonMcCormickMar 16, 2012
Kill Bill Vol. 1 is a masterpiece. Vengeance, justice and kung fu are combined to create an entertaining action film. Uma Thurman plays the main female character who slices her way through bad guys.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
horcrux2007Sep 3, 2014
This is by far my favorite film. It's bloody, highly entertaining, and it is just a fun revenge flick to watch. It is very over-the-top, like most grindhouse films were, which makes it all the more entertaining. I highly recommend this.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
WowWNov 14, 2007
69 critic and 6.2 user average ratings??? Are people mad? Though I liked part 2 better, part 1 is way up there, and both DVDs are excellent transfers. Yes, it's graphic, but the violence isn't senseless, just like all of 69 critic and 6.2 user average ratings??? Are people mad? Though I liked part 2 better, part 1 is way up there, and both DVDs are excellent transfers. Yes, it's graphic, but the violence isn't senseless, just like all of Tarantino's other films... why is Kill Bill treated so differently? Excellent acting, intricate screenplay, character develop and cinematography make it a must-have. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful
9
hoops2448Oct 7, 2011
Kill Bill Volume 1 is a gripping tale of betrayal and vengeance whose only real fault is that it isn't as detailed or captivating as Volume 2. Kill Bill tells the story of The Bride who was betrayed and left for dead in a church in El Paso byKill Bill Volume 1 is a gripping tale of betrayal and vengeance whose only real fault is that it isn't as detailed or captivating as Volume 2. Kill Bill tells the story of The Bride who was betrayed and left for dead in a church in El Paso by her once lover Bill and how when she awoke from a 4 year coma all she wanted was revenge. However that is not the only thing going for it as it is also a satire and a tribute to Kung Fu films in general. Of course Tarantino brings his own directorial flare to the film as well as his signature dialogue but the first volume plays more like a tribute than a film of its own where as the 2nd shines on its own merits and story. If anything it is the concentration on lesser characters like O-Ren Ishii that brings the film down because she is the weakest of the main group of characters (although Lucy Lui's acting is fantastic as always). This concentration seems like a mistake but in a way it does help set up the 2nd by showing how hard it was to take on only 2 of the 5 targets The Bride goes after. However the Hatori Hanzo section of the film does work especially well as it embraces Kung Fu and Samurai film conventions while also allowing for certain comedic elements and also fleshing out The Bride's excellent character before getting into the more action heavy second half of the film. Overall it is one of Tarantino's best works but is just overshadowed by Volume 2 which just does everything that Volume 1 does but does it better. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
paulgreenFeb 23, 2012
I like volume 2 more then volume 1 but it is my favourite film!
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
KyleH.Jun 5, 2007
This was the first Quentin Tarantino movie I have ever seen and I could not stop watching. My eyes were glued to the screen. I was in awe and even the several times after that when I would watch this film everyday while waiting for Volume 2 This was the first Quentin Tarantino movie I have ever seen and I could not stop watching. My eyes were glued to the screen. I was in awe and even the several times after that when I would watch this film everyday while waiting for Volume 2 to be released on DVD. It all just fits together so well with the promise of an excellent second half. This is a must see! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
NickD.Jun 17, 2005
It's so sad we didn't get to reading the lowest scoring critic review. What would they have to say for themselves? If one cannot see through the "gory" (blood squirting in fountains, cartoony if you ask me) spots and see how It's so sad we didn't get to reading the lowest scoring critic review. What would they have to say for themselves? If one cannot see through the "gory" (blood squirting in fountains, cartoony if you ask me) spots and see how incredibly stylish this movie is... Every single moment, every single chopped off arm is full of tension, action, and even humor! Incredible how he combines those key elements harmoniously, fused with great acting and strangely enough believable characters... It's the Bohemian Rhapsody of movies; something of everything, but never coming short. Why do some people see a 10 for a given opinion as if that person is a fanboy? This is one of the movies that's worth it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
JudgeHoldenSep 9, 2012
A unique blend of movie genres with a superb choice of music and a lot of small hints at some well known pictures make of Kill Bill Vol. 1 a must-watch position. Though I'm not a fan of some other Tarantino movies, I enjoyed this oneA unique blend of movie genres with a superb choice of music and a lot of small hints at some well known pictures make of Kill Bill Vol. 1 a must-watch position. Though I'm not a fan of some other Tarantino movies, I enjoyed this one thoroughly and recommend it to anyone. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
BobJ.Mar 4, 2006
Too unrealistic gory scenes. Like a cartoon.
2 of 6 users found this helpful
1
StaciGNov 13, 2007
The script read like Tarantino was having a conversation with himself. The violence was stylish, but no matter how you wrap it, crap is crap.
2 of 8 users found this helpful
0
LindaL.Nov 26, 2003
Who let this dog out? What a piece of crap. I almost stepped in it running out of theater. Trailer trash.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
SamK.Nov 14, 2003
Sucked big time.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
5
grandpajoe6191Sep 21, 2011
"Kill Bill: Vol 1" is a bloody mess filled with bizarre **** and unique garbage. Director Tarantino's presentation may have been cool or stunning, but it can't save the movie from its terrible plot with shallow depth. He should have made this"Kill Bill: Vol 1" is a bloody mess filled with bizarre **** and unique garbage. Director Tarantino's presentation may have been cool or stunning, but it can't save the movie from its terrible plot with shallow depth. He should have made this into a **** anime, not a movie. Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
4
CooterPatooterMar 3, 2012
I just gave this film the same score that I gave Kindergarten Cop, if that tells you anything.
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
4
DamianP.Nov 5, 2003
Violence doesn't bother me (thank you, Hollywood), so I'm not complaining about that. The story was run of the mill, but I'm well used to that. What was truly awful was having to sit in a cinema in Tokyo and listen to everyone Violence doesn't bother me (thank you, Hollywood), so I'm not complaining about that. The story was run of the mill, but I'm well used to that. What was truly awful was having to sit in a cinema in Tokyo and listen to everyone laughing at the Westerners blurting out words that no one over here uses anymore, going on about their souls and the FIGHTING WITH SWORDS!!! The Japanese joke that it only happens in American movies, and this proves them right. And there isn't a word to describe the cringe-factor of listening to Uma mispronouncing 'Okinawa' time and time again. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ArleenJan 4, 2004
Simply awful with too much blood and gore. People were walking out of the theater in the middle of the film. That says it all.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
0
NateB.Apr 10, 2004
Wow. I mean, really wow. I was so excited to see this movie, and I have no comment for it. I'm a huge fan of pulp fiction, but this...I can't even describe how awful it is.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
CarlosA.May 24, 2004
Pitiful. Incredible how Tarantino steals our money !!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LavanyaJJun 9, 2005
Bang bang he shot me down bang bang that awful sound the best campy movie ever! its a classic tarantino!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
JonP.Jan 4, 2004
I hated this movie so much... i think tarantino has been sitting around playing too much playstation and taking too much ..... I reckon everything good in the film he stole from the playstation classic Tenchu and everything bad in the film,I hated this movie so much... i think tarantino has been sitting around playing too much playstation and taking too much ..... I reckon everything good in the film he stole from the playstation classic Tenchu and everything bad in the film, which was te majority of it... was taken from his ass and the belief in his own hype... get it over it quinti... i know i have. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
HenryB.Feb 10, 2004
Despised it. I walked out in the middle it was that bad. Quentin stay in retirement if your heart isn't in it? It's a pity because Quentin when he is on his A game is one of the best there is. He made no effort here. Awful.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
HarrisonO.Feb 25, 2004
Kill Bill = Needless violence without a plot. Just awful.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JosefH.Feb 20, 2004
Very sad bloody effort by a once very talented man in Quentin T. Got me this time but now he must prove himself before I ever go see one of his films again. I'm sure his hard core fans will be there for the continuation of the same crap Very sad bloody effort by a once very talented man in Quentin T. Got me this time but now he must prove himself before I ever go see one of his films again. I'm sure his hard core fans will be there for the continuation of the same crap in Part II but for me it is the end of the line. If I hear one more rave about savagery and a spoof, I think I will become sick. Awful. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
TanyaFeb 2, 2004
Kyle, let's see if I have this right? A terribly violent bloody spoof of a martial arts film WITHOUT a plot and you gave it a perfect ten to match Gone With The Wind? Enough said.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SidneyF.Feb 3, 2004
Absolutely dreadful.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
StephenO.Mar 3, 2004
Violence in any form is not entertainment. Quentin seems to have lost his touch instead making a bloody mess that attacks the senses. Hard to believe that the public could buy into this crap? Hated it from the beginnng to the part where it Violence in any form is not entertainment. Quentin seems to have lost his touch instead making a bloody mess that attacks the senses. Hard to believe that the public could buy into this crap? Hated it from the beginnng to the part where it said "to be continued..." Well, it will be without me and countless others. Only hardcore diehard QT fans can buy into crap like this. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChadH.May 10, 2004
Best movie of the year for SURE! i cant wait for the second one.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
GreyBeardAug 1, 2004
QT needs to decide whether he wants to be (just) an iconoclast, or a storyteller with something to say. Fight scenes are tedious (rather like the Matrix nonsense) and the story line is pretty limited, while the characters are just mannequins QT needs to decide whether he wants to be (just) an iconoclast, or a storyteller with something to say. Fight scenes are tedious (rather like the Matrix nonsense) and the story line is pretty limited, while the characters are just mannequins to be chopped up in an over-grizzily manner. It may be a masterpiece in terms of a variety of techniques and his knowledge of them, but they don't really need to be explored in the same place at the same time. I didn't pay for the film to be impressed by his knowledge, but to be entertained, amused, challenged to think, none of which apply. Back to my Pulp Fiction video... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
IlzeSJan 18, 2005
Just awful! This movie really sucked! I don
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
marshallmOct 20, 2005
Hands down, one of my favorites, but kill bill vol. 2 is even better! and this one is hard to top.
0 of 1 users found this helpful