Miramax Films | Release Date: October 10, 2003
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1083 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
989
Mixed:
50
Negative:
44
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
mrdr4gonFeb 10, 2018
A ultraviolent exercise in pure visceral action and spectacle with a succession of increasingly incredible and insane setpieces culminating in one of the greatest fight scenes in film history.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
paulgreenFeb 23, 2012
I like volume 2 more then volume 1 but it is my favourite film!
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
9
WowWNov 14, 2007
69 critic and 6.2 user average ratings??? Are people mad? Though I liked part 2 better, part 1 is way up there, and both DVDs are excellent transfers. Yes, it's graphic, but the violence isn't senseless, just like all of 69 critic and 6.2 user average ratings??? Are people mad? Though I liked part 2 better, part 1 is way up there, and both DVDs are excellent transfers. Yes, it's graphic, but the violence isn't senseless, just like all of Tarantino's other films... why is Kill Bill treated so differently? Excellent acting, intricate screenplay, character develop and cinematography make it a must-have. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful
9
hoops2448Oct 7, 2011
Kill Bill Volume 1 is a gripping tale of betrayal and vengeance whose only real fault is that it isn't as detailed or captivating as Volume 2. Kill Bill tells the story of The Bride who was betrayed and left for dead in a church in El Paso byKill Bill Volume 1 is a gripping tale of betrayal and vengeance whose only real fault is that it isn't as detailed or captivating as Volume 2. Kill Bill tells the story of The Bride who was betrayed and left for dead in a church in El Paso by her once lover Bill and how when she awoke from a 4 year coma all she wanted was revenge. However that is not the only thing going for it as it is also a satire and a tribute to Kung Fu films in general. Of course Tarantino brings his own directorial flare to the film as well as his signature dialogue but the first volume plays more like a tribute than a film of its own where as the 2nd shines on its own merits and story. If anything it is the concentration on lesser characters like O-Ren Ishii that brings the film down because she is the weakest of the main group of characters (although Lucy Lui's acting is fantastic as always). This concentration seems like a mistake but in a way it does help set up the 2nd by showing how hard it was to take on only 2 of the 5 targets The Bride goes after. However the Hatori Hanzo section of the film does work especially well as it embraces Kung Fu and Samurai film conventions while also allowing for certain comedic elements and also fleshing out The Bride's excellent character before getting into the more action heavy second half of the film. Overall it is one of Tarantino's best works but is just overshadowed by Volume 2 which just does everything that Volume 1 does but does it better. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
KyleH.Jun 5, 2007
This was the first Quentin Tarantino movie I have ever seen and I could not stop watching. My eyes were glued to the screen. I was in awe and even the several times after that when I would watch this film everyday while waiting for Volume 2 This was the first Quentin Tarantino movie I have ever seen and I could not stop watching. My eyes were glued to the screen. I was in awe and even the several times after that when I would watch this film everyday while waiting for Volume 2 to be released on DVD. It all just fits together so well with the promise of an excellent second half. This is a must see! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
8
JudgeHoldenSep 9, 2012
A unique blend of movie genres with a superb choice of music and a lot of small hints at some well known pictures make of Kill Bill Vol. 1 a must-watch position. Though I'm not a fan of some other Tarantino movies, I enjoyed this oneA unique blend of movie genres with a superb choice of music and a lot of small hints at some well known pictures make of Kill Bill Vol. 1 a must-watch position. Though I'm not a fan of some other Tarantino movies, I enjoyed this one thoroughly and recommend it to anyone. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
BobJ.Mar 4, 2006
Too unrealistic gory scenes. Like a cartoon.
2 of 6 users found this helpful
8
MovieGuysSep 19, 2013
A solid movie for Tarantino, and a damn fun one to watch. Uma Thurman comes back for her second Tarantino-directed movie as the bride who wants vengeance, and will do whatever is necessary to get it. The only thing is when you reach the endA solid movie for Tarantino, and a damn fun one to watch. Uma Thurman comes back for her second Tarantino-directed movie as the bride who wants vengeance, and will do whatever is necessary to get it. The only thing is when you reach the end of the movie and she still hasn't "killed Bill", you might get a feeling of regret for wasting your time with this movie. Oh, but just wait until you see Part 2. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
StaciGNov 13, 2007
The script read like Tarantino was having a conversation with himself. The violence was stylish, but no matter how you wrap it, crap is crap.
2 of 8 users found this helpful
0
LindaL.Nov 26, 2003
Who let this dog out? What a piece of crap. I almost stepped in it running out of theater. Trailer trash.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
SamK.Nov 14, 2003
Sucked big time.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
5
grandpajoe6191Sep 21, 2011
"Kill Bill: Vol 1" is a bloody mess filled with bizarre **** and unique garbage. Director Tarantino's presentation may have been cool or stunning, but it can't save the movie from its terrible plot with shallow depth. He should have made this"Kill Bill: Vol 1" is a bloody mess filled with bizarre **** and unique garbage. Director Tarantino's presentation may have been cool or stunning, but it can't save the movie from its terrible plot with shallow depth. He should have made this into a **** anime, not a movie. Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
4
CooterPatooterMar 3, 2012
I just gave this film the same score that I gave Kindergarten Cop, if that tells you anything.
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
1
JonP.Jan 4, 2004
I hated this movie so much... i think tarantino has been sitting around playing too much playstation and taking too much ..... I reckon everything good in the film he stole from the playstation classic Tenchu and everything bad in the film,I hated this movie so much... i think tarantino has been sitting around playing too much playstation and taking too much ..... I reckon everything good in the film he stole from the playstation classic Tenchu and everything bad in the film, which was te majority of it... was taken from his ass and the belief in his own hype... get it over it quinti... i know i have. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
marshallmOct 20, 2005
Hands down, one of my favorites, but kill bill vol. 2 is even better! and this one is hard to top.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
LucasKJan 4, 2006
Wow.... sooo gory... and the blood is super exaggerated.... although the soundtrack was good... This is way overrated.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
10
AdamH.May 8, 2006
This Movie Rocks!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
NickR.Jan 5, 2006
I don't get it either, but I love it. The sum is greater than the separate parts.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MickMay 24, 2006
Awful. A well Polished B-Movie does not a good Movie make. Style and no content! Took all that is bad about this genre of film and supersized it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
pabloeNov 9, 2007
It
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
DonSMar 1, 2008
I Absolutely Hated this movie. It's just an hour and an half of Uma killing a whole lot of people! This movie really sucks. I get angry every time I think about it. >:(
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
MikeHAug 29, 2009
I literally found this movie boring... what the hell happened!?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
ArkonBladeAug 23, 2010
its a film built on nostalgia . if you grew up in the 70s or even just growing up seeing the 70's cheesy kung fu films and loved them . then you will most likely love kill bill. ive seen some lof theese growing up so i have a little bit of aits a film built on nostalgia . if you grew up in the 70s or even just growing up seeing the 70's cheesy kung fu films and loved them . then you will most likely love kill bill. ive seen some lof theese growing up so i have a little bit of a like for theese films but not enough to really appriciate what terintino has done with this. its not a bad film its action packed , bloody as hell , and cheesy and i liked that in sin city but doesnt quite pull it off as interestingly as it did with sin city. its still a enjoyable film and i respect terintino for what he tried to do but like i said from the begining your nostalgia will really make or break how you like this film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
spadenxJan 5, 2012
It was ok. For an action film it was rather over the top, A little too over the top for my taste. Yet the plot was interesting but a little poorly executed, Which is suprising from Tarantino. I expected better.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Trev29Mar 31, 2012
Only few would dare to make a movie as insane as this, and Tarantino made it brilliant. A gripping revenge story that doesn't hold anything back. It was all over the place in style, direction, and musically which just made it completelyOnly few would dare to make a movie as insane as this, and Tarantino made it brilliant. A gripping revenge story that doesn't hold anything back. It was all over the place in style, direction, and musically which just made it completely original. Unexpectedly very funny and epic at the same time. One of the best! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
calhouniteJan 20, 2016
best nutcracker suite ever .. don't get the red stuff thobest nutcracker suite ever .. don't get the red stuff tho ......................................................................................................................................................................................................... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
SuperkidNov 24, 2014
Kill Bill Vol. 1 is AWESOME! It has Way better action than the second one. Now, I'm not saying that Kill Bill Vol. 2 is a bad movie believe me it is awesome and I gave that a 10 also but this introduces the characters and explains why sheKill Bill Vol. 1 is AWESOME! It has Way better action than the second one. Now, I'm not saying that Kill Bill Vol. 2 is a bad movie believe me it is awesome and I gave that a 10 also but this introduces the characters and explains why she wants to kill the people on her death list and of course, Bill. I truly love this movie and it deserves a 10 undoubtedly. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
MemulatronSep 22, 2015
This movie is dumb. Plain and simple. It's great to watch with a big group of friends, but not worth watching any other time. Direction is pretty good, though.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
wiiy71Dec 30, 2017
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
FilipeNetoFeb 25, 2018
In this film, the first of two, the Bride, betrayed and abandoned to die by her groom, Bill, get her revenge route. Directed and written by Quentin Tarantino, the film stars Uma Thurman and David Carradine.

This is a film that can be good,
In this film, the first of two, the Bride, betrayed and abandoned to die by her groom, Bill, get her revenge route. Directed and written by Quentin Tarantino, the film stars Uma Thurman and David Carradine.

This is a film that can be good, but definitely is not for me. I like some of Tarantino's films, but definitely I cannot understand this one.

The performance of the actors is regular, the special, visual and sound effects are very good and the soundtrack, given the circumstances, is interesting. The main problem of this film is the non-linear narrative. This option simply does not fit in the film and makes it more confusing than it would be in a conventional narrative. Its an artistic resource, undoubtedly innovative, but that should be used when not hinder the understanding of the public. The public has to understand the movie, and it does not happen here. A person who knows nothing about this film, which has never read anything about it, don't understand it, and discards it.

The film's screenplay is interesting, although it has been virtually copied from another movie ("Lady Snowblood"). But despite the basic idea is good (the bride betrayed by her groom, abandoned and nearly murdered in his own marriage), the way the film develops it is quite negative. First of all, the film doesn't explain Bill's reasons. Surely he didn't wake up that day with a sudden urge to kill the bride, and this lack of rational explanation makes the situation far-fetched. Another problem of this film is the illogical manner it displays and mixes raw action scenes, western scenes or Japanese scenes. From a certain point, the film seems made with pieces of film found in a garbage dump. There is no logic in the way the film shows it.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews