Kill Bill: Vol. 2

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 661 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 661

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. TammyS.
    Aug 11, 2004
    0
    Not enough womping she should have womped alot more ass.
  2. TonyB
    Jul 22, 2005
    3
    Long on technique but way short on everything else and far too self-important for its own good.
  3. MoJo
    Apr 23, 2004
    3
    All style no substance and very very slow-moving.
  4. StuartW.
    Apr 29, 2004
    3
    An utter disappointment... the few decent action scenes dragged out by empty dialogue. A poor conclusion.
  5. DonM.
    Jul 13, 2004
    0
    What was there to like about this movie?
  6. Mr.Howell
    Aug 16, 2004
    0
    If this is what Americans use as a definition for homage and high art then it's no wonder the rest of the world continually laughs at the minimally creative garbage that Hollywood pumps out. This movie is a collection of rip-offs from other films that were intolerable to begin with. We are not twelve years old with a fetish for swords and blood. This film too stupid to even rate If this is what Americans use as a definition for homage and high art then it's no wonder the rest of the world continually laughs at the minimally creative garbage that Hollywood pumps out. This movie is a collection of rip-offs from other films that were intolerable to begin with. We are not twelve years old with a fetish for swords and blood. This film too stupid to even rate "typical". Kill Bill 1&2 are Hollywood pre-teen "I'm mad at mommy and daddy" films aimed at the retards who feel that the world owes them something. Will Tarrentino's films all be masturbatory gore fests? So far the answer is yes. All these "directors" with all that money; I defy them put out a film that doesn't use violence as problem solver. Boring? only to the people raised on this crap. Expand
  7. TobyH.
    Apr 12, 2005
    3
    Dissapointing attemps at philosphy and emphasis on story kill this film.
  8. Aug 16, 2010
    4
    Quentin Tarantino is a HIGHLY overrated director. All his movies are over the top with no good storylines and stupid sequences with one liners. I really didn't like this movie that much. It was entertaining at times but there are lots of better martial art flicks. This movie doesn't deserve to be on imdb's top 250 and neither does the first. Quentin Tarantino is not a genius he's just aQuentin Tarantino is a HIGHLY overrated director. All his movies are over the top with no good storylines and stupid sequences with one liners. I really didn't like this movie that much. It was entertaining at times but there are lots of better martial art flicks. This movie doesn't deserve to be on imdb's top 250 and neither does the first. Quentin Tarantino is not a genius he's just a guy with a sick mind who shows it to everyone. People may call him artistic I say he's full of sh*t. Any artist could just take a canvas and randomly start painting crap that's completely orignal on it people may like it but I say a real artist takes time to work on the details and everything. Expand
  9. Jan 5, 2011
    10
    If, in 'Kill Bill Vol. 1', Quentin Tarantino made one of the best
    movies for people who love Japanese grindhouse, then in 'Vol. 2' he
    made one of the best movies for people who love movies. Tarantino has consistently been my favorite director and 'Kill Bill Vol. 2' is the greatest of all his films to date. This isn't a sequel to 'Vol. 1', as he didn't decide to split 'Kill Bill' up until
    If, in 'Kill Bill Vol. 1', Quentin Tarantino made one of the best
    movies for people who love Japanese grindhouse, then in 'Vol. 2' he
    made one of the best movies for people who love movies. Tarantino has
    consistently been my favorite director and 'Kill Bill Vol. 2' is the
    greatest of all his films to date. This isn't a sequel to 'Vol. 1', as
    he didn't decide to split 'Kill Bill' up until just after he finished
    shooting, it's simply the second half. 'Vol. 1' is an excellent,
    excellent film, but no where in the range of this one. I grin
    ear-to-ear all the way through this movie.

    'Vol. 2' is Quentin's most visually beautiful movie yet (and the
    magnificent opening chapter, shot in gleaming black-and-white, is
    resplendent to a degree that is profound, as is the great sequence at
    Pai Mei's ancient abode, shot in gloriously seventies-style
    over-saturated greens and glaring whites), and it's where his flair for
    spaghetti-Westerns comes out the most. As in all of Tarantino's films,
    the dialogue is an unadulterated joy.

    This is nearly his least violent (and actually also almost his least
    talkative) film yet, and I've read both the original script and David
    Carradine's 'The Kill Bill Diaries', about all he saw of the making of
    the movies, and it's clear that many of Quentin's best decisions had to
    do with diminishing or removing the action. In place of the more
    obvious strategy of showing us a detailed sequence of the Deadly Viper
    Assassination Squad gruesomely gunning down the people in the chapel,
    he decided no, pull back and let us just listen to a brief event from a
    distance, observing it in a kind of silhouette. And in place of Bill
    firing a warning shot at the Bride and holding her at gun-point while
    she walks towards a couch to seat herself, he decided Bill simply
    regards her casually, his pistol just visible at his waist, of which
    they are both aware. In the earlier idea, all suspense would have been
    spent with the warning shot. When Bill relates the tale of Pai Mei to
    the Bride, he decided it would be more effective to let us use our
    imaginations while listening to Bill's ponderous speech by the
    camp-fire in the dark than to play seventies Kung Fu footage of Pai Mei
    in action over the monologue.

    The first time I saw the movie, the first big thing that struck me was
    Budd. His is a great and
    tragic character, and Michael Madsen is a great actor, and his
    performance begins in a singularly perfect scene with Carradine which
    shows us his indifference to, and acceptance of, his approaching
    probable demise. And for a long stretch the Bride is forgotten, and we
    simply follow Budd into the lonely strip club he tends bar at, getting
    a taste of what his existence has become, of his disappointment and
    withdrawal from life (the scene where he argues with his boss Larry and
    finally relinquishes both his hat and his pride is worthy of applause).
    Every time I watch the scene of the Bride's sneak-attack on him, I am
    more amazed by how exquisitely constructed the whole sequence is. A
    long, meticulous build-up ending in unexpected truncation is a
    trade-mark of Quentin's, in action as well as dialogue. What Budd does with the Bride is endlessly fascinating to me in its brilliant, primeval simplicity. This is the stuff of great myths. In the last chapter the tone of the film changes from the grandiose, Tarantinian adventure of the first four chapters and settles into an intimate dialogue between the story's two central characters (and one other, for a time), in which Quentin subtly and expertly simmers the tension and danger that exists between these two supremely deadly assassins. This section of the film is in keeping with an other trade-mark of Quentin's, that of inserting elements of simplest, uttermost reality into an over-the-top, epic story. With Quentin's help, David Carradine produced a magnificent performance in this film, as a man who is possibly even more laid-back than Carradine was himself (and who delivers three great monologues), but who can be deeply, genuinely menacing. 'Kill Bill Vol. 2' is the most joyful, the most exciting, the most glorious celebration of the cinema I've ever seen. It is Tarantino's deepest and most emotionally powerful film by far (and the often over-looked sequence of the Bride slowly preparing herself before leaving a bed-room to face Bill is one of the very best in the film). It has both the best and second- best uses of music I've heard in a movie (if not more). The climax of the Bride's raggedly magnificent confrontation with her wicked rival Elle evokes in me the emotion of sheer love. And the scene of the Bride's triumph over the designs of Budd has become my central image of the cinema. This is a movie that bursts with human life, and with its director's signature passion and love of the movies. I can't tell you how many times I've put the D.V.D. in to look at a specific part, and then ended up watching the whole damn thing again.
    Expand
  10. Aug 10, 2012
    3
    I feel as though Tarrantino's wasted his own and the actors talents. Unlike most of his movies the films talky scenes are boring and stupid. I loved the rest of his movies but Kill Bill vol 2 just sucks.
  11. Mar 3, 2012
    1
    Highly overrated, ridiculously overlong, highly plagiarized yawner that makes little sense. Stale and action-free from start to finish. The first film was shoddy, but at least it was moderately ENTERTAINING! Tarantino at his absolute worst, unless you count his performance in From Dusk Til Dawn...
  12. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    This movie took me by surprise because it was so different than the first one. However, that only made it better. This movie has such an impressive essence about it. Uma was very convincing and brilliant in this film. It is brutal and unsympathetic in its nature. Among one of the best films ever. A true masterpiece.
  13. MikeO.
    May 6, 2004
    9
    This movie can't get 10 because, like any movie, it just can't tie up every loose end. Apart from that minor comment, Kill Bill Vol. 2 is fantastic. The fight scenes are well crafted, and this time the plot and characterizations are improved. The power of this film is in how there is no good versus bad, none of your standard heroine meets hero and falls in love - this is just This movie can't get 10 because, like any movie, it just can't tie up every loose end. Apart from that minor comment, Kill Bill Vol. 2 is fantastic. The fight scenes are well crafted, and this time the plot and characterizations are improved. The power of this film is in how there is no good versus bad, none of your standard heroine meets hero and falls in love - this is just classic and original filmmaking. Great. Expand
  14. ChadS.
    Jul 7, 2004
    9
    It's hard to believe that Warren Beatty was Quentin Tarrantino's first choice to play Bill. If David Carradine passed, Iggy Pop might've been able to pull it off. As for The Bride, Uma Thurman is it. My favorite Uma moment is when Budd (Michael Madsen) gives her a choice between the flashlight, or the mace, and she motions for the former, before Tarrantino pays homage to It's hard to believe that Warren Beatty was Quentin Tarrantino's first choice to play Bill. If David Carradine passed, Iggy Pop might've been able to pull it off. As for The Bride, Uma Thurman is it. My favorite Uma moment is when Budd (Michael Madsen) gives her a choice between the flashlight, or the mace, and she motions for the former, before Tarrantino pays homage to "The Vanishing". She's going to be overlooked at Oscar-time again. What Thurman does with a pair of chopsticks is every bit as impressive as reciting a line of dialogue with conviction, such as "Old Lady Swanger says you need help, so here I am," or "Make me feel good." Her scenes with Pai Mei (Gordon Liu) must set some kind of record for fun. Are Pei Mei's eyebrows a quote? Morgan Freeman in "Dreamcatcher"? The domestic scenes that close this magnificent film is a little jarring, but that's because we're so sick of cute kids, which begets cute kid moments, and we don't necessarily want an apology for all the violence. Tarrantino wanted to give The Bride depth, but maybe he went at it with too heavy a hand. "Kill Bill Vol. 1" and "Vol. 2" needs to be restored to its original version. This is filmmaking so exhilirating, nobody would've minded being stuck in the theater for three-and-a-half hours. You can't deny Quentin Tarrantino is a major filmmaker, albeit shallow. Shallow masterpieces or near-masterpieces, are better than films with delusions of Oscar grandeur. Expand
  15. WillP.
    Aug 28, 2004
    10
    Once again, amazing director work and amazing acting. caradine is flawless.
  16. DanK
    May 26, 2005
    10
    Excellent movie. Answers all the questions left from volume 1. And to all those who keep going on about how they would rather see one movie and that they are getting ripped off paying twice Quentin Tarantino had originally planned on making one movie but it would be nearly 4 hours long. I could and have watched them back to back but most people don't have the time to sit through a Excellent movie. Answers all the questions left from volume 1. And to all those who keep going on about how they would rather see one movie and that they are getting ripped off paying twice Quentin Tarantino had originally planned on making one movie but it would be nearly 4 hours long. I could and have watched them back to back but most people don't have the time to sit through a movie that long. Expand
  17. MichaelM.
    Oct 22, 2004
    10
    "Kill Bill Volume 2" is just another reason why we adore Quentin Tarantino's filmmaking. The story in Volume 2 begins where Volume 1 left it. The Bride (Uma Thurman - in an Oscar nomination worthy role) continues her bloody revenge by going after Bill's brother Budd (Michael Madsen - who also deserves an Oscar nomination), Elle Driver (Daryl Hannah - good performance, but not "Kill Bill Volume 2" is just another reason why we adore Quentin Tarantino's filmmaking. The story in Volume 2 begins where Volume 1 left it. The Bride (Uma Thurman - in an Oscar nomination worthy role) continues her bloody revenge by going after Bill's brother Budd (Michael Madsen - who also deserves an Oscar nomination), Elle Driver (Daryl Hannah - good performance, but not quite Oscar worthy) and finally, Bill himself (David Carradine - in his VERY best role, and worthy of an Oscar). Volume 2 is an overall better film than Volume 1. It doesn't have nearly as much blood or action as Vol. 1, but it has a much more rich story line, and is an overall deeper movie. That's not to say Vol. 2 doesn't have some very awesome fight sequences (four come to mind), just that Vol. 2 makes more room for plot and background information. In the end, Vol. 1 and Vol. 2 would be better viewed and thought of as just one film, the KILL BILL epic. But, if I had to chose between Vol. 1 or Vol. 2, I'd say Vol. 1 is more entertaining, but Vol. 2 is a better film, and makes for a more full viewing experience. DON'T WAIT, SEE IN THEATERS!!! A MUST-SEE. Thumbs Way up! Expand
  18. NicholasH.
    Apr 10, 2004
    10
    Even better than the first.....if you can believe it!
  19. [Anonymous]
    Apr 16, 2004
    10
    This movie is the best one I have seen all year.
  20. JonathanH.
    Apr 16, 2004
    10
    Brilliant, Much Better then the first, and i loved the first, But this one took care of it in every single way.
  21. TheRealist
    Apr 17, 2004
    10
    Well Kill Bill is finally complete or so we think. Reason I say that is I heard Tarantino is already talking about making a third installment 15 years down the road. It will be about Vivica's daughter seeking revenge on Beatrix Kiddo aka the bride. He wants to use the same little girl for the movie so that's why it wouldn't be for another 15-20 years. We'll know after Well Kill Bill is finally complete or so we think. Reason I say that is I heard Tarantino is already talking about making a third installment 15 years down the road. It will be about Vivica's daughter seeking revenge on Beatrix Kiddo aka the bride. He wants to use the same little girl for the movie so that's why it wouldn't be for another 15-20 years. We'll know after both volumes I'm just blown away by this masterpiece of film both vol.1 and vol.2 bring to the screen. Vol.2 is not nearly as action packed as the first volume, but you have to look at this as one movie people not a sequel. We have to learn more about the characters and their situations why they did this and that. There is action in the second volume and when there is action you feel it as if it were happening to you. Quentin is such a brilliant director and I will be very shocked if this movie does not win an oscar, actually I think it should sweep the oscars, and I will be in shock if it doesn't. Quentin is so underrated by some, they all think Speilberg, Howard, and way overrated George Lucas are the best out there, I don't think so. This movie alone would make him the best director out there. Plus having titles like Reservoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction which are two classics, man he is a genius. This film would probably be the best movie since Scarface and that's saying a lot, especially when you have excellent films like Reservoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction which are a couple more of my favorites. When you go see vol.2 make sure you're looking at this as one whole film cause there is a lot more dialogue in this film, not as much action as the beginning, but still be prepared to be blown away. It makes you want to watch all the old school martial arts flix. O and near the end of the movie if there are any wu-tang fans out there you'll hear the begining of the first song from the GZA cd liquid swords when the girl is telling the tale of the shogun assassain, which i thought was cool cause know i know what movie it came from. Alright enjoy the film and be prepared to be blown away and if you're not go watch films like the whole ten yards or some garbage like that. Expand
  22. Notnice
    Apr 20, 2004
    10
    His best movie. my favorite movie. i want to spend the rest of my life with it.
  23. RyanM.
    Apr 9, 2004
    10
    A movie to end all movies. Tarantino has done something incredible here, and that's almost equal to "Pulp Fiction." Kill Bill, Volumes 1 & 2 make up one of the greatest films ever in cinematic history. It blew me away.
  24. HenryS.
    May 10, 2004
    10
    This movie is so good it makes me want 2 kill bill (munz that is).
  25. BrianS.
    May 30, 2004
    9
    Tarantino's fourth and a half film is definitely one of his best, of course it will never beat out Pulp Fiction, but what does? If Kill Bill 1 is spaggetti western action, than Kill Bill 2 is all dialogue in the comfortable Quentin style. Note, Uma Thurman really shines, a must see obviously if you watched and liked the first. Seems to be a set of films that only get better with time.
  26. Jared
    May 9, 2004
    10
    Great movie. Vol. 1 provides the action, Vol. 2 provides the story. Amazing.
  27. DorianGrey
    Jun 22, 2004
    10
    Finally I can name without a doubt the best movie in the world. It's Kill Bill (1&2).
  28. MichaelB.
    Jun 6, 2004
    10
    Stop hatin on it you lil punk.
  29. JeffL
    Aug 15, 2004
    6
    There were things I liked about this movie: the cleverly choreographed fight scenes; Michael Madsen's performance; the story involving Uma's mentor. What i didn't like about this movie was that I was never quite clear of the characters' motivations until the end. For some reason, Tarantino foregrounds high paced action and quirky character dialogue for much of the There were things I liked about this movie: the cleverly choreographed fight scenes; Michael Madsen's performance; the story involving Uma's mentor. What i didn't like about this movie was that I was never quite clear of the characters' motivations until the end. For some reason, Tarantino foregrounds high paced action and quirky character dialogue for much of the film. This is fine -- but unless I watch those action scenes with a simple "gosh, that's Matrix-cool" mindset, I don't care about the absolution of the protagonist's revenge. Granted, this movie is apparently an hommage to Asian action films, which to me is just a flashy way of saying Tarrantino makes movies only a select group will fully understand. Again, this is fine -- but take away the elaborate fight scenes and you're left with a lot less than you want to be left with, especially when you're dealing with someone with Tarrantino's talent. Expand
  30. davidg.
    Jan 9, 2005
    9
    Hugely enjoyable film. i was beginning to think Tarrantino had lost his touch but this seems to be his best film to date. Top screenplay, top acting. Editing is superb, as if the soundtrack. I hope it's not too late for this film to gain a Oscar for best film, best editing, best screenplay and best a few other things besides.
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Kill Bill-Vol. 2 puts to shame doubts entertained about aesthetic strategies or structural imbalance provoked by "Kill Bill-Vol. 1." Now that the entirety of Quentin Tarantino's epic revenge melodrama is on view, "Kill Bill" emerges as a brilliant, invigorating work, one to muse over for years to come.
  2. 100
    You'll thrill to the action, savor the tasty dialogue and laugh like bloody hell.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    100
    Originally conceived as one film, the two-parter that has finally emerged can now be seen as a truly epic work.