User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 9, 2012
    5
    At times unduly ruthless, 'Irishman' is a film that goes heavy on the embroilment, hard on ethnic affronts, and light on the cerebrum; an unerring recipe that stays true to its high-concept title. Nothwithstanding dutiful efforts to engender a retro vibe, the 'Irishman' fails to match the charismatic scintillation of its predecessors' characters; but it tries...in razing combustion. Don't be fooled, the film is thought-provoking, howbeit in the form of carophobia driven paranoia; one can't help but check the wheel well first, the ventral side next, the key slit third, or the adjacent vehicle fourth...if time allows. Unnerving, huh? Now you're catching on. Expand
  2. Jun 26, 2011
    7
    My friend recommended the recently released dvd, â
  3. Jul 11, 2011
    5
    An explosive mobster movie that suffers from one to many Irish car bombs. With an entertaining screenplay this movie suffers from a ridiculous script and dialog between actors. It tries to be on the level of a Martin Scorsese film but feels more like Kelly Makin's Mickey Blue Eyes.
  4. Dec 30, 2011
    7
    It's a nice movie, not very special. Good story, abrupt ending maybe, - well played by Ray Stevenson and Val Kilmer. Maybe it isn't original anymore to make irish crime cinema; I must say: very good choice of music. Enjoy this film.
  5. Mar 31, 2011
    9
    great, on the edge of ur seat, based on a true story; movie! Walken, Do'nofrio, Kilmer & man who portrayed Danny Green....were all great performances I give this 5 1/2 stars, on the scale a 1-5 scale! A must see movie
  6. Apr 29, 2011
    5
    As a duo citizen, Canadian/European. I am not outraged at this heap of **** I won't spoil it for anyone but there is a wee bit too much of the Action Essentials going around and these "professionals" are using it so pizz poorly that they failed to capture me in first fawking minutes. I did laugh though, I'll be honest. Everytime the Irish got mad, you start to hear some fawking celtic music boi! Which i found racist as an Irish Canadian. Toss in some god horse****e and you have yourself a stinking pile of wish it were more irish trash...I noticed a few actors in this film were terrific at acting like other actors. This one guy, he does this MEAN Christopher Walken.,,really, it's something else. Other than that, there wasn't enough whiskey in the world to make me truly believe it was a good movie. It's not. One thing it did do though, was kill THIS irishman's boner when that terrifying Ray Stevenson groped that Ramsey girl who looks 16. I was hoping it would be amazing, since the real story is incredible...This movie falls very short of capturing what that must of really been like for Danny Greene. Expand
  7. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    fffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff fffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Apr 14, 2011
    40
    Talks the talk but doesn't walk the walk.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Apr 8, 2011
    63
    Call it "On the Lakefront." Or "Pretty-Good Fellas."
  3. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Apr 7, 2011
    70
    Overall, Kill the Irishman is an entertaining look at a brutal time in an ugly place.