Anchor Bay Films | Release Date: March 11, 2011
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 32 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
17
Mixed:
14
Negative:
1
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
Triggern0metry1Feb 20, 2012
fffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff fffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
007_debMar 31, 2011
great, on the edge of ur seat, based on a true story; movie! Walken, Do'nofrio, Kilmer & man who portrayed Danny Green....were all great performances I give this 5 1/2 stars, on the scale a 1-5 scale! A must see movie
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
stc9357Jun 26, 2011
My friend recommended the recently released dvd, â
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
DongangstarDec 30, 2011
It's a nice movie, not very special. Good story, abrupt ending maybe, - well played by Ray Stevenson and Val Kilmer. Maybe it isn't original anymore to make irish crime cinema; I must say: very good choice of music. Enjoy this film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
Tss5078Jan 3, 2016
With the popularity and success of mafia films, lesser known, true stories have to come to light, and I tend to enjoy them the most. Everybody knows about Gotti, Capone, and Bulger, but how many people know about Danny Greene? Greene was aWith the popularity and success of mafia films, lesser known, true stories have to come to light, and I tend to enjoy them the most. Everybody knows about Gotti, Capone, and Bulger, but how many people know about Danny Greene? Greene was a simple factory worker in Cleveland, Ohio, who was upset by how mob corruption had taken over every major industry in the city. Greene wanted to fight back, but no one successfully takes on the mob, so Greene decided to hit them where it hurt. Greene started his own crew and slowly started to take over their businesses. For nearly a decade, the mob tried and failed to assassinate Greene, making him a modern day Bravehart in the hearts and minds of the citizens of Cleveland. Ray Stevenson, always "that other guy", stars in this film, and he was truly outstanding. People who knew Greene say Stevenson's performance was spot on and that really adds to the excitement surrounding this film. Kill The Irishman isn't without it's problems however, as with most mafia related films, it moves incredibly fast. It's hard to keep track of the timeline and as always, people come and go so quickly, that it's hard to keep track of who is who. Beyond that, this film focuses on the violence and assassination attempts surrounding Greene, rather than simply telling his story. The bottom line, Kill The Irishman is certainly not Goodfellas, but it was still extremely entertaining, and offers viewers a story about the mafia, that most wise guys would prefer to forget. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FDT44Jan 9, 2012
At times unduly ruthless, 'Irishman' is a film that goes heavy on the embroilment, hard on ethnic affronts, and light on the cerebrum; an unerring recipe that stays true to its high-concept title. Nothwithstanding dutiful efforts to engenderAt times unduly ruthless, 'Irishman' is a film that goes heavy on the embroilment, hard on ethnic affronts, and light on the cerebrum; an unerring recipe that stays true to its high-concept title. Nothwithstanding dutiful efforts to engender a retro vibe, the 'Irishman' fails to match the charismatic scintillation of its predecessors' characters; but it tries...in razing combustion. Don't be fooled, the film is thought-provoking, howbeit in the form of carophobia driven paranoia; one can't help but check the wheel well first, the ventral side next, the key slit third, or the adjacent vehicle fourth...if time allows. Unnerving, huh? Now you're catching on. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
KnowFollowersApr 29, 2011
As a duo citizen, Canadian/European. I am not outraged at this heap of **** I won't spoil it for anyone but there is a wee bit too much of the Action Essentials going around and these "professionals" are using it so pizz poorly that theyAs a duo citizen, Canadian/European. I am not outraged at this heap of **** I won't spoil it for anyone but there is a wee bit too much of the Action Essentials going around and these "professionals" are using it so pizz poorly that they failed to capture me in first fawking minutes. I did laugh though, I'll be honest. Everytime the Irish got mad, you start to hear some fawking celtic music boi! Which i found racist as an Irish Canadian. Toss in some god horse****e and you have yourself a stinking pile of wish it were more irish trash...I noticed a few actors in this film were terrific at acting like other actors. This one guy, he does this MEAN Christopher Walken.,,really, it's something else. Other than that, there wasn't enough whiskey in the world to make me truly believe it was a good movie. It's not. One thing it did do though, was kill THIS irishman's boner when that terrifying Ray Stevenson groped that Ramsey girl who looks 16. I was hoping it would be amazing, since the real story is incredible...This movie falls very short of capturing what that must of really been like for Danny Greene. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
RTNORDSTROMJul 11, 2011
An explosive mobster movie that suffers from one to many Irish car bombs. With an entertaining screenplay this movie suffers from a ridiculous script and dialog between actors. It tries to be on the level of a Martin Scorsese film but feelsAn explosive mobster movie that suffers from one to many Irish car bombs. With an entertaining screenplay this movie suffers from a ridiculous script and dialog between actors. It tries to be on the level of a Martin Scorsese film but feels more like Kelly Makin's Mickey Blue Eyes. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews