Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: October 16, 2013
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 67 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
46
Mixed:
15
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
TVJerryDec 16, 2013
When Alan Ginsberg (Daniel Radcliffe) was a freshman at Columbia University, he made three writer pals (Lucien Carr, William S. Burroughs & Jack Kerouac) who would be the foundation of the Beat revolution. This isn't just about their seminalWhen Alan Ginsberg (Daniel Radcliffe) was a freshman at Columbia University, he made three writer pals (Lucien Carr, William S. Burroughs & Jack Kerouac) who would be the foundation of the Beat revolution. This isn't just about their seminal relationships (and Ginsberg's sexual awakening), but about the lethal act that caused a major fissure in their lives. Radcliffe does an impressive job, but all of the performances and the spirited pacing keep this freewheeling story interesting. While it's not a great film, it's the best I've seen on this subject and a cursory, yet fascinating glimpse into some complex relationships. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
FilmQueenOct 22, 2015
I found this film inspirational and beautiful. Both Dane DeHaan and Daniel Radcliffe are excellent in their roles. The film would have been great if they had included a bit more from Ginsberg's poetry and the Beat generation's ideas. InsteadI found this film inspirational and beautiful. Both Dane DeHaan and Daniel Radcliffe are excellent in their roles. The film would have been great if they had included a bit more from Ginsberg's poetry and the Beat generation's ideas. Instead the story concentrates on a certain murder. But all in all, it's still a good story. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
LeZeeMar 18, 2014
Still not satisfied with Daniel Radcliffe performance. He has to come out from the character Harry Potter. He must lose his eye glass and try to give natural expressions. He has to learn a lot to be a great actor in this competitive cinemaStill not satisfied with Daniel Radcliffe performance. He has to come out from the character Harry Potter. He must lose his eye glass and try to give natural expressions. He has to learn a lot to be a great actor in this competitive cinema world or downfall is guaranteed.

It was a good story, but Radcliffe ruined it in few occasions. He tried his best in many parts, I liked his hard work and execution. I though Dane DeHaan tried to stir whole ship by himself behalf of his co-stars, but his role was not built well. Because the story was told from Radcliffe perspective. Yeah, it is the fact that Dane DeHaan saved the movie as much he could.

It was based on a real person and a gay theme. The story sets in the 40s where two students in the English major in Columbia university try to revolutionise the future literacy with their unique ideas. The efforts are made, but stuck in a confused relationship that harms everything in front of them.

As based on homosexual from an earlier era, it was presented well. Kept background secrets of a character to break in at a right time of the story. Initially the title explains its meaning, but as the story progress it becomes more reality. I feel bad to blame everything on Radcliffe but I know someday I gonna praise him with my full heart. I was saying that it would have been nice if his role was given to some other actors like Andrew Garfield or Freddie Highmore. That means it is not a red signal to skip this movie, believe me it is a good movie.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
lasttimeisawAug 16, 2014
A dazzling character piece centres around a brutal murder case which implicates several future literature big shots of the beat generation, Allen Ginsberg (Radcliffe) is the freshman of Columbia University, he encounters a fellow studentA dazzling character piece centres around a brutal murder case which implicates several future literature big shots of the beat generation, Allen Ginsberg (Radcliffe) is the freshman of Columbia University, he encounters a fellow student Lucien Carr (DeHaan), who brings him into a world of unorthodoxy and defiance against the rules and conformism, and he also meets the young Jack Kerouac (Huston) and William Burroughs (Foster). But Lucien’s personal imbroglio with his fervent lover David Kammerer (C. Hall), a professor-turned-janitor, makes everything complicated, and eventually the real-life event changes their life path forever.

continue reading my review on my blog: google cinema omnivore, thanks
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
heromoderApr 21, 2015
While Radcliffe’s performance is both fearless and emotional, I couldn’t help but notice that his chemistry with DeHaan was not as convincing as it could have been, mere admiration compared to lust. A terrific piece on the beat movement,While Radcliffe’s performance is both fearless and emotional, I couldn’t help but notice that his chemistry with DeHaan was not as convincing as it could have been, mere admiration compared to lust. A terrific piece on the beat movement, otherwise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CameraBounceGodMar 18, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the idea of theses two as friends only somehow daniel radcliff gets to use phony and he has killed no girl...no im just kidding but really green goblin wouldn't have been sexualizing those literature....but still in comparison to harry potter the green would have to had at least have broken out of This jail....to b honest something about gayness is probably refreshing to ugly people like myself....otherwise i give a 5 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
alejandro970Oct 9, 2016
Daniel Radcliffe is one of his most mature and risky roles. The epoc sreenplay is interesting. Maybe not suitable for some tastes, however is a good choice in the name of curiosity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MetaflixFeb 12, 2017
Kill Your Darlings is a magnificent effort by first-time filmmaker John Krokidas. The movie is based on a true story set in 1944 when a young Allen Ginsburg, Jack Kerouac, and William S. Burroughs all congregated together in New York City,Kill Your Darlings is a magnificent effort by first-time filmmaker John Krokidas. The movie is based on a true story set in 1944 when a young Allen Ginsburg, Jack Kerouac, and William S. Burroughs all congregated together in New York City, and whose lives were forever changed when a mutual friend, Lucian Carr, killed an acquaintance of theirs. The project attracted one of the most acclaimed independent film casts of all time, featuring Daniel Radcliffe, Dane DeHaan, Michael C. Hall, Jennifer Jason Leigh, Ben Foster, Elizabeth Olsen, Jack Huston, and David Cross. The prevailing motif throughout the film focuses on the cyclical nature of art as well as life. With this in mind, Krokidas lays out a non-traditional plot structure that begins at the end of this true tale, jumps back in time, and as the movie unfolds, eventually circles back on itself. The final result is a showcase of great performances paired with an equally striking aesthetic. Krokidas’ unique blend of camera movement, sound design, graphics, and occasional distortion of time is a rarity among small-budget productions helmed by a debut filmmaker, making this gem that much more impressive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews