Killer Elite

Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on a shocking true story, Killer Elite pits two of the world’s most elite operatives—Danny, an ex-special ops agent and Hunter, his longtime mentor—against the cunning leader of a secret military society. Covering the globe from Australia to Paris, London and the Middle East, DannyBased on a shocking true story, Killer Elite pits two of the world’s most elite operatives—Danny, an ex-special ops agent and Hunter, his longtime mentor—against the cunning leader of a secret military society. Covering the globe from Australia to Paris, London and the Middle East, Danny and Hunter are plunged into a highly dangerous game of cat and mouse—where the predators become the prey. (Open Road Films) Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 29
  2. Negative: 7 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Sep 9, 2011
    80
    A macho, adrenaline-fix suspenser that plays like the bigscreen equivalent of those pulpy spy novels that once clogged grocery-store checkouts.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Sep 21, 2011
    63
    Best of all, the filmmakers took the time to give these hard men just the right things to say - not catchphrases, just lines that smell of blood and gunpowder every time Statham, Owen or DeNiro utter them.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Humanick
    Sep 23, 2011
    63
    Killer Elite is pleasurable enough, but with a steadier hand, it could've been one for the books.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Sep 22, 2011
    50
    The script is a mess. It's an object lesson in taking a nonfiction book ("The Feather Men," about a cadre of ex-British Special Air Service operatives) and making a hash of it.
  5. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Sep 29, 2011
    40
    There's nothing here for the viewer to do, no kinks to work out, no double-crossings to anticipate, not even a half-hearted flail at figuring out how Danny ticks.
  6. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Sep 20, 2011
    40
    Killer Elite is distinguished by one no-mercy, eye-gouging, testicle-punching brawl, and one whoppingly indifferent screenplay.
  7. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Sep 22, 2011
    20
    Whatever the case, Mr. Owen and Mr. Statham (who provides a nice duet with a chair) make a prettily matched pair amid the pileup of sub-Bourne action set pieces, sad laughs and clichés.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 35
  2. Negative: 8 out of 35
  1. Sep 23, 2011
    9
    I do not know how anyone, and I really enjoyed the film.
    Of course, it is undeniable that all of the latest films from Statham out the same.
    I do not know how anyone, and I really enjoyed the film.
    Of course, it is undeniable that all of the latest films from Statham out the same.
    But it does not mean that they're bad!

    For that I appreciate the kind of films - it's brutal!)
    Very cool and enough for me to put the film 7 points, 2 points but I'm adding to my favorite actor - Jason :-)
    Expand
  2. May 25, 2012
    8
    If your looking to scratch that action movie itch this is a great choice, it's got your gunfights, fight scenes, and explosions ready toIf your looking to scratch that action movie itch this is a great choice, it's got your gunfights, fight scenes, and explosions ready to entertain. Unlike others of it's kind it surprisingly great plot behind it that's only sweetened by the fact that it's based on a true story and has a main character who doesn't want to kill, but is forced into it by means out of his control, and honestly it's really refreshing to see a movie like this where the main character avoids pulling the trigger as much as possible. It's a great movie that has a few issues holding it back from being amazing like a romance that just feels unnecessary, and the occasional lackluster moment, but the lackluster moments are few and far between, and it's not the most unnecessary romance ever (Captain America still wins award in my opinion) but it still just seems like it's kinda just in the movie for the sake of having it. All in all if your looking for a great action flick with a great plot this is one of your best choices. Expand
  3. Jan 23, 2012
    7
    Jason Statham delivers another outstanding performance as the top action star. Some of the stunts are fantastic. The story is deep enough toJason Statham delivers another outstanding performance as the top action star. Some of the stunts are fantastic. The story is deep enough to keep you hooked, but I was disapointed that Robert De Nero's involvement surroumnts to a cameo and his involvement in the film was very limited. A decent action film from top to bottom/ Expand
  4. Oct 13, 2011
    5
    Killer Elite is a tough guy movie with some decent action and violence, but disappointing once everything comes to an end. The premise seemsKiller Elite is a tough guy movie with some decent action and violence, but disappointing once everything comes to an end. The premise seems interesting and is supposedly based on a true story, but the story comes off as jumbled and pointless on the big screen. Directing his first feature film, Gary McKendry seems to not be able to handle the material and has a hard time presenting it to the audience. The movie he has created lacks any form of emotion or depth. Also, it doesnâ Expand
  5. Oct 1, 2011
    5
    "Killer Elite" is a movie with the "Punch First Think Later" action formula that we all know. It's fun to see action veterans De Niro, Staham,"Killer Elite" is a movie with the "Punch First Think Later" action formula that we all know. It's fun to see action veterans De Niro, Staham, and Owen jumping into the screen shooting and fighting each other, but their all kinda....outdated. You would watch it with your friends or yourself for manliness. If it is neither reason, just rent it. R) 4.7 Expand
  6. Nov 27, 2013
    4
    Great acting,great action but very poor story. 4/10 is the real rating for "Killer Elite". The movie is unfinished and i hope they're going toGreat acting,great action but very poor story. 4/10 is the real rating for "Killer Elite". The movie is unfinished and i hope they're going to make a second one, because... okay i won't use a spoiler. Just watch it Expand
  7. Oct 1, 2011
    0
    Good lord this was a terrible movie. The dialog was pointless and full of cliche lines, fight scenes were hard to follow (in particular, theGood lord this was a terrible movie. The dialog was pointless and full of cliche lines, fight scenes were hard to follow (in particular, the hospital fight was very choppy and filmed too close), the love interest was worthless and just slowed things down, and the plot turns on a killer getting a conscience.

    Oh yeah, and it's way too long.
    Expand

See all 35 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: September 6, 2011
    We preview the 30 top movies arriving this fall, from Steven Soderbergh's "Contagion" to George Clooney's "Ides of March." While you're at it, find release dates and descriptions for the other 60+ fall films, too.