Killers

Killers Image
Metascore
21

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 113 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Trying to recover from a sudden break-up, Jen Kornfeldt believes she’ll never fall in love again. But when she reluctantly joins her parents on a trip to the French Riviera, Jen happens to meet the man of her dreams, the dashing, handsome Spencer Aimes. Three years later, her seeminglyTrying to recover from a sudden break-up, Jen Kornfeldt believes she’ll never fall in love again. But when she reluctantly joins her parents on a trip to the French Riviera, Jen happens to meet the man of her dreams, the dashing, handsome Spencer Aimes. Three years later, her seemingly impossible wish has come true: she and Spencer are newlyweds living the ideal suburban life – that is, until the morning after Spencer’s 30th birthday when bullets start flying. Literally. It turns out Spencer never bothered to tell Jen he was once an international super-spy, and now Jen's perfect world has been turned upside down. Faced with the fact that her husband is a hit man, Jen is determined to discover what other secrets Spencer might be keeping – all the while trying to dodge bullets, keep up neighborly appearances, manage the in-laws…and work out some major trust issues. And you thought suburban life was easy. [Lionsgate]
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 22
  2. Negative: 19 out of 22
  1. 55
    It’s so ineffectual and unfocused that after it’s over, you’re not even sure you watched a movie.
  2. 40
    Kutcher is surprisingly anticharismatic as a star. A smarmy grin and looking good while shirtless does not equal screen presence, dude.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    38
    Killers is dead on arrival: miscast, horribly paced and murderously uninvolving.
  4. So here’s an idea: Maybe filmmakers should shoot what Ashton’s up to off-camera, because not many laughs are making it to the screen.
  5. Haven't we seen the oh-my-gosh-my-spouse-is-secretly-an-assassin-but-you-know-a-nice-one routine once too often?
  6. Robert Luketic's bland action comedy focuses on the uninteresting relationship between its two bland main characters, and that's the deadliest thing in sight.
  7. Is it some monstrosity of awfulness, as its lack of advance screening suggested? No, that would imply at least a spark of some kind. This is just an empty summer hodgepodge of stale romantic comedy exchanges, witlessness and lackluster action.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 31
  2. Negative: 18 out of 31
  1. BrittonC
    Jun 4, 2010
    10
    All the critics are hating on this movie and I don't understand why yes it is not a FILM with EMOTION and ACTING (sarcasm) it is an All the critics are hating on this movie and I don't understand why yes it is not a FILM with EMOTION and ACTING (sarcasm) it is an enjoyable movie that is well acted and perfectly enjoyable to those people who can let go and just be entertained. Expand
  2. David
    Jun 4, 2010
    8
    What movie were the critics expecting?
  3. Oct 8, 2013
    6
    Almost didn't watch this movie due to the horrible metascores but they are really unrepresentative. This tightly paced film was reminiscentAlmost didn't watch this movie due to the horrible metascores but they are really unrepresentative. This tightly paced film was reminiscent of mr and mrs smith. It's got same levels of high octane action and amusing scenes. Aston is surprisingly good and Katherine is as lovely as ever. The South of France scenes are beautifully shot, although the roads are never that quiet. This was a fun action comedy nothing amazing, but decent enough, and certainly better than the above metascores imply. Expand
  4. Nov 1, 2015
    3
    The film's title is right "Killers" kills fun and the jokes are dead, it's cheesy and predictable, the action is mediocre and the pacing isThe film's title is right "Killers" kills fun and the jokes are dead, it's cheesy and predictable, the action is mediocre and the pacing is defective, the dialogue is lousy, also the score is cheap. The screenplay by Ted Griffin, Bob DeRosa is gigantic predicament but somehow they make the film fun and suspenseful, definitely what the summer doesn't need. Comedy director Robert Luketic's bland style of directing the action sequences is bad, it's like the film was directed by McG. Three years since the vacation to the French Riviera, Jen (Katherine Heigl) enjoys the good life in the suburbia with her handsome husband Spencer (played by Ashton Kutcher who gets a producing credit). That comes crashing down, however, when gunfire rings out after his 30th birthday, he has to tell Jen the truth that he's a spy. Heigl yet again plays the same shrew women character who always nags like she always does in her rom-coms, but the chemistry is there between her and Kutcher. Ashton Kutcher does a good job as this spy character but doesn't make it believe able though. Tom Selleck and Catherine O'Hara are fine in this film but they can't save this terribly made lousy material. Grade D+ Expand
  5. Dec 8, 2012
    2
    Not very good, one of the worst films of 2010. What could have been a fun and charming action/comedy flick, Killers is nothing more than anNot very good, one of the worst films of 2010. What could have been a fun and charming action/comedy flick, Killers is nothing more than an awkward, careless, silly, and unbelievable film that fails miserably. Kutcher and Heigl are totally awkward, lacking chemistry, Tom Selleck and Catherine O'Hara are terribly annoying as the parents, and the entire supporting cast is strange. Skip! Expand
  6. PeterJ.
    Jun 7, 2010
    2
    I went out on a date with this girl last night and I asked her what she wanted to see. I was hoping she would have chosen anything but this I went out on a date with this girl last night and I asked her what she wanted to see. I was hoping she would have chosen anything but this one. Hell, I would have rather sat through Sex and the City 2. But she chose this one. It was one of the most horrible films I have seen in years. And I've seen some pretty bad movies. I gave it a two simply because the girl from Grey's Anatomy is hot. Expand
  7. KevinG
    Jun 25, 2010
    0
    Ashton Kutcher sucks and he was the best thing about this film. Heigl should have never given up her day job; she can't act her way out Ashton Kutcher sucks and he was the best thing about this film. Heigl should have never given up her day job; she can't act her way out of a paper bag. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2010

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2010 Image
    Published: January 7, 2011
    In our annual report, we reveal the best- and worst-reviewed movies of 2010 in a variety of categories.
  2. Music Monday (7/27): This Week's New Albums + Videos

    Music Monday (7/27): This Week's New Albums + Videos Image
    Published: July 27, 2015
    Our guide to this week's (and last week's) album releases also features the week's top new music videos from artists like Disclosure, Kurt Vile, and Belle & Sebastian, plus brand new streaming music from Teenage Time Killers, Albert Hammond Jr., Jamie Lidell, and more.
  3. Music Monday: This Week's New Albums and Videos

    Music Monday: This Week's New Albums and Videos Image
    Published: September 30, 2013
    Find a full rundown of this week's album releases, stream new albums from artists such as HAIM, Danny Brown, The Field, and Of Montreal, catch up on the week's music news, and watch the latest music videos (from Drake, Savages, The Killers, Charli XCX, and more).
  4. Music Monday: This Week's New Albums and Videos

    Music Monday: This Week's New Albums and Videos Image
    Published: December 10, 2012
    In our final Music Monday column of 2012, get a list of albums scheduled for release throughout the remainder of December, learn about upcoming projects from Atoms for Peace, Wire, Phoenix, and more, and watch the latest music videos for bands including Sigur Ros, M83, YACHT, The Killers, and more.
  5. Music Monday: This Week's New Albums and Videos

    Music Monday: This Week's New Albums and Videos Image
    Published: September 17, 2012
    Get a full rundown of this week's new albums, stream new music from artists such as Grizzly Bear, Kreayshawn, Ben Folds Five, and The Killers, catch up on the week's music news, and watch the latest music videos (for Green Day, Cat Power, Mission of Burma, and more).