Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: November 30, 2012
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 264 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
133
Mixed:
87
Negative:
44
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
goemonateMar 20, 2013
Killing Them Softly.... it was killing me softly.... worst movie I have ever watched... Do not waste your time and money. It doesn't even worth a download.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
LukeLukeLukeApr 14, 2013
Having not been privy to an advanced screening of the film, I suspect that many of my thoughts on Killing Them Softly may be redundant. However, I solemnly pledge that I have read not a single review of the film as of this writing.

In
Having not been privy to an advanced screening of the film, I suspect that many of my thoughts on Killing Them Softly may be redundant. However, I solemnly pledge that I have read not a single review of the film as of this writing.

In trailers for the film, Killing Them Softly was portrayed as a boiler plate mob flick casting Brad Pitt in the lead as a grim reaper type of character (reference Johnny Cash's song in the official trailer). The film fails to convince us of what it is and comes across served as half baked.

Maybe the greatest misdeed of the film is the elegant brilliance of James Gandolfini's obvious, yet subtle, troll. His appearance is epic, with ambient sound off and film slowed, as if some writer thought, "Hot damn! And in off the plane walks none other than f'n Tony Soprano, scratch that, James Gandolfini, and you just know that, the just got real." The embrace with Brad Pitt's character, Jackie Cogan, eludes to some sort of father-son kinship, only to remain unexplained, and the droning at the bar is merely sleight of hand, to distract us from the trolling taking place before our eyes. The final act of Gandolfini is the hotel room. References to a prong and the skin under the eyelids yield the conclusive data for this year's best silver screen troll. .

Pitt's mannerisms are so repetitive from one film to another it's difficult to suspend disbelief. Am I watching Brad Pitt play a producer play a mob hitman? Is this Billy Beane's alter ego? Or, am I watching Brad Pitt play Rusty Ryan playing a mob hitman? In the final scene the facade is gone and the viewers get a dose of politics as Pitt, or Cogan, if you wish, waxes eloquent on America as a business and Jeffersonian nuances. Cogan is apparently read up on his Howard Zinn. How remarkable.

As for Cogan, we have no bearing on his affections. He seems like he just wants to put it all behind him, or get the movie over with already. There is nothing a viewer can attribute his coolness in the face of callous murder to. Is he so chipper, easygoing, and collected in his scenes with the counselor because he knows the end of the film? He doesn't come across as psychopathic so what gives? Where are his demons? The film leaves you unfulfilled on this point. Gandolfini, however, plays it straight. Here's a guy who's banged up inside and turns to drink and hookers for his panacea. Typical human behavior for a life of hard knocks. Put Cogan up against Liotta's character in Goodfellas, or Billy Costigan in The Departed. Both come up as men who are staggering through their lives. Not so Jackie Cogan. It rings hollow.

Pitt is rehashing himself. Same sultry swagger, impeccable tailoring, and jaw-half-open pondering of what happens next. One is left thinking that the film was rushed to fit World War Z into the actor's schedule.

This writer's best guess is that studios have been notified that Mr. Pitt will only be taking roles in which he does not have to cut his hair. That is the only way this movie makes sense.

4/10 for effort on the part of the supporting cast and mercy on Ray Liotta.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
2DudesReviewsMay 22, 2013
Despite the masterful performances from Pitt & Gandolfini it misses with its political theme in this dialogue driven, but brutal mob crime drama. -MN
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
skimoMay 26, 2013
This is by far the biggest pile of rubbish I've ever seen it took to long to get started most of which never made sense if you hate someone please please recommend this, why Brad Pitt and other famous stars would put their name to this is amazing
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
morfilSep 5, 2013
I liked the way the film started with a very bleak and down-to earth approach to the whole set-up. Some interesting low-life characters planning a robbery always catches my attention. If anything, it steps up a gear when Brad Pitt enters theI liked the way the film started with a very bleak and down-to earth approach to the whole set-up. Some interesting low-life characters planning a robbery always catches my attention. If anything, it steps up a gear when Brad Pitt enters the scene and I'm really beginning to get into it. Sadly, it wasn't to last, when the James Gandolfini character appears it does take a bit of a dive. He seems a bit of a wasted character; only there to pad the thing out a bit. It's a shame because I really liked Gandolfini as an actor and felt this was not a fair reflection of his talent. Some very interesting effects were used and I found these very interesting. The use of slow motion in one particular assassination scene was quite breathtaking. There is also a scene depicting the world from a drug addict's point of view that looked pretty strange too. Over all, it's one of those that I think I'll have to watch again to fully appreciate. For now, I liked it, but didn't fall in love with it; I'm sure a future viewing may fix that one way or the other. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LaMagiadeVirueAug 11, 2013
Buen thriller. Excelentemente interpretado, con un buen guión y por sobre todo entretenida, que es el fin del cine, entretener al espectador. Sorprendido gratamente.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
dyshpoMay 31, 2015
Very gritty and feels authentic to real crimes that happen in life but is very empty reminiscent of a vacant slaughterhouse that is still in good shape but has nothing to offer . Long and boring with a few bits of passable narrative.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lazatoyMay 4, 2016
Interesting, but certainly not for everyone.

The story (at least, to me) was interesting, and, the characters are pretty well written, even though they're all terrible people. This said, it's also pretty hard to understand what's going on
Interesting, but certainly not for everyone.

The story (at least, to me) was interesting, and, the characters are pretty well written, even though they're all terrible people. This said, it's also pretty hard to understand what's going on until pretty much halfway through the film, and this really strike-d me in the first part of the movie.

I still kinda enjoyed this film though. Excellent? NO! But mediocre like most of the critics (and users) have stated? It honestly depends on your taste in film, but, personally, I found it a strangely intriguing hour and a half to spend.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MovieGuysMar 19, 2014
Killing Them Softly starts out great, with an interesting plot, sharp dialogue, and gritty cinematography. But around the middle parts, the movie starts drifting until it's completely off course and starts to get "all talk" and "no play".Killing Them Softly starts out great, with an interesting plot, sharp dialogue, and gritty cinematography. But around the middle parts, the movie starts drifting until it's completely off course and starts to get "all talk" and "no play". From there, the movie turns into James Gandolfini talking about his cheating wife and how many hookers he's had, and the movie gets tedious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
simongeorgeSep 25, 2013
Strong performances from the lead characters, the pity is the story is quite dull and has been seen all before. Entertaining, but feels more like an expensive made for TV movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MarkHHNov 5, 2013
What it is about people who object to intelligent and interesting dialogue? Most of the people on this forum hated the movie for these very reasons. Anyway, to avoid pedantic remarks, let me just get on with this review and say that thisWhat it is about people who object to intelligent and interesting dialogue? Most of the people on this forum hated the movie for these very reasons. Anyway, to avoid pedantic remarks, let me just get on with this review and say that this was a surprisingly good film that reaffirms good filmmaking. The closing remarks in the bar by Pitt's character summed it all up rather nicely. Not too many movies are able to do this. The reason this movie failed is that not many people in the audience have a clue as what he was saying and the significance of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
calhouniteNov 16, 2013
Like Glen-Garry Glen Ross? Same brutal portrait of human scum same mamet-like dialog. Same great acting by all participants. Otherwise, stay away because it is like a REAL depressing tale of human frailties greed, stupidity, arrogance, etc.Like Glen-Garry Glen Ross? Same brutal portrait of human scum same mamet-like dialog. Same great acting by all participants. Otherwise, stay away because it is like a REAL depressing tale of human frailties greed, stupidity, arrogance, etc. Also, don't think the city is New Orleans. Cold weather northeastern city Boston perhaps. The protaganists are wearing overcoats and appear to be freezing to death at times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JumboJym69Nov 16, 2013
10 out of 10 stars. One amazing movie and I was blown away. If you are smart you will get this movie and understand its meaning. If you are dumb u will not like it. If u are dumb stay away.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Christian0205Apr 1, 2014
Little disappointing. More action expected. At the end it´s pure negotiation. Simple story, surrounding the death of two people. Good acting, not much to see
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
JimmyTherrienMar 16, 2014
Gratuitously obscene dialogue, extremely thin plot and mostly useless violence. However, the main element in that movie that disappointed me was the pseudo-moral about capitalism and the economic crisis that is totally laughable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
VapidityMay 24, 2014
Good flick. Economic metaphors aside, its wonderful. Well shot, unique, and entertaining. This movie is fun to watch, its dark, and I like them dark. I don't watch movies with expectations (unlike the majority of negative movie reviewersGood flick. Economic metaphors aside, its wonderful. Well shot, unique, and entertaining. This movie is fun to watch, its dark, and I like them dark. I don't watch movies with expectations (unlike the majority of negative movie reviewers on this site,) and a lot of people on meta have enormous confirmation bias when it comes to movies. "Oh this is probably going to suck because of x, y, and z." "Hey I was right! I'm so smart." Anyway, watch this movie if you want to have a pleasant, relaxing, dark, and funny two hours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
PorkoJun 7, 2014
Starts off being very captivating and trendy but slowly becomes less exciting and duller as the film progresses. Some of the humour is brilliant in the first half of the film. Ben Mendelsohn stole the show for me with his hilarious ozzyStarts off being very captivating and trendy but slowly becomes less exciting and duller as the film progresses. Some of the humour is brilliant in the first half of the film. Ben Mendelsohn stole the show for me with his hilarious ozzy hell bent performance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
rockonOct 13, 2014
An average crime movie. Some big name actors from the crime drama genre. They do a good job. But the writing is pretty terrible, and the dialogue reveals this. There is a diatribe from Brad Pitt's character about Thomas Jefferson, TheAn average crime movie. Some big name actors from the crime drama genre. They do a good job. But the writing is pretty terrible, and the dialogue reveals this. There is a diatribe from Brad Pitt's character about Thomas Jefferson, The American Revolution, etc. that was kind of goofy. Whoever wrote the dialogue doesn't know history very well. Tax evasion was not a predominant thing on the minds of the U.S. Founding fathers. They were just fronting on that. People that study their history know that the British had given many concessions and taxation was not bad at all. Definitely not by today's standards. If their motivation was money (and to copulate with their slaves while drinking wine) then many of them got a rude awakening. Many prominent revolutionaries went broke. And probably all would have been financially better-off with no revolution. Because war is expensive and bad for business. I don't know why movie writers inject goofy political commentary into their movies. Especially when they mess with history. It often, as with this movie, shows their ignorance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
CameraBounceGodFeb 22, 2015
Hard to remember anything but Ray Liotta getting beat up and like someone throwing up on him or something.....to be honest I watched this and ice man at around the same time and both beginnings together make up for the ends I can'tHard to remember anything but Ray Liotta getting beat up and like someone throwing up on him or something.....to be honest I watched this and ice man at around the same time and both beginnings together make up for the ends I can't remember.....lol...so don't see one without the other.....-JRA Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Will_EarwoodJul 18, 2015
Killing Them Softly is an artful flick can be celebrated even by non-noir enthusiasts. Its plot is rather straightforward allowing for the great acting to really shine. Pitt, Liotta, McNairy, and Gandolfini all shine in their own ways.Killing Them Softly is an artful flick can be celebrated even by non-noir enthusiasts. Its plot is rather straightforward allowing for the great acting to really shine. Pitt, Liotta, McNairy, and Gandolfini all shine in their own ways. Regrettably, Pitt's character is a shade of what we've come to expect but he does well nonetheless and, as a result, doesn't detract from any of the film's positive elements. In general, some great performances were accompanied by a great soundtrack and interesting recurrences - campaign speeches, for example - that fit in nicely within the flow of the movie. For gangster film advocates Killing Them Softly is both refreshing and captivating, but isn't too heavy for the average viewer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
audreythomas25Jan 18, 2016
Complex and problematic in a rather wonderful way, Killing Them Softly has flaws more interesting than some film's perfections.

Watch this movie here for free
Complex and problematic in a rather wonderful way, Killing Them Softly has flaws more interesting than some film's perfections.

Watch this movie here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-29be00-Killing-Them-Softly-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews