User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1262 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MitchellF.
    Dec 19, 2005
    9
    King Kong, a story of a giant ape who falls for a sweet little girl. Fantastic. This movie delivers fantastic special effects, great acting (I believed that Mrs. Watts was with Kong) and 3 hours of non-stop, eye-catching action. Who would have thought that Jack Black could have done such a wonderful job at acting serious. In reviews I see people basing their marks on the fact that is a King Kong, a story of a giant ape who falls for a sweet little girl. Fantastic. This movie delivers fantastic special effects, great acting (I believed that Mrs. Watts was with Kong) and 3 hours of non-stop, eye-catching action. Who would have thought that Jack Black could have done such a wonderful job at acting serious. In reviews I see people basing their marks on the fact that is a remake. I myself have never seen the origional movie, so I could watch this movie without that thought. And wow. The only thing about this movie that bugged me, were the bugs. Oh, and director Peter Jackson tended to use some of the same tactics as he used in Lord of the Rings. Expand
  2. LanceD.
    Dec 19, 2005
    7
    Peter Jackson comes up with some great creatures on the island but it just takes them too long to get there (1hour 10 mins). Show up late and you'll enjoy this movie immensely.
  3. SethB.
    Dec 19, 2005
    0
    "Is this an adventure story"? "No, It isn't" This dialougue is very telling of the movie and explains the length of this movie. I always respect movies being two in one-one for the popcorn crowd and another for the thinkers. Still this is very difficult to do (think "Signs") and produces a mediocre story, as it has here. Why does Kong want the damsel? Is he stupid? I notice the "Is this an adventure story"? "No, It isn't" This dialougue is very telling of the movie and explains the length of this movie. I always respect movies being two in one-one for the popcorn crowd and another for the thinkers. Still this is very difficult to do (think "Signs") and produces a mediocre story, as it has here. Why does Kong want the damsel? Is he stupid? I notice the island is curiously free of other apes, why? Then Kong would have company and would not need a human. Oh yeah, and none of the natives would do. It had to be a white woman. Go Hollywood! Expand
  4. SeamusS.
    Dec 19, 2005
    6
    Okay, It Was Just That, Okay. It Left Me Feeling Sad Towards The End (Not IN The Way Clearly Intended by the tearfest). I Wish I Loved it, I wanted to, i just couldnt.
  5. RonL.
    Dec 19, 2005
    9
    Go see this one on the biggest screen possible. This movie is great fun! It's the kind of fun going to the movies is all about. If anyone tries to shoot holes in this one then they went to Kong for the wrong reason. Not going to win an Oscar for screenpla,y but Art Direction without a doubt.
  6. HopeI.
    Dec 19, 2005
    6
    Everything was perfect - except for the major flaw in every scene - it was too damn long !!! For god's sake - we get it already. What is wrong with this director - this was his same problem in Lord of the Rings. Back and forth on the same faces showing the same emotion....OK WE GET IT. My entire family - including two 13 year old boys both felt the same way.
  7. JackW.
    Dec 19, 2005
    0
    Ten? You are giving this movie a perfect ten? Are you brain dead. There is no originality as this is a remake of a remake. Hello but we all know that CGI is now available in the 21st century. So what was so great about three hours of torture to its audience. Jack Black could act his way out of a paper bag. Adrian Brody had to cringe at the lines he had to deliver. As for plausability Ten? You are giving this movie a perfect ten? Are you brain dead. There is no originality as this is a remake of a remake. Hello but we all know that CGI is now available in the 21st century. So what was so great about three hours of torture to its audience. Jack Black could act his way out of a paper bag. Adrian Brody had to cringe at the lines he had to deliver. As for plausability forget about it as if you wanted to believe any of this ridiculous storyline you had to check your brains in at the door. No wonder this film with all the hype only did sixty million in five days at the box office. Word of mouth will kill this film. I can guarantee that they will never recapture the $210 million they spent to make this in the US. Perhaps overseas but not here. Peter Jackson has now proven that he is a genius on the level of the no talent George Lucas variety and the fading very fast Mr. Spielberg vis-a-vis ridiculous War of The Worlds. This turkey is an absolute bomb. Avoid at all costs. Expand
  8. BrianF.
    Dec 19, 2005
    3
    After months of awaiting this monster, I cannot express just how disappointing the final result has become. Nothing of value or innovation has been introduced in this $207 million picture, and that has to be the biggest surprise of all. I've followed the production closely, and it all looked to add up to a complete tale, but turned into a figurehead of excess like the world of cinema After months of awaiting this monster, I cannot express just how disappointing the final result has become. Nothing of value or innovation has been introduced in this $207 million picture, and that has to be the biggest surprise of all. I've followed the production closely, and it all looked to add up to a complete tale, but turned into a figurehead of excess like the world of cinema hasn't seen all year. There are far too many good films coming out now to waste your time with the same-old same-old. Expand
  9. MikeB.
    Dec 19, 2005
    7
    I would have loved to have given this movie a 10, but I couldn't. One of the biggest reason frankly was Jack Black. Why was he given such an important role? He is not a dramatic actor-it showed and it hurt the film terribly. Adrien Brody seemed very unattached to this movie. Naomi Watts did do a good job though. This has always been a great story in my opinion. I think Jackson I would have loved to have given this movie a 10, but I couldn't. One of the biggest reason frankly was Jack Black. Why was he given such an important role? He is not a dramatic actor-it showed and it hurt the film terribly. Adrien Brody seemed very unattached to this movie. Naomi Watts did do a good job though. This has always been a great story in my opinion. I think Jackson captured it as a tragedy instead of a monster movie and I think this is the essence of the film. I do think it is important that you like the premise of the movie to begin with. I think Jackson hit the target concerning Kong also. Kong was primarliy innocent and this played against man's greed, ego and ignorance is what makes this movie so moving. They did make Kong appear incredibly life like and gave him very real emotions and qualities. The play on the ice skating ring was a bit silly and pointless though. Some of the special effects and filming seemed to move too quickly and this made it hard to see all that was going on. Expand
  10. SueD.
    Dec 19, 2005
    5
    Great effects muddled with excessive, self-indulgent, down-right silly action sequences. Good acting all the way around, until Jack Black plagues the screen with his amateurish bumbling. (Stick to slapstick and the bi-polar comedy Jack; you may succeed in hiding your lack of talent). While a compelling fable, the characters are too flat for the story's attempt at depth. I mean Great effects muddled with excessive, self-indulgent, down-right silly action sequences. Good acting all the way around, until Jack Black plagues the screen with his amateurish bumbling. (Stick to slapstick and the bi-polar comedy Jack; you may succeed in hiding your lack of talent). While a compelling fable, the characters are too flat for the story's attempt at depth. I mean really, a man removes insects from another man with a tommy gun flailing about in his arms. Peter Jackson needed to choose a genre and stick to it. Expand
  11. JackDeft
    Dec 21, 2005
    10
    Simply brilliant tear jerking worth ur ticket price beautiful cast colossal cgi effects lovely score heart breaking love story tragic ending.
  12. I'mSorryMsJackson
    Dec 21, 2005
    10
    Thanks for watching my brilliant movie. What a lot of people don't know is how much work I put in, especially with my 'method' style of direction: I spent many months caged in an Auckland zoo, where I learned what it is to be a primate, and where I lost a lot of weight. When I had achieved a true monkey mentality, Universal shipped me under anaesthetic to the Kong sets, Thanks for watching my brilliant movie. What a lot of people don't know is how much work I put in, especially with my 'method' style of direction: I spent many months caged in an Auckland zoo, where I learned what it is to be a primate, and where I lost a lot of weight. When I had achieved a true monkey mentality, Universal shipped me under anaesthetic to the Kong sets, whereupon I was released under strict supervision. The actors were often unable to understand my various grunts, but I felt this created an exciting atmosphere on set, one where noone knew what they were doing. I also tended to throw the camera around when I got bored, but I think this adds to the film's dynamism. It is a shame that I accidentally urinated on the motion control rig, because it created a constant crane loop, sorry about this. Unfortunately the editing room was too small to contain my monkey vitality and we lost one editor cos I chewed on his nose and bashed on his ballsarea. This may have given the film an irregular tempo, but one I'm sure hairy animals will enjoy. On a personal note, I chose to keep the movie long to reproduce how I felt when I was caged in downtown Auckland. There were a few regrettable incidents, like when I threw Jack Black cos I mistook him for a log, but my only real regret is there hadn't been such a debilitating shortage of bananas when we wrote the script. Collapse
  13. JoeyM.
    Dec 21, 2005
    9
    For once, an action movie gets it write. Jackson and his writing team spend enough time on developing the characters for us to actually care about them. When they start to meet their inevitable tragic ends, they aren't just stereotypical "Red Shirts" (to use the Star Trek term) but people we've grown to like. Kong is terrific. He has a fully realized personality and - since For once, an action movie gets it write. Jackson and his writing team spend enough time on developing the characters for us to actually care about them. When they start to meet their inevitable tragic ends, they aren't just stereotypical "Red Shirts" (to use the Star Trek term) but people we've grown to like. Kong is terrific. He has a fully realized personality and - since Jackson urges you to look at the subtext of the story - you will notice that there is an extra layer of tragedy to the great ape. All the performances are top notch (though, I suppose, if you hate Jack Black, you will hate him in this - I happen to like Jack Black, so there you go). As for the action sequences, the "Kong fights T-Rexes in the vines" sequence is one of the most exciting I've seen in years. Terrific movie and a must see on the big screen. Expand
  14. KingityKongity
    Dec 21, 2005
    7
    Pros: fun, exciting, suspensful, great ending cons: somewhat overlong, gets little boring near the end overview: for those who have not seen the original, then the ending, the films only flaw, may seem exciting. Those who know what will happen, get ready for monotony.
  15. Issac
    Dec 21, 2005
    0
    Moronic. NO one could make a movie this bad? Welcome Peter Jackson to the Steven Speilberg George Lucas over the hill club. This movie is an abomination. Anyone giving this movie over a 3 needs to report to surgery to have a lobotomy. You are definitely brain dead from the neck up.
  16. JoshC.
    Dec 20, 2005
    10
    The best film of the year by far. It deserves alot of credit (especially to Watts, Jackson, Serkis, Black and the effects team) Over all this movie is amazing. The sheer size and scope of it breathtaking and it has some of the best action sequences and set pieces ever put on film. The effects were awesome. A bit fake in some parts but Kong looks about as real as they come. For those who The best film of the year by far. It deserves alot of credit (especially to Watts, Jackson, Serkis, Black and the effects team) Over all this movie is amazing. The sheer size and scope of it breathtaking and it has some of the best action sequences and set pieces ever put on film. The effects were awesome. A bit fake in some parts but Kong looks about as real as they come. For those who did not like it I reccomend seeing it twice because when you see it a second time you have no hopes you just go to enjoy it and trust me the second time is alot better then the first. Expand
  17. Rostokov
    Dec 20, 2005
    3
    Unlike some of the other negative reviewers here, I believe that a great film of the Kong story could have been made with today's means, its just that Peter Jackson isn't the man to do it. Has no one noticed that he has little effective control of the medium? He cuts too much, he throws the camera around illogically, and his sense of character is immature. Although Naomi Watts, Unlike some of the other negative reviewers here, I believe that a great film of the Kong story could have been made with today's means, its just that Peter Jackson isn't the man to do it. Has no one noticed that he has little effective control of the medium? He cuts too much, he throws the camera around illogically, and his sense of character is immature. Although Naomi Watts, Adrien Brody and Andy Serkis are fine, the rest of the cast are unconvincing, and are further undermined by banal dialogue and quick-cutting. A few action sequences are moderately entertaining through sheer unrelenting excess, but are poor relatives to Spielberg's work. Jurassic Park and War of the Worlds may have their flaws but they ably demonstrate how to involve and excite the audience with expert shot selection, action choreography and modulation of tempo. Peter Jackson has not achieved such mastery. He has too few tricks and too much money to throw at the screen. Shame, cos he looks like a nice enough bloke. Expand
  18. BrianJ.
    Dec 21, 2005
    10
    Amazing...This is why I love movies.
  19. ScottC.
    Dec 21, 2005
    2
    Simply mundane.
  20. AnnN.
    Dec 21, 2005
    9
    I'll start out by saying that the T-Rex fight was a bit much, yes. But other than that, this movie was everything it should have been. I believe that you can tell when a film is good if you can understand the relationships between the characters even without sound, and you can easily do that here. It was a great update, filled with emotion and- as every good monster movie should be- I'll start out by saying that the T-Rex fight was a bit much, yes. But other than that, this movie was everything it should have been. I believe that you can tell when a film is good if you can understand the relationships between the characters even without sound, and you can easily do that here. It was a great update, filled with emotion and- as every good monster movie should be- a reflection on humanity. It's an old story, but that doesn't mean it's not a good one. Expand
  21. RickS.
    Dec 22, 2005
    10
    This is a stunning re-telling of the classic story. Peter Jackson is by far the most accomplished visual effects storyteller to date. He makes fantasy a visual reality.
  22. FreddyA.
    Dec 20, 2005
    10
    Simply brilliant.
  23. DustinW.
    Dec 22, 2005
    10
    Best movie of the year! It deserves to win Best Picture at the oscars!
  24. DonM.
    Dec 22, 2005
    0
    Terrible, unoriginal and 2 1/2 hours too long.
  25. BrianC.
    Dec 22, 2005
    10
    Kong rocked. If you didnt like it, that's fine, but realize you are in the minority. I like the fact that Peter Jackson cares about building a story, the characters, plot etc. Holiday, your rating of 0 seems a bit churlish. If you didn't realize the campiness was intentional and designed as part of the characters before they are exposed to Kong, then maybe you shouldn't be Kong rocked. If you didnt like it, that's fine, but realize you are in the minority. I like the fact that Peter Jackson cares about building a story, the characters, plot etc. Holiday, your rating of 0 seems a bit churlish. If you didn't realize the campiness was intentional and designed as part of the characters before they are exposed to Kong, then maybe you shouldn't be throwing out spurious reviews. Ignore the haters, and see this for yourself. Expand
  26. RicardoC.
    Dec 20, 2005
    6
    Not a bad movie, but overrated in every sense. I just didn't feel that it was THAT good of a movie. Peter Jackson is still one of my favorite directors, but the only thing I really really liked were the expressive eyes of King Kong and the nice vistas of the Skull Island!!
  27. Veejay
    Dec 23, 2005
    4
    Looked great but story lacked and many of the action sequences were WAY too long, kind of like an adolescent fantasy...loved Lord of the Rings, but this one was a yawn.
  28. GogsH.
    Dec 23, 2005
    7
    Brilliant remake spoiled by 4 very silly scenes. 1. The unsinkable ship 2. WWF meets King Kong - why 3 T-Rex 3. Stupid Stampeed of dinosaurs 4. Bugs life - what a shot Take these out you get a shorter and far more true remake.
  29. GregC.
    Dec 23, 2005
    9
    A visual assault from start to finish!! flippin' brilliant!
  30. Kingkong
    Dec 23, 2005
    10
    Wow what a movie...its unbelievable really the eye for detail...the end the beginning everything is fantastic, best movie that i haved see this year really amazing.
  31. WyattEarp
    Dec 23, 2005
    0
    The special effects were excellent but then again so is ice cream. What happens to you if you devour a full gallon of ice cream? You get deathly ill that's what. And that is what happend with this remake trash of a movie. The suspense part is totally gone because unless you are in an isolation chamber somewhere everyone knows the tragic story of Beauty and The Beast vis-a-vis King The special effects were excellent but then again so is ice cream. What happens to you if you devour a full gallon of ice cream? You get deathly ill that's what. And that is what happend with this remake trash of a movie. The suspense part is totally gone because unless you are in an isolation chamber somewhere everyone knows the tragic story of Beauty and The Beast vis-a-vis King Kong. So no suspense. Enter Peter Jackson with his $200 million budget of toys. Peter says I'll show them what I can do. And for the next three hours he first puts us to sleep with irrelevant shots of the depression of 1933 which has nothing to do with King Kong. He gives us actors who can't act with some of the clumsiest writing this side of the 21st century. If that isn't bad enough, after over an hour of crapola he finally takes us Skull Island vis-a-vis a rip off of Jurassic Park. He comes with special effect after specail effect ad nauseam. The story line with these special effects are totally implausable. By this time the audience is actually laughing at his stupidity. And if this wasn't bad enough somehow he manages to skip over getting Kong back on the little boat that could taking him back so that he could destroy NYC in the dead of winter with Ann Darrow in a sheer dress with high heels on top of the Empire State Building. The only thing that could have saved this movie was if when Kong tried to save her, instead she put her finer down her throat and jumped. Now that would have been the fitting ending to this trailer trash of an effort because that is how I and most of the audience felt on the way out of the theater. I actually saw people with bags over their heads not wanting to be identified. Horrible. Expand
  32. [Anonymous]
    Dec 23, 2005
    8
    Wow! I was taken away, especially by the love between both the woman and the ape and the woman and the man. I was in tears, crying several times in this movie and I never cry (except for The Titanic). It was a bit long in some areas and not long enough in others...but overall amazing special effects, acting, and story line. Beautiful job! Naomi Watts and whoever played the ape deserve Wow! I was taken away, especially by the love between both the woman and the ape and the woman and the man. I was in tears, crying several times in this movie and I never cry (except for The Titanic). It was a bit long in some areas and not long enough in others...but overall amazing special effects, acting, and story line. Beautiful job! Naomi Watts and whoever played the ape deserve some sort of high recognition--I forgot I was in a movie....it seemed so real to me. It pulled out so many emotions I can't even express! Expand
  33. AntonioH.
    Dec 23, 2005
    2
    Quite disappointing. I think one reason people feel so agitated by this film is that Jackson spends over an hour building up trying to build up suspense for a story that everyone already knows. If the ape was a mystery, then we could buy all the ominous talk on the ship. Instead, I found myself waiting for the inevitable. And it doesn't help that the audience knows exactly what is Quite disappointing. I think one reason people feel so agitated by this film is that Jackson spends over an hour building up trying to build up suspense for a story that everyone already knows. If the ape was a mystery, then we could buy all the ominous talk on the ship. Instead, I found myself waiting for the inevitable. And it doesn't help that the audience knows exactly what is coming because they have all seen an endless number of previews. It is truly perplexing that Jackson, who does have a creative vision, decided to focus the main action scene on a battle with T-Rexes. Remake King Kong. Don't remake Jurassic Park. Why spend $200 million on something so unoriginal. And, yes, Jack Black is the wry hipster horribly misplaced in a 1930's era film. Expand
  34. BlakeT.
    Dec 24, 2005
    8
    Great film that achieves its goal with ease. If you do to this movie thinking "Lord of the Rings" or anything of such an epic scale, you will be dissappointed. This movie was meant to be a fun thrill ride that toys with your emotions. Enjoy it for what it is and don't treat it like "Citizen Cane" as so many of the other reviewers here have done. My only real complaint with the film Great film that achieves its goal with ease. If you do to this movie thinking "Lord of the Rings" or anything of such an epic scale, you will be dissappointed. This movie was meant to be a fun thrill ride that toys with your emotions. Enjoy it for what it is and don't treat it like "Citizen Cane" as so many of the other reviewers here have done. My only real complaint with the film was the pacing and length. It was a bit long and the pacing seemed off a bit. Great casting job, though. Expand
  35. Leroy
    Dec 24, 2005
    0
    Only three hours too long otherwise it was great.
  36. LoriU.
    Dec 25, 2005
    10
    The direction in this movie puts all the other originals to shame. Peter Jackson did a superb job in all his character even with King Kong himself. The movie was like a roller-coaster ride all the way through. Definitely a must see film!
  37. Marshman88
    Dec 25, 2005
    10
    Amazing...that's all there is to say.
  38. LameBrain
    Dec 26, 2005
    0
    Lamest movie of the year. Too bad to be believed. Acting was atroicious. Peter Jackson should be ashamed of himself. A waste of 2 hundred million bucks. Movie is over 3 hours long and the first third is duller than moss growing on a rock. The second act is a return to Jurassic Park with some of the stupidest written scenes ever created. A trained monkey could have written a script better Lamest movie of the year. Too bad to be believed. Acting was atroicious. Peter Jackson should be ashamed of himself. A waste of 2 hundred million bucks. Movie is over 3 hours long and the first third is duller than moss growing on a rock. The second act is a return to Jurassic Park with some of the stupidest written scenes ever created. A trained monkey could have written a script better than this. By the time they reach NY the movie should have capsized but we are forced to watch a last act without any dialogue. I think I saw Adrian Brody looking at his watch hoping Kong would jump to his death. I think he wishes it could have been him to be associated with such a lame effort. Avoid like the plague. Expand
  39. EveK.
    Dec 26, 2005
    2
    What were all those critics smoking? this was the most overstuffed turkey of the holiday season. somebody has to put Peter Jackson on a leash and put him on a budget. maybe then he'd remember that things like a cohesive story and character development matter even in an action fantasy. everything went on way, way too long. An exposition of over an hour and then when the characters are What were all those critics smoking? this was the most overstuffed turkey of the holiday season. somebody has to put Peter Jackson on a leash and put him on a budget. maybe then he'd remember that things like a cohesive story and character development matter even in an action fantasy. everything went on way, way too long. An exposition of over an hour and then when the characters are totally forgettable?? And why did the bats all of a sudden attack Kong, when he's obviously been hanging out with them for eons? There were so many things like that which just didn't make any sense. The scene which would have been really interesting -- how the hell did they get Kong on the ship and keep him alive on the voyage back to New York -- wasn't part of the picture. Sorry, a huge disappointment. Some nice touches for sure, thus the 2 rating instead of a 0, but I cringe at the waste of money. Expand
  40. ParshanB.
    Dec 26, 2005
    10
    This is a masterpiece, It has the best effects and do you know how long and hard it is to make that movie? You have to see it!
  41. BrandonS.
    Dec 26, 2005
    7
    This is the very definition of a movie deserving of a "7". It teeters on a bizzarre precipice between really good and really bad, and it's up to the individual audiance member to decide which way to push it. I think all could agree that it is far far far too long, however. The beginning is fantastically done, the end is competently handled, and the middle is just junk. The movie, in This is the very definition of a movie deserving of a "7". It teeters on a bizzarre precipice between really good and really bad, and it's up to the individual audiance member to decide which way to push it. I think all could agree that it is far far far too long, however. The beginning is fantastically done, the end is competently handled, and the middle is just junk. The movie, in it's middle, trades in "wonder" for "action" and suffers horribly for it. Definately worth going to see, but only if you're in a VERY comfortable and easy going mood. Otherwise you might find yourself throwing a kong like tantrum come hour three... Expand
  42. SeanKim
    Dec 26, 2005
    9
    No one does action and emotion better. Dinosaur chase and crash scene was brilliant. The gorilla has more emotion than some actors.
  43. ClintM.
    Dec 27, 2005
    9
    This was three hours well invested! The action was great and the special effects were incredible! Once the movie wrapped you actually felt rewarded for sitting through the whole thing ... not like many other movies I've seen this year where I left feeling robbed of the time I could have used for something else (damn you, Fantastic Four!). Peter Jackson proves he's a master This was three hours well invested! The action was great and the special effects were incredible! Once the movie wrapped you actually felt rewarded for sitting through the whole thing ... not like many other movies I've seen this year where I left feeling robbed of the time I could have used for something else (damn you, Fantastic Four!). Peter Jackson proves he's a master filmmaker and deserved that $20 million dollar paycheck! Expand
  44. ChaseR.
    Dec 27, 2005
    9
    If there is such thing as a perfect movie it is this. Jackson combines amazing graphics with a true to the original story plot. The acting is so good that you won't mind the corny 30s dialouge. Aside from that the special effects are the best I have ever scene.
  45. BillyM.
    Dec 27, 2005
    4
    In the core of the movie is the relationship between a beautifull blonde and a giant gorilla. if you are able to take that mighty leap of suspension of belief better than the writters and poor naomi watts, you'll enjoy this enormously flawed technical tour-de-force.
  46. RichardG.
    Dec 27, 2005
    1
    Slow, bloated, excruciatingly long. Potentially great special effects, stretched out ad nauseum. Example: With distressed damsel clenched in one hand, Kong takes on a T. Rex with the other. The battle goes on and on... after five minutes another one jumps into the ring: wow, twice the thrill and suspense. The battle rages on for another five minutes, then -- omigod, can you believe it! --Slow, bloated, excruciatingly long. Potentially great special effects, stretched out ad nauseum. Example: With distressed damsel clenched in one hand, Kong takes on a T. Rex with the other. The battle goes on and on... after five minutes another one jumps into the ring: wow, twice the thrill and suspense. The battle rages on for another five minutes, then -- omigod, can you believe it! -- another T Rex joins the fray and we Expand
  47. Bruno
    Dec 27, 2005
    2
    Don't get fooled, the most overrated film I've seen. Hope the critics got at least a lot of money for that. The dialogues in the film are on of the worst ever (If there is nothing, then you've got nothing to lose). There is not even a second of an art, megalomaniac Jackson have definetly lost his brian. Guy that needs $$$$ to make a film and makes 30 minutes scene where Don't get fooled, the most overrated film I've seen. Hope the critics got at least a lot of money for that. The dialogues in the film are on of the worst ever (If there is nothing, then you've got nothing to lose). There is not even a second of an art, megalomaniac Jackson have definetly lost his brian. Guy that needs $$$$ to make a film and makes 30 minutes scene where huge dinosaurs fights king kong. No space for character development, dialogs, work with cameras, crafty pictures... all is lost in megalomaniac garbage where 30 feet monster fights another 30 feet monster. Expand
  48. Rev.Rikard
    Dec 27, 2005
    9
    Peter Jackson did a masterful job in making "man more animalistic" in the movie, and "the animal more human." As you watch the movie you observe Kong becoming more humane, and Jack Black's character becoming more inhumane. For example, one of the powerful moments of this revelation occurs as Kong notes that the sunrise is beautiful, as Black's character is worried that his Peter Jackson did a masterful job in making "man more animalistic" in the movie, and "the animal more human." As you watch the movie you observe Kong becoming more humane, and Jack Black's character becoming more inhumane. For example, one of the powerful moments of this revelation occurs as Kong notes that the sunrise is beautiful, as Black's character is worried that his get-rich scheme has failed. There is definitely a political theme here as well. Jackson (though it can be argued he is just being true to the original film) pointedly shows that the human response to fear is to take a gun and shoot at what it is that scares us. In other words, before asking the relevant, necessary questions, we shoot! The best acting here is not found in word but in the eyes. The eyes of Kong, Brody, and Watts say more about what we really feel that the dialogue, which is sparse and predictable. This is one of the few criticisms I have of the movie. Another is the fact that there is a little too much "Jurassic Park" in the film. We didn't need all those prehistoric scenes. At first they added thrill and excitement, but soon became redundant. About a third of those scenes should have been on the editing floor. The final criticism I had was that awful last line spoken by Black. It was unnecessary, obvious and too cliche. Had he turned and walked away in disgust of himself it would have spoken more powerfully than that "fairy tale line." Still, all in all, I had a great time watching this movie, even if Jackson made me look at my character in light of the simple values of an overgrown silverback. Expand
  49. WorstOfAllTime
    Dec 27, 2005
    0
    Without question the stupidest most ridiculous movie ever made. It is an attack on anyone with even an ounce of intelligence. This is a remake of a remake. Everyone knows the story and how it ends. There is no suspense. And the special effects are over the top without a story line connected to it that makes any sense. For example do you think the vampire bats would attack Kong or the weak Without question the stupidest most ridiculous movie ever made. It is an attack on anyone with even an ounce of intelligence. This is a remake of a remake. Everyone knows the story and how it ends. There is no suspense. And the special effects are over the top without a story line connected to it that makes any sense. For example do you think the vampire bats would attack Kong or the weak humans who are simply standing there watching? Do you think you could actually catch a ride on a bat and land gently on the water. Do you think one bottle of chloroform put the Big Baby to sleep. And if it did how did they lift him on the small damaged boat that didn't even have a room for Adrian Brody? How did they get him through the door? Why did he not destroy the boat as he did NYC? What did they feed him? If the steel chains did not hold him how did they transport him to the theater without his destroying NYC? How did they rehearse? Why did the natives not try to protect him? Where did they go? This movie had more plot holes than swiss cheese. But you want us to believe that this was a good movie? Why because two-hundred million dollars was spent on bells and whistles with dumbed down special effects? This was eaily the second worst movie of the year behind War of the Worlds. Avoid at all costs. Expand
  50. EdwardS.
    Dec 28, 2005
    6
    6-star film with an 8-star film swallowed up inside it. Apart from wretched excess running potentially winning action sequences into the ground, the current release desperately needs: 1. An intermission right after the 'spider pit' sequence; and 2. A (much) better score - Bernard Hermann would have put audiences' fatigued bums right on the edges of their seats with the same 6-star film with an 8-star film swallowed up inside it. Apart from wretched excess running potentially winning action sequences into the ground, the current release desperately needs: 1. An intermission right after the 'spider pit' sequence; and 2. A (much) better score - Bernard Hermann would have put audiences' fatigued bums right on the edges of their seats with the same visuals... Expand
  51. BenC.
    Dec 28, 2005
    6
    Mixed bag, and that's a disappointment from Mr. Jackson. There are very effective moments in this movie (the T-Rex brawl, many of the Ann/Kong moments, and the savages were down-right terrifying) but there are equally ridiculous moments which sap the validity of the story. For me, the first of these occurs when the brontos stampede over our heroes... it's just flat-out stupid Mixed bag, and that's a disappointment from Mr. Jackson. There are very effective moments in this movie (the T-Rex brawl, many of the Ann/Kong moments, and the savages were down-right terrifying) but there are equally ridiculous moments which sap the validity of the story. For me, the first of these occurs when the brontos stampede over our heroes... it's just flat-out stupid that anyone could survive that, not to mention some of the WORST effects seen in a long time. Sure, sure some will say 'movies are about fun and checking your brain at the door' but that's misguided; they're about making the unbelievable believable, and this movie disappointed me in that regard once we get into some very ingenuous plot decisions on Skull island. Also I found Jack Black somewhat disappointing, or rather Jack Black's recurring wide-eyed stares... cuz that's really all there is of him. Expand
  52. Jeremy
    Dec 28, 2005
    0
    Hated It. Way toooooooo looong.
  53. AMovieCritic
    Dec 29, 2005
    7
    This movie was very good. Very emotional, PERFECT musical score, amazing special effects, some great acting, (I don't see why Jack Black is being criticized for his performance in this. He fit the part perfectly) awesome action scenes, and King Kong himself was perfectly realized. The action was at times amazing. A very fun movie that would be considered a classic..... This movie was very good. Very emotional, PERFECT musical score, amazing special effects, some great acting, (I don't see why Jack Black is being criticized for his performance in this. He fit the part perfectly) awesome action scenes, and King Kong himself was perfectly realized. The action was at times amazing. A very fun movie that would be considered a classic..... EXCEPT....it's way too long. Peter Jackson NEEDS someone to go through his scripts and edit. That's what he needs. This movie was made to be a 3-hour movie, and this isn't the type of story that warrants a 3-hour movie. It's that simple. And as excited as I was during this, I couldn't help wondering when it would end...it just seems to go on forever. Particularly early on in the movie. It gets off to a great start, but way too much time is spent on a boat. I literally almost fell asleep after about an hour of this movie. Scenes that I would have cut would include the island natives early on. That entire scene was completely pointless, and the natives never made an appearance again, and were never discussed again. Could have been cut, and nobody would have noticed. Many scenes on the boat also could have been cut. If this movie was about 45 minutes shorter, it really would have been excellent. As it stands, though, it's a good movie. It would have been great, but it's way too long, and I would NEVER see it again for this reason. It just wears you out by the end more than anything else. Hopefully this film's lower-than-expected box office numbers will show Peter Jackson that NOT every movie he makes should be 3 hours long. It worked for the LoTR movies, (although I personally think these could have also used some editing,) but with a story like this, there was no reason for it to be 3 hours long. Still a very good movie, but prepare to leave the theater exhausted. Expand
  54. Danielle
    Dec 29, 2005
    8
    more emotional resonsance than the original. not great, but really good. just too long.
  55. CATHYF.
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    Absolutely an amazing film! Mind blowing!!I did not think 3 hours could go by that fast. Mr. Jackson really paid tribute to this film. Loved it!!!
  56. DavidS.
    Dec 29, 2005
    9
    This is what movies used to be like - true spectacles, events, escape. Now that studios will throw millions t anyone with a joke that appeals to a 13 year old (sounds vaguely like the venture capitalists in the dot-com era, frankly), it's a pleasure to go to a film that puts to shame the theaters in which it's showing. I am sympathetic to concerns that the film is too long, but This is what movies used to be like - true spectacles, events, escape. Now that studios will throw millions t anyone with a joke that appeals to a 13 year old (sounds vaguely like the venture capitalists in the dot-com era, frankly), it's a pleasure to go to a film that puts to shame the theaters in which it's showing. I am sympathetic to concerns that the film is too long, but have to counterpoint that Jackson expertly interrupts scenes that seem to be going too long. The death scene between Naomi Watts and Kong is worth the price of admission. Expand
  57. GeorgeF.
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    How some complain about the 3 hour length is a mystery. This is a throwback to the great movie experiences of Hollywood's Golden Era, but with special effects and characters you care about. Sit, watch, enjoy!
  58. VisheshC.
    Dec 29, 2005
    6
    Unecessarily Long. Exaggerated even for a science fiction flick. Although the effects and the sequence make up for the abruptness of the movie.
  59. AndyH.
    Dec 31, 2005
    0
    Tens? You people are giving this trashy movie a ten as in Gone With The Wind? You call this a perfect movie? If so there is a bridge I want to sell you? First off this movie is way over the top and too long. Secondly, it is boring and downright laughable. The dialogue is nonexistant. The acting is awful especially Jack Black. Adrian Brody simply in unbelievable as the love interest for Tens? You people are giving this trashy movie a ten as in Gone With The Wind? You call this a perfect movie? If so there is a bridge I want to sell you? First off this movie is way over the top and too long. Secondly, it is boring and downright laughable. The dialogue is nonexistant. The acting is awful especially Jack Black. Adrian Brody simply in unbelievable as the love interest for Ann Darrow. There is no chemistry. As for Skull Island it doesn't compute. The CGI is over the top. The writing is laughable. The native scene is racist pure and simple. They are canibals who worship Kong. Why? How did they build that giant wall without being eaten by all the other monsters that inhabit the Island. Perhaps in the sequel when Peter Jackson tells us what we saw was a dream that this will be explained right? Secondly, if Kong is the true master of all the monsters how come he is the only Ape on the island? Where are the others? How was he born? Where are his parents? His brothers? His sisters? His children? His mate? I guess he was in danger of becoming extinct because of Jack Black types taking him to other major cities to destroy them? Anyway the circus stunts were great with the same reel of the dinasaur stampede repeated three times. Then Kong fights 3 T-Rexs with one hand while holding Ann Darrow (Naomi Watts) in the other. Yeah right? And didn't you love how the Captain suddenly became an action hero shooting spiders with one hand while swinging on the vine with the other. I tell you this was something else. Then the damaged boat takes Kong back to NY. How did they get him on the boat? How did they keep him from jumping ship? Where did they keep him? Remember this was a little boat that was damaged on the rocks when it came to Skull Island? He couldn't fit through any doorway? He couldn't fit in one of those cages him being a 4 ton gorilla? What did they feed him? How come he didn't destroy the boat? They had no chains to hold him? Explain it to us? Then he comes to NY and destroys the City on cue. As for Naomi in a flimsy dress and high heels, well, after everything else I saw, why not in in the middle of winter without a coat. The only thing missing was one of those vampire bats flying by the Empire State Building and Kong grabbing hold like Adrian did and being flown back to Skull Island with the natives chanting Kong - Kong - Kong! By the way, the natives that worshipped Kong where did they disappear too when the Big Ape fell asleep? I guess Peter Jackson's budget ran out. And you idiots gave this movie a ten? I only wish Peter Jackson could have been eaten by one of his wormy creatures from the head down? This movie was a disgrace. And finally what does Circa NYC 1933 have to do with the remake of the remake of King Kong? Was it germain to the story of Kong? Absolutely Not! But Jackson decided since the original was shot in 1933 why not spend some more money on some useless trailer trash. This effort was ugly. Expand
  60. CalebD.
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    This is the best movie ever. Action, suspense, drama, the whole lot. For the people who say its too long, you dont know movies. You were not watching the movie, you were watching your watch. Be in the moment of the movie. You, critics, get in for free, but we have to pay up to $10. I think we got our moneys worth. Once again, best movie ever.
  61. PopechonR.
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    Bastante buena, lastima que es PG RATED 13 en E.U. porque ganaria mas dinero y merece ser vista por todos, pero su calidad es genial en todo!, Peter jack, es el mejor filmmaker de la decada!. thats all.
  62. GarethR
    Dec 31, 2005
    10
    It is Great, see it . . you will love it, i did, it was great.
  63. ThomasH.
    Dec 31, 2005
    4
    Ulp, it might have been Ok as a B-Movie, but this was just violent mindless pretentious schlock. The Characters were just 2d Peter Jackson has done a George Lucas and lost his mind, making something that could be good, bad. All might have been Ok, had it been an hour shorter, but no forget it.
  64. Mike
    Dec 30, 2005
    1
    I started to like the movie for the first 30 mins, and then it became very very bad. The fighting between king kong and 3 trex was laughable. The acting is also very very bad, and this is very disappointing because in other films these actors are great!!! Can it be becasue of the bad directing? The only great thing about this movie are the special effects. nothing else.
  65. JasonG.
    Dec 8, 2005
    10
    Saw the premiere. AMAZING!
  66. MarcD.
    Dec 8, 2005
    8
    Wow. I just saw the film at Universal's holiday party, and I'm still a little stunned by it a couple hours later. It's a spectacular film. The first 20-30 minutes drag a little in establishing the story, but once you hit Skull Island, the drama grabs you by the throat and doesn't let go until the final frames. Kong is amazing. Not for a second did I pause to think Wow. I just saw the film at Universal's holiday party, and I'm still a little stunned by it a couple hours later. It's a spectacular film. The first 20-30 minutes drag a little in establishing the story, but once you hit Skull Island, the drama grabs you by the throat and doesn't let go until the final frames. Kong is amazing. Not for a second did I pause to think about him as a CGI creation. And if you're at all a fan of Naomi Watts....wow....just see it. The action is intense, it's thick with genuine emotion, and I actually had a tough time not tossing my cookies during the final sequence. Vertigo anyone?? I can't give it a 10 because it's not an original story, but I give Peter Jackson the ultimate respect for doing amazing things with this classic story. It's a must see. Expand
  67. TomR
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    This is just great movie making. I loved it.
  68. TrainerFred
    Jan 11, 2006
    0
    Peter Jackson couldn't train a mouse to eat cheese after watching this garbage. Over three hours long and about three hours should have been left on the cutting room floor. Garbage in is garbage out. Awful.
  69. Monster
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    Fascinating movie, I want on Dvd yet. My score? 10
  70. mikej.
    Jan 12, 2006
    10
    It was the best of all time.my full family loved it.we love ya peter jackson.
  71. jodi
    Jan 12, 2006
    10
    Excellent. incomparable. collasal. entertaining .jaw-dropping.
  72. TimD.
    Jan 12, 2006
    5
    Hopelessly overlong. Kong himself is superb and there's some touching scenes between ape and woman, but nearly everything else is pure spectacle. Jack Black brings nothing but a snidily raised eyebrow to his role; he spends the whole film conspicuously trying to act, which gets in the way of any characterization, of which there is virtually none anyway. Which is a little odd, because Hopelessly overlong. Kong himself is superb and there's some touching scenes between ape and woman, but nearly everything else is pure spectacle. Jack Black brings nothing but a snidily raised eyebrow to his role; he spends the whole film conspicuously trying to act, which gets in the way of any characterization, of which there is virtually none anyway. Which is a little odd, because it makes you wonder just what it is that this film spends 3 hours trying to do. Expand
  73. RubenB.
    Jan 12, 2006
    10
    My favorite since LOTR Return of the King, excelent and fantastic!.
  74. edwardv.
    Jan 12, 2006
    10
    Es una de las mejores que he visto del genero de accion, suspenso, fantasia, y ademas tiene cierto nivel de drama, buenisima.
  75. Trudy
    Jan 13, 2006
    1
    Other than the excellent CGI done without a script to go with it, the movie just falls off a cliff and dies. Simply awful.
  76. MarcoD.
    Jan 13, 2006
    10
    I cannot believe the amount of negative reviews this movie is getting! Take my advice: go see this movie. I'm quite confident you'll like it. I found it amazing. Too many people are saying stuff like: too long, stupid action scenes, blah blah blah. I say this: yes, it is long, but it goes by faster than you'd think, mainly because it's such an absorbing experience. The I cannot believe the amount of negative reviews this movie is getting! Take my advice: go see this movie. I'm quite confident you'll like it. I found it amazing. Too many people are saying stuff like: too long, stupid action scenes, blah blah blah. I say this: yes, it is long, but it goes by faster than you'd think, mainly because it's such an absorbing experience. The action scenes are amazing and must be seen on the big screen to be appreciated. The special FX are amazing! Go see this movie. Expand
  77. DaveB.
    Jan 14, 2006
    5
    Could have been a whole lot shorter (especially the Skull Island segment). The part with the bugs and the dinosaur stampede made no sense as to the plot of the movie. Felt like the whole movies purpose was to market merchandise. Kong looked fantastic though!
  78. Borjha
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    For my family and me this precious movie is the most amazing and enchanting, I would invite with my money all my friends to see it, because no one should loose the opportunity of enjoy it.
  79. GrantN.
    Jan 16, 2006
    10
    This is what movies are all about. The romance, the action, the drama, the excitement, its all here and shown excellantly. Peter Jackson is a fantastic filmaker and do not listen to anyone who says this movie is too long.
  80. ChrisC.
    Jan 16, 2006
    2
    Did I see the same movie? What a bloated, self-indulgent, clumsy pile of...well...you get the idea. Laughable dialog. Shots and plots devices stolen from LOTR and Jurassic Park. The relationship between Watts and the monkey was moving, but lost in three hours of leaden cliche.
  81. LittleSmurf
    Jan 16, 2006
    10
    Long?, holes?, maybe you must see the extended version by P. Jackson, but It would be longer, but I want to see it, cause I have time to enjoy the good Art of 3, 4 or more hours, I love Kong, I love Movies.
  82. KarryD.
    Jan 17, 2006
    9
    Kong plays perfectly. A+ for realism, even though we're looking at a giant ape, the creature is captivating and believably human. Even the child like darling of Naomi Watts works to the advantage of the cast. Jack Black steals the show, expect for the last line, which although part of the original screenplay seemed contrived and out of place. Someone else should have said it. It is Kong plays perfectly. A+ for realism, even though we're looking at a giant ape, the creature is captivating and believably human. Even the child like darling of Naomi Watts works to the advantage of the cast. Jack Black steals the show, expect for the last line, which although part of the original screenplay seemed contrived and out of place. Someone else should have said it. It is possible to nit-pick the the details to death, but alas, suspension of ones disbelief in not that hard when the lights are down and Kong is on the screen. Expand
  83. Fabrizzio
    Jan 21, 2006
    10
    Tottu la vita esperanto a filme como este.
  84. Castleforkingkong
    Jan 21, 2006
    10
    An amazing ride, an Spectacular journey, a Stunning adventure, susprises, love, drama...the full package.
  85. Ironik
    Jan 21, 2006
    0
    Disaster. How could Jackson make such a silly film. It is nice that he can play with a computer but that does not make a good movie.
  86. SaketR.
    Mar 18, 2006
    9
    A wonderfully made film. The scenes in New York were really splendid and although the jungle fights were a little passe, the emotional quota of the story more than made up for that. Visuals were spectacular and Kong and Darrow swooped home in an acting triumph.
  87. SEvans
    Mar 31, 2006
    3
    I'm giving Kong a 3 for wasting 3 hours of my time. Brutal.
  88. JulienC.
    Apr 28, 2006
    5
    King Kong is the perfect representation of how dry hollywood is becoming: not that it's good or bad, it's neutral - it's like a well oiled machine that would produce air, like a recipe that produces water: everything follows the hollywood path that secures a certain number of dollars for the shareholders. the only thing that is good in this movie is what the artists have King Kong is the perfect representation of how dry hollywood is becoming: not that it's good or bad, it's neutral - it's like a well oiled machine that would produce air, like a recipe that produces water: everything follows the hollywood path that secures a certain number of dollars for the shareholders. the only thing that is good in this movie is what the artists have come up with: environments notably. special effects are good of course but is this a surprise? this movie is boring as hell until they meet with the natives. the cast is over-acting all movie long, only the writer is OK. i hope the guys who made this movie give this comment a read: PLEASE stop making safe movies, take some risks; work on the actors' lines deeper, produce the emotion don't just buy it... Expand
  89. SamM.
    May 24, 2006
    10
    Very nice storyline and CGI interaction better then its original counterpart of old.
  90. Soco
    Feb 28, 2007
    10
    Excellent movie. Very intense and thrilling.
  91. williamj.
    Dec 11, 2005
    10
    WOW!!.....what an asstonishing movie. the best special effects i have ever sceene. and the empire state building was truly amazing. i feel that every person should see this movie immediatley. GREAT, GREAT, GREAT film. peter jackson has done it yet again!
  92. MatthewS.
    Dec 12, 2005
    10
    A completely jaw-dropping, stupendous film.
  93. BigG.
    Dec 13, 2005
    8
    To Bob p. When you watch a scifi/fantasy or read one of them book, you aren't suppose to diagnose it for thing that isn't real. It's call suspension of disbelief. It's like Armageddon, if it wasn't for that part where they talk to each other in space, it would have been a movie worth a 8 to 9 rating.
  94. MikeLovesAvrilLavigne
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    Spectacular - everyone clapped at the end of the movie - and you NEVER get that in Australia. Absolutely brilliant.
  95. JohnP.
    Dec 14, 2005
    5
    A bloated, miscast, hi-res xerox of a classic that only expands on it's source in length. Jackson is too timid to add anything to the mix but more dino's and CG fx. Is he capable of producing anything else? I doubt it. Unlike Orson Welles, who was felt like a kid in a toy store making CITIZEN KANE, Peter Jackson is a bull in a China shop.
  96. ChrisT.
    Dec 14, 2005
    7
    There's a really great two-hour movie in there somewhere.
  97. Wongit
    Dec 14, 2005
    9
    Simply astonishing. this movie is amazing. great visual effects great everyhting, i was dazzled by this film.
  98. Aaron
    Dec 14, 2005
    9
    Sensational entertainment. Jackson really outdid himself here. I think it's one of the rare times the remake betters the original film, seriously. Yes, the film does have its flaws. A little trimming here and there would have helped immensly, but why quibble when a film is this entertaining. Jackson's love for the original film is quite apparent because of the care he has given Sensational entertainment. Jackson really outdid himself here. I think it's one of the rare times the remake betters the original film, seriously. Yes, the film does have its flaws. A little trimming here and there would have helped immensly, but why quibble when a film is this entertaining. Jackson's love for the original film is quite apparent because of the care he has given his own Kong. Speaking of which, Kong may be the single greatest piece of FX work in film history right now. WETA did an amazing job. Not just with the gorilla, but with all of the FX. There's just one astonishing set piece after another. One complaint that I've been hearing is how slow the first hour is. Not at all. I think that deliberate buildup is cruicial to the film. Maybe some of the scenes on the boat don't quite work, but I like how Jackson slowly builds up the suspense leading to Skull Island. And when they finally do reach the place, the film moves to a whole new level. From that point on, it just rocks. Intense, exciting, and at times quite moving, Jackson's King Kong is the first 'event' film in a long time that acutally lived up. Sure to nominated for Best Picture at the Oscars. NOTE: A few scenes may be too intense for very young children. Basically, if you know what your kid can handle, by all means take them. Expand
  99. Ben
    Dec 14, 2005
    3
    I know I have to suspend a lot of disbelief for a movie like King Kong, but this viewer and his partner walked out of this film laughing and shaking our heads in amazement at how bad this movie was. Being a completist is the only thing that kept us watching all 187 minutes of this film. Act 2 (on the island) is just a rehash of Jurassic Park with many of the effects done more poorly than I know I have to suspend a lot of disbelief for a movie like King Kong, but this viewer and his partner walked out of this film laughing and shaking our heads in amazement at how bad this movie was. Being a completist is the only thing that kept us watching all 187 minutes of this film. Act 2 (on the island) is just a rehash of Jurassic Park with many of the effects done more poorly than that 12 year old film. Ex: Extraneous chase scenes with humans running between the legs of dinosaurs as they are all being chased by velociraptor type creatures (that also run in between the dinosaur's legs) while the ledge that everyone is running on is crumbling under foot. Not just a few yards, but for 5 minutes! This is just ONE of the numerous inexplicable chase/fight scenes that detract from the core story line. And don Expand
  100. Fantasy
    Dec 14, 2005
    2
    Where to begin? Naomi Watts is lovable and darling. What more can I say? The CGI for King Kong is second to none. He and Naomi were the best actors on the set. As for the movie, the suspense of the story is ruined because we all know the story of Beauty and The Beast vis-a-vis King Kong. Been there done that. The movie is three excruciating hours long. The first hour is so slow that you Where to begin? Naomi Watts is lovable and darling. What more can I say? The CGI for King Kong is second to none. He and Naomi were the best actors on the set. As for the movie, the suspense of the story is ruined because we all know the story of Beauty and The Beast vis-a-vis King Kong. Been there done that. The movie is three excruciating hours long. The first hour is so slow that you start looking at your watch. When they finally arrive at Skull Island the action is non-stop. The brutality of the natives, which appeared racist, is not suitable for young children or preteens. As for the monsters they are gruesome in nature and there is no way that natives could ever survive or want to survive on this prehistoric island. Jack Black and Adrian Brody are so miscast it is laughable. Black is simply awful as Carl Denim and Adrian Brody as Jack Driscoll the love interest for Naomi, well that is the real Beauty and The Beast. There is no chemistry between the two at all. As for when they return to NY circa 1933, the era is captured perfectly. However, it is a shoot em up kill Kong without any dialogue at all. After 45 minutes I was praying for Naomi to either push the Big Ape off of the Empire State Building or to jump herself to let us go home. This movie is an eternity and the hype far exceeds its worthiness. For some strange reason Spielberg and now Jackson get free passes. The CGI is fantastic but thats all there is. Word of mouth will doom this flick after a blockbuster weekend. I wish my review could be brighter but the truth is the truth. I could never sit through this again even if shown for free on TV. Expand
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Devin Gordon
    90
    A surprisingly tender, even heartbreaking, film. Like the original, it's a tragic tale of beauty and the beast.
  2. What a movie! This is how the medium seduced us originally.
  3. One of the wonders of the holiday season.