King Kong

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1346 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. DaveF.
    Dec 21, 2005
    10
    Nothing short of spectacular! Though not normally prone to online ratings, I thought I would step in on Kong's behalf to try and dispel some of the lesser than worthy user ratings. Yes, the acting is over-the-top and the story implausible - just like the original. Jackson has reinvented a long lost genre of film-making that also includes a blend of modern greats such as Indiana Nothing short of spectacular! Though not normally prone to online ratings, I thought I would step in on Kong's behalf to try and dispel some of the lesser than worthy user ratings. Yes, the acting is over-the-top and the story implausible - just like the original. Jackson has reinvented a long lost genre of film-making that also includes a blend of modern greats such as Indiana Jones, Jurassic Park, and of-course Lord of the Rings. The action causes you to jump from your and the story makes sure you stay in it. Finally, yes, the movie is 3 hours long. So were all three Lord of the Rings. If you have a difficult time sitting in a theater for such a length, wait for it on DVD and enjoy it then...when you can pause it. Expand
  2. CameronS.
    Dec 22, 2005
    10
    It's not often that I vote something this highly, but King Kong is EASILY the film of the year. Fantastic effects, gripping screenplay, beatutifully directed, phenomenal cast (give Andy Serkis an Oscar now) and gripping for every one of its 187 minutes. I quote from Empire here, but the statement "what could have been Jackson
  3. HolidayDoc
    Dec 22, 2005
    0
    Nothing can save this movie. It is so campy and bad that it is truly awful. All you people giving this movie high marks report to the hospital to schedule your lobotomy as you have lost your minds. If this movie is nominated for anything other than special effects it would be a disgrace to the Academy. This is as bad as it gets and three excruciating hours long to boot. Where have you Nothing can save this movie. It is so campy and bad that it is truly awful. All you people giving this movie high marks report to the hospital to schedule your lobotomy as you have lost your minds. If this movie is nominated for anything other than special effects it would be a disgrace to the Academy. This is as bad as it gets and three excruciating hours long to boot. Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? Expand
  4. EvanS.
    Dec 22, 2005
    5
    What this movie needs is a fewer bugs, less budget and more focus on the engaging story about beauty and the beast. This egofest could have easily been drawn to two hours, but we're forced to wade through the silly and weary build-up aboard the Venture and a trip through Jurassic Park (Hey Jackson, Spielberg took us here already). This movie is designed beautifully and it's What this movie needs is a fewer bugs, less budget and more focus on the engaging story about beauty and the beast. This egofest could have easily been drawn to two hours, but we're forced to wade through the silly and weary build-up aboard the Venture and a trip through Jurassic Park (Hey Jackson, Spielberg took us here already). This movie is designed beautifully and it's almost worth it to see the monkey rip up New York City, but I couldn't help see Jackson as the 800-pound gorilla who tosses his weight around and spending a grotesque sum to make a so-so movie. Expand
  5. BillyS.
    Dec 22, 2005
    5
    Take a classic 1933 film, add a 200 million dollar f/x budget to the same story and characters and what do you get? Jurrasic Park with a monkey. A big, bombastic bore of blockbuster proportions!
  6. RVVen
    Dec 22, 2005
    2
    Worst of the 3 Kong films. Useless reimagning, endless sweeping shots, heavy handed acting, horrible editing, etc...
  7. SeanS.
    Dec 22, 2005
    1
    This movie is the worst movie I have seen since The Titanic was released.
  8. LynnW.
    Dec 22, 2005
    4
    I'm a huge Peter Jackson fan, but this movie was exhausting. You just couldn't wait for it to be over. I found myself muttering "Die, already!" for the last half hour.
  9. IvanS.
    Dec 23, 2005
    9
    Brilliant! Kong totally stole the show...
  10. FernandoK.
    Dec 23, 2005
    8
    Peter Jackson tried to play with our feelings about Kong¡¡ That scene "Kong Bambi in the ice" is ridiculous¡ He put that scene just a few seconds before the tragedy just to make the tears come out¡ In many cases it worked, but it notices the intention¡ But its a great movie with amazing effects¡¡ after all Peter Jackson dissapoint me¡ He is Peter Jackson tried to play with our feelings about Kong¡¡ That scene "Kong Bambi in the ice" is ridiculous¡ He put that scene just a few seconds before the tragedy just to make the tears come out¡ In many cases it worked, but it notices the intention¡ But its a great movie with amazing effects¡¡ after all Peter Jackson dissapoint me¡ He is only that.. effects¡¡ Expand
  11. Cwell
    Dec 23, 2005
    10
    Awesome. With a short attention span, you're never bored. Hold your attention and it captivates you. Best remake of all time!
  12. ChadS.
    Dec 23, 2005
    7
    When we get to Skull Island, it's "Spot the DVD Bonus Footage"-time. The dinosaur stampede can stay, but all those cave creatures was too much of a good thing; that is, if you consider CGI a good thing. It throws the whole film out of whack, and even the most ardent action junkie will be able to feel the excess. The big gorilla is upstaged by a "Jurassic Park" hijack. In the human When we get to Skull Island, it's "Spot the DVD Bonus Footage"-time. The dinosaur stampede can stay, but all those cave creatures was too much of a good thing; that is, if you consider CGI a good thing. It throws the whole film out of whack, and even the most ardent action junkie will be able to feel the excess. The big gorilla is upstaged by a "Jurassic Park" hijack. In the human division, Naomi Watts is typically Watts-like, but Adrien Brody looks bored, and Jack Black, in trying to distance himself from his comic persona, seems a little too muted. "King Kong" is mildly disappointing, saved only by art design and a brilliant way of showing how Hollywood depicts indigenous cultures. Expand
  13. BillyD.
    Dec 25, 2005
    2
    I love giant monsters. I grew up on them. I chanted "giant monkey" over and over again as I walked into the theatre. Man, was this a piece of boring crap. The effects looked terrible-everything had that CGI sheen. Acting was bored to bad. The beginning was drawn out but okay. The middle might has well have been cutscenes from a videogame. And the ending was very welcome. Shame on all I love giant monsters. I grew up on them. I chanted "giant monkey" over and over again as I walked into the theatre. Man, was this a piece of boring crap. The effects looked terrible-everything had that CGI sheen. Acting was bored to bad. The beginning was drawn out but okay. The middle might has well have been cutscenes from a videogame. And the ending was very welcome. Shame on all involved for making me hate a fight between dinosaurs and a gargatuan ape. I should have been the easiest sell in the world, but instead I watched my shoes for the last hour of the movie. Expand
  14. DuaneH.
    Dec 26, 2005
    9
    A beautiful movie, if a bit self-indulgent. Its three hours are far too long to keep the story intact. Should not be seen by young children. The PG-13 rating is too generous.
  15. StormIest
    Dec 26, 2005
    0
    Don't be fooled. This movie is terribly written, and when the visuals seem plastic and fake, and they often do, there is absolutely nothing to keep your attention on screen. Peter Jackson has never made a good film. He just doesn't get it.
  16. ArmstrongR.
    Dec 26, 2005
    3
    Mick LaSalle's review of the movie for the San Francisco Chronicle is dead on. Peter Jackson's "Kong" is full of clever ideas, exciting action and touching moments, most of which should have been left on the cutting room floor.
  17. Freakster
    Dec 27, 2005
    0
    Peter Jackson is kidding if he thinks this is quality entertainment. People were laughing out loud and walking out in the middle. The casting was awful and the acting even worse. As for the dialogue I only wish I could criticize it but there wasn't any except for some imbosylic yaking by the horrendous Jack Black. This movie is a total disgrace. If you want to watch stupid moronic Peter Jackson is kidding if he thinks this is quality entertainment. People were laughing out loud and walking out in the middle. The casting was awful and the acting even worse. As for the dialogue I only wish I could criticize it but there wasn't any except for some imbosylic yaking by the horrendous Jack Black. This movie is a total disgrace. If you want to watch stupid moronic nonsense watch the video game. This movie is terrible. Expand
  18. Bosko
    Dec 27, 2005
    0
    I don't see why any critic would praise this film but pan (as they all did) Tim Burton's "Planet of the Apes" or the "Godzilla" remake. Those movies were more believeable than this one. This is the dumbest film of all time. There's not one character that didn't belong in a Hanna Babera cartoon.
  19. KashiK.
    Dec 27, 2005
    10
    This is a great movie.
  20. DennisL.
    Dec 27, 2005
    10
    Great movie.
  21. OrenK.
    Dec 27, 2005
    7
    Incredible CGI, and amazing attention to detail (as in LOTR). However, it was very very long. Overall, worth seeing and fairly enjoyable.
  22. KeithL.
    Dec 27, 2005
    0
    I waited over 4years for this when I heard Peter jackson was going to make this movie and...wow. I can't put into words how over the top and bad King Kong was. 3 hrs of my life wasted. I'll never get it back. Don't believe the hype or the critics, the studio paid handsomely for those write ups no doubt because this a brainless farce that drags and lopes with no sense of I waited over 4years for this when I heard Peter jackson was going to make this movie and...wow. I can't put into words how over the top and bad King Kong was. 3 hrs of my life wasted. I'll never get it back. Don't believe the hype or the critics, the studio paid handsomely for those write ups no doubt because this a brainless farce that drags and lopes with no sense of grounding whatsoever. To make matters worse, it looks hastily prepared. The special effects aren't very special in many spots and, hey now, the story lags too. Bad, bad, bad, and it sucks too. Did I mention that we all hated it? This is as bad as the following: The Mummy, The Hulk, Batman & Robin, Godzilla 1998, and ANY of the Star Wars prequels (admittedly I have not seen Episode III--and don't need or want to). It actually makes Dino DeLaurentis' 1976 version look like pure genius. Peter Jackson, what have you done? Thank god it was $5 night. BTW: Funny story. I left to pee during the excruciating bug attack sequence and there were people in the hallway harassing theatre emplyees for their money back over this. One guy said, "you mean to tell me I have to sit in there for another hour and not get some kind of compensation?" I busted out laughing and expressed my sentiments. If I had to sit through it, WE ALL had to sit through it. Expand
  23. AlistairD.
    Dec 28, 2005
    10
    Brillant. It is great too see long films being made and great to see a big budget film that's actually good. Some ridiculous bits here and there but for the most part a fantastic film.
  24. RhettW.
    Dec 28, 2005
    10
    Technically and emotionally on a level making it one of the best "popcorn" movies of all time. Naomi Watts gives a landmark "blue-screen" peformance.
  25. ErikN.
    Dec 29, 2005
    9
    Spectacular and one of the best monster movies ever made. Tons of fun, brilliant effects and emotionally very moving. Another terrific job by Peter Jackson.
  26. BenH.
    Dec 29, 2005
    9
    I had very high expectations for this movie before I saw it. After it was over, I was very convinced that this is one of the best movies ever made. Even though it wasn't as amazing as the Lord of the Rings trilogy, I thought it followed by very closely. Overall, I think everyone should see this film because it appeals to many types of audiences.
  27. Kingkongteto
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    La mejor en produccion, foto, actriz, director, sonido y efectos especiales, una de las 3 mejores del año, le doy 10, pues solo Peter Jackson ha demostrado que el cine fantastico y de acción se puede hacer con mucha seriedad amando verdaderamente el cine y las historias... mas satisfactoria que la original del 33, no es solo un remake sino uno de los mejores remakes de la La mejor en produccion, foto, actriz, director, sonido y efectos especiales, una de las 3 mejores del año, le doy 10, pues solo Peter Jackson ha demostrado que el cine fantastico y de acción se puede hacer con mucha seriedad amando verdaderamente el cine y las historias... mas satisfactoria que la original del 33, no es solo un remake sino uno de los mejores remakes de la historia del cine. 2005's Best pircture. Expand
  28. RobertR.
    Dec 29, 2005
    9
    This is a movie that definately deserved a remake, as the special effects that are now possible provide spellbinding entertainment for this story. Jackson should be proud, as he has putt together a movie that is both true to it's original origins, whilst remaining relevant and exciting in the current time. Naomi Watts is cast perfectly as the love interest of tragically-fated Kong, This is a movie that definately deserved a remake, as the special effects that are now possible provide spellbinding entertainment for this story. Jackson should be proud, as he has putt together a movie that is both true to it's original origins, whilst remaining relevant and exciting in the current time. Naomi Watts is cast perfectly as the love interest of tragically-fated Kong, and provides ear-piercing screams in this performance, as well as accurately portraying the complexity of her character. Overall, an action-packed and supreb remake of a classic movie, that will become a classic in it's own right. Best special effects leap since "Jurassic Park". Expand
  29. MichaelW.
    Dec 31, 2005
    4
    An hour an 15 minutes too long. An hour an 15 minutes too long. An hour an 15 minutes too long. An hour an 15 minutes too long. An hour an 15 minutes too long. An hour an 15 minutes too long. An hour an 15 minutes too long. Get my drift?
  30. LeslieL.
    Dec 31, 2005
    0
    Its so ridiculous it is frightening. Obviously the critics are bought and paid for. The acting was attrocious, the directing even worse and the plot a total joke. If there was dialogue I must have missed it because I did start to nod off during the excruciating long first hour. By the time we get to Skull Island the movie turns into a comedy. Peter Jackson is a joke.
  31. StephanC.
    Dec 31, 2005
    9
    The movie was very good, and quite moving. It was a tad long, though.
  32. Francis
    Dec 31, 2005
    10
    Great movie, what a follow-up to Lord of the Rings!
  33. Nov 11, 2011
    6
    I'm honestly not sure how to start this off. First of all, lets get negatives out the way as usual: at over 3 hours long, the film feels bloated and stuffed with a noisy barrage of action sequences. Many of the creatures devised throughout the film (such as the V-rex) seem to go by the theory that 'the bigger it is, the scarier'. The film makes attempts at this cinematic intensity; withI'm honestly not sure how to start this off. First of all, lets get negatives out the way as usual: at over 3 hours long, the film feels bloated and stuffed with a noisy barrage of action sequences. Many of the creatures devised throughout the film (such as the V-rex) seem to go by the theory that 'the bigger it is, the scarier'. The film makes attempts at this cinematic intensity; with varying degrees of success ranging from surprising to plain flat. The action scenes are often disjointed and feel as if they are all competing to see who can make the most thrilling scene. Anyhow, rant over. The visual effects are admittitly very stunning, though sometimes overused. The acting is mostly solid and the underlying story isn't too bad, although the second act seems a complete jumbled narrative mess.
    Overall, this is still a resonably made film that still manages to maintain its intensity and shock-and-awe moments when it needs to. Definately worth a look.
    Expand
  34. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Saw this movie once again after a long time, and i still love it. Though better CGI will come in future years the emotions portrayed by kong will never fail to enthrall. Its a true masterpiece and the best kong movie made up-to date, this will always be in my list of all time greatest movies.
  35. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I dont care what other people say. For me it is one of the best movies ever! The action and graphics are awesome! Its just so sad that King Kong has to die so tragicly... I cry everytime I see the ending.... And im boy but i dont care...
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Devin Gordon
    90
    A surprisingly tender, even heartbreaking, film. Like the original, it's a tragic tale of beauty and the beast.
  2. What a movie! This is how the medium seduced us originally.
  3. One of the wonders of the holiday season.