Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 14, 2005
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1396 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
998
Mixed:
154
Negative:
244
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
DrtimDec 18, 2005
Remarkable. Unspoken love, maternal reverie, empathic connectedness; the relationship between the Naomi Watts characterand the digital ape/Andy Serkis is the transcendent heart of this film. In tapping something deeply innate it tolls for us all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveE.Dec 18, 2005
This movie is the best thing ever set to celluloid. Phenomenal and beautiful, this film is definitly the best film of the year. Anyone who doesn't like it has no soul.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SharifDec 19, 2005
Very Good movie, I have no complaints about the length of the movie, since i liked it i dont see why i should'nt get more of what i like and make the most of my money, and it also sets the flow of the movie. while watching felt sorry Very Good movie, I have no complaints about the length of the movie, since i liked it i dont see why i should'nt get more of what i like and make the most of my money, and it also sets the flow of the movie. while watching felt sorry for Mr. Kong all the while telling him in my head Yeah budy women do that to you, they mess up your head and that is the end result. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
I'mSorryMsJacksonDec 21, 2005
Thanks for watching my brilliant movie. What a lot of people don't know is how much work I put in, especially with my 'method' style of direction: I spent many months caged in an Auckland zoo, where I learned what it is to be Thanks for watching my brilliant movie. What a lot of people don't know is how much work I put in, especially with my 'method' style of direction: I spent many months caged in an Auckland zoo, where I learned what it is to be a primate, and where I lost a lot of weight. When I had achieved a true monkey mentality, Universal shipped me under anaesthetic to the Kong sets, whereupon I was released under strict supervision. The actors were often unable to understand my various grunts, but I felt this created an exciting atmosphere on set, one where noone knew what they were doing. I also tended to throw the camera around when I got bored, but I think this adds to the film's dynamism. It is a shame that I accidentally urinated on the motion control rig, because it created a constant crane loop, sorry about this. Unfortunately the editing room was too small to contain my monkey vitality and we lost one editor cos I chewed on his nose and bashed on his ballsarea. This may have given the film an irregular tempo, but one I'm sure hairy animals will enjoy. On a personal note, I chose to keep the movie long to reproduce how I felt when I was caged in downtown Auckland. There were a few regrettable incidents, like when I threw Jack Black cos I mistook him for a log, but my only real regret is there hadn't been such a debilitating shortage of bananas when we wrote the script. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PcFanDec 20, 2005
Very entaining movie very polished and keeps you entertained from start to finish. only a complete idiot who has nothing better to do would give this movie a 3/10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SchpilkyBlueyDec 21, 2005
The best movie I have seen a long while.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FatimaI.Dec 20, 2005
The movie was the second best movie I ever saw. at the end the movie was so sad. everyone in my family saw it and they all said it was the best movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveC.Dec 20, 2005
Yeah its long in strange places, short in others, but still a fantastic movie . CG were good to excellent, acting a bit cheesy at times (Black, Watts at the start) but why do we go to movies? to analyse or be entertained? hmmm...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AurelioS.Dec 23, 2005
great film, una pasada.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackDec 26, 2005
By the general public, this movie is extremely underrated. Peter Jackson does an AMAZING job of keeping to the original storyline as precisely as possible, but still making it his own. With amazing CGI, awsome performances by Naomi Watts and By the general public, this movie is extremely underrated. Peter Jackson does an AMAZING job of keeping to the original storyline as precisely as possible, but still making it his own. With amazing CGI, awsome performances by Naomi Watts and Jack Black, and a completely orignal and untampered storyline, this movies becomes larger than life. The orginal plot is based around King Kong's love for Naomi Watts character, and Peter Jackson does an amazing job at keeping that aparrent in his movie. All who dislike this movie are just pretentious pricks who dislike any movie that gets aclaim, or really is just plain blind. It's amazing, it certifies Peter Jackson as a genious auture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoseC.Dec 26, 2005
The is long much longer then it needed to be. However, it is still a good movie. if you can't sit still or have finite attention spans. stay home
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattDec 8, 2005
The first hour is so bad, you'll think it's an elaborate joke
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartinDec 8, 2005
Unbelievable!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonR.Dec 9, 2005
Stunning. Jaw-dropping. Emotional. Adrenaline-rushed. Need I go on? Just go and see it. You'll be amazed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AmberA.Dec 9, 2005
This film did not need to be three hours long. There were many parts that could've been cut and it would've made a much tighter movie. Some scenes on the Island were a little too reminiscent of Jurassic Park. Also, you may note thatThis film did not need to be three hours long. There were many parts that could've been cut and it would've made a much tighter movie. Some scenes on the Island were a little too reminiscent of Jurassic Park. Also, you may note that the first people to die when they are traipsing around the jungle are the black man and the chinese man. Some editing incontinuties were hard to miss - such as when Ann and Jack fall into the water from a giant bat's leg, and are both shown in the next scene with completely dry hair flowing in the wind. However, the relationship between Ann and King Kong is touching and well-captured. And the Empire State Building Scene is riveting-especially if you're scared of heights. My summary: this is a perfect Blockbuster film: lots of action, amazing special effects, bad dialogue, and almost no character development or depth (except maybe in King Kong) . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimP.Dec 9, 2005
Very well done and exciting, with Kong an amazing creation. The Skull Island adventures eventually drag on a bit -- the excitement become a bit dulled by repetition -- and there are are few others infelicitious moments and repetitions, but Very well done and exciting, with Kong an amazing creation. The Skull Island adventures eventually drag on a bit -- the excitement become a bit dulled by repetition -- and there are are few others infelicitious moments and repetitions, but if you are a moviegoer at all inclined towards this type of movie, you will be quite satisfied by the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LoreenaT.Jan 11, 2006
I just want to say, that this movie should win Oscars, precious!. Goooood.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerD.Jan 10, 2006
King Kong is one amazing achievement. Kong himself was animated beautifully, and the atmosphere of the movie is incredible. Highly reccomendable. This isn't the same at home. It needs to be seen in theaters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndyT.Jan 10, 2006
My favorite of 2005, Excelent direction of Art.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IvancitoL.Jan 12, 2006
This is the movie of the year 2005!, has everything and full of brightness, funny, scary and emotional.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PavonG.Jan 13, 2006
I already want to buy the DVD, is one of the best I have ever seen, and I have seen thousands.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChipytitaJan 16, 2006
Wonderfull and Fantastic, thats why I like to go to the movies, to see this kind of movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChongKokH.Jan 1, 2006
I think it's a very good movie if you can get what it tries to tell from the movie. I may not understand it completely or may have thought too much. But it's very touching. Imagine a lonely child trying to protect something he I think it's a very good movie if you can get what it tries to tell from the movie. I may not understand it completely or may have thought too much. But it's very touching. Imagine a lonely child trying to protect something he loved and died tragically when he try to give the best to his beloved. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DouglasKOct 18, 2006
A Terrific film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NuttybabyJan 21, 2006
One of my favorites af all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RoxannA.Jan 20, 2006
3 hours went by fast! What an adventure ride! This is the coolest Kong ever. Naomi Watts does the impossible, she's brilliant. I'm sure she played to green screen. Such compassion with few words. Thank God the helpless, victim 3 hours went by fast! What an adventure ride! This is the coolest Kong ever. Naomi Watts does the impossible, she's brilliant. I'm sure she played to green screen. Such compassion with few words. Thank God the helpless, victim female role that is alive and well in contemporary cinema is revised here. Mankind is as cruel and apathetic to Kong as he is to most creatures on our planet today. U know what a horrible ending it will be for Kong, and it's heartbreaking to watch. King Kong is a parable about man's rapacious approach to nature and animals. The laws of Darwin no longer apply today, everything lives or dies based on its relationship or value to man. Here on skull island man is reminded that he's part of the food chain! This is a great adventure story but what made it a great movie is the bond of equals between the blond and the beast. An impossible, poignantly drawn love affair . This was the soul of the movie for me. It was heartbreaking to see Kong die and to know we treat gorillas, wolves and other creatures the same in our world today. Can't be missed on the big screen! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephJan 21, 2006
I thought this film was great, all the effects were excellant and the cast was brill! I didnt know what to expect and was on the edge of my seat the whole time during the film. It has something for everyone and it is defiantly a must see!!! I thought this film was great, all the effects were excellant and the cast was brill! I didnt know what to expect and was on the edge of my seat the whole time during the film. It has something for everyone and it is defiantly a must see!!! I would definatly get it on dvd when it comes out, one of the best films of the year!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CurtisS.Jan 2, 2006
This movie kicked ass and got to the point. this was the best movie that was based on the book ever. the director is the sh.t.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FredJan 3, 2006
One of the best movies of all time, in my honest opinion. The love between Kong and Ann is very well represented to the point that you feel it; heck, you SEE it. In fact, this is probably my favorite "romantic" movie ever because One of the best movies of all time, in my honest opinion. The love between Kong and Ann is very well represented to the point that you feel it; heck, you SEE it. In fact, this is probably my favorite "romantic" movie ever because there's no cheesy dialogue that nobody in their right mind would ever say. This is real. There is no need for dialogue between Ann and Kong. Their love is shown in their emotion and their actions and that's far more believable than two characters saying, "Aw, I love you like the wind loves the..." blah, blah, blah. This is a love that anybody can relate to: well-spoken or not. It's true this film is long, but the long setup simple makes the ending that much more powerful. Would 'The Great Gatsby' be great if it were one page long? Some works of art need setup. King Kong certainly could have been made into a 90-minute Hollywood Special, but it wouldn't have had any emotional impact and it would have been the equivalent of Jurrasic Park: all the action, with none of the meaning. King Kong is a must-see for all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
360bobJan 3, 2006
Just like Titanic you know how it ends but its the journey there and its better than other monster flicks out there like Godzilla or free willy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful