King Kong

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1346 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. RodS.
    Jan 3, 2006
    9
    Most movies serve to either entertain, or to tell a story, many doing both. The question is, how well a movie accomplishes the above. P. Jackson's "King Kong" obviously is not "documentary" in the sense of the story-telling, but for a good old adventure story that is meant to entertain, this movie shines. For three hours I was totally immersed in another world, with all the Most movies serve to either entertain, or to tell a story, many doing both. The question is, how well a movie accomplishes the above. P. Jackson's "King Kong" obviously is not "documentary" in the sense of the story-telling, but for a good old adventure story that is meant to entertain, this movie shines. For three hours I was totally immersed in another world, with all the romaticism and excitement reminiscent of my childhood escapist daydreams. I was enthralled by the images, the color palette, the action, the nail-biting suspense . . . This is a great movie that opens up a world of wonder and excitment, what I believe movie making originally was meant to be. Expand
  2. AdamL
    Jan 4, 2006
    10
    Great Movie, the length is necessary and the effects are amazing.
  3. Angie
    Jan 4, 2006
    9
    Simply Amazing, but if you didn't like Lord of the Rings you aren't going to like this either.... Peter Jackson makes movies for people who actually have attention spans.
  4. DanC.
    Jan 4, 2006
    8
    The best scenes in the movie are when Kong and Ann are together: they showed a development in their relationship, and the special effects are terrific. Sadly, the movie is too LONG, extremely LONG, there a lot of scenes that could been cut and if wouldn't affect anyhow the plot; scenes such as the battle with the giant insects!!!
  5. SimonC.
    Jan 5, 2006
    7
    >Now if you want to explain any of these plot holes be my guest but you won't be able to. OK. Since you asked, I'll try to address a couple of point you have raised. >And sure a small bottle of chloroform will put that Big Ape to sleep. Well, it was an entire flagon of it, and it hit him right on the nose. Would that be enough to put a 25 foot gorilla to sleep? I don't >Now if you want to explain any of these plot holes be my guest but you won't be able to. OK. Since you asked, I'll try to address a couple of point you have raised. >And sure a small bottle of chloroform will put that Big Ape to sleep. Well, it was an entire flagon of it, and it hit him right on the nose. Would that be enough to put a 25 foot gorilla to sleep? I don't know, but it's debatable, and therefore hardly a glaring plot hole. >Can anyone explain how he did not drown or how they lifted him on the damged little tug boat that could? When he fell unconscious, his was clearly shown resting on a rock, not in the water. Who knows how they got him to the boat. They may have been able to bring the ship closer and winch him aboard. Perhaps this is unlikely, but again, I wouldn't consider it to be a glaring plot hole. It's not a documentary, you know. >And if you want to believe that how did they feed him or contain him on his journey back to NYC? Do you want to tell me that they magically obtained steel chains that tied him to the damaged boat? Is it inconceivable that a boat and crew that specialises in capturing wild animals would have chains and sufficient food on board? I'd suggest they rigged up a cage and chains on the main cargo deck. >Well, if that's not bad enough when he arrives in NYC they had to have rehearsals before the native dance number with the blonde, not Ann Darrow, sacrifice right? How come he never reacted that entire time. I guess he waited for opening night to destroy NYC? The flashbulbs from the press clearly triggered his rage. The press would not have been there for rehearsals, only for opening night. > And if that wasn't enough, the ending in the winter with Ann without a coat in a light spring dress with high heels ascending up the ladder to the top of the tallest building in NYC was just the icing on the cake. So she was wearing the costume from that chorus girl show she was in, and didn't put on a cold because she ran outside in a rush after hearing the commotion. Is that such a big deal? >And by the way, where did the natives disappear to? Remember that they risked life and limb to kidnap Ann for Kong but somehow vanished when he got hit with a little teenie weenie bottle of chloroform. A) They cleared out when the sailors arrived with guns. B) I assume they would have cleared even further out when they heard Kong smashing the gate down. They weren't trying to feed Darrow to Kong because they love him, you know. It was a sacrifice. They were terrified of him. They wouldn't stick around to see what happened after he knocked the gate down. >You people raving about this trailer trash of a movie are totally insane. You are desparately in need of some professional help. I didn't think the movie was fantastic at all. I thought the compositing between CG and live action was often poor, and I loathe the jerky motion effect Jackson uses in the first encounter with the island natives, but most of the issues you have raised here are non-issues, given the fantastic premise of the film. If you want it to adhere stictly to the limits of reality, there would be NO 25 foot ape! Expand
  6. John
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    This is an unbelievable movie on nearly every conceivable level. Furthermore, I am aghast at how many people have rated this a zero. Have the seen the original?!? Roger Ebert was right in saying that it is "like the flowering of all the possibilities in the original classic film." I want to see it again.
  7. KINKYC.
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    Well!, there are many comments here!, some hate movies and enter here to give a Zero!, and persons like me who love Fantasy movies, over all if it is done with all the love like Peter J. can put in this amazing project, one of the best for 2005.
  8. ChukC.
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    I agree with most o real critics no with those who would like to be a real one. Because no one movie deserves a 0 , well no one like this. This is simply an excelent picture, I give it more than 10.
  9. JohnR.
    Feb 12, 2006
    10
    The most under appreciated movie of all time. though the movie overall was hailed in with alot of critical approval when it opened, the media like a double edge sword set out to squash this movie like an ant with such criticisms as length, slow start, Jack Black being miscast etc. Love it or hate it this is one movie everyone needs to see for themselves I have seen it ten times now and The most under appreciated movie of all time. though the movie overall was hailed in with alot of critical approval when it opened, the media like a double edge sword set out to squash this movie like an ant with such criticisms as length, slow start, Jack Black being miscast etc. Love it or hate it this is one movie everyone needs to see for themselves I have seen it ten times now and honestly can't wait for the dvd release. If I had to sum this movie up with one short sentence then that would be to say that this movie is simply beautiful an action adventure yarn with at its core a pure and gentle heart. Expand
  10. IsaiahR.
    Feb 12, 2006
    10
    A must see for fans of the original 1933 version or movie fantasy lovers everywhere. Why on earth anyone would rate this movie a zero is beyond me. I have seen this movie 10 times with my Dad and each time I have seen this movie it just gets beter and better. Awesome special effects the best I have seen to date on film, and if anyone doubts this then just watch the vine scene again most A must see for fans of the original 1933 version or movie fantasy lovers everywhere. Why on earth anyone would rate this movie a zero is beyond me. I have seen this movie 10 times with my Dad and each time I have seen this movie it just gets beter and better. Awesome special effects the best I have seen to date on film, and if anyone doubts this then just watch the vine scene again most of the shots with Naomi are not the work of a stunt double but a CGI double this goes the same with all the scenes featuring New York, an amazing set peice built on an industrial lot in the Hutt Valley in New Zealand otherwise completely CGI and if you are still not convinced then watch the production diaries for yourself. Man who would have thought that a 25 foot CGI Gorilla named Kong could bring so many people to tears simply awesome in much the same way that a human bonds with a family pet, and as for Naomi Watts 10 out of 10 for her acting opposite Kong to convey such emotion, when for majority of the filming you would have had to imagine your 25 foot co star opposite you what a feat and she pulls it off beautifully. LONG... LONG hmmm you know after 10 times you would think that I would agree but HELL NO!!!!, a good story needs good characterizations to back it up and Mr Jackson does this perfectly though my only complaint would be the scene with Naomi and the old guy outside the closed theatre they once worked together at, a little over the top and a bit longer than it needed to be. Yet even this does not cause me to rethink my rating of this film as this is movie perfection at its best the finest movie I have seen to date... which leaves me to ponder how on earth Chronicles of Narnia could have ever made so much more at the box office than Kong when Kong is definately a far more entertaining movie from start to finish. If there is anything that leaves me with a foul stench in my mouth about this movie it would be how on earth this movie did not get an oscar nomination for best film, best actress, best director or best composer of a movie score, obvously there is no justice in the world. Expand
  11. RichardM.
    Feb 16, 2006
    10
    i was beguiled into absorbed escapism by Jackson's entrancing enchanting fantasy romance i still drift into reflective journeys thru scenes and issues that seem so real and plot issues that urge me to resolve them to me, the paradox of extreme fantasy against absorbed escapism cis the mark of an outstanding movie with its deceptively obvious beginnings, this is surely the least i was beguiled into absorbed escapism by Jackson's entrancing enchanting fantasy romance i still drift into reflective journeys thru scenes and issues that seem so real and plot issues that urge me to resolve them to me, the paradox of extreme fantasy against absorbed escapism cis the mark of an outstanding movie with its deceptively obvious beginnings, this is surely the least appreciated film masterpiece of the decade to date. Expand
  12. ArielG.
    Feb 9, 2006
    8
    Entertaining movie, though not memorable. Two things I had to draw my mind away from when I was watching it: I couldn't buy Adrien Brody as the hero - He's much too frail and androgynous looking to be a hero. And Jack Black was very miscast in his role. Naomi Watts was good though. It's great if you're wanting to watch an entertaining popcorn movie where you don't Entertaining movie, though not memorable. Two things I had to draw my mind away from when I was watching it: I couldn't buy Adrien Brody as the hero - He's much too frail and androgynous looking to be a hero. And Jack Black was very miscast in his role. Naomi Watts was good though. It's great if you're wanting to watch an entertaining popcorn movie where you don't have to think too much during and after the movie, and don't mind nonstop action and CGI. Expand
  13. BJN.
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    I was a nine year old at the movies again. One of the best movies I've seen all year. A great story, and technical wizardry with so much heart. So marvelous to see NYC decades ago. Just magical.
  14. CaptainS.
    Mar 29, 2006
    8
    Another wonderful film from Peter Jackson, beautifully filmed and full (mostly) of action. This version of King Kong could possibly be the ultimate version (even more "ultimate" than the original, which for me is a big statement). The effects by WETA Digital are of course top notch and big accolades should be heaped on Andy Serkis for his work as Kong! Yep, you heard me right...Serkis Another wonderful film from Peter Jackson, beautifully filmed and full (mostly) of action. This version of King Kong could possibly be the ultimate version (even more "ultimate" than the original, which for me is a big statement). The effects by WETA Digital are of course top notch and big accolades should be heaped on Andy Serkis for his work as Kong! Yep, you heard me right...Serkis done the movements for the ape, just like he did for Gollum in LOTR. The only snag I found in this movie was that it was a bit too long and that it drug slightly at the beginning. Other than that, this one is wonderful. Nice going Peter Jackson...a winner. Expand
  15. JaredC.
    Apr 7, 2006
    10
    This movie is stellar in every way. If they had an award for biggest "badass of the year" other than me, Kong would definitely win. Awesome Movie!
  16. LeeC.
    May 5, 2006
    8
    Extremely Great Movie.
  17. jskim
    May 8, 2006
    10
    This is a truly great movie...so simple, but so effective...it's not complicated - just a tragic story that holds you emotionally and visually from beginning to end. king kong proves that a movie doesn't have to be comlex to keep your attention. it is a perfect update of the original...it keeps everything that was good about the original and improves upon everything else. anyone This is a truly great movie...so simple, but so effective...it's not complicated - just a tragic story that holds you emotionally and visually from beginning to end. king kong proves that a movie doesn't have to be comlex to keep your attention. it is a perfect update of the original...it keeps everything that was good about the original and improves upon everything else. anyone who says the special effects are over-done is a moron...just because there are a lot of special effects doesn't mean they're over-done...if the effects are done right, you can have a lot without it being forced. this is a perfect example of how you use special effects to add to the movie rather than just cramming them in because you can...the emotions displayed by kong really grab you...any movie that makes you feel strongly for a computer generated gorilla is already a huge accomplishment... peter jackson is hands down the best director working right now...he can pull off a big special effects blockbuster without letting the effects overpower the story. thank you peter jackson for being such a skillfull director who hasn't forgotten that the most important part of a movie is its heart. Expand
  18. MarkD
    Jul 12, 2007
    9
    I see views and ratings vary wildly for this movie. Some criticisms are just; it was a teeny bit too long and some of the action scenes were poorly done and unnecessary. I get the impression, though, that some people are carping and nit picking while choosing to ignore (or perhaps just not getting) the emotional and moral core at the heart of this movie. The key is in the very last line - I see views and ratings vary wildly for this movie. Some criticisms are just; it was a teeny bit too long and some of the action scenes were poorly done and unnecessary. I get the impression, though, that some people are carping and nit picking while choosing to ignore (or perhaps just not getting) the emotional and moral core at the heart of this movie. The key is in the very last line - and it's heartbreaking. If you don't get it I'm not going to explain it to you but to sum it up, this movie is both exciting and beautiful. This movie is Hollywood at it's very best. Expand
  19. AustinM.
    Aug 9, 2007
    10
    Kong's one the greatest movies ever, excellent special effects, I love every action scene in this movie. After those three hours, it felt like the movie was short, I know most people saw it's long, but I didn't, I wanted at least another half hour.
  20. Matty
    Dec 10, 2005
    10
    One of the year's best: intense action, dramatic excellence, nostalgic bits, exceedingly well done....there is no more need for adjectives.
  21. JayB.
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    This isn't your great grand daddy's Kong! Jackson has swung at his lifelong dream project, and he has clearly hit the game winning grand slam in the bottom of the ninth inning of the 7th game of the World Series. Jackson keeps reinventing the cinema. That ape had more personality and emotion than half the fluffy Hollywood actors working today! A couple of things concerned me This isn't your great grand daddy's Kong! Jackson has swung at his lifelong dream project, and he has clearly hit the game winning grand slam in the bottom of the ninth inning of the 7th game of the World Series. Jackson keeps reinventing the cinema. That ape had more personality and emotion than half the fluffy Hollywood actors working today! A couple of things concerned me going in: (A) The 3 hour length, (B) Jack Black as the lead character, and (C) Did this classic REALLY need to be remade once again? Well, all I can say is (A) never has 3 hours moved so swiftly, (B) Jack Black can be successfully directed in a non-comedic role, and (C) not only did it need to be remade, but this is the movie that had everything that was missing in the original: namely, an ape with enough heart, emotion, and character to make grown people cry at his demise, and special effects so dazzling that you'd swear that reality was happening before your very eyes! Enough will be written in the weeks to come about its various shortcomings (and ALL film can be critiqued to death if you stop and think about it!) but what can't be ignored is that this is one helluva masterpiece in design, flow, and character study that will go down as one of the greatest achievements in cinema history. Run, do not walk, to see and revel in this magical fantasy by this genius filmmaker!!! Expand
  22. MyWhirledView
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    Best movie of the year... I wasn't sure how it would go, and fearing the worst... but I wasn't disappointed! Go see it today!
  23. JayJ.
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    The best movieyet in this this century.
  24. MatH.
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    Grand, glorious, and spectacular. Peter Jackson continues to take the American blockbuster to artistic heights it has never seen before.
  25. JeffT
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    I struggle to find faults, yet can find none. Bob p, you are not a paleontologist. I'm a history student, and I'm not freaking out about it.
  26. Dan
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    I'm very sorry, Matt C....Kong is only four tons, which is well within the carrying capacity of any ship half the size of that ship. And if this constitutes a major plot hole to you, then you must have an a mental age of between three to seven years. And if you want to see a movie with a suck-ass story, watch the Ring "Oooh a killer movie! Be afraid! Be very afraid!" But I digress I'm very sorry, Matt C....Kong is only four tons, which is well within the carrying capacity of any ship half the size of that ship. And if this constitutes a major plot hole to you, then you must have an a mental age of between three to seven years. And if you want to see a movie with a suck-ass story, watch the Ring "Oooh a killer movie! Be afraid! Be very afraid!" But I digress from my intellectual mauling of Matt C.'s flawed opinions and assumptions. The movie kicked ass people. See it ASAP. Signing off. Expand
  27. SeanK.
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    This was the most entertaining and heart stopping film I can remember seeing since Jurassic Park. It made me feel like a kid all over again. It made me laugh, jump out of my seat, squirm in fear, and even tear up. It's a great technical achievement as well as a great personal achievement for Jackson. In other words it confirms that Jackson is the best big budget filmmaker working This was the most entertaining and heart stopping film I can remember seeing since Jurassic Park. It made me feel like a kid all over again. It made me laugh, jump out of my seat, squirm in fear, and even tear up. It's a great technical achievement as well as a great personal achievement for Jackson. In other words it confirms that Jackson is the best big budget filmmaker working Hollywood. I cant wait to see what he does next. This is definitely one of the best films of the year. Expand
  28. ShanaH.
    Dec 15, 2005
    8
    Sounds obvious, but this film is ALL about Kong. It really only comes into its own once he's on screen. And then you're literally in the palm of his hand. If you haven't seen yet, my one recommendation would be - bring kleenex! Jack Black - can you get any more one-dimensional?
  29. BrookeB.
    Dec 15, 2005
    8
    An amazing ride!! Colossal, frightening, and romantic - all in one. A must-see on a big screen. Well done, Peter Jackson, well done.
  30. JamieP.
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    Peter Jackson is a brilliant filmmaker. This film may drag a little in the beginning according to the MTV low attention span people but it also stakes an investment in the characters. And I'm all for "that's your opinion" and I could understand not thinking this film is brilliant but if you give this movie under 6 you are an idiot.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Devin Gordon
    90
    A surprisingly tender, even heartbreaking, film. Like the original, it's a tragic tale of beauty and the beast.
  2. What a movie! This is how the medium seduced us originally.
  3. One of the wonders of the holiday season.