Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 14, 2005
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1359 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
972
Mixed:
146
Negative:
241
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
MichaelO.Jan 10, 2006
Really, most of this movie was quite good. The story isn't much, but it's an action flick. The special effects were pretty good, although some of them seemed silly. The huge downside to this movie is that it's about 60 minutes Really, most of this movie was quite good. The story isn't much, but it's an action flick. The special effects were pretty good, although some of them seemed silly. The huge downside to this movie is that it's about 60 minutes too long. Some scenes just drag on and on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FredG.Jan 1, 2006
A little too long, and parts of it were unnecessarily drawn out (esp. near the end) - but as a remake scenes in this were just incredible to watch. It would have been perfect if he had saved some of the extended scenes for the DVD and cut A little too long, and parts of it were unnecessarily drawn out (esp. near the end) - but as a remake scenes in this were just incredible to watch. It would have been perfect if he had saved some of the extended scenes for the DVD and cut the movie shorter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DimitrisB.Jan 11, 2006
It a good remake.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Alfa2005Jan 12, 2006
O.k. stop of discussing!, what are u looking for into a movie theater?, quality of story and a visual travel?, this movie works!, good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DennisB.Jan 1, 2006
what makes this movie great is also what most detractors are complaining about; it is a non-stop onslaught of adrenaline. there are, in fact, reports of people coming out of the theatres feeling physically exhausted, not bored or tired, what makes this movie great is also what most detractors are complaining about; it is a non-stop onslaught of adrenaline. there are, in fact, reports of people coming out of the theatres feeling physically exhausted, not bored or tired, EXHAUSTED. nobody who gives this movie a "5" or lower rating can even be taken seriously here, as anybody who knows anything about filmmaking can tell you that the special effects alone are revolutionary and deserving of respect. naomi watts is beautiful and engaging, showing incredible skill considering much of her scenes were shot against blue screen. jack black shows charming restraint in his subtle villainy, and adrien brody is an understated leading man who comes across as a real human, not cut from the typical action hero mold. simply stated: this is a great film that will be remembered as a classic in the vain of "raiders of the lost arc," "titanic," and the original "star wars" trilogy. the question potential viewers need to ask themselves is, "can i handle a marathon that feels more like a sprint?" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MovieeaterJan 13, 2006
Hey, I dont believe to some people, why give less than 5 to this enormous and excelent movie, feel envy?, whatever, the best for me since trilogy Lord of the rings.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RharoKongoJan 13, 2006
Big, great, excellent, wonderful, one of the wonders of 2005, but not the eight, maybe the second or one, yes for me is the ONE.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GalanChisJan 13, 2006
Many comments here !, dont say more, just that this kong is the best Kong of all, and the movie is perfect cause it searched the excelence. That is more than notorius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielV.Jan 15, 2006
Better than Star wars when the story looses and you can only remember the visual effects after see it, but this is not the case, is a Big monkey, a big budget yes, and a Big Picture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatrickB.Jan 15, 2006
Outstanding movie IF they would have stopped at Skull Island. If they would have just gotten away and killed Kong in the process it would have been a perfect ending. Unfortunately, in staying true to the original, he New York ending seems Outstanding movie IF they would have stopped at Skull Island. If they would have just gotten away and killed Kong in the process it would have been a perfect ending. Unfortunately, in staying true to the original, he New York ending seems tacked on and contrived. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeG.Jan 16, 2006
I think that king kong is a super film becuase of it's amount of thriling prats that is has in it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BelindaT.Jan 21, 2006
Para mi el cine es diversion, y si está repleto de arte como esta pelicula, pues es genial, como para verla una y otra vez!, no es perfecta como no lo es ninguna cinta pero le doy mi máximo...10
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BiBIL.Jan 21, 2006
Gladiator, Titanic, Lord of the rings, Cinderella man, The sixth sense and King kong are GREAT!.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanD.Jan 21, 2006
Any one who is not entertained by this movie, I hear Cheaper by the Dozen has a squel out, you might want to check that out. Peter Jackson's vision truly comes alive in this movie, that is more that just explosions and special effects. Any one who is not entertained by this movie, I hear Cheaper by the Dozen has a squel out, you might want to check that out. Peter Jackson's vision truly comes alive in this movie, that is more that just explosions and special effects. It is an entertaining story that makes the three hours worth it. I'll agree that it was a touch long, but almost necessary when you have to develope a main character that is a CGI ape who can't talk. Grab a bucket of popcorn and enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlesL.Jan 2, 2006
This movie was simply amazing. All the people who give it 1s or 0s have no opinion at all, and are here by banned from voting again. You can't simply give a movie a 0 or 1 because it was too long, or YOU didn't like it. Its about This movie was simply amazing. All the people who give it 1s or 0s have no opinion at all, and are here by banned from voting again. You can't simply give a movie a 0 or 1 because it was too long, or YOU didn't like it. Its about what other people like, and that is great story telling, terrific acting, a great plot, and amazing special effects. Sure, some scenes felt a little cheesy, but those were followed up by scenes of magnificent perfection, scenes that star wars or lord of the rings could never show, scenes of love, with out words. Ann didn't say she loved kong, but you could feel it, and a movie that lets you feel emotion is perfection. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinM.Dec 6, 2006
This was by far the best version of Kong that I have seen. Jack Black was great and after watching the film couldn't pick a better person for that role. Great flick and a great job by the crew.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GerronKJan 26, 2006
Excellent!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkB.Jan 3, 2006
If I really wanted to dig deep to find a complaint, I suppose I could point out that Peter Jackson's depiction of Skull Island as the ultimate untamed frontier--replete with dinosaurs that cause more damage bumping into each other than If I really wanted to dig deep to find a complaint, I suppose I could point out that Peter Jackson's depiction of Skull Island as the ultimate untamed frontier--replete with dinosaurs that cause more damage bumping into each other than attacking you, bugs the size of kitchen toasters, and not a single smooth-surfaced rock in sight--inadvertently reinforces the Cheneyesque view that ALL of nature needs to be controlled, dominated and bulldozed. But that argument is strictly academic (not to say facetious); Jackson, whose Lord of the Rings films I've admired at arm's length without actually loving, has made a grand entertainment that's deeply respectful to Merian Cooper's and Ernest Schoedsack's 1933 classic when necessary, improves on it when even more necessary, and is among the speediest three hours I've ever spent in or outside a theater. First up for praise is the picture's truly spectacular production design, which elevates computer work to an uncharted level; not only is the aforementioned Skull Island the ultimate outdoor charnel house waiting to happen, but even more astonishing is Jackson's depiction of both economic ends of Depression-era New York. (I've seen hundreds of early 1930s films and other depictions of the time, and was floored by how accurately Jackson got every detail--right down to the style of poster lettering at the burlesque house where Ann Darrow considers working.) The technical excellence wouldn't register nearly as sharply without the human element, and the central performances wonderfully flesh out what were strictly one-dimensional characterizations in the original: Andy Serkis makes the big ape more recognizably human than most human actors playing human beings made them this year; Adrien Brody satisfyingly portrays the best kind of movie hero--an unexpected one; and Jack Black so amusingly and pungently conveys the carny-act sleaziness of filmmaker Carl Denham that it may disappoint some viewers that his character doesn't get more of a comeuppance than he does. The real breakthrough, however, is Naomi Watts: she's previously been impressive in everything she's done (Mulholland Drive, 21 Grams, I Heart Huckabees) but responding largely to greenscreen and Serkis, truly becomes a great actress here, transforming a role that was previously trademarked by Fay Wray's wall-to-wall screaming into a stunning portrait of childlike wonder and adult compassion; only Amy Adams in Junebug is Watts' recent equal in depicting a genuinely good person without making her unbelievable or saccharine. (Time magazine film critic Richard Schickel's cranky assertion that Watts' Ann Darrow has the hots for Kong has got to be the most ridiculous statement that Schickel has made in a mostly honorable 50-year career, but then the gleeful schaudenfraude exhibited by some of the press over the fact that Kong will end up doing healthy Batman Begins business, rather than unprecedented Titanic box office is equally childish and disgraceful.) Watts' characterization of Ann, and its conception on the script level, mark the point where Jackson's Kong transcends Cooper's and Schoedsack's; not only does it make infinitely more dramatic sense for Ann to NOT want anything to do with Kong's exploitation and degradation, but her complex, multifaceted tenderness towards him far surpasses Fay Wray's bling, one-note terror, which for me was the most annoying and frustrating aspect of the original; Watts transforms this Kong into a far more emotionally resonant and heartwrenching experience. Everyone laughed when the 1976 Dino DeLaurentiis-produced remake (a misguided effort marked by badly-conceived social commentary, newcomer Jessica Lange's amusing spin on the heroine, and lots of footage of a guy in an ape suit) touted itself as the "most original" film of its time; what's really amazing nearly 30 years later is that in a movie year that seemingly featured more movie remakes than ever (mostly unnecessary or worse), Jackson, in brilliantly and beautifully reimagining what for many movie fans is inviolable, has made a film that's truly deserving of that claim. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulF.Jan 3, 2006
Worst part to the whole movie was that it was all of three hours. This film could have easily been two great films instead of one almost really good film. The first part was almost two hours and was very entertaining but it was too much of a Worst part to the whole movie was that it was all of three hours. This film could have easily been two great films instead of one almost really good film. The first part was almost two hours and was very entertaining but it was too much of a jarring to cut straight back to New York. The relationship with King Kong and the blonde beauty almost seemed more romantic than a platonic love. It was conveyed really well and left her love for the writer out in the cold. It was a choice that was interesting but could have been more balanced. It was hard for me to take Jack Black seriously but overall I think he did better than expected. The best aspect to this film was the special effects, the best I have ever seen, and that's saying a lot. The only problem was the action was at times over the top for too long. My adernals were on overload and eventual numb to the experience. It's definitely worth a see but sad that it could have been so much more. I preferred the version with Jeff Bridges better. King Kong seemed much genteler at first and the blonde beauty seemed to truly love her man as well as her beast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BB3RJan 4, 2006
Many people hate this movie, thats because they dont know how to enjoy fantasy or... dont have any idea about quality of movies, just relax men and enjoy the picture, one of the best this year. AMAZING !!.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanF.Jan 5, 2006
Don't listen to the whiners here. Hands-down, this is the best popcorn movie I've ever seen. A thin storyline and long running time was more than made up for by the relentless action, scares, and just plain FUN. The last line of Don't listen to the whiners here. Hands-down, this is the best popcorn movie I've ever seen. A thin storyline and long running time was more than made up for by the relentless action, scares, and just plain FUN. The last line of the movie was pretty silly, but that's all that kept it from a 10 to me. If you're looking for story, see Munich or Syriana. But if you want fun, Kong is king. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarcelG.Jan 6, 2006
Well made and lot of action. Great attention to detail. Focus to much on lady-gorrilla relationship! Very emotional and powerful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YoliKnightJan 7, 2006
I went to see this movie recently and now I love it. Excellent!.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LuxyPichusJan 7, 2006
Hey only one word!, GREAT!. Dont go see it if u dont enjoy fantasy. Because this is big!!! BIG.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidMOct 7, 2006
My jaw still remains open, my eyes still wet with tears. You can choose to take it literally, or symbolic, either way...magnificent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChapixJan 8, 2006
No words for this fantastic movie, because then I can not stop... all here is Geat!. Excelent !.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MathewA.Jan 8, 2006
An amazing experience with little techincal flaw. Jack Black's performance was the only real element that hurt the film, however he is easily forgiven as the majority of Kong involves.. well, Kong.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomD.Jan 9, 2006
Absolutely worh your money. Yes, slightly overlong, but you might as well complain that Tchaikovsky used string instruments too often. If you're looking for a film that is a quick and punishing monster flick, you're better off Absolutely worh your money. Yes, slightly overlong, but you might as well complain that Tchaikovsky used string instruments too often. If you're looking for a film that is a quick and punishing monster flick, you're better off reviewing the original. If, instead, you want to see great performances, stunning visual effects and a polished story and plot that leave you feeling satisfied but still wanting more, then this would be your film. I hope it makes a shitload of money - when held up against the lesser and weaker Narnia film, it certainly deserves to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
jamesbondageJan 9, 2006
A very impressive movie that proves, at times, there can be too much of a good thing. The acting was good, and was impressed by Jack Black but they could have cut a few of the action sequences. They tended to go on a little long. But to the A very impressive movie that proves, at times, there can be too much of a good thing. The acting was good, and was impressed by Jack Black but they could have cut a few of the action sequences. They tended to go on a little long. But to the people who hated it, just be glad it was Jackson and not Michael Bay who re-made Kong, or there would have been zero character development and would have been a huge steaming pile of monkey crap. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BombitoJan 9, 2006
Very, very Goooooooooood movie!, just for poeple who seriously loves Cimena.
0 of 0 users found this helpful