King Kong

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1346 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. JeremyS.
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    This movie will appeal to an adult at all of his/her ages through life. It really has it all. The cinematography is stunning and exhilarating.
  2. LukeS.
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    Overwhelming in every sense of the word. See it NOW!!!
  3. ChaseP.
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    I loved this movie!!! After the first 30 minutes the movie bagan to pick up speed and nothing slowed it down. This on is a keeper!!
  4. Spartacus
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    Why are so many people here racist? You PC idiots, It's a film! With Heart of Darkness as a ref! If you people knew anything about real racism, you'd cry yourself to sleep.
  5. ConorL.
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    I was absolutely stunned by this movie. it must surely appeal to every age of human possible from grandma to wee baby boy. when you catch yourself with your legs up infront of your face hiding from the action and half an hour later melting into the sombre eyes of the female lead.... you know this movie ticks all the boxes. film of my year.
  6. JackD.
    Dec 16, 2005
    10
    All these bad reviews!!! Go ahead, make a better movie, you guys couldn't even make a movie as good (or bad) as Uwe Boll, because if you could you wouldn't be sitting around complaining about it on your PC. You are all a waste. Don't get me wrong, I don't like most Hollywood blockbusters (Independance Day or what have you), they are awful. But if you really think Peter All these bad reviews!!! Go ahead, make a better movie, you guys couldn't even make a movie as good (or bad) as Uwe Boll, because if you could you wouldn't be sitting around complaining about it on your PC. You are all a waste. Don't get me wrong, I don't like most Hollywood blockbusters (Independance Day or what have you), they are awful. But if you really think Peter Jackson is a hack, watch Heavenly Creatures. And if you think LOTR is bad, well several Oscars and many other awards given by people who do other things besides complain about movies on the computer seem to think otherwise. Expand
  7. Alex
    Dec 16, 2005
    10
    Considering the films that critics have been raving over lately, I'm surprised King Kong got such great reviews even though Kong wasn't a dead author or a queer cowboy. I guess this movie must be good. It was just pure entertainment.....think about it...did you really expect this movie to explore the forbidden love of beastiality? Come on.....just because a movie is made merely Considering the films that critics have been raving over lately, I'm surprised King Kong got such great reviews even though Kong wasn't a dead author or a queer cowboy. I guess this movie must be good. It was just pure entertainment.....think about it...did you really expect this movie to explore the forbidden love of beastiality? Come on.....just because a movie is made merely to tell an entertaining story doesn't mean it's shallow and over-hyped....P.S. I didn't even realize the movie was so long until i got up after the closing credits rolled and i realized my legs were asleep. If Pete Jackson can make me forget that I even have legs, I'd say he's a master of the craft. Expand
  8. LanceM.
    Dec 16, 2005
    8
    Great remake of a classic movie. Peter Jackson has once again shown that he has an eye for the story as well as action. Would definitely see it again.
  9. TracyB.
    Dec 16, 2005
    7
    Visually stunning, moving in arts but the story was streched to long. Should have been cut by 1 hour, at least 30 minutes. I really wanted to love it but the length minimized the impact.
  10. BakracM.
    Dec 16, 2005
    9
    Great movie almost perfect!
  11. Zach
    Dec 16, 2005
    8
    I saw this movie last night and was surprised how good it was. I was expecting it would be long and boring like those LOTR movies Jackson was behind, but this was good. It's worth it to see King Kong fighting the T'Rexes alone. Tons of action, really fun to see.
  12. ChrisE.
    Dec 16, 2005
    10
    I wonder if those of you who gave this a low rating saw the same film I did. Yes, it was a bit long (Jackson is not one to do things in a hurry) but it was magical. This is why we go to the movies. The T-Rex fight (not to spoil anything) was one of the best action sequences put to film. Maybe none of it was "there" but still. This film is fun, sad, sacry, funny...eveything a film should I wonder if those of you who gave this a low rating saw the same film I did. Yes, it was a bit long (Jackson is not one to do things in a hurry) but it was magical. This is why we go to the movies. The T-Rex fight (not to spoil anything) was one of the best action sequences put to film. Maybe none of it was "there" but still. This film is fun, sad, sacry, funny...eveything a film should be. There is a difference between movies and films. Movies are put out for a buck, good or bad, they have no real value (i.e. Spider-Man, Wedding Crashers). Films mean something and make you feel something (i.e. American Beauty) This is the very definition (at least MY very definition) of a film. Expand
  13. TonyB.
    Dec 17, 2005
    9
    Totally enjoyed it. A few minor things could have been changed (mixing dinosaurs and people running together, and any ofthe people surviving was a bit of a stretch, and the same with those pesky insects). The close ups of Naomi were beautiful, BTW. If you go to movies to be entertained, I can't think of any movie that could have done it better. I enjoyed it at least as much as the Totally enjoyed it. A few minor things could have been changed (mixing dinosaurs and people running together, and any ofthe people surviving was a bit of a stretch, and the same with those pesky insects). The close ups of Naomi were beautiful, BTW. If you go to movies to be entertained, I can't think of any movie that could have done it better. I enjoyed it at least as much as the original. The only changes I would have liked to have seen would have been a little less of the first hour, and a little more of scenes in NY at the end. Expand
  14. AnthonyB.
    Dec 17, 2005
    10
    Hooo! What more I can say. That was spectacularly breathtaking movie! King Kong got it all. Horror, romance, comedy, adventure....they are all mixed in one movie. Seems that, it was another trilogy by none other than trilogy master, Sir Peter Jackson! Best part was the scenes in the Island. That was soooo chilling and it was making your breath to stop. Audience yelling and screaming and Hooo! What more I can say. That was spectacularly breathtaking movie! King Kong got it all. Horror, romance, comedy, adventure....they are all mixed in one movie. Seems that, it was another trilogy by none other than trilogy master, Sir Peter Jackson! Best part was the scenes in the Island. That was soooo chilling and it was making your breath to stop. Audience yelling and screaming and suddenly bursting to laugh. Two times crying scene, epical in style. Thats it! A must see movie! I love Peter Jackson films! The best so far in the History of World Entertainment . Expand
  15. JeremyD.
    Dec 17, 2005
    9
    Excellent movie. An homage to Hollywood really.
  16. DarrelRhea
    Dec 17, 2005
    10
    Delightfully over the top, and then some. This movie is just plain fun!
  17. JeethJ.
    Dec 17, 2005
    9
    The movie was great.....especially the visuals and the expressions of kong......excellent stuff by peter jackson.
  18. SteveP.
    Dec 17, 2005
    7
    Some people say Kong is a flawless masterpiece. Some say it is a boring, grueling crapfest. The truth: Neither; Kong falls somewhere in between. The CGI is nothing to complain about, because it's some of the best ever used. My main beef with the movie is that most of it plays out like a videogame. Naomi Watts swings back and forth and nearly gets eaten. Big bugs make the audience Some people say Kong is a flawless masterpiece. Some say it is a boring, grueling crapfest. The truth: Neither; Kong falls somewhere in between. The CGI is nothing to complain about, because it's some of the best ever used. My main beef with the movie is that most of it plays out like a videogame. Naomi Watts swings back and forth and nearly gets eaten. Big bugs make the audience scream out, "Eww!!!" I would equate King Kong with one of those 3D movies at Disney World. Then the very next moment it is playing sad music and you are staring at the soulful eyes of a dying Kong. Also, I agree. 3 Hours is too long of a movie. I don't blame Jackson, because trying to entertain someone for 3 hours is an ambitious task. Bottome Line: Some of it is a marvel to look at, and some is really cool, but I never have much fun with Jackson's movies. Expand
  19. FenceSitter
    Dec 17, 2005
    10
    Highly enjoyable, great performance from Andy Serkis.
  20. ChrisM.
    Dec 18, 2005
    9
    If you didn't like it, I feel bad for you.
  21. AndyC.
    Dec 18, 2005
    9
    The only reason this film does not gain a perfect ten is that it is, at the end of the day, a remake. Most of the audience know the end, but what a ride they have on the way! We've had so many years of soulless CGI blockbusters; here the effects are used for a reason. The middle section is the most exciting and fun film I've seen for a long time. In fact I haven't had that The only reason this film does not gain a perfect ten is that it is, at the end of the day, a remake. Most of the audience know the end, but what a ride they have on the way! We've had so many years of soulless CGI blockbusters; here the effects are used for a reason. The middle section is the most exciting and fun film I've seen for a long time. In fact I haven't had that much celluloid fun since Raiders of the Lost Ark. Perhaps I need to get out more? I took my ten year old daughter to see this, who has never seen the original. She thoroughly enjoyed every minute. However, she was dry eyed at the end! I suspect the running time of the movie dilutes the impact of Kong's demise; deep down somewhere we are quite relieved to see him go. For my own part I blubbed like a baby. I always laugh when I see so much deep analysis of a film like this. It's the story of a 25 foot tall gorilla that falls in love with a girl, whilst tearing merry hell out of jungle monsters and New York. With that in mind it delivers everything for which you could wish. Expand
  22. JonahG.
    Dec 18, 2005
    10
    I thought that this was the best major release of the year. Jackson is able to create a tension and passion between Watts and Kong that would is almost impossible. The only detractor from the movie is Adrian Brody, who's character seems lost, as if its role is not fully understood by the writer or the actor. This is a fault that can be forgiven for this is a truly great movie which I thought that this was the best major release of the year. Jackson is able to create a tension and passion between Watts and Kong that would is almost impossible. The only detractor from the movie is Adrian Brody, who's character seems lost, as if its role is not fully understood by the writer or the actor. This is a fault that can be forgiven for this is a truly great movie which is able to weave a romantic storyline with incredible action sequences seamlessly. Expand
  23. EllisVanG.
    Dec 18, 2005
    10
    Great Movie.. Just ask Good as the Lord of The Rings Series. Peter jackson is a Movie Director god!
  24. ArnieG.
    Dec 18, 2005
    10
    Easily the best movie so far of the 21st century.
  25. BitBurn
    Dec 18, 2005
    9
    It's hard too believe that this movie received scores lower than 6, I mean, come on people! Sure, romance is not for everybody but the special effects alone are worth a 6, minimum!
  26. AdamB
    Dec 18, 2005
    9
    Other movies can have dinosaurs besides Jurrasic Park people. Just like to make that clear for those who don't get the dinosaur part. Yes Peter Jackson is known for taking his time with a film and King Kong takes its time. It takes that extra minute or two with scenes to fully flesh them out, and they are well worth it. A great love story, some dialogue wooden, but overlooked in the Other movies can have dinosaurs besides Jurrasic Park people. Just like to make that clear for those who don't get the dinosaur part. Yes Peter Jackson is known for taking his time with a film and King Kong takes its time. It takes that extra minute or two with scenes to fully flesh them out, and they are well worth it. A great love story, some dialogue wooden, but overlooked in the grand scheme of things. Kong is amazing to look at and a nonstop thrill ride once you hit the Island. Some points in the plot like how they got kong to new york and why Naomi wasn't cold don't matter! I guess it's not realistic because Naomi didn't shiver or fall off at the top of the Empire State Building, but the movie is about a big ape who fights dinosaurs. Scary, funny, and an adrenline rush, Kong delivers on every level. A instant classic. And don't look for racism where isn't any. Expand
  27. JerryC.
    Dec 18, 2005
    10
    I loved this movie going experience. I had cut way back on theatre going preferring my at home big screen & surround sound. However, this movie needs to be seen on a big screen at least once. The first hour was a little slow but still well done. Once the action started look out! It was incredible!!
  28. Lucas
    Dec 19, 2005
    8
    Once again, here is a case of "what you bring to the movies is what you'll get out of them". If you are a racist, you'll see racist imagery in "King Kong" and chances are you find racism EVERYWHERE because you are a paranoid psycho. If you suffer from impatience (or ADD), then the movie is too long, etc. As for the racism comment, I'd much rather enjoy a flight-o-fancy like Once again, here is a case of "what you bring to the movies is what you'll get out of them". If you are a racist, you'll see racist imagery in "King Kong" and chances are you find racism EVERYWHERE because you are a paranoid psycho. If you suffer from impatience (or ADD), then the movie is too long, etc. As for the racism comment, I'd much rather enjoy a flight-o-fancy like "Kong" than another no-talent gang-banger-gone-rapper-gone-pseudoactor, any day! It's hilarious that certain people can find racism in a movie like "King Kong" yet, say absolutely nothing about the idiotic stereotypes found in hip-hop gang banger movies and video games...that's just my fifty-cents worth! Expand
  29. Connor
    Dec 19, 2005
    10
    Anyone who would give less than an 8 is insane, this move far surpasses the other ones in many different ways. For one I thought I got to know the characters beter in this one than the other ones. Another the acting was so much better than the other ones, And personally I felt that the 3 hours and 7 min. flow by, because I felt like I was in the movie following the characters paths and Anyone who would give less than an 8 is insane, this move far surpasses the other ones in many different ways. For one I thought I got to know the characters beter in this one than the other ones. Another the acting was so much better than the other ones, And personally I felt that the 3 hours and 7 min. flow by, because I felt like I was in the movie following the characters paths and getting to know them, thats why i give it a 10. Expand
  30. MitchellF.
    Dec 19, 2005
    9
    King Kong, a story of a giant ape who falls for a sweet little girl. Fantastic. This movie delivers fantastic special effects, great acting (I believed that Mrs. Watts was with Kong) and 3 hours of non-stop, eye-catching action. Who would have thought that Jack Black could have done such a wonderful job at acting serious. In reviews I see people basing their marks on the fact that is a King Kong, a story of a giant ape who falls for a sweet little girl. Fantastic. This movie delivers fantastic special effects, great acting (I believed that Mrs. Watts was with Kong) and 3 hours of non-stop, eye-catching action. Who would have thought that Jack Black could have done such a wonderful job at acting serious. In reviews I see people basing their marks on the fact that is a remake. I myself have never seen the origional movie, so I could watch this movie without that thought. And wow. The only thing about this movie that bugged me, were the bugs. Oh, and director Peter Jackson tended to use some of the same tactics as he used in Lord of the Rings. Expand
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Devin Gordon
    90
    A surprisingly tender, even heartbreaking, film. Like the original, it's a tragic tale of beauty and the beast.
  2. What a movie! This is how the medium seduced us originally.
  3. One of the wonders of the holiday season.