King Kong

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1346 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. LanceD.
    Dec 19, 2005
    7
    Peter Jackson comes up with some great creatures on the island but it just takes them too long to get there (1hour 10 mins). Show up late and you'll enjoy this movie immensely.
  2. RonL.
    Dec 19, 2005
    9
    Go see this one on the biggest screen possible. This movie is great fun! It's the kind of fun going to the movies is all about. If anyone tries to shoot holes in this one then they went to Kong for the wrong reason. Not going to win an Oscar for screenpla,y but Art Direction without a doubt.
  3. MikeB.
    Dec 19, 2005
    7
    I would have loved to have given this movie a 10, but I couldn't. One of the biggest reason frankly was Jack Black. Why was he given such an important role? He is not a dramatic actor-it showed and it hurt the film terribly. Adrien Brody seemed very unattached to this movie. Naomi Watts did do a good job though. This has always been a great story in my opinion. I think Jackson I would have loved to have given this movie a 10, but I couldn't. One of the biggest reason frankly was Jack Black. Why was he given such an important role? He is not a dramatic actor-it showed and it hurt the film terribly. Adrien Brody seemed very unattached to this movie. Naomi Watts did do a good job though. This has always been a great story in my opinion. I think Jackson captured it as a tragedy instead of a monster movie and I think this is the essence of the film. I do think it is important that you like the premise of the movie to begin with. I think Jackson hit the target concerning Kong also. Kong was primarliy innocent and this played against man's greed, ego and ignorance is what makes this movie so moving. They did make Kong appear incredibly life like and gave him very real emotions and qualities. The play on the ice skating ring was a bit silly and pointless though. Some of the special effects and filming seemed to move too quickly and this made it hard to see all that was going on. Expand
  4. JackDeft
    Dec 21, 2005
    10
    Simply brilliant tear jerking worth ur ticket price beautiful cast colossal cgi effects lovely score heart breaking love story tragic ending.
  5. I'mSorryMsJackson
    Dec 21, 2005
    10
    Thanks for watching my brilliant movie. What a lot of people don't know is how much work I put in, especially with my 'method' style of direction: I spent many months caged in an Auckland zoo, where I learned what it is to be a primate, and where I lost a lot of weight. When I had achieved a true monkey mentality, Universal shipped me under anaesthetic to the Kong sets, Thanks for watching my brilliant movie. What a lot of people don't know is how much work I put in, especially with my 'method' style of direction: I spent many months caged in an Auckland zoo, where I learned what it is to be a primate, and where I lost a lot of weight. When I had achieved a true monkey mentality, Universal shipped me under anaesthetic to the Kong sets, whereupon I was released under strict supervision. The actors were often unable to understand my various grunts, but I felt this created an exciting atmosphere on set, one where noone knew what they were doing. I also tended to throw the camera around when I got bored, but I think this adds to the film's dynamism. It is a shame that I accidentally urinated on the motion control rig, because it created a constant crane loop, sorry about this. Unfortunately the editing room was too small to contain my monkey vitality and we lost one editor cos I chewed on his nose and bashed on his ballsarea. This may have given the film an irregular tempo, but one I'm sure hairy animals will enjoy. On a personal note, I chose to keep the movie long to reproduce how I felt when I was caged in downtown Auckland. There were a few regrettable incidents, like when I threw Jack Black cos I mistook him for a log, but my only real regret is there hadn't been such a debilitating shortage of bananas when we wrote the script. Expand
  6. JoeyM.
    Dec 21, 2005
    9
    For once, an action movie gets it write. Jackson and his writing team spend enough time on developing the characters for us to actually care about them. When they start to meet their inevitable tragic ends, they aren't just stereotypical "Red Shirts" (to use the Star Trek term) but people we've grown to like. Kong is terrific. He has a fully realized personality and - since For once, an action movie gets it write. Jackson and his writing team spend enough time on developing the characters for us to actually care about them. When they start to meet their inevitable tragic ends, they aren't just stereotypical "Red Shirts" (to use the Star Trek term) but people we've grown to like. Kong is terrific. He has a fully realized personality and - since Jackson urges you to look at the subtext of the story - you will notice that there is an extra layer of tragedy to the great ape. All the performances are top notch (though, I suppose, if you hate Jack Black, you will hate him in this - I happen to like Jack Black, so there you go). As for the action sequences, the "Kong fights T-Rexes in the vines" sequence is one of the most exciting I've seen in years. Terrific movie and a must see on the big screen. Expand
  7. KingityKongity
    Dec 21, 2005
    7
    Pros: fun, exciting, suspensful, great ending cons: somewhat overlong, gets little boring near the end overview: for those who have not seen the original, then the ending, the films only flaw, may seem exciting. Those who know what will happen, get ready for monotony.
  8. JoshC.
    Dec 20, 2005
    10
    The best film of the year by far. It deserves alot of credit (especially to Watts, Jackson, Serkis, Black and the effects team) Over all this movie is amazing. The sheer size and scope of it breathtaking and it has some of the best action sequences and set pieces ever put on film. The effects were awesome. A bit fake in some parts but Kong looks about as real as they come. For those who The best film of the year by far. It deserves alot of credit (especially to Watts, Jackson, Serkis, Black and the effects team) Over all this movie is amazing. The sheer size and scope of it breathtaking and it has some of the best action sequences and set pieces ever put on film. The effects were awesome. A bit fake in some parts but Kong looks about as real as they come. For those who did not like it I reccomend seeing it twice because when you see it a second time you have no hopes you just go to enjoy it and trust me the second time is alot better then the first. Expand
  9. BrianJ.
    Dec 21, 2005
    10
    Amazing...This is why I love movies.
  10. AnnN.
    Dec 21, 2005
    9
    I'll start out by saying that the T-Rex fight was a bit much, yes. But other than that, this movie was everything it should have been. I believe that you can tell when a film is good if you can understand the relationships between the characters even without sound, and you can easily do that here. It was a great update, filled with emotion and- as every good monster movie should be- I'll start out by saying that the T-Rex fight was a bit much, yes. But other than that, this movie was everything it should have been. I believe that you can tell when a film is good if you can understand the relationships between the characters even without sound, and you can easily do that here. It was a great update, filled with emotion and- as every good monster movie should be- a reflection on humanity. It's an old story, but that doesn't mean it's not a good one. Expand
  11. RickS.
    Dec 22, 2005
    10
    This is a stunning re-telling of the classic story. Peter Jackson is by far the most accomplished visual effects storyteller to date. He makes fantasy a visual reality.
  12. FreddyA.
    Dec 20, 2005
    10
    Simply brilliant.
  13. DustinW.
    Dec 22, 2005
    10
    Best movie of the year! It deserves to win Best Picture at the oscars!
  14. BrianC.
    Dec 22, 2005
    10
    Kong rocked. If you didnt like it, that's fine, but realize you are in the minority. I like the fact that Peter Jackson cares about building a story, the characters, plot etc. Holiday, your rating of 0 seems a bit churlish. If you didn't realize the campiness was intentional and designed as part of the characters before they are exposed to Kong, then maybe you shouldn't be Kong rocked. If you didnt like it, that's fine, but realize you are in the minority. I like the fact that Peter Jackson cares about building a story, the characters, plot etc. Holiday, your rating of 0 seems a bit churlish. If you didn't realize the campiness was intentional and designed as part of the characters before they are exposed to Kong, then maybe you shouldn't be throwing out spurious reviews. Ignore the haters, and see this for yourself. Expand
  15. GogsH.
    Dec 23, 2005
    7
    Brilliant remake spoiled by 4 very silly scenes. 1. The unsinkable ship 2. WWF meets King Kong - why 3 T-Rex 3. Stupid Stampeed of dinosaurs 4. Bugs life - what a shot Take these out you get a shorter and far more true remake.
  16. GregC.
    Dec 23, 2005
    9
    A visual assault from start to finish!! flippin' brilliant!
  17. Kingkong
    Dec 23, 2005
    10
    Wow what a movie...its unbelievable really the eye for detail...the end the beginning everything is fantastic, best movie that i haved see this year really amazing.
  18. [Anonymous]
    Dec 23, 2005
    8
    Wow! I was taken away, especially by the love between both the woman and the ape and the woman and the man. I was in tears, crying several times in this movie and I never cry (except for The Titanic). It was a bit long in some areas and not long enough in others...but overall amazing special effects, acting, and story line. Beautiful job! Naomi Watts and whoever played the ape deserve Wow! I was taken away, especially by the love between both the woman and the ape and the woman and the man. I was in tears, crying several times in this movie and I never cry (except for The Titanic). It was a bit long in some areas and not long enough in others...but overall amazing special effects, acting, and story line. Beautiful job! Naomi Watts and whoever played the ape deserve some sort of high recognition--I forgot I was in a movie....it seemed so real to me. It pulled out so many emotions I can't even express! Expand
  19. BlakeT.
    Dec 24, 2005
    8
    Great film that achieves its goal with ease. If you do to this movie thinking "Lord of the Rings" or anything of such an epic scale, you will be dissappointed. This movie was meant to be a fun thrill ride that toys with your emotions. Enjoy it for what it is and don't treat it like "Citizen Cane" as so many of the other reviewers here have done. My only real complaint with the film Great film that achieves its goal with ease. If you do to this movie thinking "Lord of the Rings" or anything of such an epic scale, you will be dissappointed. This movie was meant to be a fun thrill ride that toys with your emotions. Enjoy it for what it is and don't treat it like "Citizen Cane" as so many of the other reviewers here have done. My only real complaint with the film was the pacing and length. It was a bit long and the pacing seemed off a bit. Great casting job, though. Expand
  20. LoriU.
    Dec 25, 2005
    10
    The direction in this movie puts all the other originals to shame. Peter Jackson did a superb job in all his character even with King Kong himself. The movie was like a roller-coaster ride all the way through. Definitely a must see film!
  21. Marshman88
    Dec 25, 2005
    10
    Amazing...that's all there is to say.
  22. ParshanB.
    Dec 26, 2005
    10
    This is a masterpiece, It has the best effects and do you know how long and hard it is to make that movie? You have to see it!
  23. BrandonS.
    Dec 26, 2005
    7
    This is the very definition of a movie deserving of a "7". It teeters on a bizzarre precipice between really good and really bad, and it's up to the individual audiance member to decide which way to push it. I think all could agree that it is far far far too long, however. The beginning is fantastically done, the end is competently handled, and the middle is just junk. The movie, in This is the very definition of a movie deserving of a "7". It teeters on a bizzarre precipice between really good and really bad, and it's up to the individual audiance member to decide which way to push it. I think all could agree that it is far far far too long, however. The beginning is fantastically done, the end is competently handled, and the middle is just junk. The movie, in it's middle, trades in "wonder" for "action" and suffers horribly for it. Definately worth going to see, but only if you're in a VERY comfortable and easy going mood. Otherwise you might find yourself throwing a kong like tantrum come hour three... Expand
  24. SeanKim
    Dec 26, 2005
    9
    No one does action and emotion better. Dinosaur chase and crash scene was brilliant. The gorilla has more emotion than some actors.
  25. ClintM.
    Dec 27, 2005
    9
    This was three hours well invested! The action was great and the special effects were incredible! Once the movie wrapped you actually felt rewarded for sitting through the whole thing ... not like many other movies I've seen this year where I left feeling robbed of the time I could have used for something else (damn you, Fantastic Four!). Peter Jackson proves he's a master This was three hours well invested! The action was great and the special effects were incredible! Once the movie wrapped you actually felt rewarded for sitting through the whole thing ... not like many other movies I've seen this year where I left feeling robbed of the time I could have used for something else (damn you, Fantastic Four!). Peter Jackson proves he's a master filmmaker and deserved that $20 million dollar paycheck! Expand
  26. ChaseR.
    Dec 27, 2005
    9
    If there is such thing as a perfect movie it is this. Jackson combines amazing graphics with a true to the original story plot. The acting is so good that you won't mind the corny 30s dialouge. Aside from that the special effects are the best I have ever scene.
  27. Rev.Rikard
    Dec 27, 2005
    9
    Peter Jackson did a masterful job in making "man more animalistic" in the movie, and "the animal more human." As you watch the movie you observe Kong becoming more humane, and Jack Black's character becoming more inhumane. For example, one of the powerful moments of this revelation occurs as Kong notes that the sunrise is beautiful, as Black's character is worried that his Peter Jackson did a masterful job in making "man more animalistic" in the movie, and "the animal more human." As you watch the movie you observe Kong becoming more humane, and Jack Black's character becoming more inhumane. For example, one of the powerful moments of this revelation occurs as Kong notes that the sunrise is beautiful, as Black's character is worried that his get-rich scheme has failed. There is definitely a political theme here as well. Jackson (though it can be argued he is just being true to the original film) pointedly shows that the human response to fear is to take a gun and shoot at what it is that scares us. In other words, before asking the relevant, necessary questions, we shoot! The best acting here is not found in word but in the eyes. The eyes of Kong, Brody, and Watts say more about what we really feel that the dialogue, which is sparse and predictable. This is one of the few criticisms I have of the movie. Another is the fact that there is a little too much "Jurassic Park" in the film. We didn't need all those prehistoric scenes. At first they added thrill and excitement, but soon became redundant. About a third of those scenes should have been on the editing floor. The final criticism I had was that awful last line spoken by Black. It was unnecessary, obvious and too cliche. Had he turned and walked away in disgust of himself it would have spoken more powerfully than that "fairy tale line." Still, all in all, I had a great time watching this movie, even if Jackson made me look at my character in light of the simple values of an overgrown silverback. Expand
  28. AMovieCritic
    Dec 29, 2005
    7
    This movie was very good. Very emotional, PERFECT musical score, amazing special effects, some great acting, (I don't see why Jack Black is being criticized for his performance in this. He fit the part perfectly) awesome action scenes, and King Kong himself was perfectly realized. The action was at times amazing. A very fun movie that would be considered a classic..... This movie was very good. Very emotional, PERFECT musical score, amazing special effects, some great acting, (I don't see why Jack Black is being criticized for his performance in this. He fit the part perfectly) awesome action scenes, and King Kong himself was perfectly realized. The action was at times amazing. A very fun movie that would be considered a classic..... EXCEPT....it's way too long. Peter Jackson NEEDS someone to go through his scripts and edit. That's what he needs. This movie was made to be a 3-hour movie, and this isn't the type of story that warrants a 3-hour movie. It's that simple. And as excited as I was during this, I couldn't help wondering when it would end...it just seems to go on forever. Particularly early on in the movie. It gets off to a great start, but way too much time is spent on a boat. I literally almost fell asleep after about an hour of this movie. Scenes that I would have cut would include the island natives early on. That entire scene was completely pointless, and the natives never made an appearance again, and were never discussed again. Could have been cut, and nobody would have noticed. Many scenes on the boat also could have been cut. If this movie was about 45 minutes shorter, it really would have been excellent. As it stands, though, it's a good movie. It would have been great, but it's way too long, and I would NEVER see it again for this reason. It just wears you out by the end more than anything else. Hopefully this film's lower-than-expected box office numbers will show Peter Jackson that NOT every movie he makes should be 3 hours long. It worked for the LoTR movies, (although I personally think these could have also used some editing,) but with a story like this, there was no reason for it to be 3 hours long. Still a very good movie, but prepare to leave the theater exhausted. Expand
  29. Danielle
    Dec 29, 2005
    8
    more emotional resonsance than the original. not great, but really good. just too long.
  30. CATHYF.
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    Absolutely an amazing film! Mind blowing!!I did not think 3 hours could go by that fast. Mr. Jackson really paid tribute to this film. Loved it!!!
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Devin Gordon
    90
    A surprisingly tender, even heartbreaking, film. Like the original, it's a tragic tale of beauty and the beast.
  2. What a movie! This is how the medium seduced us originally.
  3. One of the wonders of the holiday season.