King Kong

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1346 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. LeszekK.
    Dec 18, 2005
    4
    I liked the acting except maybe for Jack Black. I couldn't get passed the fact that it was Jack Black in order to see the character played by him. It reminds me of Tom Cruise's syndrome. I thought the middle part of the film, the one on Skull Island dragged and was gratuitous. It was like Lord of the Rings, Jurassic Park, and a trailer for a video game. Peter Jackson indulged I liked the acting except maybe for Jack Black. I couldn't get passed the fact that it was Jack Black in order to see the character played by him. It reminds me of Tom Cruise's syndrome. I thought the middle part of the film, the one on Skull Island dragged and was gratuitous. It was like Lord of the Rings, Jurassic Park, and a trailer for a video game. Peter Jackson indulged and really bored me. The action sequences with the dinasaurs and insects had little thematically to do with the King Kong story. It really detracted from the main story. It's amazing how brain numbing Jackson's films can be. I enjoyed the New York and ship scenes. Expand
  2. BrianO.W.
    Dec 17, 2005
    5
    Like watching over someone's shoulder as they played a videogame, KONG is perfect entertainment for 21st century's visually overloaded "switch-yr-brain-off-and -enjoy-the-ride" audiences. I'm getting far more entertainment out of the comments posted here and I hope Jackson hires some of the users on this forum to write his next brain-dead comedy. According to them if you Like watching over someone's shoulder as they played a videogame, KONG is perfect entertainment for 21st century's visually overloaded "switch-yr-brain-off-and -enjoy-the-ride" audiences. I'm getting far more entertainment out of the comments posted here and I hope Jackson hires some of the users on this forum to write his next brain-dead comedy. According to them if you don't rate this film a 10 you're 'pretensious", or "a snob", who must "hate movies' or didn't actually even watch it before posting a review(!!). Apparently a 3 hour duration is excusable because there are other movies that are 3 hrs long. It's hard to choose between the funniest comment between John B, who claims this remake would 'genius if it had not been done before" (mind boggling!) or Daniel T who claims that this mega-budget remake of a classic (in itself an indication of the banal recycling endemic of current cinema) is somehow an "...antidote to the banality of modern cinema'! Oh God, LOL! Expand
  3. Aug 24, 2011
    5
    Special effects were out of this world awesome, and the storyline was pretty good...BUT...it was about an hour too long! It spends a good 40 minutes of the movie before it even gets to King Kong! then we still have to witness his capture/relationship with Naomi Watts' character, and his tirade in New York City! I have only been able to watch it all the way through in one sitting once.Special effects were out of this world awesome, and the storyline was pretty good...BUT...it was about an hour too long! It spends a good 40 minutes of the movie before it even gets to King Kong! then we still have to witness his capture/relationship with Naomi Watts' character, and his tirade in New York City! I have only been able to watch it all the way through in one sitting once. Also, Jack Black just drags the cast down. There are SOO many other great actors in the movie that he sticks out like a sore thumb. Great "try" but I expected better. Expand
  4. AverageTome
    May 11, 2006
    4
    This was not what I expected. To add a cool effect to this movie, i would have made it in B&W. While the special effects to this movie were stellar, i found it annoying that Kong was first introduced nearly halfway into the movie. The first 45 minutes are just a waste of time to watch and not really that important to the real action and body of the story. (If you get the DVD, just skip to This was not what I expected. To add a cool effect to this movie, i would have made it in B&W. While the special effects to this movie were stellar, i found it annoying that Kong was first introduced nearly halfway into the movie. The first 45 minutes are just a waste of time to watch and not really that important to the real action and body of the story. (If you get the DVD, just skip to the Skull Island scene.) The fact that Naomi Watts had a dialogue of basically screaming for the entirety of the movie set me off as well because she is a fairly good actor in reality. Some of it was pretty gruesome which was not what i expected at all. (Such as the man getting eaten alive by the leeches before being brought down to a watery death... and the villagers.) Jack Black was totally out of character and I did not enjoy that at all. As soon as i found out that he was going to be doing the 2006 KCA's i knew that his career was going to be officially over after doing that and this. The animation and production quality are my only two plus sides to this movie. Get the DVD because while not the greatest on earth, it is still average and sort of worth buying. Expand
  5. Nov 27, 2015
    4
    Most of the movie is enjoyable.But the ending completely ruins the movie.I want a good ending.King Kong should not be killed.Thanks a lot universal you made the most overrated movie ever.
  6. StephenH.
    Aug 1, 2008
    6
    Generally an ok film, but i lost interest at certain points. I found the boat journey to the island the most enjoyable bit. Some fo the effects were very real, while others needed a bit more imagination and forgiveness, not that i'd ever rate a film on special effects anyway. We have no idea where all the natives disapeared to, i guess they just weren't required for the film. Generally an ok film, but i lost interest at certain points. I found the boat journey to the island the most enjoyable bit. Some fo the effects were very real, while others needed a bit more imagination and forgiveness, not that i'd ever rate a film on special effects anyway. We have no idea where all the natives disapeared to, i guess they just weren't required for the film. Overall it was enjoyable, but a tad long and in some places defying the laws of physics and chance in a lot of the action sequences to a point even the most openminded of people couldn't forgive. Expand
  7. GrahamS.
    Jan 9, 2006
    5
    At least an hour too long. Good performances from all actors, and special effects - but I was completely bored by this stage.
  8. JackM.
    Apr 1, 2006
    5
    The middle hour on Skull Island is utterly fantastic. The first and third hours, however, are devoid of anything beyond showy SFX razzledazzle. If you come an hour late and leave an hour early, you won't miss anything.
  9. C.B.
    Jan 17, 2006
    6
    Yes, the CGI is amazing. But, do we really need to see thi smuch? This movie was way, way too long. I was done watching at the 2 hour and 30 minute mark.
  10. I'mSorryMsJackson
    Jan 3, 2006
    5
    Thanks for watching my brilliant movie. What a lot of people don't know is how much work I put in, especially with my 'method' style of direction: I spent many months caged in an Auckland zoo, where I learned what it is to be a primate, and where I lost a lot of weight. When I had achieved a true monkey mentality, Universal shipped me under anaesthetic to the Kong sets, Thanks for watching my brilliant movie. What a lot of people don't know is how much work I put in, especially with my 'method' style of direction: I spent many months caged in an Auckland zoo, where I learned what it is to be a primate, and where I lost a lot of weight. When I had achieved a true monkey mentality, Universal shipped me under anaesthetic to the Kong sets, whereupon I was released under strict supervision. The actors were often unable to understand my various grunts, but I felt this created an exciting atmosphere on set, one where noone knew what they were doing. I also tended to throw the camera around when I got bored, but I think this adds to the film's dynamism. It is a shame that I accidentally urinated on the motion control rig, because it created a constant crane loop, sorry about this. Unfortunately the editing room was too small to contain my monkey vitality and we lost one editor cos I chewed on his nose and bashed on his ballsarea. This may have given the film an irregular tempo, but one I'm sure hairy animals will enjoy. On a personal note, I chose to keep the movie long to reproduce how I felt when I was caged in downtown Auckland. There were a few regrettable incidents, like when I threw Jack Black cos I mistook him for a log, but my only real regret is there hadn't been such a debilitating shortage of bananas when we wrote the script. Expand
  11. JeffH.
    Jan 4, 2006
    5
    Entertaining, but not even close to the hype. Naomi Watts was good, but the extremely fake dinosaur scenes ruined the movie, and there were a lot of them. And there were truly bizarre moments, particularly when Naomi Watts starts juggling and doing acrobatic stunts for Kong. Yeah, that's believable.
  12. Filmfan
    Jan 6, 2006
    6
    I was completely bored, and disappointed that Peter Jackson did not bring anything original to the movie. It is way too long and seems to be going through the motions. He studied Spielberg and The Titanic way too much before making this film.
  13. SamX.
    Apr 1, 2006
    4
    A valiant effort by Peter Jackson but the idea just doesn't wash with me. I would be rating it 10/10 if it wasn't for it's monotony and slowness. The film should've been shortened by an hour. Ann Darrow's neck should've snapped three seconds after being waved around by the enormous CGI monstrocity, but instead her hair stayed in place and her dress was still A valiant effort by Peter Jackson but the idea just doesn't wash with me. I would be rating it 10/10 if it wasn't for it's monotony and slowness. The film should've been shortened by an hour. Ann Darrow's neck should've snapped three seconds after being waved around by the enormous CGI monstrocity, but instead her hair stayed in place and her dress was still clean by the end of the movie. The 1933 version seems more realistic than this. Expand
  14. Neil
    Apr 2, 2006
    6
    Too long, too many special effects shots (the scene where the crew is running from the dinosaurs looks phony), and the ending fails to resonate. The first third builds palpable fear of what's coming, but once the movie moves to the island it gets bogged down in sci-fi.
  15. EdwinK.
    Apr 7, 2006
    4
    Did Peter make this movie just for himself and his children??? Highly unrealistic, overdone, way too long, bad acting, bad plots, fortunately I could stop my rented copy when it all became too much. Sad to see such stuff come out of PJ's hand. Couldn't do it without Tolkien?
  16. Balzac
    Oct 7, 2007
    6
    Like the Big Ape himself, this movie is bloated with too much flab. Kong himself looks like Mighty Joe Young. They made him too small. The scene where Kong wipes the jungle floor with 3 T-Rexes is overkill an not believable. But hey, it's a picture about a giant ape and his blond girlfriend.
  17. PDWrite
    Dec 17, 2005
    4
    Die, Kong, Die! When he's passing out on the island I thought, my god, are we going to have to go through this again? But I was wrong--it seemed like we had to go through the same mournful, incredibly slooooowww gazes another ten times! Her face is great, his face is great, the expressions are wonderful--but too long, and Jackson doesn't seem to even know what dialogue is. I was Die, Kong, Die! When he's passing out on the island I thought, my god, are we going to have to go through this again? But I was wrong--it seemed like we had to go through the same mournful, incredibly slooooowww gazes another ten times! Her face is great, his face is great, the expressions are wonderful--but too long, and Jackson doesn't seem to even know what dialogue is. I was entertained, but please, go back to elf-talk or something. Plus, I still want to punch Adrian Brody in the nose as much as Halle Berry did at the oscars. Expand
  18. MichaelL.
    Dec 23, 2005
    6
    Only one hour too long.
  19. JoshuaS.
    Dec 23, 2005
    5
    Insulting in its attempt to subvert the racism inherit in the story, sub-Jurrasic Park level dinosaur effects. Too long by 45 minutes and yet still mildly entertaining.
  20. Annalisa
    Jan 1, 2006
    4
    While there were great suspense gasping-for-air, mind blowingstuff happening in the movie, it was way too long - from getting to the island to being on the island. I was like "Hurry up and get to New York already!!"- Animal attacks overdone, and by the time he was on top of the tower, it was like "kill him already". There could have been more deleted scenes.
  21. SamD.
    Jan 1, 2006
    5
    Great special effects. Jack Black was good. An hour to long.
  22. rostokov
    Oct 19, 2006
    4
    Thanks for watching my brilliant movie. What a lot of people don't know is how much work I put in, especially with my 'method' style of direction: I spent many months caged in an Auckland zoo, where I learned what it is to be a primate, and grew a beard. When I had achieved a true monkey mentality, Universal shipped me under anaesthetic to the Kong sets, whereupon I was Thanks for watching my brilliant movie. What a lot of people don't know is how much work I put in, especially with my 'method' style of direction: I spent many months caged in an Auckland zoo, where I learned what it is to be a primate, and grew a beard. When I had achieved a true monkey mentality, Universal shipped me under anaesthetic to the Kong sets, whereupon I was released under strict supervision. The actors were often unable to understand my various grunts, but I felt this created and exciting atmosphere on set, one where no one knew what they were doing. I also tended to throw the camera around when I got bored, but I think this adds to the film's dynamism. It is a shame that I accidentally urinated on the motion control rig, because it created a constant crane loop, sorry about this. Unfortunately the editing room was too small to contain my monkey vitality and we lost one editor cos I chewed on his nose and bashed on his ballsarea. This may have given the film an irregular tempo, but one I'm sure hairy animals will enjoy. On a personal note, I chose to keep the movie long to reproduce how I felt when I was caged in downtown Auckland. There were a few regrettable incidents, like when I threw Jack Black cos I mistook him for a log, but my only real regret is there hadn't been such a debilitating shortage of bananas when we wrote the script. Expand
  23. Rod
    Jan 28, 2006
    5
    Disappointing effort from the team which made 3 great Lord of the Rings films - but it always was a juvenile choice. The New York settings were pretty good but the island based scenes were generally terrible - so bad that I was close to leaving the theatre and I have never done that before. PJ's worst excesses are when he lets CG get in the way of good story telling (think the Disappointing effort from the team which made 3 great Lord of the Rings films - but it always was a juvenile choice. The New York settings were pretty good but the island based scenes were generally terrible - so bad that I was close to leaving the theatre and I have never done that before. PJ's worst excesses are when he lets CG get in the way of good story telling (think the Legolas as super hero bounding across the oliphant in LOTR by way of example). The scenes with Kong and the T-rexs, plus general chit-chat while dinosaurs stomp over the top while our heros run down the path were just plain silly. For anyone who hasn't seen it try out Jackson's amazing 1994 film Heavenly Creatures. Expand
  24. PeterS.
    Jan 5, 2006
    6
    Delightful, full of surprises, but way too long and repetitive. Jackson didn't know when to quit. Certainly half-an-hour sooner than he did.
  25. EddieC.
    Apr 3, 2006
    5
    This is a decent movie, the begining is extremely dull, no action at all, you kinda just "know" whats gonna happen, but you still have to sit through 20-30 mins to see it happen. Then theirs a "boat scene" or should I say, a "boat-half of the movie" where its just a bit of stupid "plot" and you have to wait what seems, or maybe was, an hour or so. Nothing really gets "good" until King This is a decent movie, the begining is extremely dull, no action at all, you kinda just "know" whats gonna happen, but you still have to sit through 20-30 mins to see it happen. Then theirs a "boat scene" or should I say, a "boat-half of the movie" where its just a bit of stupid "plot" and you have to wait what seems, or maybe was, an hour or so. Nothing really gets "good" until King Kong and Skull Island really come in, then still everything, the fight scene, the New York scene, is extremely dragged, the effects are great, everything looks amazing, and their are pretty entertaining scenes, but all in all this movie lacks excitement and loses your attention. Expand
  26. Supersean
    Dec 19, 2005
    4
    I ended up lauughing the whole time. This movie was so incredibly ridiculous, and then took itself seriously. It reminded me of doom, only doom didn't take it's self seriously. And the last line of the movie was sooooo lame. And nothing made any sense. And the dinosaur fight was like WWE, hahahha this movie is hysterical it's so insanely ridiculous. See it once so you can I ended up lauughing the whole time. This movie was so incredibly ridiculous, and then took itself seriously. It reminded me of doom, only doom didn't take it's self seriously. And the last line of the movie was sooooo lame. And nothing made any sense. And the dinosaur fight was like WWE, hahahha this movie is hysterical it's so insanely ridiculous. See it once so you can laugh at it. Expand
  27. RichardA
    Dec 19, 2005
    6
    Too long. Intelligent use of visual effects. Mostly stupid characters and very shallow story. Questions: How was Kong transferred from Skull Island to New York? (This could have been an interesting part of the story.) Why wasn't The Ape caged instead of being just chained? Why is the New York mayor so stupid to allow the show? How did Jack knew where Ann and Kong were sleeping? Why Too long. Intelligent use of visual effects. Mostly stupid characters and very shallow story. Questions: How was Kong transferred from Skull Island to New York? (This could have been an interesting part of the story.) Why wasn't The Ape caged instead of being just chained? Why is the New York mayor so stupid to allow the show? How did Jack knew where Ann and Kong were sleeping? Why is Ann so stupid (or was she just crazy in love)? Mwahaha... Expand
  28. WalkerR.
    Dec 22, 2005
    6
    Big effects, little substance. I forgot about the film as soon as I left the theater. The problem with these effects driven movies is they rely way to much on the CGI. Use it wisely my son. They lose their effect. I eventually became bored. Kong himself was good. But not enough to save the film. On top of that, its about 30 mins too long. Certaninly no LOTR. Peace out.
  29. VerminD.
    Dec 27, 2005
    6
    Not a bad film, but not a particularly good one either. Forgettable. In the same league as War of the Worlds, Batman, Narnia, Star Wars and all the other CGI work-outs that have come along this year. If I had to sum it up in one word I'd say 'confused'. Lots of bits seemed odd, especially Naomi Watts' interactions with Kong
  30. DanL.
    Dec 31, 2005
    6
    When they weren't on Skull Island, it was boring and some of the NYC street scenes looked real fakey.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Devin Gordon
    90
    A surprisingly tender, even heartbreaking, film. Like the original, it's a tragic tale of beauty and the beast.
  2. What a movie! This is how the medium seduced us originally.
  3. One of the wonders of the holiday season.