Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 14, 2005
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1361 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
973
Mixed:
147
Negative:
241
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
BalzacOct 7, 2007
Like the Big Ape himself, this movie is bloated with too much flab. Kong himself looks like Mighty Joe Young. They made him too small. The scene where Kong wipes the jungle floor with 3 T-Rexes is overkill an not believable. But hey, Like the Big Ape himself, this movie is bloated with too much flab. Kong himself looks like Mighty Joe Young. They made him too small. The scene where Kong wipes the jungle floor with 3 T-Rexes is overkill an not believable. But hey, it's a picture about a giant ape and his blond girlfriend. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndievJul 2, 2007
the movie was pretty good, i did cry a little at the end, when king kong fell off the empire state building, the actors and actresses were very skilled, naomi watts was excellent, the jungle insects scared me and i think my money didn't the movie was pretty good, i did cry a little at the end, when king kong fell off the empire state building, the actors and actresses were very skilled, naomi watts was excellent, the jungle insects scared me and i think my money didn't completely go to waste. peter jackson is an amazing director. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShaneB.Jan 12, 2008
This is my review of King Kong. Pretty much, it's about Ann Darrow, a woman who, after losing her job in 1933, is offered to be in a movie by a rebellious filmmaker, named Carl Denham, who trying to make a movie. They go on a ship and This is my review of King Kong. Pretty much, it's about Ann Darrow, a woman who, after losing her job in 1933, is offered to be in a movie by a rebellious filmmaker, named Carl Denham, who trying to make a movie. They go on a ship and end up at skull island, where Ann is sacrificed to the ape Kong. Now the only reason i wanted to see this movie was because it was directed by Peter Jackson. So, all in all, it was one of the best movies of 2005. the acting was okay, the action was spectacular. Yet the special effects was mixed. Some effects were awesome, like Kong. Yet others were no good at all. So this is a good film to see. I give Kong 2005 an 8/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KevinP.Dec 12, 2005
Amber A. writes: 'Some scenes on the Island were a little too reminiscent of Jurassic Park.' Um, I hope she understands that Jurassic Park borrowed from King Kong, not the other way around. But I suppose that's a problem when Amber A. writes: 'Some scenes on the Island were a little too reminiscent of Jurassic Park.' Um, I hope she understands that Jurassic Park borrowed from King Kong, not the other way around. But I suppose that's a problem when showing one of the most classic films of all time to a new audience, one that is much younger and less informed. The film does not tread much new ground - it's a faithful, and intentionally so, remake of the original (let's not think of the first remake, shall we?). Updated with familiar faces and a stunning marriage of live-action and CGI, this Kong allows for more emotional connections between the audience and the ape. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EddieB.Dec 14, 2005
King Kong is the best film I've seen all year. Amazing action sequences, a great story with heart, and brilliant special effects make this film a must-see for anyone. I hear the game's not too shabby either--might have to check that out!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricW.Dec 14, 2005
Simply wonderful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatrickW.Dec 15, 2005
I am unable to understand the low scores people must have decided to hate it before seeing it!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
E.B.Dec 16, 2005
Peter Jackson is becoming known for his 3 hour movies...which can be a good thing or a bad thing, depending on how you look at it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PaulH.Dec 17, 2005
Please tell me I was dreaming. This is so bad that I can't even find the right words to condem it. The first hour was slow and boring and did nothing in developing the characters. The second hour bordered on ridiculous with a remake of Please tell me I was dreaming. This is so bad that I can't even find the right words to condem it. The first hour was slow and boring and did nothing in developing the characters. The second hour bordered on ridiculous with a remake of Jurassic Park. As for the destruction of NY it was laughable. I especially loved the last scene with Naomi Watts in the middle of winter standing with high heels in a spring dress at the very top of the crown on the Empire State Buidling on her toes with Adrian Brody. One gust of wind and the movie would have had a realistic ending as both would have been blown away. I think Kong committed suicide because he was embarrassed by this sorry excuse for a motion picture. Awful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
PDWriteDec 17, 2005
Die, Kong, Die! When he's passing out on the island I thought, my god, are we going to have to go through this again? But I was wrong--it seemed like we had to go through the same mournful, incredibly slooooowww gazes another ten times! Die, Kong, Die! When he's passing out on the island I thought, my god, are we going to have to go through this again? But I was wrong--it seemed like we had to go through the same mournful, incredibly slooooowww gazes another ten times! Her face is great, his face is great, the expressions are wonderful--but too long, and Jackson doesn't seem to even know what dialogue is. I was entertained, but please, go back to elf-talk or something. Plus, I still want to punch Adrian Brody in the nose as much as Halle Berry did at the oscars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DrtimDec 18, 2005
Remarkable. Unspoken love, maternal reverie, empathic connectedness; the relationship between the Naomi Watts characterand the digital ape/Andy Serkis is the transcendent heart of this film. In tapping something deeply innate it tolls for us all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveE.Dec 18, 2005
This movie is the best thing ever set to celluloid. Phenomenal and beautiful, this film is definitly the best film of the year. Anyone who doesn't like it has no soul.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SharifDec 19, 2005
Very Good movie, I have no complaints about the length of the movie, since i liked it i dont see why i should'nt get more of what i like and make the most of my money, and it also sets the flow of the movie. while watching felt sorry Very Good movie, I have no complaints about the length of the movie, since i liked it i dont see why i should'nt get more of what i like and make the most of my money, and it also sets the flow of the movie. while watching felt sorry for Mr. Kong all the while telling him in my head Yeah budy women do that to you, they mess up your head and that is the end result. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RexDec 19, 2005
Peter Jackson says, "The original only had one dinosaur, so let's make it two! We need to be bigger, no ginormous compared to the first." The studio says "but three t-rex's will get more people in the seats, make it more . . Peter Jackson says, "The original only had one dinosaur, so let's make it two! We need to be bigger, no ginormous compared to the first." The studio says "but three t-rex's will get more people in the seats, make it more . . ."Peter Jackson interjects, Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
I'mSorryMsJacksonDec 21, 2005
Thanks for watching my brilliant movie. What a lot of people don't know is how much work I put in, especially with my 'method' style of direction: I spent many months caged in an Auckland zoo, where I learned what it is to be Thanks for watching my brilliant movie. What a lot of people don't know is how much work I put in, especially with my 'method' style of direction: I spent many months caged in an Auckland zoo, where I learned what it is to be a primate, and where I lost a lot of weight. When I had achieved a true monkey mentality, Universal shipped me under anaesthetic to the Kong sets, whereupon I was released under strict supervision. The actors were often unable to understand my various grunts, but I felt this created an exciting atmosphere on set, one where noone knew what they were doing. I also tended to throw the camera around when I got bored, but I think this adds to the film's dynamism. It is a shame that I accidentally urinated on the motion control rig, because it created a constant crane loop, sorry about this. Unfortunately the editing room was too small to contain my monkey vitality and we lost one editor cos I chewed on his nose and bashed on his ballsarea. This may have given the film an irregular tempo, but one I'm sure hairy animals will enjoy. On a personal note, I chose to keep the movie long to reproduce how I felt when I was caged in downtown Auckland. There were a few regrettable incidents, like when I threw Jack Black cos I mistook him for a log, but my only real regret is there hadn't been such a debilitating shortage of bananas when we wrote the script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PcFanDec 20, 2005
Very entaining movie very polished and keeps you entertained from start to finish. only a complete idiot who has nothing better to do would give this movie a 3/10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GaryF.Dec 20, 2005
Are you kidding me? Refund! This is about the lamest alleged blockbuster I have ever seen. It is boring and without dialogue. The actors especially Jack Black are simply awful. And the middle part in Jurassic Park land are you kidding. Are you kidding me? Refund! This is about the lamest alleged blockbuster I have ever seen. It is boring and without dialogue. The actors especially Jack Black are simply awful. And the middle part in Jurassic Park land are you kidding. Invisible machine gun bullets. T-Rex's hanging from a vine doing their impersonation of the WWF and those natives in blackpaint? C'mon give me a break. The story was totally implausible. Do you think Peter Jackson went to Steven Spielberg and said I can make a moron movie worse than War Of the Freakin Worlds? Let me tell you it is very close to that abomination. People were booing and laughing and then walking out of the theater. And don't bother coming during the first seventy minutes unless of course you need to catch up on your sleep. This is a disaster beyond all imagination. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SchpilkyBlueyDec 21, 2005
The best movie I have seen a long while.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FatimaI.Dec 20, 2005
The movie was the second best movie I ever saw. at the end the movie was so sad. everyone in my family saw it and they all said it was the best movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveC.Dec 20, 2005
Yeah its long in strange places, short in others, but still a fantastic movie . CG were good to excellent, acting a bit cheesy at times (Black, Watts at the start) but why do we go to movies? to analyse or be entertained? hmmm...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MichaelL.Dec 23, 2005
Only one hour too long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AurelioS.Dec 23, 2005
great film, una pasada.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JoshuaS.Dec 23, 2005
Insulting in its attempt to subvert the racism inherit in the story, sub-Jurrasic Park level dinosaur effects. Too long by 45 minutes and yet still mildly entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackDec 26, 2005
By the general public, this movie is extremely underrated. Peter Jackson does an AMAZING job of keeping to the original storyline as precisely as possible, but still making it his own. With amazing CGI, awsome performances by Naomi Watts and By the general public, this movie is extremely underrated. Peter Jackson does an AMAZING job of keeping to the original storyline as precisely as possible, but still making it his own. With amazing CGI, awsome performances by Naomi Watts and Jack Black, and a completely orignal and untampered storyline, this movies becomes larger than life. The orginal plot is based around King Kong's love for Naomi Watts character, and Peter Jackson does an amazing job at keeping that aparrent in his movie. All who dislike this movie are just pretentious pricks who dislike any movie that gets aclaim, or really is just plain blind. It's amazing, it certifies Peter Jackson as a genious auture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoseC.Dec 26, 2005
The is long much longer then it needed to be. However, it is still a good movie. if you can't sit still or have finite attention spans. stay home
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RichardD.Dec 29, 2005
It was not believable enough and too long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
LarryS.Dec 29, 2005
Aww come on! Do we really need another remake. Another King Kong. Yikes what a stupid idea by the American movie industry. Here's an idea how about an original idea with some good writing that makes you think. Special effects were Aww come on! Do we really need another remake. Another King Kong. Yikes what a stupid idea by the American movie industry. Here's an idea how about an original idea with some good writing that makes you think. Special effects were poorly done considering the technology available. Naomi Watts what were you thinking! Another non stop action movie with nothing to say. Ugggghhhh! A movie for tweenies!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattDec 8, 2005
The first hour is so bad, you'll think it's an elaborate joke
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartinDec 8, 2005
Unbelievable!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonR.Dec 9, 2005
Stunning. Jaw-dropping. Emotional. Adrenaline-rushed. Need I go on? Just go and see it. You'll be amazed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful