Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 14, 2005
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1384 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
988
Mixed:
153
Negative:
243
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
AmberA.Dec 9, 2005
This film did not need to be three hours long. There were many parts that could've been cut and it would've made a much tighter movie. Some scenes on the Island were a little too reminiscent of Jurassic Park. Also, you may note thatThis film did not need to be three hours long. There were many parts that could've been cut and it would've made a much tighter movie. Some scenes on the Island were a little too reminiscent of Jurassic Park. Also, you may note that the first people to die when they are traipsing around the jungle are the black man and the chinese man. Some editing incontinuties were hard to miss - such as when Ann and Jack fall into the water from a giant bat's leg, and are both shown in the next scene with completely dry hair flowing in the wind. However, the relationship between Ann and King Kong is touching and well-captured. And the Empire State Building Scene is riveting-especially if you're scared of heights. My summary: this is a perfect Blockbuster film: lots of action, amazing special effects, bad dialogue, and almost no character development or depth (except maybe in King Kong) . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimP.Dec 9, 2005
Very well done and exciting, with Kong an amazing creation. The Skull Island adventures eventually drag on a bit -- the excitement become a bit dulled by repetition -- and there are are few others infelicitious moments and repetitions, but Very well done and exciting, with Kong an amazing creation. The Skull Island adventures eventually drag on a bit -- the excitement become a bit dulled by repetition -- and there are are few others infelicitious moments and repetitions, but if you are a moviegoer at all inclined towards this type of movie, you will be quite satisfied by the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LoreenaT.Jan 11, 2006
I just want to say, that this movie should win Oscars, precious!. Goooood.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SocratesJan 1, 2006
Wow. I couldn't have asked for a worse New Years Eve party than going to to see this movie. It was long and boring as hell, and nothing felt connected; everything seemed like a short, stupid scene that had no relation to the next Wow. I couldn't have asked for a worse New Years Eve party than going to to see this movie. It was long and boring as hell, and nothing felt connected; everything seemed like a short, stupid scene that had no relation to the next ("We're running from dinosaurs! Now we're shooting at King Kong!"). The CGI felt as weightless and lifeless as all CGI in almost every movie I've seen does. Jackson shows just how truly literal and thoughtless he is with this film, for here he could have made any number of important statements regarding a slew of problems in the world. Instead, he opts to make a complete remake of the original film, complete with all the racial stereotypes of the time. Entertainment Weekly just said that Jackson is the new Spielberg, and since Spielberg isn't even done yet, I guess we can all be excited for twice as many overbloated, self serious and cranially incapacitated movies each year. Joy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerD.Jan 10, 2006
King Kong is one amazing achievement. Kong himself was animated beautifully, and the atmosphere of the movie is incredible. Highly reccomendable. This isn't the same at home. It needs to be seen in theaters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndyT.Jan 10, 2006
My favorite of 2005, Excelent direction of Art.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DavidR.Jan 1, 2006
This movie is an oppressive three hours of cinematic effects, and noise. Just further proof that Hollywood is not only lacking in originality, but is increasingly throwing computer generated effects at the hoi poloi. This is more proof that This movie is an oppressive three hours of cinematic effects, and noise. Just further proof that Hollywood is not only lacking in originality, but is increasingly throwing computer generated effects at the hoi poloi. This is more proof that real art (in the movies) in Holloywood is dead. All we get anymore, so it seems, is noise and excitement. If you want real art, go and see live theater. At least you can see some talent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IvancitoL.Jan 12, 2006
This is the movie of the year 2005!, has everything and full of brightness, funny, scary and emotional.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AnnalisaJan 1, 2006
While there were great suspense gasping-for-air, mind blowingstuff happening in the movie, it was way too long - from getting to the island to being on the island. I was like "Hurry up and get to New York already!!"- Animal attacks overdone, While there were great suspense gasping-for-air, mind blowingstuff happening in the movie, it was way too long - from getting to the island to being on the island. I was like "Hurry up and get to New York already!!"- Animal attacks overdone, and by the time he was on top of the tower, it was like "kill him already". There could have been more deleted scenes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PavonG.Jan 13, 2006
I already want to buy the DVD, is one of the best I have ever seen, and I have seen thousands.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SamD.Jan 1, 2006
Great special effects. Jack Black was good. An hour to long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChipytitaJan 16, 2006
Wonderfull and Fantastic, thats why I like to go to the movies, to see this kind of movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChongKokH.Jan 1, 2006
I think it's a very good movie if you can get what it tries to tell from the movie. I may not understand it completely or may have thought too much. But it's very touching. Imagine a lonely child trying to protect something he I think it's a very good movie if you can get what it tries to tell from the movie. I may not understand it completely or may have thought too much. But it's very touching. Imagine a lonely child trying to protect something he loved and died tragically when he try to give the best to his beloved. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DouglasKOct 18, 2006
A Terrific film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
rostokovOct 19, 2006
Thanks for watching my brilliant movie. What a lot of people don't know is how much work I put in, especially with my 'method' style of direction: I spent many months caged in an Auckland zoo, where I learned what it is to be Thanks for watching my brilliant movie. What a lot of people don't know is how much work I put in, especially with my 'method' style of direction: I spent many months caged in an Auckland zoo, where I learned what it is to be a primate, and grew a beard. When I had achieved a true monkey mentality, Universal shipped me under anaesthetic to the Kong sets, whereupon I was released under strict supervision. The actors were often unable to understand my various grunts, but I felt this created and exciting atmosphere on set, one where no one knew what they were doing. I also tended to throw the camera around when I got bored, but I think this adds to the film's dynamism. It is a shame that I accidentally urinated on the motion control rig, because it created a constant crane loop, sorry about this. Unfortunately the editing room was too small to contain my monkey vitality and we lost one editor cos I chewed on his nose and bashed on his ballsarea. This may have given the film an irregular tempo, but one I'm sure hairy animals will enjoy. On a personal note, I chose to keep the movie long to reproduce how I felt when I was caged in downtown Auckland. There were a few regrettable incidents, like when I threw Jack Black cos I mistook him for a log, but my only real regret is there hadn't been such a debilitating shortage of bananas when we wrote the script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NuttybabyJan 21, 2006
One of my favorites af all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RoxannA.Jan 20, 2006
3 hours went by fast! What an adventure ride! This is the coolest Kong ever. Naomi Watts does the impossible, she's brilliant. I'm sure she played to green screen. Such compassion with few words. Thank God the helpless, victim 3 hours went by fast! What an adventure ride! This is the coolest Kong ever. Naomi Watts does the impossible, she's brilliant. I'm sure she played to green screen. Such compassion with few words. Thank God the helpless, victim female role that is alive and well in contemporary cinema is revised here. Mankind is as cruel and apathetic to Kong as he is to most creatures on our planet today. U know what a horrible ending it will be for Kong, and it's heartbreaking to watch. King Kong is a parable about man's rapacious approach to nature and animals. The laws of Darwin no longer apply today, everything lives or dies based on its relationship or value to man. Here on skull island man is reminded that he's part of the food chain! This is a great adventure story but what made it a great movie is the bond of equals between the blond and the beast. An impossible, poignantly drawn love affair . This was the soul of the movie for me. It was heartbreaking to see Kong die and to know we treat gorillas, wolves and other creatures the same in our world today. Can't be missed on the big screen! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephJan 21, 2006
I thought this film was great, all the effects were excellant and the cast was brill! I didnt know what to expect and was on the edge of my seat the whole time during the film. It has something for everyone and it is defiantly a must see!!! I thought this film was great, all the effects were excellant and the cast was brill! I didnt know what to expect and was on the edge of my seat the whole time during the film. It has something for everyone and it is defiantly a must see!!! I would definatly get it on dvd when it comes out, one of the best films of the year!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
WeldonN.Jan 2, 2006
Probably great for ages 6-12. If you are 13 or over, don't go because your snoring will probably disturb the kids.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RodJan 28, 2006
Disappointing effort from the team which made 3 great Lord of the Rings films - but it always was a juvenile choice. The New York settings were pretty good but the island based scenes were generally terrible - so bad that I was close to Disappointing effort from the team which made 3 great Lord of the Rings films - but it always was a juvenile choice. The New York settings were pretty good but the island based scenes were generally terrible - so bad that I was close to leaving the theatre and I have never done that before. PJ's worst excesses are when he lets CG get in the way of good story telling (think the Legolas as super hero bounding across the oliphant in LOTR by way of example). The scenes with Kong and the T-rexs, plus general chit-chat while dinosaurs stomp over the top while our heros run down the path were just plain silly. For anyone who hasn't seen it try out Jackson's amazing 1994 film Heavenly Creatures. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CurtisS.Jan 2, 2006
This movie kicked ass and got to the point. this was the best movie that was based on the book ever. the director is the sh.t.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FredJan 3, 2006
One of the best movies of all time, in my honest opinion. The love between Kong and Ann is very well represented to the point that you feel it; heck, you SEE it. In fact, this is probably my favorite "romantic" movie ever because One of the best movies of all time, in my honest opinion. The love between Kong and Ann is very well represented to the point that you feel it; heck, you SEE it. In fact, this is probably my favorite "romantic" movie ever because there's no cheesy dialogue that nobody in their right mind would ever say. This is real. There is no need for dialogue between Ann and Kong. Their love is shown in their emotion and their actions and that's far more believable than two characters saying, "Aw, I love you like the wind loves the..." blah, blah, blah. This is a love that anybody can relate to: well-spoken or not. It's true this film is long, but the long setup simple makes the ending that much more powerful. Would 'The Great Gatsby' be great if it were one page long? Some works of art need setup. King Kong certainly could have been made into a 90-minute Hollywood Special, but it wouldn't have had any emotional impact and it would have been the equivalent of Jurrasic Park: all the action, with none of the meaning. King Kong is a must-see for all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
360bobJan 3, 2006
Just like Titanic you know how it ends but its the journey there and its better than other monster flicks out there like Godzilla or free willy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DunceCapJan 3, 2006
Fred you don't have an honest opinon. You sound as if you are ten years old so I will cut you some slack. But opinions are like pie holes as everyone has one including me. For my money this movie was the pits. Peter Jackson is Fred you don't have an honest opinon. You sound as if you are ten years old so I will cut you some slack. But opinions are like pie holes as everyone has one including me. For my money this movie was the pits. Peter Jackson is definitely in need of some professional counseling if this is the best he can do with a budget of two hundred million dollars. The acting was bad. The directing even worse. And as for the dialogue what little there was well let's just say it was poor. The CGI was good in spots and horrid in others. Over all this movie was a total bomb. A turkey. Thanksgiving rather than Christmas would have been more appropriate to present this lame turkey with all the stuffing. Way toooo long and boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JustinJan 30, 2006
First 20 minutes were entertaining. The subsequent 2,450 truthfully made me long for the most painful and lengthy suicide imaginable. Any reputable reviewer listed above should be ashamed of themselves for giving this thing any form of First 20 minutes were entertaining. The subsequent 2,450 truthfully made me long for the most painful and lengthy suicide imaginable. Any reputable reviewer listed above should be ashamed of themselves for giving this thing any form of praise (Onion AV club, I'm particularly disapointed!). Having $200 million and a vivid imagination for creating mutant bugs does not equal a good film, please remember that when some asshole decides to remake Godzilla...oh wait, they did that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RodS.Jan 3, 2006
Most movies serve to either entertain, or to tell a story, many doing both. The question is, how well a movie accomplishes the above. P. Jackson's "King Kong" obviously is not "documentary" in the sense of the story-telling, but for a Most movies serve to either entertain, or to tell a story, many doing both. The question is, how well a movie accomplishes the above. P. Jackson's "King Kong" obviously is not "documentary" in the sense of the story-telling, but for a good old adventure story that is meant to entertain, this movie shines. For three hours I was totally immersed in another world, with all the romaticism and excitement reminiscent of my childhood escapist daydreams. I was enthralled by the images, the color palette, the action, the nail-biting suspense . . . This is a great movie that opens up a world of wonder and excitment, what I believe movie making originally was meant to be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamLJan 4, 2006
Great Movie, the length is necessary and the effects are amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SueMJan 4, 2006
Eh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AngieJan 4, 2006
Simply Amazing, but if you didn't like Lord of the Rings you aren't going to like this either.... Peter Jackson makes movies for people who actually have attention spans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanC.Jan 4, 2006
The best scenes in the movie are when Kong and Ann are together: they showed a development in their relationship, and the special effects are terrific. Sadly, the movie is too LONG, extremely LONG, there a lot of scenes that could been cut The best scenes in the movie are when Kong and Ann are together: they showed a development in their relationship, and the special effects are terrific. Sadly, the movie is too LONG, extremely LONG, there a lot of scenes that could been cut and if wouldn't affect anyhow the plot; scenes such as the battle with the giant insects!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful