Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 14, 2005
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1396 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
998
Mixed:
154
Negative:
244
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
lukechristianscJul 31, 2014
there are so many king Kong movies like example the one that started from 1933 But this one is so much better then the 1933 version. King Kong is stunning it has creativity, imagination and talent.When you see this for the 100th or athere are so many king Kong movies like example the one that started from 1933 But this one is so much better then the 1933 version. King Kong is stunning it has creativity, imagination and talent.When you see this for the 100th or a million times you can understand that there's so much love that a beast and a woman and thats the love that the story on itself. you cant just watch this movie and skip the drama parts that watts love for the ape thats part of the passion and the story. You can understand that the love that a human and a animal thats part of kong's battle in the world. this movie would not be a huge hit if it wasn't for Peter Jackson even if he did not write the script it automatically it tells us he used his imagination in the screenplay or way it tells it adventure. Jackson its the new Steilberg he has a film makers eye with adventure, horror and its beautiful. Jackson has some movies that have a world of good imagination like the adventures of Titin. but there are some things wrong with his performance of directing like lord of the rings. Whats wrong with lord of the rings is its like a rush to the finish line. and we need to see it improve from Jackson thats the bad part of jackson that i dont like. kong is amazing movie. i hope theres king kong 2 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Meth-dudeApr 26, 2014
Great cast,amazing acting and absolutely wonderful graphics.The movie is long but we don't see the time pass because the movie is so awesome.There is so many action scenes and the dinosaurs were realistic.I didn't like the original but this one wow!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
evtsoaresDec 17, 2014
It is the unexplained feeling of watching King Kong . It is epic , a film that merges all of the seventh art styles . In my opinion the best ever made so far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BitashJul 23, 2017
I just saw the Kong skull island movie and made me realize I loved Jacksons version so much I need to leave a review. Great story line, Greta plot. Good character development, I felts for Kong. The movie triggers emotions in you, great CG . AI just saw the Kong skull island movie and made me realize I loved Jacksons version so much I need to leave a review. Great story line, Greta plot. Good character development, I felts for Kong. The movie triggers emotions in you, great CG . A must see. I will see again Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
darthbagginsDec 19, 2016
This is a one of a kind remake that actually is better than the original. The cast is excellent, the effects are groundbreaking and the emotion is strong. It is a very long film but it is three hours of brilliance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MartFeb 6, 2006
I was surprised by how good this film is.I didn't enjoy any of the LOTR films(I must be the only person on Earth) but Jackson redeemed himself with this one.Once the action starts it rarely stops.Unlike the LOTR I didn't feel the I was surprised by how good this film is.I didn't enjoy any of the LOTR films(I must be the only person on Earth) but Jackson redeemed himself with this one.Once the action starts it rarely stops.Unlike the LOTR I didn't feel the time go.Also, Jack Black is very entertaining in the Orson Welles-type role. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DuncanJan 13, 2006
Impressive and gripping, cgi not always on the spot and probably a tad too long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickA.Oct 30, 2007
I
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatrickW.Dec 15, 2005
I am unable to understand the low scores people must have decided to hate it before seeing it!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
E.B.Dec 16, 2005
Peter Jackson is becoming known for his 3 hour movies...which can be a good thing or a bad thing, depending on how you look at it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SharifDec 19, 2005
Very Good movie, I have no complaints about the length of the movie, since i liked it i dont see why i should'nt get more of what i like and make the most of my money, and it also sets the flow of the movie. while watching felt sorry Very Good movie, I have no complaints about the length of the movie, since i liked it i dont see why i should'nt get more of what i like and make the most of my money, and it also sets the flow of the movie. while watching felt sorry for Mr. Kong all the while telling him in my head Yeah budy women do that to you, they mess up your head and that is the end result. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RoxannA.Jan 20, 2006
3 hours went by fast! What an adventure ride! This is the coolest Kong ever. Naomi Watts does the impossible, she's brilliant. I'm sure she played to green screen. Such compassion with few words. Thank God the helpless, victim 3 hours went by fast! What an adventure ride! This is the coolest Kong ever. Naomi Watts does the impossible, she's brilliant. I'm sure she played to green screen. Such compassion with few words. Thank God the helpless, victim female role that is alive and well in contemporary cinema is revised here. Mankind is as cruel and apathetic to Kong as he is to most creatures on our planet today. U know what a horrible ending it will be for Kong, and it's heartbreaking to watch. King Kong is a parable about man's rapacious approach to nature and animals. The laws of Darwin no longer apply today, everything lives or dies based on its relationship or value to man. Here on skull island man is reminded that he's part of the food chain! This is a great adventure story but what made it a great movie is the bond of equals between the blond and the beast. An impossible, poignantly drawn love affair . This was the soul of the movie for me. It was heartbreaking to see Kong die and to know we treat gorillas, wolves and other creatures the same in our world today. Can't be missed on the big screen! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
360bobJan 3, 2006
Just like Titanic you know how it ends but its the journey there and its better than other monster flicks out there like Godzilla or free willy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RodS.Jan 3, 2006
Most movies serve to either entertain, or to tell a story, many doing both. The question is, how well a movie accomplishes the above. P. Jackson's "King Kong" obviously is not "documentary" in the sense of the story-telling, but for a Most movies serve to either entertain, or to tell a story, many doing both. The question is, how well a movie accomplishes the above. P. Jackson's "King Kong" obviously is not "documentary" in the sense of the story-telling, but for a good old adventure story that is meant to entertain, this movie shines. For three hours I was totally immersed in another world, with all the romaticism and excitement reminiscent of my childhood escapist daydreams. I was enthralled by the images, the color palette, the action, the nail-biting suspense . . . This is a great movie that opens up a world of wonder and excitment, what I believe movie making originally was meant to be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AngieJan 4, 2006
Simply Amazing, but if you didn't like Lord of the Rings you aren't going to like this either.... Peter Jackson makes movies for people who actually have attention spans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkDJul 12, 2007
I see views and ratings vary wildly for this movie. Some criticisms are just; it was a teeny bit too long and some of the action scenes were poorly done and unnecessary. I get the impression, though, that some people are carping and nit I see views and ratings vary wildly for this movie. Some criticisms are just; it was a teeny bit too long and some of the action scenes were poorly done and unnecessary. I get the impression, though, that some people are carping and nit picking while choosing to ignore (or perhaps just not getting) the emotional and moral core at the heart of this movie. The key is in the very last line - and it's heartbreaking. If you don't get it I'm not going to explain it to you but to sum it up, this movie is both exciting and beautiful. This movie is Hollywood at it's very best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TaylorS.Dec 16, 2005
I saw this and my friends were amazed. I thought it was good, but something was missing. I couldn't put my finger on it, until reading other reviews. The movie was out of propotion: the ship scene was way too long, and not enough time I saw this and my friends were amazed. I thought it was good, but something was missing. I couldn't put my finger on it, until reading other reviews. The movie was out of propotion: the ship scene was way too long, and not enough time was spent in the end at New York. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MCDBDec 19, 2005
This film is is just great. The effects are incredible, the acting great. Serkis was brilliant as a gorrila and Black balanced funny and serious perfectly. However I do think it is racist. The view of "The native" dates back to the time of This film is is just great. The effects are incredible, the acting great. Serkis was brilliant as a gorrila and Black balanced funny and serious perfectly. However I do think it is racist. The view of "The native" dates back to the time of the book Robinson Crusoe, the idea was that if you were not Christian, you were some horrible cannableistic savage. However I do think it is possible that it was less a race thing, just the idea that this was a world still in the past, and it could be more era-bashing as opposed to racism. Apart from that, great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenG.Dec 19, 2005
Okay, if you think that this movie is unrealistic, why did you go see it? You already know what it is about! If you look past the fact that it is unrealistic and the fact that it is too long, you'll see that the acting is awesome and Okay, if you think that this movie is unrealistic, why did you go see it? You already know what it is about! If you look past the fact that it is unrealistic and the fact that it is too long, you'll see that the acting is awesome and the effects rock! I loved this movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickK.Dec 26, 2005
A solidly entertaining movie. Although a little long for my taste, every epic movie has to break the two hour time limit. For those of you who think it's crap, you need to learn to sit back and take it for what it is: entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RossN.Dec 27, 2005
Interesting to see such a broad range of opinions and ratings. Some of those who've dismissed it I believe are missing the point and probably need to relax a little more. I was enthralled and thought it was wonderful escapism - I Interesting to see such a broad range of opinions and ratings. Some of those who've dismissed it I believe are missing the point and probably need to relax a little more. I was enthralled and thought it was wonderful escapism - I thought Kong delivered far more depth of character than I would have expected and I didn't have a problem with the characterisations generally. My expectation was that this would be big, over the top and a thrill and I was satisfied on all counts. Great stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomB.Dec 20, 2005
This could have easily been a big disappointment for me as I am such a big fan of the original 1933 film. Face it; When you go remaking such a classic you are playing with fire. Peter Jackson has cited the original Kong as a major This could have easily been a big disappointment for me as I am such a big fan of the original 1933 film. Face it; When you go remaking such a classic you are playing with fire. Peter Jackson has cited the original Kong as a major inspiration to him one which lead him into film making and has stated that he wanted to bring the beloved story to the younger generation which is reluctant to watch old movies. He has said that he wanted to use modern effects and technology to tell the story and bring some freshness to it while retaining spirit of the original. I think he succeeded. I want to say right up front that the ads and trailers for the movie really don't do the CGI effects justice. I really expected the giant gorilla to look a bit like a character from a video game ala Jar Jar Binks or The Hulk but the effects are very believable and really do set a new standard in terms of intermixing computer generated characters with live ones. The few changes Jackson made don't take away from the original characters or the plot at all, in fact, they enhance them; The heroine, Ann Darrow (Naomi Watts), and the fast talking Carl Denham (Jack Black) are given back stories which explain some of their motivations and I felt they were nice touches. I only have a few very small criticisms of the film and they primarily revolve around scenes that are either too long or unnecessary. Jackson could have easily trimmed 20 minutes or so out of the 3+ hours and I think the movie would have been better for it. Still, this is as good of a remake as I've ever seen. As with Sam Raimi and the Spiderman films, Peter Jackson has demonstrated what a difference it makes when director has a true love of the source material he is working from. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SammyZeeJan 1, 2006
Pretty damn good. no wonder it was one of the most expensive moves ever made. one word: Wow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanD.Jan 21, 2006
Any one who is not entertained by this movie, I hear Cheaper by the Dozen has a squel out, you might want to check that out. Peter Jackson's vision truly comes alive in this movie, that is more that just explosions and special effects. Any one who is not entertained by this movie, I hear Cheaper by the Dozen has a squel out, you might want to check that out. Peter Jackson's vision truly comes alive in this movie, that is more that just explosions and special effects. It is an entertaining story that makes the three hours worth it. I'll agree that it was a touch long, but almost necessary when you have to develope a main character that is a CGI ape who can't talk. Grab a bucket of popcorn and enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinM.Dec 6, 2006
This was by far the best version of Kong that I have seen. Jack Black was great and after watching the film couldn't pick a better person for that role. Great flick and a great job by the crew.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanF.Jan 5, 2006
Don't listen to the whiners here. Hands-down, this is the best popcorn movie I've ever seen. A thin storyline and long running time was more than made up for by the relentless action, scares, and just plain FUN. The last line of Don't listen to the whiners here. Hands-down, this is the best popcorn movie I've ever seen. A thin storyline and long running time was more than made up for by the relentless action, scares, and just plain FUN. The last line of the movie was pretty silly, but that's all that kept it from a 10 to me. If you're looking for story, see Munich or Syriana. But if you want fun, Kong is king. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarcelG.Jan 6, 2006
Well made and lot of action. Great attention to detail. Focus to much on lady-gorrilla relationship! Very emotional and powerful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimH.Mar 5, 2006
This is a great movie, no question. The special effects are almost always convincing (save for a corny looking brotosaurus stampede), and it has a deep emotional wieght. Also, the soundtrack is very well done, and it gets stuck in your head. This is a great movie, no question. The special effects are almost always convincing (save for a corny looking brotosaurus stampede), and it has a deep emotional wieght. Also, the soundtrack is very well done, and it gets stuck in your head. However, it's just TOO FRICKING LONG.... It jumps around from subject to subject, sometimes with no rhyme or reason. This and some of the cornier special effects dock a point from the rating. Overall, King Kong is a slightly flawed gem. Go see it. (And fans of the original, keep your eyes peeled for homages in the costumes, props, music, ect.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregA.Aug 12, 2007
Just watched this on DVD last night and thought it was fantastic - only wished I had seen it on the big screen. Previous to that I was a bit wary of this film due to the length of it, but I was wrong, I didn't feel it was drawn out at Just watched this on DVD last night and thought it was fantastic - only wished I had seen it on the big screen. Previous to that I was a bit wary of this film due to the length of it, but I was wrong, I didn't feel it was drawn out at all - you may question the slow bits with Naomi and Kong but without it the purpose to the movie would be lost. It is a couple years old now, but if you haven't seen it and want to see some great special effects coupled with a solid storyline I highly recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ShaneCDec 15, 2005
Aventurous, magical, romantic, if just a trifle overdone - a masterpiece of modern cinema nonetheless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdamDec 15, 2005
Movie magic. It's long and overstuffed, sure, but it swept me along with it as no other CG action movie ever has. Every shot has emotion or sinew or both, in spades. The stampeding brontosaurs were neat, then ridiculous, then pure Movie magic. It's long and overstuffed, sure, but it swept me along with it as no other CG action movie ever has. Every shot has emotion or sinew or both, in spades. The stampeding brontosaurs were neat, then ridiculous, then pure slapstick genius (made me kind of queasy though). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CoreyR.Dec 15, 2005
Yes, it's too long. Yes, the segue between the 2nd and 3rd acts is too abrupt. But what Jackson accomplishes is nothing short of magical; he gives a special effect the death scene most actors would kill for, and pulls it off with a Yes, it's too long. Yes, the segue between the 2nd and 3rd acts is too abrupt. But what Jackson accomplishes is nothing short of magical; he gives a special effect the death scene most actors would kill for, and pulls it off with a grace and dignity that no actor could pull off. There is no denying it, Jackson is a genius filmmaker. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BakracM.Dec 16, 2005
Great movie almost perfect!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TonyB.Dec 17, 2005
Totally enjoyed it. A few minor things could have been changed (mixing dinosaurs and people running together, and any ofthe people surviving was a bit of a stretch, and the same with those pesky insects). The close ups of Naomi were Totally enjoyed it. A few minor things could have been changed (mixing dinosaurs and people running together, and any ofthe people surviving was a bit of a stretch, and the same with those pesky insects). The close ups of Naomi were beautiful, BTW. If you go to movies to be entertained, I can't think of any movie that could have done it better. I enjoyed it at least as much as the original. The only changes I would have liked to have seen would have been a little less of the first hour, and a little more of scenes in NY at the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeremyD.Dec 17, 2005
Excellent movie. An homage to Hollywood really.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeethJ.Dec 17, 2005
The movie was great.....especially the visuals and the expressions of kong......excellent stuff by peter jackson.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisM.Dec 18, 2005
If you didn't like it, I feel bad for you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndyC.Dec 18, 2005
The only reason this film does not gain a perfect ten is that it is, at the end of the day, a remake. Most of the audience know the end, but what a ride they have on the way! We've had so many years of soulless CGI blockbusters; here The only reason this film does not gain a perfect ten is that it is, at the end of the day, a remake. Most of the audience know the end, but what a ride they have on the way! We've had so many years of soulless CGI blockbusters; here the effects are used for a reason. The middle section is the most exciting and fun film I've seen for a long time. In fact I haven't had that much celluloid fun since Raiders of the Lost Ark. Perhaps I need to get out more? I took my ten year old daughter to see this, who has never seen the original. She thoroughly enjoyed every minute. However, she was dry eyed at the end! I suspect the running time of the movie dilutes the impact of Kong's demise; deep down somewhere we are quite relieved to see him go. For my own part I blubbed like a baby. I always laugh when I see so much deep analysis of a film like this. It's the story of a 25 foot tall gorilla that falls in love with a girl, whilst tearing merry hell out of jungle monsters and New York. With that in mind it delivers everything for which you could wish. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BitBurnDec 18, 2005
It's hard too believe that this movie received scores lower than 6, I mean, come on people! Sure, romance is not for everybody but the special effects alone are worth a 6, minimum!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdamBDec 18, 2005
Other movies can have dinosaurs besides Jurrasic Park people. Just like to make that clear for those who don't get the dinosaur part. Yes Peter Jackson is known for taking his time with a film and King Kong takes its time. It takes that Other movies can have dinosaurs besides Jurrasic Park people. Just like to make that clear for those who don't get the dinosaur part. Yes Peter Jackson is known for taking his time with a film and King Kong takes its time. It takes that extra minute or two with scenes to fully flesh them out, and they are well worth it. A great love story, some dialogue wooden, but overlooked in the grand scheme of things. Kong is amazing to look at and a nonstop thrill ride once you hit the Island. Some points in the plot like how they got kong to new york and why Naomi wasn't cold don't matter! I guess it's not realistic because Naomi didn't shiver or fall off at the top of the Empire State Building, but the movie is about a big ape who fights dinosaurs. Scary, funny, and an adrenline rush, Kong delivers on every level. A instant classic. And don't look for racism where isn't any. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MitchellF.Dec 19, 2005
King Kong, a story of a giant ape who falls for a sweet little girl. Fantastic. This movie delivers fantastic special effects, great acting (I believed that Mrs. Watts was with Kong) and 3 hours of non-stop, eye-catching action. Who would King Kong, a story of a giant ape who falls for a sweet little girl. Fantastic. This movie delivers fantastic special effects, great acting (I believed that Mrs. Watts was with Kong) and 3 hours of non-stop, eye-catching action. Who would have thought that Jack Black could have done such a wonderful job at acting serious. In reviews I see people basing their marks on the fact that is a remake. I myself have never seen the origional movie, so I could watch this movie without that thought. And wow. The only thing about this movie that bugged me, were the bugs. Oh, and director Peter Jackson tended to use some of the same tactics as he used in Lord of the Rings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RonL.Dec 19, 2005
Go see this one on the biggest screen possible. This movie is great fun! It's the kind of fun going to the movies is all about. If anyone tries to shoot holes in this one then they went to Kong for the wrong reason. Not going to win an Go see this one on the biggest screen possible. This movie is great fun! It's the kind of fun going to the movies is all about. If anyone tries to shoot holes in this one then they went to Kong for the wrong reason. Not going to win an Oscar for screenpla,y but Art Direction without a doubt. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeyM.Dec 21, 2005
For once, an action movie gets it write. Jackson and his writing team spend enough time on developing the characters for us to actually care about them. When they start to meet their inevitable tragic ends, they aren't just For once, an action movie gets it write. Jackson and his writing team spend enough time on developing the characters for us to actually care about them. When they start to meet their inevitable tragic ends, they aren't just stereotypical "Red Shirts" (to use the Star Trek term) but people we've grown to like. Kong is terrific. He has a fully realized personality and - since Jackson urges you to look at the subtext of the story - you will notice that there is an extra layer of tragedy to the great ape. All the performances are top notch (though, I suppose, if you hate Jack Black, you will hate him in this - I happen to like Jack Black, so there you go). As for the action sequences, the "Kong fights T-Rexes in the vines" sequence is one of the most exciting I've seen in years. Terrific movie and a must see on the big screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnnN.Dec 21, 2005
I'll start out by saying that the T-Rex fight was a bit much, yes. But other than that, this movie was everything it should have been. I believe that you can tell when a film is good if you can understand the relationships between the I'll start out by saying that the T-Rex fight was a bit much, yes. But other than that, this movie was everything it should have been. I believe that you can tell when a film is good if you can understand the relationships between the characters even without sound, and you can easily do that here. It was a great update, filled with emotion and- as every good monster movie should be- a reflection on humanity. It's an old story, but that doesn't mean it's not a good one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregC.Dec 23, 2005
A visual assault from start to finish!! flippin' brilliant!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SeanKimDec 26, 2005
No one does action and emotion better. Dinosaur chase and crash scene was brilliant. The gorilla has more emotion than some actors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ClintM.Dec 27, 2005
This was three hours well invested! The action was great and the special effects were incredible! Once the movie wrapped you actually felt rewarded for sitting through the whole thing ... not like many other movies I've seen this year This was three hours well invested! The action was great and the special effects were incredible! Once the movie wrapped you actually felt rewarded for sitting through the whole thing ... not like many other movies I've seen this year where I left feeling robbed of the time I could have used for something else (damn you, Fantastic Four!). Peter Jackson proves he's a master filmmaker and deserved that $20 million dollar paycheck! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChaseR.Dec 27, 2005
If there is such thing as a perfect movie it is this. Jackson combines amazing graphics with a true to the original story plot. The acting is so good that you won't mind the corny 30s dialouge. Aside from that the special effects are If there is such thing as a perfect movie it is this. Jackson combines amazing graphics with a true to the original story plot. The acting is so good that you won't mind the corny 30s dialouge. Aside from that the special effects are the best I have ever scene. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Rev.RikardDec 27, 2005
Peter Jackson did a masterful job in making "man more animalistic" in the movie, and "the animal more human." As you watch the movie you observe Kong becoming more humane, and Jack Black's character becoming more inhumane. For example, Peter Jackson did a masterful job in making "man more animalistic" in the movie, and "the animal more human." As you watch the movie you observe Kong becoming more humane, and Jack Black's character becoming more inhumane. For example, one of the powerful moments of this revelation occurs as Kong notes that the sunrise is beautiful, as Black's character is worried that his get-rich scheme has failed. There is definitely a political theme here as well. Jackson (though it can be argued he is just being true to the original film) pointedly shows that the human response to fear is to take a gun and shoot at what it is that scares us. In other words, before asking the relevant, necessary questions, we shoot! The best acting here is not found in word but in the eyes. The eyes of Kong, Brody, and Watts say more about what we really feel that the dialogue, which is sparse and predictable. This is one of the few criticisms I have of the movie. Another is the fact that there is a little too much "Jurassic Park" in the film. We didn't need all those prehistoric scenes. At first they added thrill and excitement, but soon became redundant. About a third of those scenes should have been on the editing floor. The final criticism I had was that awful last line spoken by Black. It was unnecessary, obvious and too cliche. Had he turned and walked away in disgust of himself it would have spoken more powerfully than that "fairy tale line." Still, all in all, I had a great time watching this movie, even if Jackson made me look at my character in light of the simple values of an overgrown silverback. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidS.Dec 29, 2005
This is what movies used to be like - true spectacles, events, escape. Now that studios will throw millions t anyone with a joke that appeals to a 13 year old (sounds vaguely like the venture capitalists in the dot-com era, frankly), This is what movies used to be like - true spectacles, events, escape. Now that studios will throw millions t anyone with a joke that appeals to a 13 year old (sounds vaguely like the venture capitalists in the dot-com era, frankly), it's a pleasure to go to a film that puts to shame the theaters in which it's showing. I am sympathetic to concerns that the film is too long, but have to counterpoint that Jackson expertly interrupts scenes that seem to be going too long. The death scene between Naomi Watts and Kong is worth the price of admission. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KarryD.Jan 17, 2006
Kong plays perfectly. A+ for realism, even though we're looking at a giant ape, the creature is captivating and believably human. Even the child like darling of Naomi Watts works to the advantage of the cast. Jack Black steals the show, Kong plays perfectly. A+ for realism, even though we're looking at a giant ape, the creature is captivating and believably human. Even the child like darling of Naomi Watts works to the advantage of the cast. Jack Black steals the show, expect for the last line, which although part of the original screenplay seemed contrived and out of place. Someone else should have said it. It is possible to nit-pick the the details to death, but alas, suspension of ones disbelief in not that hard when the lights are down and Kong is on the screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SaketR.Mar 18, 2006
A wonderfully made film. The scenes in New York were really splendid and although the jungle fights were a little passe, the emotional quota of the story more than made up for that. Visuals were spectacular and Kong and Darrow swooped home A wonderfully made film. The scenes in New York were really splendid and although the jungle fights were a little passe, the emotional quota of the story more than made up for that. Visuals were spectacular and Kong and Darrow swooped home in an acting triumph. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WongitDec 14, 2005
Simply astonishing. this movie is amazing. great visual effects great everyhting, i was dazzled by this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AaronDec 14, 2005
Sensational entertainment. Jackson really outdid himself here. I think it's one of the rare times the remake betters the original film, seriously. Yes, the film does have its flaws. A little trimming here and there would have helped Sensational entertainment. Jackson really outdid himself here. I think it's one of the rare times the remake betters the original film, seriously. Yes, the film does have its flaws. A little trimming here and there would have helped immensly, but why quibble when a film is this entertaining. Jackson's love for the original film is quite apparent because of the care he has given his own Kong. Speaking of which, Kong may be the single greatest piece of FX work in film history right now. WETA did an amazing job. Not just with the gorilla, but with all of the FX. There's just one astonishing set piece after another. One complaint that I've been hearing is how slow the first hour is. Not at all. I think that deliberate buildup is cruicial to the film. Maybe some of the scenes on the boat don't quite work, but I like how Jackson slowly builds up the suspense leading to Skull Island. And when they finally do reach the place, the film moves to a whole new level. From that point on, it just rocks. Intense, exciting, and at times quite moving, Jackson's King Kong is the first 'event' film in a long time that acutally lived up. Sure to nominated for Best Picture at the Oscars. NOTE: A few scenes may be too intense for very young children. Basically, if you know what your kid can handle, by all means take them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GabrielG.Dec 14, 2005
Spectacular and tragic. Scary and thrilling. Jackson's "Kong" is an adrenaline-pumping, eye-popping, heart-tugging spectacle of cinematic magic. In one frantic, dyno-mite scene on Skull Island, the director manages to out-Spielberg Spectacular and tragic. Scary and thrilling. Jackson's "Kong" is an adrenaline-pumping, eye-popping, heart-tugging spectacle of cinematic magic. In one frantic, dyno-mite scene on Skull Island, the director manages to out-Spielberg Spielberg. Watts is fantastic and the big hairy guy makes you feel something you haven't felt for an animated animal since Bambi lost his mom. And just as mind-scrambling as all the beasty CGI is the recreation of New York in the 1930s: The city didn't even look this good in the original "Kong." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JaceB.Dec 16, 2005
King Kong is one of the best films of 2005. After months of lackluster films, Peter Jackson finally released his long-awaited film. This film, to sum it up in one word, is amazing. While others have found it slow, I found it to be one of the King Kong is one of the best films of 2005. After months of lackluster films, Peter Jackson finally released his long-awaited film. This film, to sum it up in one word, is amazing. While others have found it slow, I found it to be one of the most exciting movies I've ever seen. The acting was solid, with an outstanding performance by Watts, the dialogue good, and the overall direction of the fim was excellent. Only a few complaints kept this movie from getting a perfect ten. But anyways, this film ends the 2005 movie year on a high note. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KingKongBundyDec 16, 2005
I know that most of the critics searching for an art elements in movies. They tend to be mean for the blockbuster type of movies. But don't tell me you guys didn't enjoy a bit when you watch the blockbuster movies, especially the I know that most of the critics searching for an art elements in movies. They tend to be mean for the blockbuster type of movies. But don't tell me you guys didn't enjoy a bit when you watch the blockbuster movies, especially the good one such as King Kong. I don't mind the low rating but it must based on professionalism, not as a punching bag, you know bashing up all the time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnB.Dec 16, 2005
Consider the movie first with no knowledge of Kong or what the story is about. Walk into the movie theater without ever hearing about "Kong" and you have one of the most eye popping, mind boggling movies in history. The magic felt during the Consider the movie first with no knowledge of Kong or what the story is about. Walk into the movie theater without ever hearing about "Kong" and you have one of the most eye popping, mind boggling movies in history. The magic felt during the original film would exist when you walk out of the theater. Peter Jackson proves his abilities to make seamless visuals which in of itself could tell the whole story. I hadn't even realized that near the end of the film there was nearly an absence of dialog altogether. Jackson so easily sets a certain mood using both the emotions of the actors as well as visuals even if that takes a longer scene here or there. It's true that the movie could have been shaved a good 15 - 30 minutes but once the action begins, the movie equally speeds up and sets a good pace. Though everyone knew what was about to happen next, nothing seemed forced. "King Kong" is a must see and it would only seem better if not genius had the giant ape not been done before and the mysteries and wonders of skull island not been discovered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonathanH.Dec 16, 2005
Anybody who gives this movie a 5 or less is insane. I cannot picture why anyone would give this masterpiece such a low rating. The first hour when they are on the ship was great because of the great acting. So anyone who says the first hour Anybody who gives this movie a 5 or less is insane. I cannot picture why anyone would give this masterpiece such a low rating. The first hour when they are on the ship was great because of the great acting. So anyone who says the first hour sucks should tell me how the movie would make sense without it.When they get to skull island, you can expect an hour and a half of nonstop brilliant acting, action, and much more. Then when king kong gets captured, it gets even better. This whole movie is spectaculr, and the only reason why I did not give it a 10 is because I knew what was coming next. But definetly a must- see for anyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FrankO.Dec 17, 2005
I think there are a few people who might have missed the point of the movie. The movie's logic isn't in 2005, it's in the 1930's. As a movie buff, I really enjoyed that cheekiness. This was realism, but hyper-realism. I think there are a few people who might have missed the point of the movie. The movie's logic isn't in 2005, it's in the 1930's. As a movie buff, I really enjoyed that cheekiness. This was realism, but hyper-realism. With a nod to the inaccuracies of the original. I hope everyone knows that this is a remake of the 1930s film and not the 1970s one. "Jurassic Park" stole from "King Kong" not the other way around... Peter Jackson's just keeping true to the source material. Yes, the first act is slow, but once the action gets going, it really gets going. Yes, I did wonder how on earth little Naomi Watts stayed warm in the middle of winter in only a slip dress... hmmm... then again, I remember, it's just a silly movie and a pretty darn good one at that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KingKongDec 18, 2005
Come on guys. Be realistic. 0? 1? Give me a break. Why are people reviewing the movie out of context? "Its unrealistic" Since when is a 25 foot ape and a T-Rex fighting supposed to be realistic? If you want realism.... Go see murderball. Come on guys. Be realistic. 0? 1? Give me a break. Why are people reviewing the movie out of context? "Its unrealistic" Since when is a 25 foot ape and a T-Rex fighting supposed to be realistic? If you want realism.... Go see murderball. "Its racist". You almost need to BE racist to consider this racist. Is it racist when actual filmographers encounter undiscovered tribes and film them, because they're different from us? "Too long" This one i will give. Although it's not as TERRIBLY DRAWN OUT as all the 0 ratings say, there were scenes that were stretched. Which is why I give this film a 9. If it had the flow all the way through, a definite 10. The film had raw emotion. I could feel Watts and Kong's connection. Her torment over his capture and his rage, his panicked search through the streets to find his love. I can safely say it is one of my top three movies of the year. I highly recommend you disregard all scores, and make your own decision on the movie. Going into it with a "This movies gonna be overrated" point of view left me with a "Wow" at the end of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ShariN.Dec 19, 2005
This was a great film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
IvanS.Dec 23, 2005
Brilliant! Kong totally stole the show...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DuaneH.Dec 26, 2005
A beautiful movie, if a bit self-indulgent. Its three hours are far too long to keep the story intact. Should not be seen by young children. The PG-13 rating is too generous.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ErikN.Dec 29, 2005
Spectacular and one of the best monster movies ever made. Tons of fun, brilliant effects and emotionally very moving. Another terrific job by Peter Jackson.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenH.Dec 29, 2005
I had very high expectations for this movie before I saw it. After it was over, I was very convinced that this is one of the best movies ever made. Even though it wasn't as amazing as the Lord of the Rings trilogy, I thought it followed I had very high expectations for this movie before I saw it. After it was over, I was very convinced that this is one of the best movies ever made. Even though it wasn't as amazing as the Lord of the Rings trilogy, I thought it followed by very closely. Overall, I think everyone should see this film because it appeals to many types of audiences. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertR.Dec 29, 2005
This is a movie that definately deserved a remake, as the special effects that are now possible provide spellbinding entertainment for this story. Jackson should be proud, as he has putt together a movie that is both true to it's This is a movie that definately deserved a remake, as the special effects that are now possible provide spellbinding entertainment for this story. Jackson should be proud, as he has putt together a movie that is both true to it's original origins, whilst remaining relevant and exciting in the current time. Naomi Watts is cast perfectly as the love interest of tragically-fated Kong, and provides ear-piercing screams in this performance, as well as accurately portraying the complexity of her character. Overall, an action-packed and supreb remake of a classic movie, that will become a classic in it's own right. Best special effects leap since "Jurassic Park". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StephanC.Dec 31, 2005
The movie was very good, and quite moving. It was a tad long, though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Potter17Oct 9, 2011
It doesn't disappoint as a remake. Actually, Peter Jackson's vision of King Kong is more epic, passionate and unforgettable than the original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
skyminsterSep 20, 2013
King Kong may not be as good as some of Peter Jackson's incredible works, but is still amazing. It requires patience to watch the whole movie, as it is very long, slow and progressive, but it's worth it if you sit through the whole thing. TheKing Kong may not be as good as some of Peter Jackson's incredible works, but is still amazing. It requires patience to watch the whole movie, as it is very long, slow and progressive, but it's worth it if you sit through the whole thing. The camera-work is fantastic and captures moments brilliantly, and the music perfectly blends in with whichever scene/moment it is played in, especially when it is an emotional scene. This film isn't overly long and I don't understand why people complain about it's lengh, as it's a good thing that it's long, because it lets you think about whats happening and it lets you make the most of the moment; it's like a progressive rock song. The character building is superb and the acting is fantastic. The progressive feel to the film makes the finale all the more amazing, as the action, story and characters come together to make something spectacular, emotional and immensely gripping.

King Kong is a brilliant blend of action, adventure, and suspence. It is the film equivalent of a fantastic progressive rock song. So I give this film a 94/100!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HazzaGallaMar 21, 2016
One of, I believe, Peter Jackson's now underrated films, King Kong is a fantastic piece of film. Sure, it may hold quite a long run-time and slowish intro that may bore some people, but once the film gets going it kicks off with fantasticOne of, I believe, Peter Jackson's now underrated films, King Kong is a fantastic piece of film. Sure, it may hold quite a long run-time and slowish intro that may bore some people, but once the film gets going it kicks off with fantastic action scenes, tension filled moments and CGI that still holds up today. The performances in the movie are all fantastic, including Kong's motion capture by Andy Serkis, and a beautiful score to top it off. It still remains to this day as one of my favourite movies of all time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
BradySmithAug 26, 2013
A superb remake, and a thrilling adventure on its own terms, King Kong was one of 2005's most entertaining movies. It starts out slow, with a very 1930's vibe. I wouldn't consider the sections before the crew gets close to Skull IslandA superb remake, and a thrilling adventure on its own terms, King Kong was one of 2005's most entertaining movies. It starts out slow, with a very 1930's vibe. I wouldn't consider the sections before the crew gets close to Skull Island great filmmaking exactly, but Jackson has made good choice not to rush the story. Once they get to the island it proves that it was well worth the half hour wait. Believable performances, for the most part incredible special effects, Jackson's expert direction, and real emotion make this a must own. Granted, when I first saw the previews years ago I was hoping for a more surreal and out there vision of the story, but what we got was more than good enough. Almost forgot to mention how great the movie's score was. (That means the background music.) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
diego9901Feb 3, 2013
esta es una entretenida sofocante y excitante pelĂ­cula llena de actuaciones espectaculares y ni que decir de sus efectos esta es sin duda otra obra maestra de peter jackson
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
homer4presidentMar 11, 2015
King Kong is Peter Jackon's big, bold remake of the revered 1933 original. Getting off to a slow - though not uninteresting start, this movie really begins to shine once the Venture arrives at Skull Island, where Jackson and his team onceKing Kong is Peter Jackon's big, bold remake of the revered 1933 original. Getting off to a slow - though not uninteresting start, this movie really begins to shine once the Venture arrives at Skull Island, where Jackson and his team once again prove their spectacular prowess in the world of visual effects. The choreography and execution of the action scenes are nothing short of stunning (particularly in the one involving Kong and 3 T-Rex, as well as another that can only be described as a bug-phobic's worst nightmare.) Kong succeeds on the emotional level as well, playing out the platonic love-story with surprising poignancy and depth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieMasterEddyApr 6, 2016
Among the reasons "King Kong" - the old 100-minute black-and-white version, that is - has retained its appeal over the years is that it reminds audiences of the do-it-yourself, seat-of-the-pants ethic of early motion pictures. In 1933, whenAmong the reasons "King Kong" - the old 100-minute black-and-white version, that is - has retained its appeal over the years is that it reminds audiences of the do-it-yourself, seat-of-the-pants ethic of early motion pictures. In 1933, when RKO released it, sound film was in its infancy, and film itself was in the midst of a coltish, irrepressible adolescence. Merian C. Cooper and Ernest Schoedsack, who directed the first "Kong," understood the alchemical convergence of gimmickry and sublimity that lay at the heart of the medium's unrivaled potential to generate spectacle and sensation.

That potential still exists, but it may be harder to find these days, given how much bigger and more self-important movies have become. In his gargantuan, mightily entertaining remake, "King Kong," Peter Jackson tries to pay homage to the original even as he labors to surpass it. The sheer audacious novelty of the first "King Kong" is not something that can be replicated, but in throwing every available imaginative and technological resource into the effort, Mr. Jackson comes pretty close.

The threshold of sensation has risen drastically since the 30's, when movies were still associated with older, somewhat disreputable forms of popular culture. Unlike the 1976 remake, which tried to drag the story into the corporate present, Mr. Jackson's version returns it to the Great Depression, reminding us that the road to the multiplex stretches back through the music halls and burlesque houses of those bygone days.

Of course, this new "King Kong" (written by Mr. Jackson and his frequent collaborators Fran Walsh and Philippa Boyens) cost more than $200 million to make and can hardly be called scruffy. It arrives burdened with impossible expectations and harassed by competition from all sides. The director, who not so long ago was making low-budget monster movies in his native New Zealand, clearly wants to hold onto the artisanal, eccentric spirit of the past - his own and that of the art form he loves. But at the same time he must live up to the success of his "Lord of the Rings" trilogy and prove to a glutted, gluttonous audience that large-scale, effects-driven filmmaking is still capable of novelty, freshness and emotional impact.

He succeeds through a combination of modesty and reckless glee, topping himself at every turn and reveling in his own showmanship. His "King Kong," though it has a few flourishes of tongue-in-cheek knowingness - including references to Cooper and Fay Wray and shots that directly quote the original - never feels self-conscious or arch. And though it presents the interspecies love story between Kong (Andy Serkis, who also plays a shipboard cook named Lumpy) and Ann Darrow (Naomi Watts) with touching sincerity, the picture wears its themes lightly, waving away the somber, allegorical sententiousness that too many blockbusters ("Lord of the Rings" included) rely upon to justify their exorbitant costs. The movie is, almost by definition, too much - too long, too big, too stuffed with characters and over-the-top set pieces - but it is animated by an impish, generous grace. Three hours in the dark with a giant, angry ape should leave you feeling battered and exhausted, but "King Kong" is as memorable for its sweetness as for its sensationalism.

After setting a nostalgic mood with Art Deco titles and James Newton Howard's old-fashioned movie-palace overture, "King Kong" plunges into a New York of vaudeville houses, soup lines and Hooverville encampments. Ann, a winsome, wholesome hoofer, is performing in a threadbare revue that shuts down just as Carl Denham (Jack Black) loses the star of his next movie. Somehow, he entices not only Ann, but also her favorite playwright, the Barton Finkish Jack Driscoll (Adrien Brody), onto a rusty tub whose unsavory captain (Thomas Kretschmann) captures and transports exotic animals. Denham's plan is to take his film crew - which also includes his anxious assistant (Colin Hanks) and lantern-jawed star (Kyle Chandler) - to Skull Island, where they will discover Kong.

The rapport between Ms. Watts and Mr. Serkis is extraordinary, even though it is mediated by fur, latex, optical illusions and complicated effects. Mr. Serkis, who also played Gollum in the "Lord of the Rings" movies, is redefining screen acting for the digital age, while Ms. Watts incarnates the glamour and emotional directness of classical Hollywood. Together they form one of the most unlikely and affecting screen couples since Anthony Quinn and Giulietta Masina did their beast and beauty act in "La Strada."

The climax of "King Kong" - one of the most familiar sequences in movies, and one that never grows old - exemplifies both tendencies. It is shameless and exalted, absurd and sublime, vulgar and grand. It's what movies were made for.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
66jdMar 26, 2017
Wasn't too sure what to expect from this film.
However I wasn't disappointed.
The special effects and story are extremely watchable.
The t-rex fight scene was memorable.
Top cinema offering. Big screen viewing required.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DaveC.Jan 3, 2006
I find it hilarious that people are giving KING KONG bad reviews based on plausibility!!?? This was supposed to be big, dumb, and fun. Did you all miss the first two versions? Were you expecting a Woody Allen or Fellini film?? This was Peter I find it hilarious that people are giving KING KONG bad reviews based on plausibility!!?? This was supposed to be big, dumb, and fun. Did you all miss the first two versions? Were you expecting a Woody Allen or Fellini film?? This was Peter Friggin Jackson doing King Kong!! You guys sound so stupid saying things like, "the T-Rex fight was so unrealistic". Of course it was!! LOL! Or, "how did they get him to New York"? Who gives a crap!? It's a MOVIE about a 4 ton gorilla!! Go with it. Have some fun. It isn't "Sideways" for godsakes(totally overrated crap BTW). I also love the criticism that "it was too long". I guess this is a bad thing in the year 2006. I guess people are just too busy these days to sit in a movie and just ENJOY themselves? How silly. Kong rocked and was the most fun I've ever had in a theater. A total blast! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AoifeG.Jan 3, 2006
Overall-Very good. For me there were three main problems... no.1- It really dragged on at the start it took too long to get into the actual story. no.2-When Carl was showing his discovery to everyone back in America he didn't bother Overall-Very good. For me there were three main problems... no.1- It really dragged on at the start it took too long to get into the actual story. no.2-When Carl was showing his discovery to everyone back in America he didn't bother telling them about the dinosours. In my opinion dinosours are more important about a giant ape. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulJan 9, 2006
This movie was definitely worth the watch. My only complaint was that it was too long. King Kong looked incredibly real and the actors did a pretty good job. The action scenes were incredible, especially the one with Kong vs. the T Rex (in This movie was definitely worth the watch. My only complaint was that it was too long. King Kong looked incredibly real and the actors did a pretty good job. The action scenes were incredible, especially the one with Kong vs. the T Rex (in the vines!!!) There are too many people giving it a 10 because they like it or a 0 because they don't. Well, it's somewhere in between. People should start to rate fairly. Anyways, go see the movie. It's one that you'll appreciate more on the big screen. Just be sure your seats are comfortable before the show starts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndievJul 2, 2007
the movie was pretty good, i did cry a little at the end, when king kong fell off the empire state building, the actors and actresses were very skilled, naomi watts was excellent, the jungle insects scared me and i think my money didn't the movie was pretty good, i did cry a little at the end, when king kong fell off the empire state building, the actors and actresses were very skilled, naomi watts was excellent, the jungle insects scared me and i think my money didn't completely go to waste. peter jackson is an amazing director. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShaneB.Jan 12, 2008
This is my review of King Kong. Pretty much, it's about Ann Darrow, a woman who, after losing her job in 1933, is offered to be in a movie by a rebellious filmmaker, named Carl Denham, who trying to make a movie. They go on a ship and This is my review of King Kong. Pretty much, it's about Ann Darrow, a woman who, after losing her job in 1933, is offered to be in a movie by a rebellious filmmaker, named Carl Denham, who trying to make a movie. They go on a ship and end up at skull island, where Ann is sacrificed to the ape Kong. Now the only reason i wanted to see this movie was because it was directed by Peter Jackson. So, all in all, it was one of the best movies of 2005. the acting was okay, the action was spectacular. Yet the special effects was mixed. Some effects were awesome, like Kong. Yet others were no good at all. So this is a good film to see. I give Kong 2005 an 8/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KevinP.Dec 12, 2005
Amber A. writes: 'Some scenes on the Island were a little too reminiscent of Jurassic Park.' Um, I hope she understands that Jurassic Park borrowed from King Kong, not the other way around. But I suppose that's a problem when Amber A. writes: 'Some scenes on the Island were a little too reminiscent of Jurassic Park.' Um, I hope she understands that Jurassic Park borrowed from King Kong, not the other way around. But I suppose that's a problem when showing one of the most classic films of all time to a new audience, one that is much younger and less informed. The film does not tread much new ground - it's a faithful, and intentionally so, remake of the original (let's not think of the first remake, shall we?). Updated with familiar faces and a stunning marriage of live-action and CGI, this Kong allows for more emotional connections between the audience and the ape. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PcFanDec 20, 2005
Very entaining movie very polished and keeps you entertained from start to finish. only a complete idiot who has nothing better to do would give this movie a 3/10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveC.Dec 20, 2005
Yeah its long in strange places, short in others, but still a fantastic movie . CG were good to excellent, acting a bit cheesy at times (Black, Watts at the start) but why do we go to movies? to analyse or be entertained? hmmm...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoseC.Dec 26, 2005
The is long much longer then it needed to be. However, it is still a good movie. if you can't sit still or have finite attention spans. stay home
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattDec 8, 2005
The first hour is so bad, you'll think it's an elaborate joke
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimP.Dec 9, 2005
Very well done and exciting, with Kong an amazing creation. The Skull Island adventures eventually drag on a bit -- the excitement become a bit dulled by repetition -- and there are are few others infelicitious moments and repetitions, but Very well done and exciting, with Kong an amazing creation. The Skull Island adventures eventually drag on a bit -- the excitement become a bit dulled by repetition -- and there are are few others infelicitious moments and repetitions, but if you are a moviegoer at all inclined towards this type of movie, you will be quite satisfied by the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanC.Jan 4, 2006
The best scenes in the movie are when Kong and Ann are together: they showed a development in their relationship, and the special effects are terrific. Sadly, the movie is too LONG, extremely LONG, there a lot of scenes that could been cut The best scenes in the movie are when Kong and Ann are together: they showed a development in their relationship, and the special effects are terrific. Sadly, the movie is too LONG, extremely LONG, there a lot of scenes that could been cut and if wouldn't affect anyhow the plot; scenes such as the battle with the giant insects!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ArielG.Feb 9, 2006
Entertaining movie, though not memorable. Two things I had to draw my mind away from when I was watching it: I couldn't buy Adrien Brody as the hero - He's much too frail and androgynous looking to be a hero. And Jack Black was Entertaining movie, though not memorable. Two things I had to draw my mind away from when I was watching it: I couldn't buy Adrien Brody as the hero - He's much too frail and androgynous looking to be a hero. And Jack Black was very miscast in his role. Naomi Watts was good though. It's great if you're wanting to watch an entertaining popcorn movie where you don't have to think too much during and after the movie, and don't mind nonstop action and CGI. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CaptainS.Mar 29, 2006
Another wonderful film from Peter Jackson, beautifully filmed and full (mostly) of action. This version of King Kong could possibly be the ultimate version (even more "ultimate" than the original, which for me is a big statement). The Another wonderful film from Peter Jackson, beautifully filmed and full (mostly) of action. This version of King Kong could possibly be the ultimate version (even more "ultimate" than the original, which for me is a big statement). The effects by WETA Digital are of course top notch and big accolades should be heaped on Andy Serkis for his work as Kong! Yep, you heard me right...Serkis done the movements for the ape, just like he did for Gollum in LOTR. The only snag I found in this movie was that it was a bit too long and that it drug slightly at the beginning. Other than that, this one is wonderful. Nice going Peter Jackson...a winner. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LeeC.May 5, 2006
Extremely Great Movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ShanaH.Dec 15, 2005
Sounds obvious, but this film is ALL about Kong. It really only comes into its own once he's on screen. And then you're literally in the palm of his hand. If you haven't seen yet, my one recommendation would be - bring Sounds obvious, but this film is ALL about Kong. It really only comes into its own once he's on screen. And then you're literally in the palm of his hand. If you haven't seen yet, my one recommendation would be - bring kleenex! Jack Black - can you get any more one-dimensional? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrookeB.Dec 15, 2005
An amazing ride!! Colossal, frightening, and romantic - all in one. A must-see on a big screen. Well done, Peter Jackson, well done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RaulJ.Dec 21, 2005
Old fashioned blockbuster entertainment. Yes, it may be a bit over-done in certain ways, but this does not hurt the movie. I do sypathize with those who say there are too many effects and too little heart. I would revise that to say over the Old fashioned blockbuster entertainment. Yes, it may be a bit over-done in certain ways, but this does not hurt the movie. I do sypathize with those who say there are too many effects and too little heart. I would revise that to say over the top effects and marginal character development. Overall, very good entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GarethD.Dec 22, 2005
Didn't seem like 3 hours.....entertaining viewing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CKongDec 22, 2005
Very entertaining movie experience - some parts better then others - but well worth the money - Peter Jackson could make a movie about a lump of poo interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ScottH.Dec 23, 2005
Great story and effects, just TOO long!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FredG.Jan 1, 2006
A little too long, and parts of it were unnecessarily drawn out (esp. near the end) - but as a remake scenes in this were just incredible to watch. It would have been perfect if he had saved some of the extended scenes for the DVD and cut A little too long, and parts of it were unnecessarily drawn out (esp. near the end) - but as a remake scenes in this were just incredible to watch. It would have been perfect if he had saved some of the extended scenes for the DVD and cut the movie shorter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DimitrisB.Jan 11, 2006
It a good remake.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulF.Jan 3, 2006
Worst part to the whole movie was that it was all of three hours. This film could have easily been two great films instead of one almost really good film. The first part was almost two hours and was very entertaining but it was too much of a Worst part to the whole movie was that it was all of three hours. This film could have easily been two great films instead of one almost really good film. The first part was almost two hours and was very entertaining but it was too much of a jarring to cut straight back to New York. The relationship with King Kong and the blonde beauty almost seemed more romantic than a platonic love. It was conveyed really well and left her love for the writer out in the cold. It was a choice that was interesting but could have been more balanced. It was hard for me to take Jack Black seriously but overall I think he did better than expected. The best aspect to this film was the special effects, the best I have ever seen, and that's saying a lot. The only problem was the action was at times over the top for too long. My adernals were on overload and eventual numb to the experience. It's definitely worth a see but sad that it could have been so much more. I preferred the version with Jeff Bridges better. King Kong seemed much genteler at first and the blonde beauty seemed to truly love her man as well as her beast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful