Wellspring Media | Release Date: May 13, 2005
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 24 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
20
Mixed:
2
Negative:
2
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
MaryCAug 24, 2005
A precious few moments of real emotion, but mostly an overwrought, rambling mess of inconsistent characters with incomprehensible motivations that was neither touching nor funny. As to the reviewers--I think the emperor has no clothes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AntonK.Aug 30, 2005
Fantastic, multi layered complex film. full of emotion. superb performances.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GoranOct 15, 2005
A unique, energetic, shape-shifting masterpiece - any time you think you're about to get a comfortable handle on it, it peels back a layer. For every second of its two and a half hours, it kept me glued to my seat (and it was a A unique, energetic, shape-shifting masterpiece - any time you think you're about to get a comfortable handle on it, it peels back a layer. For every second of its two and a half hours, it kept me glued to my seat (and it was a particularly exhausting day). The entire cast is wonderful (though Emmanuelle Devos is clearly rising to Goddess status now) and there's too many wonderfully imaginative scenes to name here - but I particularly loved the dream sequences, the dead father's revelation and the convenience store robbery. It's a bizarrely funny, profoundly moving, great great picture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
claireOct 24, 2005
Sublime acting. each scene was such a gem.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CharlesM.JrDec 14, 2005
I purchased this move based on the high score from critics. Mistake! Halfway into this film, it became unwatchable. I wanted to enjoy it but came away feeling let down. There were moments of good drama and some funny scenes but overall it I purchased this move based on the high score from critics. Mistake! Halfway into this film, it became unwatchable. I wanted to enjoy it but came away feeling let down. There were moments of good drama and some funny scenes but overall it seemed to lack a cohesive storyline and became a disjointed movie. Definitely not on par with some good French cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TimothyD.Jan 28, 2006
A major disappointment -- fatally overlong and grossly melodramatic. I give it a 4 instead of a 1 because of the work of the actorrs, who are this film's saving grace.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoeJ.Apr 25, 2006
A little too messy, and despite the devastating reversals, still too sentimental. I looked over Andrew O'Hehir's review after watching this, curious to see why someone could love it so much. It's clear the man is completely A little too messy, and despite the devastating reversals, still too sentimental. I looked over Andrew O'Hehir's review after watching this, curious to see why someone could love it so much. It's clear the man is completely infatuated with the lead actress. "We bow to her superiority, yearn for her destruction and marvel at her resiliency..." ??? Well, Andy does, but not me. I thought Mathieu Amalric's character was far more interesting - he starts out as an annoying, arrogant flake but matures a great deal throughout the picture. Not bad, but overrated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful