Miramax Films | Release Date: April 14, 2006
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 24 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
14
Mixed:
9
Negative:
1
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
ArnoldP.Apr 15, 2006
So it's a by-product of formula filmaking, but for me the point was, in however sugar coated it was delivered, it dealt with a insidious prejudice against gays, and drag queens. Simon beautifully portrayed by Ejiofor is our hero, who So it's a by-product of formula filmaking, but for me the point was, in however sugar coated it was delivered, it dealt with a insidious prejudice against gays, and drag queens. Simon beautifully portrayed by Ejiofor is our hero, who doesn't die tragically, he helps transforms even one man's homophobia. We live in the most ethnically and culturally nation on the planet and in this small film get, that we were all created in the image of a higher source. Bravo to the Brit's! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NancyS.Apr 26, 2006
Just saw this last night and enjoyed a free viewing, in spite of people I have to assume have never seen a drag queen or a transexual based on when they laughed and the incessant talking behind us. The plot is more-or-less predictable, no Just saw this last night and enjoyed a free viewing, in spite of people I have to assume have never seen a drag queen or a transexual based on when they laughed and the incessant talking behind us. The plot is more-or-less predictable, no real surprises, unless you consider Ejiofor's performance which was beautifully done. Not a man trying to be a woman or some sort of caricature but someone with a side of their personality that they had to be true to. Nicely done and a pleasure to watch (barring the atmosphere in the theatre). I would have paid to see this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
KenG.May 3, 2006
Not so much a really bad movie, as it is an uninspired one, that lacks imigination. If filmmakers had been smart they would have made movie the drag-queen's story, and dropped all the other stuff. Fimmakers weren't that smart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JimG.May 7, 2006
Enjoyable, if formulaic, movie. Apparently drag queens are still a novelty, though Lola and Simon are given a little more depth than usual.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DougC.Jul 2, 2006
I went to see it because some friends of mine were actors in it. I wish I hadn't. It was way too long and the acting was flat as a pancake. I've seen Daniel Pettrow and Patricia French do a great job elsewhere.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MJS.Jul 31, 2006
Lesson, laughs and love all presented in a story line that although at times predictable, keeps your interest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MaseApr 23, 2006
Very sugary like a vanilla meringue. Very easy to watch and pleasant. Ejofor is the drag queen with the heart of gold and comes up aces. You can't help but smile. Better than calender girls in my opinion. I hear alot about how this Very sugary like a vanilla meringue. Very easy to watch and pleasant. Ejofor is the drag queen with the heart of gold and comes up aces. You can't help but smile. Better than calender girls in my opinion. I hear alot about how this movie wasn't kinky enough, well it was meant for a certain audience of older women, and every drag queen needs a movie to take his grandma too. We need diversity in drag queen movies too!! there is nothing wrong with a sweet PG-13 drag queen movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
larryk.May 13, 2006
Good story, good music, upbeat humor, great photography.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GrantH.May 26, 2006
Absolutely wonderful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
lasttimeisawAug 30, 2014
KINKY BOOTS has become a Broadway sensation in 2013 with music and lyrics from Cyndi Lauper, while this original film is equally brilliant with a broad message of self-affirmation. Directed by Julian Jarrold (BECOMING JANE 2007, 7/10), it isKINKY BOOTS has become a Broadway sensation in 2013 with music and lyrics from Cyndi Lauper, while this original film is equally brilliant with a broad message of self-affirmation. Directed by Julian Jarrold (BECOMING JANE 2007, 7/10), it is another old-fashioned uplifting adult fairytale from UK, such as CALENDAR GIRLS (2003, 7/10), and THE FULL MONTY (1997), both exploit on the prudish nudity, but this film, based on a true event, is about a shoe factory owner Charlie (Edgerton) saves his family business by finding a niche market to design kinky boots for drag queens, with the help of a black transvestite Lola (Ejiofor), the story itself sounds outlandish, but the film is a thorough bliss to watch.

continue reading my review on my blog: google cinema omnivore, thanks
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
beingryanjudeSep 4, 2014
Not nearly as kinky as you may have anticipated, but Chiwetel Ejiofor's sassy performance will make this worth at least one viewing over the new-Broadway classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews