User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ArnoldP.
    Apr 15, 2006
    8
    So it's a by-product of formula filmaking, but for me the point was, in however sugar coated it was delivered, it dealt with a insidious prejudice against gays, and drag queens. Simon beautifully portrayed by Ejiofor is our hero, who doesn't die tragically, he helps transforms even one man's homophobia. We live in the most ethnically and culturally nation on the planet and So it's a by-product of formula filmaking, but for me the point was, in however sugar coated it was delivered, it dealt with a insidious prejudice against gays, and drag queens. Simon beautifully portrayed by Ejiofor is our hero, who doesn't die tragically, he helps transforms even one man's homophobia. We live in the most ethnically and culturally nation on the planet and in this small film get, that we were all created in the image of a higher source. Bravo to the Brit's! Expand
  2. NancyS.
    Apr 26, 2006
    8
    Just saw this last night and enjoyed a free viewing, in spite of people I have to assume have never seen a drag queen or a transexual based on when they laughed and the incessant talking behind us. The plot is more-or-less predictable, no real surprises, unless you consider Ejiofor's performance which was beautifully done. Not a man trying to be a woman or some sort of caricature but Just saw this last night and enjoyed a free viewing, in spite of people I have to assume have never seen a drag queen or a transexual based on when they laughed and the incessant talking behind us. The plot is more-or-less predictable, no real surprises, unless you consider Ejiofor's performance which was beautifully done. Not a man trying to be a woman or some sort of caricature but someone with a side of their personality that they had to be true to. Nicely done and a pleasure to watch (barring the atmosphere in the theatre). I would have paid to see this. Expand
  3. MJS.
    Jul 31, 2006
    9
    Lesson, laughs and love all presented in a story line that although at times predictable, keeps your interest.
  4. Mase
    Apr 23, 2006
    8
    Very sugary like a vanilla meringue. Very easy to watch and pleasant. Ejofor is the drag queen with the heart of gold and comes up aces. You can't help but smile. Better than calender girls in my opinion. I hear alot about how this movie wasn't kinky enough, well it was meant for a certain audience of older women, and every drag queen needs a movie to take his grandma too. We Very sugary like a vanilla meringue. Very easy to watch and pleasant. Ejofor is the drag queen with the heart of gold and comes up aces. You can't help but smile. Better than calender girls in my opinion. I hear alot about how this movie wasn't kinky enough, well it was meant for a certain audience of older women, and every drag queen needs a movie to take his grandma too. We need diversity in drag queen movies too!! there is nothing wrong with a sweet PG-13 drag queen movie. Expand
  5. larryk.
    May 13, 2006
    9
    Good story, good music, upbeat humor, great photography.
  6. GrantH.
    May 26, 2006
    10
    Absolutely wonderful.
  7. Aug 30, 2014
    7
    KINKY BOOTS has become a Broadway sensation in 2013 with music and lyrics from Cyndi Lauper, while this original film is equally brilliant with a broad message of self-affirmation. Directed by Julian Jarrold (BECOMING JANE 2007, 7/10), it is another old-fashioned uplifting adult fairytale from UK, such as CALENDAR GIRLS (2003, 7/10), and THE FULL MONTY (1997), both exploit on the prudishKINKY BOOTS has become a Broadway sensation in 2013 with music and lyrics from Cyndi Lauper, while this original film is equally brilliant with a broad message of self-affirmation. Directed by Julian Jarrold (BECOMING JANE 2007, 7/10), it is another old-fashioned uplifting adult fairytale from UK, such as CALENDAR GIRLS (2003, 7/10), and THE FULL MONTY (1997), both exploit on the prudish nudity, but this film, based on a true event, is about a shoe factory owner Charlie (Edgerton) saves his family business by finding a niche market to design kinky boots for drag queens, with the help of a black transvestite Lola (Ejiofor), the story itself sounds outlandish, but the film is a thorough bliss to watch.

    continue reading my review on my blog: google cinema omnivore, thanks
    Expand
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. 70
    Neatly scripted by Tim Firth and Geoff Deane, this sticks to the "Full Monty" formula of starchy working-class types learning to loosen up about sex, but Julian Jarrold's sincere, low-key direction erases any sense of artifice.
  2. This pleasant but predictable affair does one thing very well: showcasing the versatility of Chiwetel Ejiofor. The London actor can be seen as Denzel Washington's detective sidekick in "Inside Man." Watch him chomp down on a New York accent with Washington, and then watch him as Lola (a.k.a. Simon), a cabaret performer in makeup, wig and wild gowns. That's acting.
  3. 63
    Don't worry. It just sounds like another bad Sharon Stone movie. Kinky Boots trips on its contrived plot, but this blend of trash and sass is a comfy fit.