Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: October 21, 2005
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 435 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
389
Mixed:
25
Negative:
21
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
hoops2448Feb 2, 2012
Who said sarcasm is the lowest form of wit? Kiss Kiss Bang Bang would beg to differ as it thrives off of laughing at other peoples mistakes. It seems cruel but the film does it in a way that makes it acceptable by only employing it betweenWho said sarcasm is the lowest form of wit? Kiss Kiss Bang Bang would beg to differ as it thrives off of laughing at other peoples mistakes. It seems cruel but the film does it in a way that makes it acceptable by only employing it between the two leads Harry (Robert Downey Jr) and Perry (Val Kilmer). The film is a dark twisted buddy cop film, which is what you would expect from Lethal Weapon writer Shane Black in his directorial debut. However the difference between Kiss Kiss Bang Bang and Lethal Weapon is the fact that Harry and Perry hate each other, they really do. Thatâ Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
8
diogomendesAug 29, 2014
Thanks to its charming cast and supreme action, this energetic, gloomy film is not only thoroughly entertaining but it's also funny. Robert Downey Jr and Val Kilmer are the men.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
DamienA.Nov 12, 2005
Great movie if you think two guys kissing is hilarious... or two guys seeing an 'ugly and fat' mental patient naked puts you in stitches... or if a gay investigator's cell ringtone being a gay anthem (I Will Survive?) is your Great movie if you think two guys kissing is hilarious... or two guys seeing an 'ugly and fat' mental patient naked puts you in stitches... or if a gay investigator's cell ringtone being a gay anthem (I Will Survive?) is your idea of HA HA.... What I hate about this film is that it presents itself as so 'knowing' and 'ironic' that it thinks it can do anything it wants without copping any flack... GOD! I felt ill a lot of the time with the stupid jokes... and finding out that it's directed by the guy who wrote the lethal weapon franchise makes a lot of sense... Yes, perhaps I'm a film snob but I really think this is a film by a macho, sexist, elitist, juvenile mind. Yes there are good things in the film.. the acting, the energy, some of the jokes... but I really feel that this film really is just an updated Lethal Weapon made to please a cynical modern audience. I don't see many Hollywood films... but I thought this might be in the quality of Pulp Fiction, Usual Suspects, Mullholland Dr... How wrong I was. More Naked Gun than anything else I can think of. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
cameronmorewoodNov 17, 2012
This odd-ball noir spoof is absolute sardonic heaven.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
JohnG.Aug 1, 2006
Just Hee-Haw funny and very clever.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
etAug 24, 2007
This movie is laugh out loud funny! With brilliant performances by all. A must watch for anyone who likes smart, irreverent films.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
PaulWNov 27, 2005
Just awful..plain boring. You just don't care what happens to the characters in the film and whats the story with the script ??!! Kilmer looks like hes put three stones on and is just going through the motions in this film..east money Just awful..plain boring. You just don't care what happens to the characters in the film and whats the story with the script ??!! Kilmer looks like hes put three stones on and is just going through the motions in this film..east money for him as hes doesnt even have to try and act in this turkey.. Avoid at all costs...I actually want to leave the cinema it was that bad...go and watch "Crash" Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
Lambo442May 29, 2016
Couldn't get pass the first five minutes of this gimmicky nonsense. It jumps from scene to scene, from plot thread to plot thread so rapidly, you completely lose any sense of continuum. The narrator addresses the viewer directly, which isCouldn't get pass the first five minutes of this gimmicky nonsense. It jumps from scene to scene, from plot thread to plot thread so rapidly, you completely lose any sense of continuum. The narrator addresses the viewer directly, which is jarring and takes you out of the fictional world, reminding you you're watching a film. It's also very unbelievable and hohoho Val Kilmer plays a gay man - how novel and funny. The first scene he's in involves another man discussing his gayness with him, just a hint of the hijinks to come. The Nice Guys looks like it will be much better than this pretentious crap. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JayC.Dec 2, 2005
Laugh out-loud funny. Good thriller story with many twists as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DarylS.Jan 4, 2006
Involving, engaging, accessible, and some very funny moments. It had the feel of a movie that made visiting the cinema an event. The narration was a masterstroke, and while the articulate hoi-polloi would say "it sucks" I disagree with them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PeterS.Jan 5, 2006
Jody T has it right: "... one of the funniest films I have seen for a long long time." Witty, irreverent, violent, literate, clever. One of Kilmer's best performances, and Downey continues to shine. I hope he's saying off drugs. I Jody T has it right: "... one of the funniest films I have seen for a long long time." Witty, irreverent, violent, literate, clever. One of Kilmer's best performances, and Downey continues to shine. I hope he's saying off drugs. I don't want to lose that talent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JessiePJan 6, 2006
Witty hard-boiled dialogue, mystery, suspense and violent twists and turns. This film both parodies and pays homage to Chandler's novels, and actively involves the audience. "Sex. Murder. Mystery. Welcome to the party."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickS.Feb 15, 2006
This is the best movie I have seen in 2005. I probably wouldn't have said that had the competition been better but to be honest most oscar nominations I believe were better than average movies (Brokeback Mountain,Memoirs of a Geisha This is the best movie I have seen in 2005. I probably wouldn't have said that had the competition been better but to be honest most oscar nominations I believe were better than average movies (Brokeback Mountain,Memoirs of a Geisha etc...). I do accept some of the bad critisism themovie got: You can see it kind of in love with its own cleverness and the plot is unbelievably confusing. But hey, it was clever and the plot makes sense however unbelievable it is. Pure entertainment and good laughs. Has plenty of replay value. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KAJul 11, 2006
Worth renting if you like quirky self-aware comedies. The performances are fun and the dialogue is snappy and ironic. Obviously some folks aren't going to like this type of comedy: its the kind of movie that asks the viewer to watch and Worth renting if you like quirky self-aware comedies. The performances are fun and the dialogue is snappy and ironic. Obviously some folks aren't going to like this type of comedy: its the kind of movie that asks the viewer to watch and listen carefully to get all of the jokes. I cant believe someone recommended the utterly banal Barbershop over this fun and edgy comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertR.Jul 18, 2006
This is the only movie in three years that I have gone out of my way to recommend to people. It's everything a movie should be, smart, funny, totally watchable and because it turns the conventions of hard-boiled noir on it's This is the only movie in three years that I have gone out of my way to recommend to people. It's everything a movie should be, smart, funny, totally watchable and because it turns the conventions of hard-boiled noir on it's ear--it's totally RE-watchable. Black is a master of dialogue, character, pacing and tone. If you have a friend who doesn't like this film, you should consider ending the friendship. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SamD.Jul 30, 2006
Just short of brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
FredG.Jul 9, 2006
I didn't get it. It tries to do too much, and in the end, really does nothing. IMO - there's a lot of wasted talent in this one, and I'm not surprised that it didn't do better in the box office. Save your money, and more I didn't get it. It tries to do too much, and in the end, really does nothing. IMO - there's a lot of wasted talent in this one, and I'm not surprised that it didn't do better in the box office. Save your money, and more importantly, save your time. One reviewer recommended Crash, which is a much better film, but not a comedy. If you're looking for a better comedy, rent Barbershop or Road Trip. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ReeceS.Jan 31, 2007
Excellent laugh out loud movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GaryD.Nov 11, 2005
This movie is GREAT! Perfect casting, great acting, brilliant directing, and non-stop laughs. Who cares if the plot is so twisted that you have trouble following it. That isn't the point. This is, pure and simple, great fun and great This movie is GREAT! Perfect casting, great acting, brilliant directing, and non-stop laughs. Who cares if the plot is so twisted that you have trouble following it. That isn't the point. This is, pure and simple, great fun and great entertainment. Don't think about it -- enjoy it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MaxM.Nov 13, 2005
Best film of the year so far! It felt so good to laugh so hard... and thank goodness it wasn't just me. THAT would have been embarrassing. Val Kilmer and Robert Downey Jr should commission a sequel pronto.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertM.Nov 18, 2005
Definately recommended. Performances were great by Kilmer and Downey Jr. But the script was for the most part together, and the quick wit was very funny throughout the whole pic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnJayNov 23, 2005
Smart, Complex, excellent acting, very funny...hot, hot film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KelvinLNov 24, 2005
Very funny, slickly shot and intelligent! Downey and Kilmer have great screen chemistry, and Michelle Monaghan who plays Harmony is gorgeous! The movie has good pace and good action scenes as well as piercing black comedy. A very pleasant Very funny, slickly shot and intelligent! Downey and Kilmer have great screen chemistry, and Michelle Monaghan who plays Harmony is gorgeous! The movie has good pace and good action scenes as well as piercing black comedy. A very pleasant suprise! So much better as it turned out than the original movie that we wanted went to see, The Constant Gardener (It was sold out) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LuketheDukeNov 4, 2005
Great job done by all. Downey is back with a vengeance. Michelle Monaghan is in perfect Harmony. And even Val Kilmer exceeds expectations. Perfect casting, great script, lots of fun. The story develops a fairly good mystery, delivering loads Great job done by all. Downey is back with a vengeance. Michelle Monaghan is in perfect Harmony. And even Val Kilmer exceeds expectations. Perfect casting, great script, lots of fun. The story develops a fairly good mystery, delivering loads of hilarious, well-timed and perfectly delivered lines, with dry wit and plenty of laughs. Not a great film, but a very good one, and highly enjoyable as long as the frequent use of the "f" word does not dismay the viewer. I thought the film was pretty f***ing good, and very f***ing funny! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
shschDec 20, 2005
This film tried much too hard to be cute and it didn't work for me. I thought the hero/narrator played by Robert Downey Jr was especially irritating and the plot overly confusing and stupid. If you're looking to waste a couple of This film tried much too hard to be cute and it didn't work for me. I thought the hero/narrator played by Robert Downey Jr was especially irritating and the plot overly confusing and stupid. If you're looking to waste a couple of hours at a comedy, go see the Ice Harvest. Not a much better movie, but at least I found John Cusack somewhat sympathetic, not obnoxious, as the hero here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SusanM.Dec 6, 2005
I wasn't sure about this movie in the first 5 minutes, but it quickly proved to be time well spent! The acting was great, and the story line (although a bit complicated) was imaginative and cool. I was happy to go and see something I wasn't sure about this movie in the first 5 minutes, but it quickly proved to be time well spent! The acting was great, and the story line (although a bit complicated) was imaginative and cool. I was happy to go and see something different, it's nice to know there is still some originality left in Hollywood!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdR.Oct 28, 2005
This movie is so bloody funny,and so much fun that I'm stunned that the New York Times and the LA Times didn't get it. It didn't "wear me out", unless you think being a bit tired from laughing for two and a half hours is a bad This movie is so bloody funny,and so much fun that I'm stunned that the New York Times and the LA Times didn't get it. It didn't "wear me out", unless you think being a bit tired from laughing for two and a half hours is a bad experience. It's cool, hilarious, brilliant, and the funniest movie I've seen in about five years. The script,actors and direction are all dynamite.At the screening I went to the entire audience was roaring with laughter. If you're at all literate go see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
thegoochOct 29, 2005
Hilarious, no...EFFIN HILARIOUS...I haven't laughed like that in a movie in years. Smart, funny and pitch-perfect dialogue. Val Kilmer is great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MattSDec 9, 2005
Just not very interesting. The narration was annoying and the ending was silly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyB.Jan 18, 2006
loved this movie, thought it was very funny and great acting can not wait for this one to come to dvd deffinatly worth a purchase.
0 of 0 users found this helpful