New Line Cinema | Release Date: June 20, 2008
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 40 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
34
Mixed:
2
Negative:
4
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
HuckleberryPieApr 30, 2012
The film wasn't too engaging or exciting, and had a few flaws in the execution, but it did give out an insight on 1930s history for children and kids-at-heart, without leaning so much into mindless mischief or "Home Alone"-style antics.The film wasn't too engaging or exciting, and had a few flaws in the execution, but it did give out an insight on 1930s history for children and kids-at-heart, without leaning so much into mindless mischief or "Home Alone"-style antics. Abigail Breslin's portrayal of Kit was also just as flat-out impressive as Bruno Ganz's dramatic performance in Downfall, or more like what Aaron Staton did in L.A. Noire, especially when Kit had to investigate a string of hobo-related robberies in Ohio.

My two-thumbs up to this film.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SherryS.Jul 10, 2008
As a mother and teacher, I found this movie to be one of the best combinations of entertainment, education, character building and inspiration that I've seen. I was awed at the deep questions my 7 year old was asking about the As a mother and teacher, I found this movie to be one of the best combinations of entertainment, education, character building and inspiration that I've seen. I was awed at the deep questions my 7 year old was asking about the depression, poverty, homelessness and honesty on the way home from the show. Wow! I didn't know she was ready to discuss these serious issues. Congratulations to the director, writers and actors of Kitt Kittredge. This movie is sure to be a classic. I've read some of the negative reviews of this movie. It is unfortunate that some indivuduals just don't get it. Apparently they don't have experiences with children or grandparents. This movie is pure, heartwarming, and tells a story that people my age as well as children need to hear. Let's not forget the struggles that individuals who lived in this time period lived through. The theatre I sat in had just as many elderly couples as young girls. This movie had a different meaning for them than my girls no doubt. Let's face it, there aren't many movies that can positively touch the lives of people from ages 6 to 86. Definately a classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RebeccaM.Jul 31, 2008
Great movie, adults and children, realistic to a point, no bad language, etc. great acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayH.Oct 26, 2008
A very sweet and entertaining film, Abigail Breslin is terrific, Julia Ormond as well. It's a feel good and fun film. Nice attention to period detail, sensitively directed. Quite good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RoseDJul 19, 2008
What a fun time! This movie was a great treat for parents, grandparents and kids. The story itself was honest and open, giving kids a great glimpse into the past. It was funny, sweet, touching and exciting - and our whole theater clapped at What a fun time! This movie was a great treat for parents, grandparents and kids. The story itself was honest and open, giving kids a great glimpse into the past. It was funny, sweet, touching and exciting - and our whole theater clapped at the end. This is no whacked out, imaginary fluff, this is actually storytelling. A perfect summer treat! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnS.Jul 3, 2008
I can't believe I'm the first 2 vote! This is a WONDERFUL movie! I laughed & cried. Please support this film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Jul 4, 2008
Ten years, give or take a few years, the typewriter as a prop, like the rotary phone and the contraption that plays the vinyl record, will cause a segment of the audience to ask their older chagrined companions, "What the heck is that?" Ten years, give or take a few years, the typewriter as a prop, like the rotary phone and the contraption that plays the vinyl record, will cause a segment of the audience to ask their older chagrined companions, "What the heck is that?" Ten-year-old Kit Kittredge(Abigail Breslin) aspires to be a journalist, but that's because the computer hasn't been invented yet. Her modern-day counterpart would start a blog. Concurrent to her ambitious goal of publishing an article about hobos in a Cincinnati newspaper, is the Great Depression, which might be bad for her family and neighbors, but a boon for her path course. Since there's no such thing as search engines, Kit investigates soup kitchens and tent cities to meet the homeless. In the June/July issue of the Atlantic Monthly, Nicholas Carr asks, "Is Google Making Us Stupid?" The question is rhetorical. Most ten-year-old children, not to mention, me, lack the attention span to write a newspaper-length article. The very sight of a pint-sized Lois Lane-wanna-be hunting and pecking at a Remington is nostalgia with a double-edge. In twenty-five years, give or take a few years, the newspaper as a prop, like the typewriter, will indicate that the film you're watching is a period piece. During the course of "Kit Kittredge: An American Girl", the young writer evolves into an investigative reporter when she tries to exonerate the bums from a burglary rap by playing Nancy Drew. No more puff pieces about the Chicago World's Fair for this little girl. Kit's plight to be taken seriously as a journalist is akin to every female who tried to crack the then-male dominated field. Think of Jane Fonda's character in "The China Syndrome", who rises to the occasion during a live feed in the film's final scene, or more recently, the television journalist that Christina Applegate plays in "Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy". It's not just age that Kit is overcoming, it's gender, too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PamelaW.Oct 29, 2008
Absolutely adorable, even for grown ups!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TpnyB.Jul 24, 2008
What a pleasant surprise this one turned out to be. Feeling obligated to take my three granddaughters to see it, I enjoyed it at least as much as they did. Abigail Breslin, no surprise here, delivers a lovely and effective performance that What a pleasant surprise this one turned out to be. Feeling obligated to take my three granddaughters to see it, I enjoyed it at least as much as they did. Abigail Breslin, no surprise here, delivers a lovely and effective performance that was well supported by an excellent cast. (I should have taken my grandson as well; this is more than "a picture for girls.") Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArtGJul 9, 2008
My wife and I exchanged a look early on that said "oh no this is going to be another political hit piece aimed at young skulls full of mush (e.g. Wall-E)", but happily we were wrong. I really liked the film although I must admit I actually My wife and I exchanged a look early on that said "oh no this is going to be another political hit piece aimed at young skulls full of mush (e.g. Wall-E)", but happily we were wrong. I really liked the film although I must admit I actually took a cat nap somewhere in the middle. It watched like a book written for that age group reads. Not to diffucult to understand and a fairy tail like ending will leave the juvinile among us satisfied. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KathrynC.Jul 11, 2008
This is a great movie to take all children to for a really good history lesson and a wonderful time of sharing what the "good old days" used to be about. I had to explain the typewriter and the record player to my granddaughter. Wonderful This is a great movie to take all children to for a really good history lesson and a wonderful time of sharing what the "good old days" used to be about. I had to explain the typewriter and the record player to my granddaughter. Wonderful movie. We are going again with more friends. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful