Knife Fight

Knife Fight Image
Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 5 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 13
  2. Negative: 7 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Jan 22, 2013
    88
    As a bare-knuckle assault on the corruption that has come to define the creeping rot of American politics, Knife Fight is neither as satirical as Barry Levinson's "Wag the Dog" nor as incisive and wrenching as George Clooney's "The Ides of March," but it's a noble, shocking and inspired film worthy of attention.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jan 25, 2013
    67
    It pales beside the best down-and-dirty political movies (ranging from "The Candidate" to "The Manchurian Candidate") because, finally, it lacks the courage of its own lowdown convictions.
  3. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Jan 31, 2013
    50
    It's a forgettable series of bullet points barely strung together by charismatic performances.
  4. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Jan 24, 2013
    38
    You'd hope a political-insider indie reuniting "West Wing" stars Rob Lowe and Richard Schiff, and informed by the experiences of an actual former spin doctor, would be a small delight. You would be wrong.
  5. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Jan 24, 2013
    33
    For those of you who felt "Ides Of March" was entirely too cerebral and challenging, here comes the dunderheaded Knife Fight. A political satire that treads no new ground, this name-heavy comedy wastes an engaging central performance by Rob Lowe.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Jan 25, 2013
    30
    The tone of Knife Fight is mean until the movie flips a switch and turns pious and mawkish as Paul tries to make amends for past sins. Whether playing it sleazy or noble, Mr. Lowe brings little emotional weight to his role.
  7. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Jan 22, 2013
    20
    Thanks to his pitch-perfect portrayal of Parks and Recreation's Type A–personality-run-amuck boss, we're willing to forgive Rob Lowe for virtually anything. This pitiful excuse for a political satire, however, seriously tests that theory.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Feb 19, 2013
    8
    Though the acting isn't up to par, it's still better than most multi-million dollar movies you see in theaters these days. I watched this asThough the acting isn't up to par, it's still better than most multi-million dollar movies you see in theaters these days. I watched this as being a fan of the band AFI (Davey Havok is Jimmy in this movie), and I can say that everyone did their part as good as they could. The story is really slow at the start (why it lost 2 points from perfection for me), I kind of started to daze off but it gets a tad bit funny and the story picks up towards the end.
    Overall i'd recommend it.
    Collapse
  2. Feb 4, 2013
    7
    I only watched this because of the cast (Saffron Burrows, Jamie Chung, Jennifer Morrison, Julie Bowen, yes, I am indeed male, lol) but I wasI only watched this because of the cast (Saffron Burrows, Jamie Chung, Jennifer Morrison, Julie Bowen, yes, I am indeed male, lol) but I was thoroughly entertained with the humour in this (mild mannered) Political Satire. Now I'm from the UK and I got all the in jokes so why are the critics kicking this decent movies teeth in?

    Anyhoo, the acting in this was great and watching the political sidestepping and back biting was funny because although there was nothing truly original it was done brilliantly. Rob Lowe plays Paul, a political fixer and we follow him as he deals with some of his client's troubles which I found both interesting and very funny most of the time. Jamie Chung played the assistant really well and was probably better in this than anything I've seen her in like the truly awful 'Man With The Iron Fists'. One of her tasks is keeping an eye on the media for news and also when they do those political broadcasts that tell how sleazy the other guy is. Those things are amazing and in bad taste if you ask me but I'm a Brit so I don't see those things over here (yet).

    This has a great cast and I actually knew most of them which is unusual for a low budget movie and everyone, without exception was great. I really liked the script and checking on IMDb I see it's written/directed by Bill Guttentag who I don't know and have never seen his work but I thought this was good. The cinematography was always interesting as were the characters so I was entertained from the very start. I honestly don't understand why this film isn't liked more but hey, each to their own.

    Recommended

    Score: 7/10
    Expand

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016 Image
    Published: September 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of October, including The Night Of, Ghostbusters, X-Men: Apocalypse, and more.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Passengers, Ghost in the Shell, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.