Knocked Up

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 553 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. TimE.
    Dec 2, 2007
    6
    I has a few great moments but the rest of it seems like a glorified American Pie.
  2. JosephN.
    Jun 24, 2007
    6
    Pros: 1. If you like crude humor, this is great. 2. One liners that make you chuckle. Cons: 1. About 95% of the movie isn't funny at all, only a slow decline into a failed depressing save. 2. Not many comedies can pull of the 2 hour thing, and this movie is a clear sign that they shouldn't.
  3. CharlesM.
    Jun 4, 2007
    4
    Eh.. That's how this struck me. Meh. Not very funny, not especially well acted. Not much to say really, unlike the rabid defenders/detractors. Just kinda OK with shadings towards the stinky side. Seth Rogen certainly cannot carry a leading role, and Paul Rudd was poorly utilized.
  4. BillH.
    Jun 4, 2007
    5
    There was nothing wrong with this movie, but there was nothing really right about it either. I didn't find it nearly as funny as the reviews are making it sound, but there were a few laughs. It would have been better if it was about 30 minutes shorter.
  5. LauraP.
    Jun 7, 2007
    6
    A comfy, reassurring promise for the underachieving, developmentally arrested nebbish whose worst nightmare results after a Cinderfella night with his wildest dreams. A man's version of "having it all," leaves nothing for the woman. Humorous at times, but tragic overall.
  6. ScooterL
    Jul 5, 2007
    4
    I tend to like these kinds of movies more than the critics. Not here. Seemed like the whole thing was recycled, with some bonus cheesy sh-- thrown in. Disappointing.
  7. JamieP.
    Sep 6, 2007
    4
    Very disappointed. It doesn't add up in the slightest. She would have had an abortion in a lightning flash, and quite rightly so too. Casting was dire.Seth Rogan is not attractive, he's not charismatic, he's got nothing about him. He screams 'Supporting Actor' (and not a particularly good one at that). That's not because of physical attributes. Woody Allen Very disappointed. It doesn't add up in the slightest. She would have had an abortion in a lightning flash, and quite rightly so too. Casting was dire.Seth Rogan is not attractive, he's not charismatic, he's got nothing about him. He screams 'Supporting Actor' (and not a particularly good one at that). That's not because of physical attributes. Woody Allen screams 'Leading man', for instance. It's just because it feels like his being funny and drawing people towards him is a surprise to him rather than an expectation. Heigl is wooden and unbelievable. You can almost see her remembering her lines. And far too pretty for a role like this tbh. Film was 30 minutes too long, and even then utterly failed, as someone else pointed out, how these two are supposed to be in love. It was just stupid. That all said, could have been excellent, and much of the film was very funny and acutely observed. They just failed to get the basics right - casting, plot and editing. Expand
  8. PeterA
    Nov 8, 2008
    5
    I'm down the middle. Yeah, there were some laughs, but they were all centered around the beard bet. The premise isn't totally unbelievable, but I just didn't buy that she'd both want to keep the baby and stay with him. And I thought the writing flagged around the second trimester. I guess what annoys me most about Apatow is he's obviously a really smart, clever I'm down the middle. Yeah, there were some laughs, but they were all centered around the beard bet. The premise isn't totally unbelievable, but I just didn't buy that she'd both want to keep the baby and stay with him. And I thought the writing flagged around the second trimester. I guess what annoys me most about Apatow is he's obviously a really smart, clever guy who can't quite purge all the sophomoric impulses from his movies...the pot-smoking and potty mouth stuff seems geared to 12-year-olds, who clearly aren't equipped to handle the grown-up issues here. But maybe that's why it made a ton of money -- he's figured out a way to appeal to a pretty broad demo without actually satisfying them. Expand
  9. HaroldC
    Aug 22, 2008
    5
    not bad acting, but lets not discuss that part. instead - seriously the rest of the film is lacking something i rilly dont understand why people enjoy watching Other people have sex thats so gross to my opinion - however this movie does have a few funny parts. I should note i didnt like superbad either, however i am a huge fan of Eastern Promises. an no i am not homosexual
  10. TomD.
    Dec 4, 2007
    4
    Some good moments but other moments are funny as long as they involve weed. Take the weed out and this is a boring chik flik. Sorry not impressed.
  11. JerryK.
    Jun 17, 2007
    5
    Terribly overrated by the critics, which led me to a great feeling of disappointment. The plot was far too unbelievable, and while I like Seth Rogen very much in the roles he's done so far, he certainly is not at the point of his career where he can carry the load as a romantic lead as required here. The cast playing Seth's friends shine. But there was far too much gratuitous Terribly overrated by the critics, which led me to a great feeling of disappointment. The plot was far too unbelievable, and while I like Seth Rogen very much in the roles he's done so far, he certainly is not at the point of his career where he can carry the load as a romantic lead as required here. The cast playing Seth's friends shine. But there was far too much gratuitous profanity eroding the movie's ability to have viewers buy into the story line. Expand
  12. MitchMcNeil
    Jun 21, 2007
    5
    Five stars is faint praise, I realize, but this film gradually put me off its trail with an overdose of middle-of-the-road sentimentality, banal melodrama, and overwrought situational conflict. The process was gradual, but inexorable. The set up had me hooked - - the collision of two worlds, climaxing in a drunken coupling. The characters, for the most part, were nuanced and real. But asFive stars is faint praise, I realize, but this film gradually put me off its trail with an overdose of middle-of-the-road sentimentality, banal melodrama, and overwrought situational conflict. The process was gradual, but inexorable. The set up had me hooked - - the collision of two worlds, climaxing in a drunken coupling. The characters, for the most part, were nuanced and real. But as the parents-to-be got more serious and clear-headed about their situation, I begin to experience some form of disconnect. The whole birth thing had me squirming in my seat. Too real. Expand
  13. BillyS.
    Jun 3, 2007
    6
    O.K. It's original, it's cotemporary, it's very funny, and it's not the third installment in a franchise, which is why everybody's saying classic, hilarious and hysterical to descibe it, but it's just a good comedy with capable actors and a smart screenplay a little similar to She's Having A Baby but it is not a classic - it's just, thankfully, not O.K. It's original, it's cotemporary, it's very funny, and it's not the third installment in a franchise, which is why everybody's saying classic, hilarious and hysterical to descibe it, but it's just a good comedy with capable actors and a smart screenplay a little similar to She's Having A Baby but it is not a classic - it's just, thankfully, not a sequel! Expand
  14. LarryN.
    Jun 4, 2007
    4
    This was not on my movies to see list, then I read the rave reviews and decided to go. To say the least I was disappointed, what a waste of time. It did have some redeeming value in showing parenthood in a positive light, and the overall story was good, but at the cost of sitting through the gratuitous fowl language, being subjected to some of the worst of Hollywood's stereotypical This was not on my movies to see list, then I read the rave reviews and decided to go. To say the least I was disappointed, what a waste of time. It did have some redeeming value in showing parenthood in a positive light, and the overall story was good, but at the cost of sitting through the gratuitous fowl language, being subjected to some of the worst of Hollywood's stereotypical view of the world, and some of the scenes, what sick mind comes up with this stuff? Expand
  15. MikeM
    Jun 4, 2007
    5
    The main difference between this film and Apatow's other sex farce, 40 Year Old Virgin, is that here all the dirty jokes and reference humor and shock value are at the service of the implausible and spineless story. A sex farce can still be implausible by farce standards, and Knocked Up has a flat, unsympathetic male lead character in a plot that would be better served with a more The main difference between this film and Apatow's other sex farce, 40 Year Old Virgin, is that here all the dirty jokes and reference humor and shock value are at the service of the implausible and spineless story. A sex farce can still be implausible by farce standards, and Knocked Up has a flat, unsympathetic male lead character in a plot that would be better served with a more sympathetic one. The female lead character may be more sympathetic but is so flat as to be little more than a name, a career hopeful and a uterus. As a point of contrast, the leads in Virgin had a more functional 'opposites attract' kind of dynamic. When they did finally fall in love, we knew that it was at least in part because of their ability to accept and support each other. Andy overcomes his fear of intimacy. In Knocked Up, they mostly say 'fuck you' a lot. If they are supposed to be actually in love, as they say they are when they're two months into their non-relationship and she's two months pregnant, we should at least see how they got there. If not, we should see the wishful lie they've told each other. As it was, I was jarred out of the movie, wondering if they're in love because she's pregnant and we're 30 minutes into the story. In a movie that has more than a few very funny moments, the real lynch pin is the fact that they seem to work it out simply because he keeps showing up, no matter how much of a lazy, hurtful unloving slob he is. That the character isn't used to being liked by women should be all the more reason that he actually do and say something that shows character change and decision, rather than a cheap-fix sort of montage with 20 minutes to go. The solution in Virgin is hard-earned to the point that even a sex farce can ring true in its way. In Knocked Up we have a situation that should end with anything but a father sticking around- a single mother, adoption, abortion, any of these are more credible than a quick 5 minute fix-up segment after an hour of complete incompatibility. Doubtlessly, the movie will do well because of the very funny moments and the track record of all involved. Hopefully it won't have the staying power that Apatow's Virgin earned. Expand
  16. KevinN
    Jun 7, 2007
    6
    This movie was funny, but not that funny. If this is the funniest movie of the year, then American movies have surely deteriorated. It was a warm, heartening story about how babies make everything better and bring people together. The humor and performances were real and up-to-date. That didn't make it raunchy in my eyes, just contemporary and believable. After reading all of the This movie was funny, but not that funny. If this is the funniest movie of the year, then American movies have surely deteriorated. It was a warm, heartening story about how babies make everything better and bring people together. The humor and performances were real and up-to-date. That didn't make it raunchy in my eyes, just contemporary and believable. After reading all of the rave reviews, I thought I was going to laugh more, but I didn't. I thought the 40-Year-Old Virgin was funnier and a little more shocking. The movie's not bad, it's just not a blockbuster comedy. Expand
  17. JohnR
    Jul 20, 2007
    6
    I found the film funny at times, with a few 3-dimensional characters--at least at first--but then it becomes a wonders-of-motherhood and growing-up-may-hurt-but-its-wonderful flick and begs an awful lot of real-life questions in the process = not so much fun after a while. One has to suspect it was funded by pro-lifers, much like "Weed" was obviously funded by Drug Warriors. Reality gives I found the film funny at times, with a few 3-dimensional characters--at least at first--but then it becomes a wonders-of-motherhood and growing-up-may-hurt-but-its-wonderful flick and begs an awful lot of real-life questions in the process = not so much fun after a while. One has to suspect it was funded by pro-lifers, much like "Weed" was obviously funded by Drug Warriors. Reality gives way to thinly veiled fire and brimstone. Reason be damned, we're gonna make you feeeeel what's right. Yuk. Why is this film so popular with critics? I think they're afraid to lift the curtain, see what the wizard looks like.... Could be bad for business. Expand
  18. AlB.
    Aug 28, 2007
    5
    Critics getting carried away a bit here. Watchable. Some funny moments. The sheer unbelievability of a beautiful successful woman choosing to spend her life with the Rogen character gets in the way.
  19. NickT.
    Sep 24, 2007
    4
    Not a gross out comedy, not a chick flick, more a slightly amusing soap opera episode stretched out far too long. I just find this "stoner" comedy genre tiresome. It really is too long for the content and the actors in it not up to carrying the light plot.
  20. hc
    Oct 11, 2007
    4
    I agree with a lot of the points the LA Times reviewer Carina Chocano brought up--which is probably a failure on Metacritic's site for rating her review a 70, when it doesn't really match the tone or criticism of her piece (seems closer to a 50). This film's female lead feels thrown in, as if at the last moment Heigl demanded a bigger part. It almost felt misogynist (or I agree with a lot of the points the LA Times reviewer Carina Chocano brought up--which is probably a failure on Metacritic's site for rating her review a 70, when it doesn't really match the tone or criticism of her piece (seems closer to a 50). This film's female lead feels thrown in, as if at the last moment Heigl demanded a bigger part. It almost felt misogynist (or ignorance in writing women)-- I don't know. But having a film about getting some prego really requires you know, a woman. And I think Aptow is pretty bad at writing women. And as some other reviewers pointed out there wasn't a real emotional core to this film---and if you had to try, it would be the sister and her husband. Also, though some of the jokes were funny--- at the same time, the context felt contrived---as if Aptow had great jokes for a certain context, but how to actually craft that context in a real plot-line wasn't really important. In other words, a bit comedy writer who writes skits, but not whole stories. I really liked The 40 year old virgin, but this just didn't work at all for me. Expand
  21. Laura
    May 31, 2007
    4
    Realistic dialog among guys was excellent. Same w/ dialog between spouses or significant others. HOWEVER. Lots of drug use, lots of very foul language and explicit scenes that I got tired of or uncomfortable with or just bored with. Bottom line: some very funny stuff, some over the top-too much drug and F--word stuff. If you are 17-24 Male-you'll will love it.
  22. WalterS.
    Jun 11, 2007
    5
    Wow... Really disappointed with this one. Characters were generally one-dimensional and unlikeable. The two main relationships were unconvincing. The language and glorification of drug use became tired after about 15 minutes.
  23. CareyK.
    Jun 17, 2007
    5
    The situation of unexpected pregnancy with a one night stand is much too heavy to list this movie as a comedy. Funny in bursts, depressing in others. It is difficult to buy the happy ending with such an unlikely pairing as a TV career woman meets a unemployed stoner.
  24. DerrickF.
    Jun 17, 2007
    5
    I give this movie a 5 because I only laughed about 50% of the time. The other half was spent digesting the gravity of the genuinely serious topics raised regarding parenthood and relationships.
  25. Cristina
    Jun 24, 2009
    5
    Misogynistic crap. A schlubby male fantasy.
  26. Dec 9, 2011
    4
    Far too long imo and it could have been a lot shorter. Also it wasnt that funny and actually a bit depressing at times. The acting was below average and I expected far better. It just wasnt that good, Very overrated.
  27. Feb 27, 2016
    5
    While Knocked Up can be a very unique look at unexpected pregnancies and its impact on people, as well as a nice take on marriage and relationships, it falls flat. Despite those strengths, Knocked Up is quite unfunny and actually boring. I never expected to be bored here, but it just keeps on going and going, yet does very little with its runtime. In Knocked Up, it appears that the writersWhile Knocked Up can be a very unique look at unexpected pregnancies and its impact on people, as well as a nice take on marriage and relationships, it falls flat. Despite those strengths, Knocked Up is quite unfunny and actually boring. I never expected to be bored here, but it just keeps on going and going, yet does very little with its runtime. In Knocked Up, it appears that the writers thought they could avoid making a compelling story and replace that with movie references. However, I am afraid to report that movie references in themselves are not a story. This may be shocking to those who wrote this one. Director Judd Apatow does do a decent job and there are a few scenes that are funny, but it is largely an exasperating and pointless experience. The only saving grace is the unique and interesting perspectives on this situation brought to the table by the film. Expand
  28. May 25, 2014
    5
    It has a few situational laughs, but otherwise it's sentimental to a fault, and many unsympathetic and sometimes even annoying characters. Judd Apatow has skill with raunchy comedies. I feel he should keep his preference to films that lack a heart more than this one.
  29. Dec 12, 2013
    5
    I went into this expecting a great film, and who wouldn't: a Seth Rogen fueled comedy about parenthood. It just turned out to be a softer side of Rogen with a lot of romance and mediocre humor.
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Knocked Up feels very NOW. The banter is bruisingly funny, the characters BRILLIANTLY childish, the portrait of our culture's narrowing gap between children and their elders hysterical--in all senses.
  2. 88
    Knocked Up could be one of the summer of 2007's sleeper hits. It certainly deserves the distinction.
  3. 80
    On the surface, Apatow's films are about sex--obsessively, exclusively, and exhaustively. (This one lasts more than two hours.) But that is a clever feint, for their true subject is age.