User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 534 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. carinbaird
    Nov 23, 2007
    0
    wow. this is among the worst movies i have ever seen. hey new york times, the onion, and other people giving apatow a ratings blowjob....did we even watch the same thing? it's depressing that people find this funny. truly makes me sad to be a human being. beyond that, i am choking on the gooey family values messages shoved down my throat. it's really nice that youngwow. this is among the worst movies i have ever seen. hey new york times, the onion, and other people giving apatow a ratings blowjob....did we even watch the same thing? it's depressing that people find this funny. truly makes me sad to be a human being. beyond that, i am choking on the gooey family values messages shoved down my throat. it's really nice that young impressionable girls can see this film and discover that if they do accidentally not use mr. jimmy hat, then no worries! odd couple will fall in love and everyone will support each other. baby and mother will be fine! abortion? who needs it!
    oh and congratulations apatow-you're a brilliant person. it takes a lot to fill a movie with weak and time-sensitive pop culture references that EVERYONE will get (well, right now.) at least you know your audience. unfortunately, i decided to be part of that for nearly two hours that i want back, NOW!
    Expand
  2. mikeg
    Oct 17, 2007
    2
    I'm pro-life and this movie was not funded by pro-lifers John R. First of all, we all know that E news reporters are liberal and abortion is their birthright. Pro-lifers don't endorse one night stands, lack of condom use, and irresponsibility. A father that doesn't own anything, smokes pot and doesn't have a job will end up in jail or on child support. John R, I think I'm pro-life and this movie was not funded by pro-lifers John R. First of all, we all know that E news reporters are liberal and abortion is their birthright. Pro-lifers don't endorse one night stands, lack of condom use, and irresponsibility. A father that doesn't own anything, smokes pot and doesn't have a job will end up in jail or on child support. John R, I think that the 'Drug Warriors' funded this movie. and if anyone laughs at this review, that's more than I got out of the whole movie Expand
  3. MaryJ.
    Oct 19, 2007
    0
    The only laughs we got from this movie were reading the critic's rave reviews after we saw it. It was a dreadful movie. None of the characters were likable, believable, or anything but painful to watch.
  4. Laura
    May 31, 2007
    4
    Realistic dialog among guys was excellent. Same w/ dialog between spouses or significant others. HOWEVER. Lots of drug use, lots of very foul language and explicit scenes that I got tired of or uncomfortable with or just bored with. Bottom line: some very funny stuff, some over the top-too much drug and F--word stuff. If you are 17-24 Male-you'll will love it.
  5. BjJ.
    Jun 11, 2007
    0
    Disgusting movie. A few funny lines, but a total waste of time and money. Why would someone as talented and beautiful as Katherine Heigl want to be associated with something so low-class??? That, I could not understand. Can Hollywood not be any more creative with language than to have to use the F-word for practically every other word in the script. Must be scraping writers from the Disgusting movie. A few funny lines, but a total waste of time and money. Why would someone as talented and beautiful as Katherine Heigl want to be associated with something so low-class??? That, I could not understand. Can Hollywood not be any more creative with language than to have to use the F-word for practically every other word in the script. Must be scraping writers from the bottom of the barrel. Expand
  6. ChristianP.
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    I feel compelled to vote to help this film's rating rise above the criminally low 7.9 it has at this moment. This is easily the best movie I have seen in a very long time. The writing and the cast are truly brilliant. I don't think I've laughed harder in a movie theater, but the real draw of the film is the reality. This movie has so much heart. My wife cried multiple times I feel compelled to vote to help this film's rating rise above the criminally low 7.9 it has at this moment. This is easily the best movie I have seen in a very long time. The writing and the cast are truly brilliant. I don't think I've laughed harder in a movie theater, but the real draw of the film is the reality. This movie has so much heart. My wife cried multiple times -- and it's because the story is presented with such reality. The leading male role is not a good guy. He has many problems and is in no way ready to be a father. Had Apatow made the character more sympathetic, the movie would feel cheesey and fake. This movie shows truth and heart and for the record is leaps and bounds better than the 40 Year Old Virgin. I loved 40YOV, but it was very absurd and existed in an absurd world. This movie takes a completely different turn. Don't listen to the 0's and 1's. Go see for yourself what a wonderful movie this is. Expand
  7. WalterS.
    Jun 11, 2007
    5
    Wow... Really disappointed with this one. Characters were generally one-dimensional and unlikeable. The two main relationships were unconvincing. The language and glorification of drug use became tired after about 15 minutes.
  8. NathanL.
    Jun 12, 2007
    10
    This was freakin' hilarious, who cares if the f word was said a lot, i actually couldn't breathe through half of the movie it was so funny. if you care that much about profanity maybe next time you should go to a G movie, save yourself from having to leave your comfort shell, go watch shrek 3 or something. It has the whole theater cracking up, brilliant movie
  9. ChrisS.
    Jun 12, 2007
    0
    Waste of time, makes me want to stop watching movies for awhile. I will be more cautious about trusting the metacritic rating system in the future!
  10. DaveF.
    Jun 12, 2007
    8
    Not free of schmaltz, but uncommonly honest and nearly as hilarious as 40YOV. If you are uncomfortable with eking comedy from such ickily-real situations as pregnant sex, for the love of God stay home and watch Look Who's Talking, Too.
  11. BitBurn
    Jun 14, 2007
    9
    Just awesome. Best comedy so far this year!
  12. PaulK.
    Jun 15, 2007
    9
    Hysterical. If you feel like laughing, go see this. It's got enough sappy heartstring tugging stuff to give this extra audience reach.
  13. PeterR.
    Jun 16, 2007
    8
    So people either give it a 10 or a 1. Seems simple: if you are not comfortable with vulgarity, stay home. If you liked the more edgy parts of the "40 Year Old Virgin" then you'll love this film. I thought it was over the top, silly, brazen and very, very funny. I don't look at movies as a social barometer, I just want to see something well written and funny. This film is not for kids.
  14. CarterC.
    Jun 16, 2007
    0
    The scum of all movies...PLEASE DON'T WASTE YOUR MIND, YOUR EMOTIONS, YOUR SOUL, YOUR TIME OR YOUR MONEY....UTTERLY DEPLORABLE!!
  15. CareyK.
    Jun 17, 2007
    5
    The situation of unexpected pregnancy with a one night stand is much too heavy to list this movie as a comedy. Funny in bursts, depressing in others. It is difficult to buy the happy ending with such an unlikely pairing as a TV career woman meets a unemployed stoner.
  16. DerrickF.
    Jun 17, 2007
    5
    I give this movie a 5 because I only laughed about 50% of the time. The other half was spent digesting the gravity of the genuinely serious topics raised regarding parenthood and relationships.
  17. LaurenceM.
    Jun 18, 2007
    0
    Repulsive and mindless. If you want to watch unbathed male lower primates wallow in shit this is the movie for you! I can only describe the first half. Went home and took a shower.
  18. MitchM.
    Jun 18, 2007
    0
    When you consider the rating given to this movie, you realize how low this country values have fallen. The story is not believable for a moment, the characters shallow, the language appalling, there is no redeeming value in this production.
  19. MarkB.
    Jun 19, 2007
    9
    Ten years ago, who would have predicted or guessed that the person behind the most intelligent, entertaining, touching and emotionally resonant romantic comedies of the 21st century would be the same one who stuffs them to near-bursting with gags about bodily secretions, excretions and hair? Or that Judd Apatow's movies would be so effortlessly and uniquely centrist, tying together Ten years ago, who would have predicted or guessed that the person behind the most intelligent, entertaining, touching and emotionally resonant romantic comedies of the 21st century would be the same one who stuffs them to near-bursting with gags about bodily secretions, excretions and hair? Or that Judd Apatow's movies would be so effortlessly and uniquely centrist, tying together red- and blue-state ways of thinking? Both Apatow's previous effort, the instant classic The 40 Year Old Virgin, and Knocked Up know that sex is as enormously enjoyable as it's possible for any activity to be, but is fraught with potential pitfalls and regrets, and is best experienced within a committed relationship. Although mostly (and necessarily) framed from a male viewpoint, both movies value, even treasure, their female characters, and both stress the necessity of a man entering into an intimate relationship (in every way, not just physical) with a woman growing up first (Virgin's Andy by selling off his vast action-figure collection, Knocked Up's Ben by getting a real job, moving out of the house he shares with his slacker buddies and putting down his bong). Of course, in spending too much time discussing subtext, there's always the danger of not spending enough time discussing how riotously funny, genuinely romantic and completely endearing Apatow's movies are, so let's quickly move on to the miracles that he works with his actors across the board, especially in light of how other writers and filmmakers have far less advantageously displayed them. Katharine Heigl as Alison, a budding Entertainment Tonight-type on-air personality dealing with the very long-term effects of her one-night stand with Ben (a guy she never, never would've chosen under any circumstances other than being extremely bombed), has long endured the silliest and most unbelievable plot twists Gray's Anatomy has to offer. The wonderfully likable Seth Rogen, who also shone as Andy's horniest pal in Virgin, was criminally misused and wasted as a henpecked husband in last year's loathsome You, Me & Dupree. (That minority of moviegoers and critics who mystifyingly believe Knocked Up to be misogynistic, of all things, might well consider the fact that said 2006 Owen Wilson debacle despised and feared women so much that it didn't show any of the female characters' faces onscreen, except of course for Kate Hudson's.) As Alison's less-than-totally-happily-married brother-in-law Pete, Paul Rudd (also a comic revelation in Virgin) erases once again all memories of how truly obnoxious he was as Phoebe Buffay's self-centered husband in the final seasons of Friends. The rest of the cast similarly blossoms under Apatow's tightly planned but improvisation-rich style, but Leslie Mann, who's the real Mrs. Apatow, demonstates that on rare occasions it really does pay for an actress to sleep with the director; her brittle but deeply insecure and vulnerable Debbie is worthy of Oscar consideration. (Not to sound like a broken record, but Mann was brilliant in--surprise!--Virgin, being both heartbreaking and spit-out-your-drink funny as Andy's drunken pickup.) Apatow's incidental or throwaway scenes often cut deeper than the centerpieces in most current American films: there's a sequence at a club involving Allison, Debbie and a put-upon Black doorman (Craig Robinson) that says as much in five minutes about various contemporary prejudices and "-isms" as even a very good film like Crash managed to in a couple of hours. Apatow's shortest suit continues to be the niceties of 100% believable plot construction; for the sake of an arbitrary third-act conflict in Virgin he had Trish (Catherine Keener) find a box of porno that a friend gave Andy, left out for all to see, when we all know that Andy is so self-conscious and meticulous that he would've kept it very well-hidden...buried, even. In Knocked Up, Allison has to be almost ready to break her water on the air before her employers (who had earlier given her a stringently p.c. lecture about avoiding weight gain) even begin to notice. But if this is the biggest area for improvement in the work of a comic near-genius as classically talented and original as Apatow, then God bless him...and give us many more like him, flaws and all! Expand
  20. Kevin
    Jun 19, 2007
    9
    As I am about to leave to see this movie for the 4th time, I feel the urge comment on it's greatness. After seeing Hot Fuzz, I didn't think I'd see a funnier movie all year, but then Knocked Up comes along. It's was hilarious, well acted, and full of heart. Judd Apatow/Seth Rogen are like the modern comedy version of Martin Scorscese/Leonardo DiCaprio. I hope they As I am about to leave to see this movie for the 4th time, I feel the urge comment on it's greatness. After seeing Hot Fuzz, I didn't think I'd see a funnier movie all year, but then Knocked Up comes along. It's was hilarious, well acted, and full of heart. Judd Apatow/Seth Rogen are like the modern comedy version of Martin Scorscese/Leonardo DiCaprio. I hope they continue their hot streak of gut-busting, heartfelt comedies for years to come. Expand
  21. AnthonyJ.
    Jun 23, 2007
    7
    A good, but not great, movie. Really, really funny in spots, and a little stupid in others, but more of the latter than the former. P.S. A lot of the things people are complaining about in their comments (the swearing, the way guys talk amongst themselves) are the most authentic parts of the film.
  22. CathyL.
    Jun 24, 2007
    0
    A very crude movie at times bordering on pornographic. Bad character development - the major players have personality changes from one scene to the next. I am shocked that critics seemed to think this was a good movie.
  23. Tom
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    Absolutely hilarious. Watched this with my nine-month-pregnant wife and she was laughing as hard as I was (well, maybe not during the delivery scene as that hit a little close to home). Seems like the naysayers here are coming from the same point of view - the Christian Right. If you don't count yourself one of them, you'll love it. I'd bet most of the critics are coming Absolutely hilarious. Watched this with my nine-month-pregnant wife and she was laughing as hard as I was (well, maybe not during the delivery scene as that hit a little close to home). Seems like the naysayers here are coming from the same point of view - the Christian Right. If you don't count yourself one of them, you'll love it. I'd bet most of the critics are coming here via a right-wing website. Expand
  24. PatF.
    Jul 14, 2007
    0
    It's rare that I leave a movie before it's over, but this "pro life baby movie" was one of the worst. The many ultra sounds starting with the 6 week fetus's heartbeat which clinches the decision for the ill-mated couple to go through with this pregnancy and the silliness of the whole dialogue was too much.
  25. LesR
    Jul 19, 2007
    9
    We all know someone like Seth Rogen's character and I can really imagine that's how someone like him would act if he impregnated someone. Judd Apatow really captures this generation (not mine, by the way). He' s poignant without being schmaltzy.
  26. JeffW.
    Aug 17, 2007
    9
    Funny adult humor, a bit much on the drug use but I guess it was germain to the plot.
  27. AjJ.
    Aug 18, 2007
    0
    Any other reviewers that compare this movie to pornography need to go out and get some new porn, because that's an insult to hardworking pornographers everywhere. The acting in porn movies is much better than the acting in this godawful clunker, and the plots in porn are usually a lot more believable too. Best of all, porno movies don't usually drag on for over 2 hours with no Any other reviewers that compare this movie to pornography need to go out and get some new porn, because that's an insult to hardworking pornographers everywhere. The acting in porn movies is much better than the acting in this godawful clunker, and the plots in porn are usually a lot more believable too. Best of all, porno movies don't usually drag on for over 2 hours with no point at all. Which is to say, I really didn't like this film much at all. Sorry I forgot to warn you all sooner. Expand
  28. AdamL
    Aug 19, 2007
    9
    The negative comments on this film are hilarious! "By far the worst film I have ever seen"...well apparently you haven't seen many movies at all. "The theme of this movie is hurtful to the realities of society"...you mean YOUR reality, maybe. "I could have walked out after 10 minutes and saved an hour of my life"...well, yes, if the movie had been and hour-and-10-minutes long. Humans The negative comments on this film are hilarious! "By far the worst film I have ever seen"...well apparently you haven't seen many movies at all. "The theme of this movie is hurtful to the realities of society"...you mean YOUR reality, maybe. "I could have walked out after 10 minutes and saved an hour of my life"...well, yes, if the movie had been and hour-and-10-minutes long. Humans are funny creatures, eh? Expand
  29. MalachaiT.
    Aug 25, 2007
    10
    fantastically real and funny - best American comedy since 40 yr old virgin Atapow and Rogen are comic geniuses (is that a word).
  30. SharonM.
    Aug 26, 2007
    1
    One of the worst movies I've ever seen. Certainly the most disgusting. Katherine degrades herself beyond belief...why does she need to go so low? One would think that the beautiful successful woman she plays would use some discretion before even talking to, much less copulating with a slovenly, jobless, drinking drug addict. But the characters in this film use as much brain power and One of the worst movies I've ever seen. Certainly the most disgusting. Katherine degrades herself beyond belief...why does she need to go so low? One would think that the beautiful successful woman she plays would use some discretion before even talking to, much less copulating with a slovenly, jobless, drinking drug addict. But the characters in this film use as much brain power and moral judgment as the alley cats they emulate. I give it a 1 for acting, although there wasn't much dialog to remember as most sentences started and ended with F... . I guess the movie critics see it as a morality film because the slob 'supported" her through the pregnancy as he continued drinking and drugging in his Animal House life. So this is an "A" movie ; the film critics must be stoned out of their minds ! Expand
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Knocked Up feels very NOW. The banter is bruisingly funny, the characters BRILLIANTLY childish, the portrait of our culture's narrowing gap between children and their elders hysterical--in all senses.
  2. 88
    Knocked Up could be one of the summer of 2007's sleeper hits. It certainly deserves the distinction.
  3. 80
    On the surface, Apatow's films are about sex--obsessively, exclusively, and exhaustively. (This one lasts more than two hours.) But that is a clever feint, for their true subject is age.