Universal Pictures | Release Date: June 1, 2007
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 567 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
370
Mixed:
78
Negative:
119
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JefframoneJun 3, 2007
After "The 40-Year-Old Virgin" there was a huge margin for disappointment. Judd Apatow and Seth Rogan lived up to every positive expectation I had about what this movie should be. This movie is non-stop laughter and like "Virgin", just as After "The 40-Year-Old Virgin" there was a huge margin for disappointment. Judd Apatow and Seth Rogan lived up to every positive expectation I had about what this movie should be. This movie is non-stop laughter and like "Virgin", just as sweet and endearing. But I think that the each time it careened toward the precipice of over-sentimentality it's juvenile stoner antics and sharply realistic male behaviors put the breaks on. In my opinion this film is a perfect balance of the two. My only negative criticism is that like "Virgin" it might be just slightly too long, but I'd be hard pressed to say what should be cut. This is nearly a perfect comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobD.Jun 4, 2007
This movie was fantastic. Funny, dry, heartfelt and a lot more cohesive than The 40-year-old Virgin." The only small quibble I had was with the set-up for the romance between Ben and Alison. Not well established, even though by the end of This movie was fantastic. Funny, dry, heartfelt and a lot more cohesive than The 40-year-old Virgin." The only small quibble I had was with the set-up for the romance between Ben and Alison. Not well established, even though by the end of the movie I bought it...but at 2 hours I'm not sure how much more set up I would be willing to endure. Still, funny as all get out, no doubt. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SarahB.Jun 4, 2007
Really good movie. Although high on the raunchiness scale, not out of the realm of behavior I've seen from my husband's friends back at that age. Also covered situations very realistically, not the typical Hollywood treatment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlisonGJun 4, 2007
If you "IMDB" this movie, you'll see that the cast are no strangers . . . they have starred together in productions as far back as Freaks and Geeks. You could tell that there was massive chemistry between the castmates because this If you "IMDB" this movie, you'll see that the cast are no strangers . . . they have starred together in productions as far back as Freaks and Geeks. You could tell that there was massive chemistry between the castmates because this movie was HILARIOUS. I haven't had sidepain during a movie EVER from laughing so hard . . . until now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
CharlesM.Jun 4, 2007
Eh.. That's how this struck me. Meh. Not very funny, not especially well acted. Not much to say really, unlike the rabid defenders/detractors. Just kinda OK with shadings towards the stinky side. Seth Rogen certainly cannot carry a Eh.. That's how this struck me. Meh. Not very funny, not especially well acted. Not much to say really, unlike the rabid defenders/detractors. Just kinda OK with shadings towards the stinky side. Seth Rogen certainly cannot carry a leading role, and Paul Rudd was poorly utilized. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BillH.Jun 4, 2007
There was nothing wrong with this movie, but there was nothing really right about it either. I didn't find it nearly as funny as the reviews are making it sound, but there were a few laughs. It would have been better if it was about 30 There was nothing wrong with this movie, but there was nothing really right about it either. I didn't find it nearly as funny as the reviews are making it sound, but there were a few laughs. It would have been better if it was about 30 minutes shorter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AnonymousMCJun 6, 2007
If this movie isn't appreciated by some, it's because they have confused, silly notions about "morals" that prove they have not actually seen "Knocked Up" or have been spoiled enough by all the dumb, cheap trick comedies to come outIf this movie isn't appreciated by some, it's because they have confused, silly notions about "morals" that prove they have not actually seen "Knocked Up" or have been spoiled enough by all the dumb, cheap trick comedies to come out of Hollywood ("Click," "Wild Hogs") that they can't appreciate something that truly is HUMOROUS. I won't say "Knocked Up" is a masterpeice, but it is one of the better comedies this year, and deserves to be seen. In fact, f*** what anyone says about it and just go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AllisonR.Jun 6, 2007
I thought "Knocked up" was hilarious. The whole thing just had a feel-good vibe to it, and just about every part of the movie kept me laughing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobP.Jun 7, 2007
Hilarious. Instantly vaults itself into my top 5 movies of all time. Hard to imagine a movie funnier than this ever being made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LauraP.Jun 7, 2007
A comfy, reassurring promise for the underachieving, developmentally arrested nebbish whose worst nightmare results after a Cinderfella night with his wildest dreams. A man's version of "having it all," leaves nothing for the woman. A comfy, reassurring promise for the underachieving, developmentally arrested nebbish whose worst nightmare results after a Cinderfella night with his wildest dreams. A man's version of "having it all," leaves nothing for the woman. Humorous at times, but tragic overall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JenniferKJun 7, 2007
Great movie. I was rolling around laughing my ass off practically the whole time. "Dude, there are 5 different types of chairs in this hotel.... WHY ARE THEY ALL HERE??" Haha definitely a must see. Anyone who doesn't see the humor in Great movie. I was rolling around laughing my ass off practically the whole time. "Dude, there are 5 different types of chairs in this hotel.... WHY ARE THEY ALL HERE??" Haha definitely a must see. Anyone who doesn't see the humor in this movie is probably a stuck up christian, and probably also a virgin. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeS.Jun 8, 2007
Balanced perfectly. Finally a chick flick that guys can appreciate.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanielC.Jul 4, 2007
Knocked up aims to be and succeeds at being one of the best comedies coming out this winter. The reason why this comedy works is because all the characters work. Ben's frat friends work well, the awkward moments between the married Knocked up aims to be and succeeds at being one of the best comedies coming out this winter. The reason why this comedy works is because all the characters work. Ben's frat friends work well, the awkward moments between the married couple, Ben and Allison add some good moments while the conversations between Allison and her boss work well too. For all of those who are bemoaning the level of swearing, grow up. That's right, grow up. You sound like a bunch of kids going Did he say the p word? Oh! Jeez. People swear, and people especially swear in moments such as these. If you don't like comedies with a little spice on the side, stick to the cartoons, us normal people will be reveling in a great movie which aims to celebrate relationships and the trials and tribulations of them, and succeeds. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZackP.Jan 9, 2008
This movie is not a teen movie or a main stream comedy for me and it hurt close to home about the questions of love and the mistakes we take as we age.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThismoviehitVeryClosetoHomeMay 23, 2008
Okay I loved it. I'll admit it wasn't quite a masterpiece but very real. Some of the other comments on here actually make me really mad because it is very similar to my own life story about my husband and my daughter. So its a Okay I loved it. I'll admit it wasn't quite a masterpiece but very real. Some of the other comments on here actually make me really mad because it is very similar to my own life story about my husband and my daughter. So its a shame that SOME people on here obviously know nothing about love and family. Its not that unreal because I really lived it-and she doesn't give up anything-remember-she still works at E!- very good movie and NOT THAT FAR FETCHED AFTERALL. (although I am from the midwest were people are a little less shallow than L.A.) And yah it wasnt a slapstick kind of movie-real life is funny, too! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JimmyK.Aug 13, 2008
This movie is a complete rip-off of a book that came out 6 months before. Plagiarism at its best!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnF.Aug 2, 2008
Oh my god its so unbelievable! Jesus people its a movie, its not supposed to be believable and completely realistic. I thought this movie was absolutely hilarious, Ive watched it probably 10 times and it gets funnier every time. Lighten up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EDOOct 15, 2007
Horrible movie.Worst I've ever seen. I can't believe anyone would think this is funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
fichotOct 15, 2007
One of the worst comedies of all times. Way too long. No LOL's, just a few shy laughs. Extra-boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ilarik.Oct 2, 2007
Down-to-earth, warm, humane and blunt, just the opposite of your average comedy, highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JoelXOct 26, 2007
A couple of laughs - at most. The male character is so boorish and irresponsible it is hard to believe any self-respecting woman would go to bed with him no matter how drunk she was. There were plenty of opportrunities for humor, but not A couple of laughs - at most. The male character is so boorish and irresponsible it is hard to believe any self-respecting woman would go to bed with him no matter how drunk she was. There were plenty of opportrunities for humor, but not with these characters or this script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
badmovieOct 28, 2007
This movie isn't superbad, but it's super bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
leeh.Oct 3, 2007
A very funny, astute, intelligent, raunchy, and, adult comedy. it stands out like an oasis in a desert of childish, boorish attempts by other Hollywood efforts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DotF.Oct 6, 2007
There are a couple of genuine laughs but mostly it's a boring 2-hour celebration of drugs, profanity, selfishness and stupidity. I really felt ripped off. I'm mystified by all the praise this overrated movie receives.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KimL.Oct 8, 2007
What?? This movie was awful. Stupid, not funny, not touching, you don't feel anything except apathy at any of the (shallow) stupid characters. How did this move get such a high rating from critics and viewers alike?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JTerzinoMay 31, 2007
Saw it at a free screening and it was freaking hilarious!!!!!!!! Going again tomorrow to give them my money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonDanahyJun 10, 2007
Great movie wouldn't have changed a thing. Perfect balance of heart and crude humor. Wife loved it just as much as I did.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredJun 10, 2007
One of the funniest movies i've ever seen. Ranks up there with movies like Old School, 40 Year Old Virgin, Dodgeball and Wedding Crashers on my list.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleJun 1, 2007
This movie was much more than just a comedy
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatieD.Jun 1, 2007
Excellent in every way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful