User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 328 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 83 out of 328
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JordanR.
    Mar 22, 2009
    1
    just...wow. Intelligence profoundly insulted, I'm even a Nick Cage fan.
  2. MikeS
    Mar 29, 2009
    1
    Trite. Tomato-surprise ending. Fails to suspend disbelief. Plot holes you could drive an asteroid through. Characters you don't care about. And on and on.
  3. ZachridW.
    Apr 3, 2009
    1
    This is one of the most boring and most predictable movies I've ever seen. In fact "Knowing" is the perfect title for it, because I _knew_ the whole story 10 seconds after the boy opened the envelope. So this whole thing was a waste of time. [THIS CONTAINS SPOLIERS!] It's a far below-average "The world ends next Thursday"-flick. And perhaps the plot-twist, that judgement day is This is one of the most boring and most predictable movies I've ever seen. In fact "Knowing" is the perfect title for it, because I _knew_ the whole story 10 seconds after the boy opened the envelope. So this whole thing was a waste of time. [THIS CONTAINS SPOLIERS!] It's a far below-average "The world ends next Thursday"-flick. And perhaps the plot-twist, that judgement day is upon Nicolas Cage, would have been surprising to someone, if they haven't already given it away in the movie-posters. You know that the world will end, that there is nothing Mr.Cage can do about it, you know that these guys are aliens and you know that they will take the kids with them and blahblahblah... the whole story seems to be assembled out of a "screenplay-construction-kit" or they just pulled cards with tags like "aliens", "end of the world" and "foresight" on it, and filled the gaps with special-effects. ...oh ok, well the special effects are good. So the movie feels like something M. Night Shyamalan and Roland Emmerich threw up on a tequila driven night. Expand
  4. ChristofR
    Apr 7, 2009
    2
    Nice action sequences - That's all. Ridiculous plot. Ridiculous acting. So many cinematic mistakes. Don't watch it - It isn't worth any money to spent!
  5. TimH
    Jul 10, 2009
    0
    This movie scared me straight! I now believe in Jesus and couldn't be happier!
  6. CharlesD
    Jul 9, 2009
    2
    This is just another in a long line of poor Nicholas Cage films, he has apparently had so much botox as to render his facial muscles inoperable and he cannot now make any expression beyond constant mild suprise. Further to this the plot of this film is dire, the first 30 minutes are quite good, which is why this film gets 2 stars instead of 0, but after that the plot decends into madness This is just another in a long line of poor Nicholas Cage films, he has apparently had so much botox as to render his facial muscles inoperable and he cannot now make any expression beyond constant mild suprise. Further to this the plot of this film is dire, the first 30 minutes are quite good, which is why this film gets 2 stars instead of 0, but after that the plot decends into madness and the director manages to get out of his own labyrinthine plot by using aliens/angels and explaining nothing very well at all. do not waste your money on this film. Expand
  7. ScottV.
    Aug 1, 2009
    3
    Stupid is the best word to describe this movie. After viewing the ending, everything that happened prior to it is totally irrelevant and played NO part in the entire movie! Yes that's right the entire plot of this movie is 100% pointless once you see the ending, so why did I waste all of my time trying to understand the meaning of everything happening up to the ending, because I was Stupid is the best word to describe this movie. After viewing the ending, everything that happened prior to it is totally irrelevant and played NO part in the entire movie! Yes that's right the entire plot of this movie is 100% pointless once you see the ending, so why did I waste all of my time trying to understand the meaning of everything happening up to the ending, because I was stupid to rent it! I won't spoil the ending for you just in case you feel like wasting almost 2 hours of your life but the only highlight of the movie was a cgi plane crash somewhere in the middle of the movie (again, this was totally pointless to the ending). Even the critics were kind in their reviews! Expand
  8. joeh
    Jan 18, 2010
    0
    It felt like this movie was written by a group of brooding college students with too much time on their hands. While on one hand you have plot points so meticulously constructed that you forget there is an actual story unfoldidng, on the other you have gaping holes so big you'd think they were made by a Boeing 747. Not only is it stupid, but pretentious at the same time, talk about a It felt like this movie was written by a group of brooding college students with too much time on their hands. While on one hand you have plot points so meticulously constructed that you forget there is an actual story unfoldidng, on the other you have gaping holes so big you'd think they were made by a Boeing 747. Not only is it stupid, but pretentious at the same time, talk about a real winning combination. Expand
  9. JenniferM
    Oct 17, 2009
    0
    This was one of the worst movies I've ever seen. It didn't flow well and half way in, when you didn't think it could get any worse, It DID! I love Nicolas Cage but I couldn't in this. His acting along with everyone elses was horrible. the story was even strange & choppy, special effects looked so fake, and it feels like they were trying too hard.. I watched with with This was one of the worst movies I've ever seen. It didn't flow well and half way in, when you didn't think it could get any worse, It DID! I love Nicolas Cage but I couldn't in this. His acting along with everyone elses was horrible. the story was even strange & choppy, special effects looked so fake, and it feels like they were trying too hard.. I watched with with an 11year old who even said how horrible this movie was. It's too bad. Expand
  10. WilliamW.
    Aug 29, 2009
    1
    I give this a 1 for almost keeping me interested at the start, but it very quickly turns into one of the dumbest big budget films played with a straight face I've ever seen. SPOILER ALERT - if higher beings know the future, can travel through space, etc, then why choose all this weird ambiguous whispering and symbolic nonesense to get people to do as they're told. It makes less I give this a 1 for almost keeping me interested at the start, but it very quickly turns into one of the dumbest big budget films played with a straight face I've ever seen. SPOILER ALERT - if higher beings know the future, can travel through space, etc, then why choose all this weird ambiguous whispering and symbolic nonesense to get people to do as they're told. It makes less than no sense. Plot wise this is complete drivel, only some ok CGI saves about five minutes of this movie. Cage is terrible, mostly because his lines are so stupid, at times he actually explains plot points out loud as if the audience were as dim witted as the writers. Avoid. Expand
  11. kgm
    Mar 28, 2009
    3
    Cage plays a MIT professor in possession of a secret code that seems to predict disasters with unerring accuracy. The setup to this is actually fairly well done and the movie works well but then it drifts into some sort of pseudo-religious, pseudo-alien mumbo jumbo and as Revelation 3:16 so eloquently states:
  12. Peter
    Apr 1, 2009
    0
    This is quite possibly the worst film I've ever seen, patronising and confusing at the same time. Without giving away any spoilers the end just doesn't make sense and there's a nasty anti science subtext (He's a bad father because he's a scientist?). On top of this the effects and acting are seriously sub par. There is also the somewhat offensive use of real life This is quite possibly the worst film I've ever seen, patronising and confusing at the same time. Without giving away any spoilers the end just doesn't make sense and there's a nasty anti science subtext (He's a bad father because he's a scientist?). On top of this the effects and acting are seriously sub par. There is also the somewhat offensive use of real life disaster-esque footage for entertainment purposes with far too many essentially pointless shots of horrific daths. I can't even recommend this as a so-bad-its-good film. I honestly don't understand how anyone thought this was good. It's not entertaining, thought provoking or inspiring. It's just bad. I want my money, and worse, 2 hours of my life, back. Expand
  13. JimF
    Apr 4, 2009
    3
    Given the presence of Nicholas Cage, who can go under the radar and succeed, as he did in last year's way-underrated "Next", and Alex Proyas, who has shown himself to be an innovative, often visionary director of action, "Knowing" has to be considered a major disappointment. Is Hollywood so clueless about real religious experience that it thinks it proceeds from depression to Given the presence of Nicholas Cage, who can go under the radar and succeed, as he did in last year's way-underrated "Next", and Alex Proyas, who has shown himself to be an innovative, often visionary director of action, "Knowing" has to be considered a major disappointment. Is Hollywood so clueless about real religious experience that it thinks it proceeds from depression to complete skepticism to fanatical certainty based on some numbers scrawled by a young girl and placed in a time capsule 50 years earlier. It;s enough to give credibility and substance to Bill Maher's adolescent view of religion in "Religulous". However, Proyas can still direct a great action sequence. Expand
  14. muhammads
    Apr 6, 2009
    0
    I KNOW never to let my idiot friends choose what movie to watch next time!!! black stones, albinos, aliens and spaceships, and nicolas cage (bad acting -same thing- ). seriously, why is nicolas cage acting when he can't act??? This movie was only half as bad as i had expected it to be up till the part where you find out that the albinos are actually aliens, who are actually god, andI KNOW never to let my idiot friends choose what movie to watch next time!!! black stones, albinos, aliens and spaceships, and nicolas cage (bad acting -same thing- ). seriously, why is nicolas cage acting when he can't act??? This movie was only half as bad as i had expected it to be up till the part where you find out that the albinos are actually aliens, who are actually god, and who are trying to save the human race from it's apparent doom according to whispers that only two children can hear, and a series of numbers only nicolas cage can interpret... don't watch this movie even if you are tied to a chair with your eyes held open and a gun pointed to your head with the threat that if you don't watch your head will be blown off... it's that bad. and i'm not saying that just because i don't like nicolas cage. ok maybe a little. Expand
  15. caporegime
    Jun 15, 2009
    3
    This is like your inside the mind of an elementary student daydreaming.
  16. Lauren2
    Jul 10, 2009
    0
    One thing's for sure, if Armageddon every actually does happen, it couldn't possibly be as bad as this movie.
  17. NR
    Jul 27, 2009
    1
    This movie is confusing, illogical and rife with poor acting. Worst, it's slow moving and boring. This movie makes me sad for the state of Hollywood.
  18. RonaldS.
    Mar 21, 2009
    2
    "But it is Caleb's father, professor John Koestler, who makes the startling discovery that the encoded message predicts with pinpoint accuracy the dates, death tolls and coordinates of every major disaster of the past 50 years. As Ted further unravels the document's chilling secrets," In Metacritics synopsis, who the heck is Ted?
  19. DaveW
    Mar 23, 2009
    1
    Too many plots to develop one working story with disturbing high-budget disaster scenes you'd expect to see in a Final Destination flick.
  20. StevenW
    Mar 24, 2009
    2
    This is seriously one of the worst movies I have seen. The plot was stupid, the acting was terrible, and the script was also bad. It might seem good to those children in the range of 10 to 13 years old simple because of the special effects and a few eerie scenes but other than that it is terrible.
  21. NancyB.
    Mar 28, 2009
    1
    Absolutely awful. Cage is a joke with his wide eyed wonderment. Plot made no sense, they couldn't figure out if they wanted aliens or angels. Gave it a 1 instead of 0 because, for some unknown reason, I didn't walk out.
  22. TomD
    Mar 29, 2009
    1
    Terrible film. I think at one point i caught a glimpse of the release date of the movie on that list of his.
  23. JoeS.
    Apr 1, 2009
    0
    God-awful. Just horrific. How can anybody like this?
  24. RKZ
    Apr 30, 2009
    3
    So, a genius mathematician uses a white board to track the number progression when he could throw it into the computer and get a quick answer? And a 10-year-old boy doesn't know enough not to approach a car with a stranger driving? And the ending is even worse! Not much here to recommend--bad writing, bad writing, and walk-through performances. Did I say bad writing?
  25. EnzoP.
    Jun 22, 2009
    1
    Pathetic! The start and the middle of the movie were ok. But, the ending is so stupid you would never want to even talk about the movie. Knowing is probably the worst movie of the year.
  26. MissyMouse
    Jun 24, 2009
    3
    Good start . Epic failure ending.
  27. DanielV.
    Jul 10, 2009
    3
    Can not say that I enjoyed this movie to its fullest, or anywhere close to it. To be honest, it wasn't very good, and parts of the plot was ridiculous. However, not a terrible movie. Ill recommended for a buy, unless you really want to; So, renting it would be better.
  28. DO
    Jul 27, 2009
    1
    Pathetic...this was one of the most stupid, predicted movie I have ever seen.
  29. DennisS
    Jul 28, 2009
    0
    Seriously disappointing film. Slow and plodding, unnecessary profanity, poor graphics.. and who wants to see a herd of wildlife on fire? Then there is the whole spiritual mess that the film developed. This is, in my opinion, the worst Cage film I've seen and certainly isn't worth the time or dollars to see it.
  30. BronwynN
    Apr 18, 2009
    1
    Although interesting in the initial concept, this film ended as the worst movie I have ever seen. Poor acting on all parts, and an ending that never ends.... Although a sci-fi fan and open minded, this movie left me wishing I hadn't wasted 2 hours of my time.
  31. MalloryY.
    Apr 22, 2009
    1
    This movie was TERRIBLE! After watching it my husband and I both wished we had gone to see Monsters v Aliens in place of this. Absolute crap.
  32. DavidM
    Jul 13, 2009
    1
    Started off half-decent, but by half way through it started to drag on and I couldn't wait for it to be over.
  33. Dec 12, 2011
    0
    The first half is enjoyable enough, except for Cage's acting, which is a shame since he's in every shot of the movie. However, as events unfold they become more and more ridiculous until the jaw-droppingly idiotic last ten minutes, which abandons any pretense of intellectualism and, rather than produce some explanatory rabbit out of its hat, plumps for hokey pseudo-religious imagery and anThe first half is enjoyable enough, except for Cage's acting, which is a shame since he's in every shot of the movie. However, as events unfold they become more and more ridiculous until the jaw-droppingly idiotic last ten minutes, which abandons any pretense of intellectualism and, rather than produce some explanatory rabbit out of its hat, plumps for hokey pseudo-religious imagery and an orgiastic bout of SFX. In the film's final moments, disbelief isn't just suspended, it's hung, drawn and quartered on the alter of stupid CGI. Expand
  34. Jan 9, 2011
    0
    What exactly was the purpose of this film? I could have found better uses for the millions spent on this horrible movie. I really can't believe any one gave this a high rating.

    This movie is completely hosed from the start and spends the entire time mixing myths and folklore with religious undertones, special effects and wishful thinking. The story has no believability and I find it
    What exactly was the purpose of this film? I could have found better uses for the millions spent on this horrible movie. I really can't believe any one gave this a high rating.

    This movie is completely hosed from the start and spends the entire time mixing myths and folklore with religious undertones, special effects and wishful thinking. The story has no believability and I find it very difficult to suspend my disbelief system in order to enjoy this movie.

    Don't get me wrong, I like Nicolas Cage, but Jesus dude, couldn't you pick a better script than this? Oh, yeah, tax issues, gotta pay the man.

    When I first saw this movie I thought it was from the same people who made The Happening, but I see that it was from another moron who knows every thing about the technical side of movies but nothing about good scripts and directing.

    I don't think a 1,000 writers with a 1,000 re-writes could have made this a good enough movie to waste money on and it is a good thing I got to see it for free.
    Expand
  35. Mar 16, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was pretty good at the beginning, I thought the storyline was really cool. But then it involved Aliens. The ending was horrible like what is Nicholas Cage supposed to tell the authorities....."Oh, I just let my son and my friends daughter go on an Alien spacecraft" Overall a pretty stupid movie. Expand
  36. Aug 16, 2010
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. okay, the film was nicely made and the story worked for itself and it was quite simple but catching and tense. but there is one big problem. why on earth would the aliens play with people by giving them cryptic messages, being mysterious weirdos and throwing black stones around for fifty years, if they can simply come, take the kids and go away?! ah, i know, then there wouldn't be any movie... Expand
  37. Philip
    Jul 7, 2009
    0
    Possibly the worst movie ever made - although you might not hate sitting through it as much as some movies which may be better. That may sound like a contradiction but wait until you see it... which you really shouldn't!
  38. MikeH.
    Aug 29, 2009
    0
    Why does nicolas cage keep getting acting jobs? he's dreadful! he displayed one facial expression throughout the entire movie, a movie which would have been terrible even with a decent main actor. albinos, aliens, black pebbles, spacecrafts, adam and eve, and still the most unbelievable part was nicolas cage's acting.
  39. Aug 27, 2010
    3
    The plot errors and bad writing seem to be the least of this movie's worries, and considering the movie's flaws, that's saying a lot.... Nicolas Cage has never looked so ridiculous (ok, that's a lie, but I need to fill the 150 character count)
  40. DaveF
    Apr 2, 2009
    4
    I don't understand the high ratings some users have given this film. While this movie does have a great premise and I will agree that the FX are astounding, the ending is a complete let down and cop-out. This is a typical Hollywood effort, tons of potential and you leave feeling flat and cheated. If you thought the end of the last Indiana Jones movie was great, go see it, otherwise I don't understand the high ratings some users have given this film. While this movie does have a great premise and I will agree that the FX are astounding, the ending is a complete let down and cop-out. This is a typical Hollywood effort, tons of potential and you leave feeling flat and cheated. If you thought the end of the last Indiana Jones movie was great, go see it, otherwise be prepared for a disappointment. Expand
  41. Jan 13, 2011
    1
    Over time it seems Nicholas Cage's acting has got worse and worse. His movies quickly following. A plot filled with so many horrendous plot holes I couldn't even start, bad SFX, terrible acting, failure to suspend disbelief, an ending that has gone a million miles off track from where it began. Seriously it starts as a grade B horror film, then turns into some kind of overdone soap operaOver time it seems Nicholas Cage's acting has got worse and worse. His movies quickly following. A plot filled with so many horrendous plot holes I couldn't even start, bad SFX, terrible acting, failure to suspend disbelief, an ending that has gone a million miles off track from where it began. Seriously it starts as a grade B horror film, then turns into some kind of overdone soap opera episode, and then finally into a certain very famous Spielberg movie (you'll know when you see it). Some of the dialogue is almost the same by the end. The audience was laughing all the way out of the theater at how moronic the whole thing was. so for those theater leaving laughs I will bump this movie up to a 1/10 Expand
  42. Feb 18, 2012
    0
    Why such a graphic, horiffic air plane crash? And at Logan Int'l Airport, 100 miles from where I live, no less. I've flown more than a few times-I know flying is safe-but I'm flying in less than 4 months..I can't get the scene, the jet chrashing, multiple explosions, burning, screaming people, out of my head. Millions of people fly..Why include such a graphic scene to such a largeWhy such a graphic, horiffic air plane crash? And at Logan Int'l Airport, 100 miles from where I live, no less. I've flown more than a few times-I know flying is safe-but I'm flying in less than 4 months..I can't get the scene, the jet chrashing, multiple explosions, burning, screaming people, out of my head. Millions of people fly..Why include such a graphic scene to such a large demographic? Poor taste.To those of you who fly, please avoid this movie. Rated XXX for graphic, horiffic violence. Expand
  43. Aug 25, 2012
    4
    I can't actually put my finger on the reason why this film wasn't that good but it wasn't. The plot as a whole is fairly intelligent but I think it must be the acting and could even be something as minor as the soundtrack. Anyway sorry for the lack of information in this review, I am genuinely confused by this film.
  44. MikeL
    Aug 20, 2009
    4
    This movie tries to create an M. Night Shyamalan type of "twist"; however, it twists itself too far and becomes confusing and disconnected. The movie never knows whether it is a disaster flick, a horror film, a sci-fi thriller, or a mystery. Unfortunately, it isn't any of them.
  45. VictorT
    Apr 13, 2009
    4
    Giving a 4 on the FX part of it, but towards the end of the show was a huge disappointment...why don't they name the children after Adam n Eve??
  46. MarkD
    Apr 4, 2009
    4
    Extremely disappointing. Expected a film and got an over-the-top flick. Ebert was on crack with his review. He must have sent the kid to the candy store in his place. Dark City, Proya's masterpiece sets the viewer up for this collosal letdown of biblical Hollywood proportions. This flick rips off Signs, Da Vinci Code, Close Encounters, War of the Worlds and waxes it to a smooth shine Extremely disappointing. Expected a film and got an over-the-top flick. Ebert was on crack with his review. He must have sent the kid to the candy store in his place. Dark City, Proya's masterpiece sets the viewer up for this collosal letdown of biblical Hollywood proportions. This flick rips off Signs, Da Vinci Code, Close Encounters, War of the Worlds and waxes it to a smooth shine with Armegedon special effects. It is the ultimate disaster flick because of spectacular and terrifying subway and airplane crashes and oh yeah the film itself is a disaster. Nicolas Cage is a great actor but he should stop doing Wil Smith garbage. This movie could have been edited down to 90 minutes and been not half bad but it got drunk on effects after it couldn't sustain the intrigue for more than 45 minutes well snap crackle pop. The camera work in this film is stunning no question and there are some of the best action scenes I have ever seen. But this is Alex Proyas so something has got to be good. This will not be added to my scifi DVD collection because it lends nothing new to the genre what so ever. Expand
  47. SamuelC
    May 10, 2009
    4
    The film itself wasn't bad, it is the ending that ruined it for me, but Nicolas Cage was good and, in my opinion, you should go watch that movie, then leave like 15 minutes before the end.
  48. AndrewS
    Aug 17, 2009
    4
    This film doesn't really figure out what it wants to be. Is it science vs religion? Or just a straight action film? The plot holes are so huge its mind blowing. Why would aliens tell a little girl that bad events are going to happen? What does a rail crash have to do with the apocalyptic end? The destruction of the earth isn't really a new concept and it is brave to go along This film doesn't really figure out what it wants to be. Is it science vs religion? Or just a straight action film? The plot holes are so huge its mind blowing. Why would aliens tell a little girl that bad events are going to happen? What does a rail crash have to do with the apocalyptic end? The destruction of the earth isn't really a new concept and it is brave to go along with it (which I guess is what some of the critics that gave positive reviews are referring to). But the hokum of the aliens taking two children to repopulate a new planet? Why only two? The space ship is massive! And what are the black stones for? This film could have been really good, but just ended up a mess. Its worth seeing for the plane crash and subsequent scene, the rest mmfftt. Expand
  49. ManusA
    Aug 18, 2009
    4
    This was one of the biggest disappointments I have ever seen. It lacked emotion throughout, the performances literally felt non-existent, and the ending DID NOT WORK.
  50. tarekm
    Mar 22, 2009
    4
    Complete waste of time watching this, terrible plot.
  51. Karth
    Apr 19, 2009
    4
    Knowing is a dull uninteresting picture that has brought out some of the worst acting I have seen in quite a while. Some lousy CGI, mixed in with some excellent special effects brings in a mixed opinion on how the film looked. However, the "plot twist" at the end of the film is about as surprising as someone shouting, "The sky is blue!" gives the movie a very anticlimactic feel, along Knowing is a dull uninteresting picture that has brought out some of the worst acting I have seen in quite a while. Some lousy CGI, mixed in with some excellent special effects brings in a mixed opinion on how the film looked. However, the "plot twist" at the end of the film is about as surprising as someone shouting, "The sky is blue!" gives the movie a very anticlimactic feel, along with outright ridiculous twists that will make you want your money back. The worst part about this movie sucking, is that the story is half-way acceptable, but the picture itself does it no justice. Do yourself a favor and avoid this dunce of a movie. Expand
  52. MatthewG.
    Jun 23, 2009
    4
    Occasionally clever yet still thoroughly predictable. While the film is entertaining, it leaves you feeling depressed and wondering why you sat through it.
  53. Patrick
    Jul 13, 2009
    4
    I don't know if A. Proyas thought he could do another alien-related movie as good as Dark City... but he missed it. N. Cage is a great actor but the botox face starts to affect facial expression. I really loved that movie until the last half. I felt the same disappointment that the latest Indiana Jones. It really felt like the writters had no more imagination to finish the movie and I don't know if A. Proyas thought he could do another alien-related movie as good as Dark City... but he missed it. N. Cage is a great actor but the botox face starts to affect facial expression. I really loved that movie until the last half. I felt the same disappointment that the latest Indiana Jones. It really felt like the writters had no more imagination to finish the movie and felt into "clichés" instead of coming up with something new! Expand
  54. SteveW
    Aug 10, 2009
    4
    Mildly entertaining but overall disappointment. Not even worth renting on DVD.
  55. lordolunchl
    Jul 21, 2009
    4
    The movie had some genuinely good moments in it. The disaster scenes looked great, and the final disaster looked almost amazing. It had some really interesting things in it, its just that the dialogue in the movie was AWFUL. I can stand poorly written movies, and this one was super crappy. If it had been better written, it could have been an amazing movie.
  56. DerekL.
    Sep 18, 2009
    4
    If you really hate the Earth, this is a film for you. Set to an odd soundtrack and loosely bound to a very cheezy plot, this film had a good ambition. It also grasped suspense. Instead of jumping when a zombie leaps out of a corner, you know that something will happen, but are genuinely suprised when it happens. Then there are the numerous flaws. Here's the short list: A bad If you really hate the Earth, this is a film for you. Set to an odd soundtrack and loosely bound to a very cheezy plot, this film had a good ambition. It also grasped suspense. Instead of jumping when a zombie leaps out of a corner, you know that something will happen, but are genuinely suprised when it happens. Then there are the numerous flaws. Here's the short list: A bad soundtrack, bad actors, a loose plot, and numerous other flaws abound. Also, in the ending (spoiler) all the movie shows is the Earth getting vaporized and then two kids dropping bunnies and running to a tree. What gives? Let me have my 121 miniutes back, Alex Proyas! Expand
  57. Oct 31, 2011
    2
    OMG, that was such a bad movie! Even though my expectations were not very high (just watching an entertaining movie), I was so disappointed and bored! Nicolas Cage is annoying, not to say unbearable. The storyline is a mix of cliché ideas and could be summarized in three lines! The characters have no depth, the story is always floating on a surface... the many questions raisedOMG, that was such a bad movie! Even though my expectations were not very high (just watching an entertaining movie), I was so disappointed and bored! Nicolas Cage is annoying, not to say unbearable. The storyline is a mix of cliché ideas and could be summarized in three lines! The characters have no depth, the story is always floating on a surface... the many questions raised throughout the movie are really not answered, not to mention all inconsistencies (it's ok to have some but here it seem the writers did not even care about making sense!). The 10 minutes finale scene is useless... you can just take this time to make some more tea and chose the next movie so you won't have the impression you have completely wasted your evening! Expand
  58. Jun 6, 2012
    0
    An atrocious mess of plot threads that go no where, a pathetic use of the bait-and-switch tactic, and cringe worthy performances from all of the main leads - especially Nicolas Cage. Why do people keep casting him in serious roles? Give him more roles like Kick Ass, he's actually good at those! There is absolutely no consistency in the film's stupid attempt at a mystery-thriller story. ToAn atrocious mess of plot threads that go no where, a pathetic use of the bait-and-switch tactic, and cringe worthy performances from all of the main leads - especially Nicolas Cage. Why do people keep casting him in serious roles? Give him more roles like Kick Ass, he's actually good at those! There is absolutely no consistency in the film's stupid attempt at a mystery-thriller story. To slightly paraphrase A.O. Scott, - you will long for the end of the world watching this movie. Expand
  59. Feb 24, 2013
    2
    One of the worst films of 2009, which is weird because Alex Proyas generally is a solid director. The premise behind the film is actually quite interesting, but the ending...the ending is so random; the film builds up to this last moment only to collapse into total garbage. Knowing stole 2 hours from my life. A total disappointment! Avoid.
  60. Jan 12, 2013
    4
    The movie is a slow build up to an ending that is not surprising because the whole movie is building up to the undeniable end that was boring in the first place.
  61. Feb 2, 2014
    0
    Knowing is depressing, incoherent, quirky, and bad all around. This is one of the worst movies I've seen, as well as being one of Nicolas Cage's worst performances. Not that I'm surprised.
  62. Oct 7, 2013
    0
    Nicolas Cage proves to be a complete idiot once again; this time in Knowing. Despite it's extremely intriguing concept, it is shattered by other elements. "Whisper people"... enough said. The implied Adam and Eve. Question: why the hell would you make a hearing-impaired kid be Adam? Yeah, lets just pass on the genetic dysfunction of his hearing impairment onto future offspring. TotallyNicolas Cage proves to be a complete idiot once again; this time in Knowing. Despite it's extremely intriguing concept, it is shattered by other elements. "Whisper people"... enough said. The implied Adam and Eve. Question: why the hell would you make a hearing-impaired kid be Adam? Yeah, lets just pass on the genetic dysfunction of his hearing impairment onto future offspring. Totally ideal... NOT!! The movie fails utterly; especially at that precise moment where we are provide EE backwards: "Everyone Else"...

    What the hell was the point of watching this movie when nothing gets solved? We're left with the sun blowing up and a crispy-fried Cage. Disgusting... and why is it not surprising that he once again dies in his movie? It was once again an unwarranted death; a pointless one; as pointless as this movie.
    Expand
  63. Nov 16, 2013
    3
    Knowing proves that ignorance is bliss.
    The movie begins with an extremely interesting concept, and it continues to succeed with suspense. The acting was bad, but the movie seems to have a good plot going. Then comes an absolutely terrible ending with atrocious writing as if somebodies five year old decided to finish the movie.
  64. Dec 14, 2013
    4
    The basic idea of these students which put their drawings of the future in a time capsule, the way Cage understands what the numbers mean, the first disasters.. This is really good. But I would call the whole part of the aliens/angels "inappropriate". Too much confusion. I needed Internet to understand all, and a film who doesn't explain to the viewer all that he needs is not a good film.The basic idea of these students which put their drawings of the future in a time capsule, the way Cage understands what the numbers mean, the first disasters.. This is really good. But I would call the whole part of the aliens/angels "inappropriate". Too much confusion. I needed Internet to understand all, and a film who doesn't explain to the viewer all that he needs is not a good film. Don't miss about 120 minutes of your lives. Expand
  65. Oct 17, 2014
    3
    No, no, no. Why are there movies like this. Have you ever seen good movie with Cage? I havenť yet. This movie has great beginning, but after few minutes is just piece of s****. I can't believe that I saw ending... Great atmosphere, stupid acting, stupid script.. waste of your time
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 27
  2. Negative: 11 out of 27
  1. 50
    Science fiction fans will feel gypped, disaster movie fans will appreciate about 10 minutes of screen time and be bored by the rest, and no one else will care.
  2. 100
    Knowing is among the best science-fiction films I've seen -- frightening, suspenseful, intelligent and, when it needs to be, rather awesome.
  3. Reviewed by: Jim Ridley
    30
    What would a Christian Apocalypse movie look like with a big budget, a talented director, and star power of higher wattage than a discount Baldwin brother? Here comes the answer: like a glum hybrid of the "Final Destination" movies, an Irwin Allen disaster bash, and the kitschiest parts of Darren Aronofsky's "The Fountain."