User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 321 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 82 out of 321

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 16, 2010
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. okay, the film was nicely made and the story worked for itself and it was quite simple but catching and tense. but there is one big problem. why on earth would the aliens play with people by giving them cryptic messages, being mysterious weirdos and throwing black stones around for fifty years, if they can simply come, take the kids and go away?! ah, i know, then there wouldn't be any movie... Expand
  2. Aug 27, 2010
    3
    The plot errors and bad writing seem to be the least of this movie's worries, and considering the movie's flaws, that's saying a lot.... Nicolas Cage has never looked so ridiculous (ok, that's a lie, but I need to fill the 150 character count)
  3. Dec 12, 2011
    0
    The first half is enjoyable enough, except for Cage's acting, which is a shame since he's in every shot of the movie. However, as events unfold they become more and more ridiculous until the jaw-droppingly idiotic last ten minutes, which abandons any pretense of intellectualism and, rather than produce some explanatory rabbit out of its hat, plumps for hokey pseudo-religious imagery and an orgiastic bout of SFX. In the film's final moments, disbelief isn't just suspended, it's hung, drawn and quartered on the alter of stupid CGI. Expand
  4. Jan 9, 2011
    0
    What exactly was the purpose of this film? I could have found better uses for the millions spent on this horrible movie. I really can't believe any one gave this a high rating.

    This movie is completely hosed from the start and spends the entire time mixing myths and folklore with religious undertones, special effects and wishful thinking. The story has no believability and I find it
    very difficult to suspend my disbelief system in order to enjoy this movie.

    Don't get me wrong, I like Nicolas Cage, but Jesus dude, couldn't you pick a better script than this? Oh, yeah, tax issues, gotta pay the man.

    When I first saw this movie I thought it was from the same people who made The Happening, but I see that it was from another moron who knows every thing about the technical side of movies but nothing about good scripts and directing.

    I don't think a 1,000 writers with a 1,000 re-writes could have made this a good enough movie to waste money on and it is a good thing I got to see it for free.
    Expand
  5. Mar 16, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was pretty good at the beginning, I thought the storyline was really cool. But then it involved Aliens. The ending was horrible like what is Nicholas Cage supposed to tell the authorities....."Oh, I just let my son and my friends daughter go on an Alien spacecraft" Overall a pretty stupid movie. Expand
  6. Jan 13, 2011
    1
    Over time it seems Nicholas Cage's acting has got worse and worse. His movies quickly following. A plot filled with so many horrendous plot holes I couldn't even start, bad SFX, terrible acting, failure to suspend disbelief, an ending that has gone a million miles off track from where it began. Seriously it starts as a grade B horror film, then turns into some kind of overdone soap opera episode, and then finally into a certain very famous Spielberg movie (you'll know when you see it). Some of the dialogue is almost the same by the end. The audience was laughing all the way out of the theater at how moronic the whole thing was. so for those theater leaving laughs I will bump this movie up to a 1/10 Expand
  7. Oct 31, 2011
    2
    OMG, that was such a bad movie! Even though my expectations were not very high (just watching an entertaining movie), I was so disappointed and bored! Nicolas Cage is annoying, not to say unbearable. The storyline is a mix of cliché ideas and could be summarized in three lines! The characters have no depth, the story is always floating on a surface... the many questions raised throughout the movie are really not answered, not to mention all inconsistencies (it's ok to have some but here it seem the writers did not even care about making sense!). The 10 minutes finale scene is useless... you can just take this time to make some more tea and chose the next movie so you won't have the impression you have completely wasted your evening! Expand
  8. Jun 6, 2012
    0
    An atrocious mess of plot threads that go no where, a pathetic use of the bait-and-switch tactic, and cringe worthy performances from all of the main leads - especially Nicolas Cage. Why do people keep casting him in serious roles? Give him more roles like Kick Ass, he's actually good at those! There is absolutely no consistency in the film's stupid attempt at a mystery-thriller story. To slightly paraphrase A.O. Scott, - you will long for the end of the world watching this movie. Expand
  9. Feb 18, 2012
    0
    Why such a graphic, horiffic air plane crash? And at Logan Int'l Airport, 100 miles from where I live, no less. I've flown more than a few times-I know flying is safe-but I'm flying in less than 4 months..I can't get the scene, the jet chrashing, multiple explosions, burning, screaming people, out of my head. Millions of people fly..Why include such a graphic scene to such a large demographic? Poor taste.To those of you who fly, please avoid this movie. Rated XXX for graphic, horiffic violence. Expand
  10. Aug 25, 2012
    4
    I can't actually put my finger on the reason why this film wasn't that good but it wasn't. The plot as a whole is fairly intelligent but I think it must be the acting and could even be something as minor as the soundtrack. Anyway sorry for the lack of information in this review, I am genuinely confused by this film.
  11. Feb 24, 2013
    2
    One of the worst films of 2009, which is weird because Alex Proyas generally is a solid director. The premise behind the film is actually quite interesting, but the ending...the ending is so random; the film builds up to this last moment only to collapse into total garbage. Knowing stole 2 hours from my life. A total disappointment! Avoid.
  12. Jan 12, 2013
    4
    The movie is a slow build up to an ending that is not surprising because the whole movie is building up to the undeniable end that was boring in the first place.
  13. Feb 2, 2014
    0
    Knowing is depressing, incoherent, quirky, and bad all around. This is one of the worst movies I've seen, as well as being one of Nicolas Cage's worst performances. Not that I'm surprised.
  14. Oct 7, 2013
    0
    Nicolas Cage proves to be a complete idiot once again; this time in Knowing. Despite it's extremely intriguing concept, it is shattered by other elements. "Whisper people"... enough said. The implied Adam and Eve. Question: why the hell would you make a hearing-impaired kid be Adam? Yeah, lets just pass on the genetic dysfunction of his hearing impairment onto future offspring. Totally ideal... NOT!! The movie fails utterly; especially at that precise moment where we are provide EE backwards: "Everyone Else"...

    What the hell was the point of watching this movie when nothing gets solved? We're left with the sun blowing up and a crispy-fried Cage. Disgusting... and why is it not surprising that he once again dies in his movie? It was once again an unwarranted death; a pointless one; as pointless as this movie.
    Expand
  15. Nov 16, 2013
    3
    Knowing proves that ignorance is bliss.
    The movie begins with an extremely interesting concept, and it continues to succeed with suspense. The acting was bad, but the movie seems to have a good plot going. Then comes an absolutely terrible ending with atrocious writing as if somebodies five year old decided to finish the movie.
  16. Dec 14, 2013
    4
    The basic idea of these students which put their drawings of the future in a time capsule, the way Cage understands what the numbers mean, the first disasters.. This is really good. But I would call the whole part of the aliens/angels "inappropriate". Too much confusion. I needed Internet to understand all, and a film who doesn't explain to the viewer all that he needs is not a good film. Don't miss about 120 minutes of your lives. Expand
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 27
  2. Negative: 11 out of 27
  1. 50
    Science fiction fans will feel gypped, disaster movie fans will appreciate about 10 minutes of screen time and be bored by the rest, and no one else will care.
  2. 100
    Knowing is among the best science-fiction films I've seen -- frightening, suspenseful, intelligent and, when it needs to be, rather awesome.
  3. Reviewed by: Jim Ridley
    30
    What would a Christian Apocalypse movie look like with a big budget, a talented director, and star power of higher wattage than a discount Baldwin brother? Here comes the answer: like a glum hybrid of the "Final Destination" movies, an Irwin Allen disaster bash, and the kitschiest parts of Darren Aronofsky's "The Fountain."