Summit Entertainment | Release Date: March 20, 2009
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 352 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
187
Mixed:
79
Negative:
86
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
5
OverrwatcherOct 13, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's an excellent movie with decent acting, editing, and camera, with a good suspense buildup. What went wrong? The ending. It just threw EVERYTHING good about it into the rubbish bin. It came out of nowhere, made no sense, was over-dramatized, and turned the entire thing into a religious film. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
DaveFApr 2, 2009
I don't understand the high ratings some users have given this film. While this movie does have a great premise and I will agree that the FX are astounding, the ending is a complete let down and cop-out. This is a typical Hollywood I don't understand the high ratings some users have given this film. While this movie does have a great premise and I will agree that the FX are astounding, the ending is a complete let down and cop-out. This is a typical Hollywood effort, tons of potential and you leave feeling flat and cheated. If you thought the end of the last Indiana Jones movie was great, go see it, otherwise be prepared for a disappointment. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JamesAJul 14, 2009
Bad acting all around, redundant plot elements, and a foreseeable twist that undoes the entire premise of the movie, without so much as a legit explanation, make this a movie that you can afford to skip.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
dev92Aug 25, 2012
I can't actually put my finger on the reason why this film wasn't that good but it wasn't. The plot as a whole is fairly intelligent but I think it must be the acting and could even be something as minor as the soundtrack. Anyway sorry forI can't actually put my finger on the reason why this film wasn't that good but it wasn't. The plot as a whole is fairly intelligent but I think it must be the acting and could even be something as minor as the soundtrack. Anyway sorry for the lack of information in this review, I am genuinely confused by this film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
MerlaLJun 20, 2009
alright...i am sick and tierd of dumba$$ fu*cking movies where the reason for all the events are caused by fuc*king aliens,whether is the problem,solution ect..Next time come up with atleast a good ending or don't even bother...p.s NOalright...i am sick and tierd of dumba$$ fu*cking movies where the reason for all the events are caused by fuc*king aliens,whether is the problem,solution ect..Next time come up with atleast a good ending or don't even bother...p.s NO MORE CHARACTERS WITH DEMENTIA...peace!..P.S.S...FINAL CONCLUSION THESE MOVIES SUCK BALLS...610 just because the only thing that sucked was the ending...peace Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
wetwebworkJul 7, 2009
Knowing isn't as dire as people make out, but... it's too long. Three quarters in and we were ready to start fast forwarding. It really could have done with editing down, because the story isn't bad, and the plane crash and Knowing isn't as dire as people make out, but... it's too long. Three quarters in and we were ready to start fast forwarding. It really could have done with editing down, because the story isn't bad, and the plane crash and subway scene are stunning. Of course the transcendent Christian ending is appalling, but wouldn't have mattered so much if the film had been tighter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MikeLAug 20, 2009
This movie tries to create an M. Night Shyamalan type of "twist"; however, it twists itself too far and becomes confusing and disconnected. The movie never knows whether it is a disaster flick, a horror film, a sci-fi thriller, or a mystery. This movie tries to create an M. Night Shyamalan type of "twist"; however, it twists itself too far and becomes confusing and disconnected. The movie never knows whether it is a disaster flick, a horror film, a sci-fi thriller, or a mystery. Unfortunately, it isn't any of them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TFOMar 23, 2009
I liked the CGIs, from beginning to end. Apocalyptic Revelations-inspired ending seemed a bit rushed, especially the Deux Ex Machina discovery of the solar mega-flare. Given the dire consequences, the characters seemed surprisingly accepting I liked the CGIs, from beginning to end. Apocalyptic Revelations-inspired ending seemed a bit rushed, especially the Deux Ex Machina discovery of the solar mega-flare. Given the dire consequences, the characters seemed surprisingly accepting of their fate? This film was worth the mantinee price. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
VictorTApr 13, 2009
Giving a 4 on the FX part of it, but towards the end of the show was a huge disappointment...why don't they name the children after Adam n Eve??
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarkDApr 4, 2009
Extremely disappointing. Expected a film and got an over-the-top flick. Ebert was on crack with his review. He must have sent the kid to the candy store in his place. Dark City, Proya's masterpiece sets the viewer up for this collosal Extremely disappointing. Expected a film and got an over-the-top flick. Ebert was on crack with his review. He must have sent the kid to the candy store in his place. Dark City, Proya's masterpiece sets the viewer up for this collosal letdown of biblical Hollywood proportions. This flick rips off Signs, Da Vinci Code, Close Encounters, War of the Worlds and waxes it to a smooth shine with Armegedon special effects. It is the ultimate disaster flick because of spectacular and terrifying subway and airplane crashes and oh yeah the film itself is a disaster. Nicolas Cage is a great actor but he should stop doing Wil Smith garbage. This movie could have been edited down to 90 minutes and been not half bad but it got drunk on effects after it couldn't sustain the intrigue for more than 45 minutes well snap crackle pop. The camera work in this film is stunning no question and there are some of the best action scenes I have ever seen. But this is Alex Proyas so something has got to be good. This will not be added to my scifi DVD collection because it lends nothing new to the genre what so ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SamuelCMay 10, 2009
The film itself wasn't bad, it is the ending that ruined it for me, but Nicolas Cage was good and, in my opinion, you should go watch that movie, then leave like 15 minutes before the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
Johnny2centsJul 12, 2009
I'm on the fence on this one. Only because I love Alex Proyas. Two of his past movies have been landmarks in thier genres but I 'm not sure of 2 things here. One, why why why use Nick Cage? His hair and teeth are a constant I'm on the fence on this one. Only because I love Alex Proyas. Two of his past movies have been landmarks in thier genres but I 'm not sure of 2 things here. One, why why why use Nick Cage? His hair and teeth are a constant distraction. Two, shouldn't M. Night Shyamalan sue for infringement? Like many movies they start of with great hope and then fizzle into the hamster wheel trying to catch up with its self. Grant it the special effects, plane crash in particulair, were pretty cool but Lord the ending was a mish mash of everything you can possibly think of. Speaking of thinking, me is thinking that Alex wasn't thinking but at least it was still better than anything M. Night has done since The Sixth Sense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TonyB.Jul 19, 2009
This was a pleasant surprise and deserved better treatment from the critics and better support from the public. It would have been even more successful if the lead role had not been given to Nicolas Cage, probably the poorest major actor in This was a pleasant surprise and deserved better treatment from the critics and better support from the public. It would have been even more successful if the lead role had not been given to Nicolas Cage, probably the poorest major actor in America today. Rose Byrne, however, was fine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AndrewSAug 17, 2009
This film doesn't really figure out what it wants to be. Is it science vs religion? Or just a straight action film? The plot holes are so huge its mind blowing. Why would aliens tell a little girl that bad events are going to happen? This film doesn't really figure out what it wants to be. Is it science vs religion? Or just a straight action film? The plot holes are so huge its mind blowing. Why would aliens tell a little girl that bad events are going to happen? What does a rail crash have to do with the apocalyptic end? The destruction of the earth isn't really a new concept and it is brave to go along with it (which I guess is what some of the critics that gave positive reviews are referring to). But the hokum of the aliens taking two children to repopulate a new planet? Why only two? The space ship is massive! And what are the black stones for? This film could have been really good, but just ended up a mess. Its worth seeing for the plane crash and subsequent scene, the rest mmfftt. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ManusAAug 18, 2009
This was one of the biggest disappointments I have ever seen. It lacked emotion throughout, the performances literally felt non-existent, and the ending DID NOT WORK.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AminE.Oct 9, 2009
Doomsday coming...! thats the point, no godzilla, no dracula, no zombie. no any ludicrous stranger things. but its like kidding.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BillySMar 20, 2009
I don't think I saw the same "Knowing" that Ebert saw. The Knowing I saw a ridiculous, end of the world piece of crap with an ending right out of the Scientology handbook!! Come on Roger, do you have a piece of the profits or what?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
tarekmMar 22, 2009
Complete waste of time watching this, terrible plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CameronMMar 22, 2009
This movie had the potential to be great but decided to add aleins made of Dr.Scholls gel...thus for completly ruining such a good movie they needed to pick one theme and stick to it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MattB.Mar 23, 2009
There is one type of movie I hate more then the stupid drama horrors Hollywood is giving us. It is these types of psuedoreligious fics. Nick Cage is such a great actor, why does he star in these shitty films? The movie was good up until a There is one type of movie I hate more then the stupid drama horrors Hollywood is giving us. It is these types of psuedoreligious fics. Nick Cage is such a great actor, why does he star in these shitty films? The movie was good up until a point, when Nick Cage trys to go out and stop these disasters, the plane crash scene being the most dramatic movie scene I've ever seen. Then it just spirals down from there into the doom of all humanity. Why that crap? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ArtGApr 18, 2009
It was worth the price of admisson (albeit at the first showing discounted price of five bucks). I was intrigued by the premis and was along for the ride right up to the last five minutes of the movie where the truth is revield. What a It was worth the price of admisson (albeit at the first showing discounted price of five bucks). I was intrigued by the premis and was along for the ride right up to the last five minutes of the movie where the truth is revield. What a disappointment that was. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KarthApr 19, 2009
Knowing is a dull uninteresting picture that has brought out some of the worst acting I have seen in quite a while. Some lousy CGI, mixed in with some excellent special effects brings in a mixed opinion on how the film looked. However, the Knowing is a dull uninteresting picture that has brought out some of the worst acting I have seen in quite a while. Some lousy CGI, mixed in with some excellent special effects brings in a mixed opinion on how the film looked. However, the "plot twist" at the end of the film is about as surprising as someone shouting, "The sky is blue!" gives the movie a very anticlimactic feel, along with outright ridiculous twists that will make you want your money back. The worst part about this movie sucking, is that the story is half-way acceptable, but the picture itself does it no justice. Do yourself a favor and avoid this dunce of a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GatsbyJayApr 4, 2009
CONTAINS SPOILERS: Not great, not terrible, but mediocre. It's NOT one of the worst films ever made, and Zachrid W., for someone who says he, and I quote, "_knew_the whole story...," the movie DID NOT involve aliens. Those were angels, CONTAINS SPOILERS: Not great, not terrible, but mediocre. It's NOT one of the worst films ever made, and Zachrid W., for someone who says he, and I quote, "_knew_the whole story...," the movie DID NOT involve aliens. Those were angels, not aliens. They weren't taking the kids to another planet, they took them to either Heaven, or a renewed Earth (thus the kids running towards the Biblical Tree of Knowledge). Perhaps you should pay more attention next time. And no, I'm not Christian and therefore defending my faith, but even I could tell they were angels....There's a lot of unfair reviews here, since the movie's NOT saying science is bad and there's no such subtext, and it's not patronizing. It tries to reconcile science and faith together (i.e. the scene where Cage tells his class about the Sun being the right distance from the Earth for life to begin, chance or determinism, accident or process?). My problem with the movie is that there were far too many genres for it to be focused: religious, horror, apocalypse, mystery, etc. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MatthewG.Jun 23, 2009
Occasionally clever yet still thoroughly predictable. While the film is entertaining, it leaves you feeling depressed and wondering why you sat through it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
PatrickJul 13, 2009
I don't know if A. Proyas thought he could do another alien-related movie as good as Dark City... but he missed it. N. Cage is a great actor but the botox face starts to affect facial expression. I really loved that movie until the last I don't know if A. Proyas thought he could do another alien-related movie as good as Dark City... but he missed it. N. Cage is a great actor but the botox face starts to affect facial expression. I really loved that movie until the last half. I felt the same disappointment that the latest Indiana Jones. It really felt like the writters had no more imagination to finish the movie and felt into "clichés" instead of coming up with something new! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JayHJul 2, 2009
It does have too many coincidences, it is very far fetched and often it is predictable but it sure did keep my interest. Good special effects, the acting is decent. Great pacing throughout.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SteveWAug 10, 2009
Mildly entertaining but overall disappointment. Not even worth renting on DVD.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JonB.Mar 29, 2009
The movie started off great. It seemed like the writers ran out of ideas near the end, though. I felt like the movie took a 180 degree turn for the worse with about 45 minutes left.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TDKinDallasMar 29, 2009
Even though it was overall pretty stupid, I recommend it highly to see on the big screen. The special effects scenes are pretty incredible and very emotional. As for the rest, it is pretty bad, even the score is laughable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JohnBJul 12, 2009
I didn't hate it. Nick Cage's acting was downright hilarious at times and the special effects were decent. If you've seen "The Day The Earth Stood Still" this movie looks like Citizen Kane compared to that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
lordolunchlJul 21, 2009
The movie had some genuinely good moments in it. The disaster scenes looked great, and the final disaster looked almost amazing. It had some really interesting things in it, its just that the dialogue in the movie was AWFUL. I can stand The movie had some genuinely good moments in it. The disaster scenes looked great, and the final disaster looked almost amazing. It had some really interesting things in it, its just that the dialogue in the movie was AWFUL. I can stand poorly written movies, and this one was super crappy. If it had been better written, it could have been an amazing movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DerekL.Sep 18, 2009
If you really hate the Earth, this is a film for you. Set to an odd soundtrack and loosely bound to a very cheezy plot, this film had a good ambition. It also grasped suspense. Instead of jumping when a zombie leaps out of a corner, you know If you really hate the Earth, this is a film for you. Set to an odd soundtrack and loosely bound to a very cheezy plot, this film had a good ambition. It also grasped suspense. Instead of jumping when a zombie leaps out of a corner, you know that something will happen, but are genuinely suprised when it happens. Then there are the numerous flaws. Here's the short list: A bad soundtrack, bad actors, a loose plot, and numerous other flaws abound. Also, in the ending (spoiler) all the movie shows is the Earth getting vaporized and then two kids dropping bunnies and running to a tree. What gives? Let me have my 121 miniutes back, Alex Proyas! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
asthobaskoroApr 3, 2011
I think it not SO BAD. Cheesy and absurd plot I admitted but this flick still make us believe earth will destroy someday. Nicholas Cage not wrong picks, well if you jump to 2011, you will see how bad Season of The Witch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Khunter4382Nov 2, 2011
This is a good film, but it wonders too and fro throughout a hectic plot far too much. It starts out solid, gets lost in the muddle in between, and then comes back strong for the finish. It's in that middle ground that this film fails toThis is a good film, but it wonders too and fro throughout a hectic plot far too much. It starts out solid, gets lost in the muddle in between, and then comes back strong for the finish. It's in that middle ground that this film fails to captivate and keep the viewer satisfied. As always, Cage is believable and entertaining, but even his spazzoid performance could not keep the core of this film from sagging. The aliens are nothing new, but their presence throughout the film is intriguing and spooky. All in all, a stronger center would have sky-rocketed this film to a much higher critique. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
aaronpaul121May 23, 2012
First of all, the plot was not that good. I do love the concept of the movie. But I was disappointed with Nicholas Cage's performance. I gave a 6 because the special effects from the accidents was amazing and its supporting cast did a niceFirst of all, the plot was not that good. I do love the concept of the movie. But I was disappointed with Nicholas Cage's performance. I gave a 6 because the special effects from the accidents was amazing and its supporting cast did a nice job. But because of the lead actor's poor performance and the lack of excitement and surprise in the plot, the special effects and the supporting cast was overshadowed............ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
oxanaAug 25, 2014
The premise and the beginning of this movie were good. I really wanted to like it, and I did all but for the last half an hour or so... I have to say I was almost mad at how poorly they ended the movie. I can deal with the whole concept, butThe premise and the beginning of this movie were good. I really wanted to like it, and I did all but for the last half an hour or so... I have to say I was almost mad at how poorly they ended the movie. I can deal with the whole concept, but the execution was so lame that I didn't know if it was supposed to be like a sad joke or not.

The acting was... decent. The characters and the setting were clearly introduced from the beginning, but it all crash-landed the closer to the ending the movie got.

Everything about this movie was pretty much perfect before the whole "Whisperer" aspect was brought into it. Sure, the creepy people were seen from time to time, but the truth was so much lamer than what my imagination was cooking up. (My fiend spoiled me before I saw the movie, so I knew what they most likely were... which spared me from further outrage over the **** ending, truth to be told.)

I keep wishing they would have come to another solution - or labelled this movie differently from the beginning. Now it seemed more like the writers wrote a beginning and then had to hurry while deciding how to end such a great concept.

Falling plane and crashing subways... for a PG-13 rated movie "Knowing" had a lot of violence: people dying, burning to death, screaming and being crushed beneath masses of metal sliding over them. The details weren't overly gruesome, but the scenes of destruction were well made in my opinion. Touching and poetic in a way, yet filled with truthful and realistic havoc.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SummersausageJan 12, 2013
The movie is a slow build up to an ending that is not surprising because the whole movie is building up to the undeniable end that was boring in the first place.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JimbeiDec 14, 2013
The basic idea of these students which put their drawings of the future in a time capsule, the way Cage understands what the numbers mean, the first disasters.. This is really good. But I would call the whole part of the aliens/angelsThe basic idea of these students which put their drawings of the future in a time capsule, the way Cage understands what the numbers mean, the first disasters.. This is really good. But I would call the whole part of the aliens/angels "inappropriate". Too much confusion. I needed Internet to understand all, and a film who doesn't explain to the viewer all that he needs is not a good film. Don't miss about 120 minutes of your lives. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
CineAutoctonoAug 1, 2015
Regulate that well, but the special effects are impressive and catch us with the suspense and fear of natural disasters , but the downside of this is that the numbers believe or know everything LOL ! there if half cracked .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MovieMasterEddyApr 3, 2016
Nobody requires plausibility from a movie like “Knowing,” which features slender blond aliens, intimations of apocalypse, clairvoyant children and Nicolas Cage as an astrophysicist. If the thing manages to avoid complete preposterousness, theNobody requires plausibility from a movie like “Knowing,” which features slender blond aliens, intimations of apocalypse, clairvoyant children and Nicolas Cage as an astrophysicist. If the thing manages to avoid complete preposterousness, the audience can still have a good time.

Or maybe even if it doesn’t: the folks at a recent sneak preview of “Knowing,” directed by Alex Proyas (“Dark City,” “I, Robot”), seemed to be enjoying themselves, though it may have been at the movie’s expense. (Just as well, since they were seeing it free.) If your intention is to make a brooding, hauntingly allegorical terror-thriller, it’s probably not a good sign when spectacles of mass death and intimations of planetary destruction are met with hoots and giggles.

It’s safe to say that the crowd was laughing at Mr. Cage, rather than with him, since Mr. Cage rarely expresses mirth on screen. Instead, he favors a demented, compulsive intensity, which can sometimes be kind of fun, for example in the “National Treasure” movies. In “Knowing,” though, he seems to be exploring the rich vein of crazy he tapped in Neil LaBute’s train-wreck remake of “The Wicker Man.” Mr. Cage screams and yells and flails, smacks a tree with a baseball bat, waves a gun at a slender blond alien and barks “this is not a crank call” into a pay phone after calling in a breathless warning of a terrorist attack.

And why not? What would you do if you were an M.I.T. astrophysicist who discovered that the numbers written down 50 years earlier by a spooky schoolgirl and sealed in a time capsule were prophecies of subsequent catastrophes? You might also hit a tree with a Louisville Slugger and start ranting like a madman. But the odd thing about Mr. Cage in this movie is that even when he is responding to the threat of complete human extinction, you still can’t help feeling that he’s overreacting.

His character, John Koestler, is, like most movie dads these days, a widower, stricken with grief and trying to raise a cute, precocious young son (Chandler Canterbury). Once John starts running the numbers from the spooky girl’s spreadsheet, the tone of the movie switches from foreboding creepiness to apocalyptic hysteria, summed up less in the occasional explosion or transportation-related fireball than in Rose Byrne’s incessant shrieking. She plays Diana, daughter of the spooky schoolgirl (and mother of another one; both are played by Lara Robinson), and evolves from mysterious stranger to potential love interest to raving hysteric in record time.

Though not quickly enough. The draggy, lurching two hours of “Knowing” will make you long for the end of the world, even as you worry that there will not be time for all your questions to be answered. Who are those slender blond folk, called “the Whisper People” by John’s son and Diana’s daughter? Are they goth vampires who showed up early to audition for the “Twilight” sequel? Former members of Kraftwerk? Did they steal all those smooth black pebbles from a day spa after a hot stone massage? Is that why they seem so relaxed?

Actually, you will figure out who they are long before the astrophysicist does and stop caring long before that.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews