User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 330 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 83 out of 330
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JordanR.
    Mar 22, 2009
    1
    just...wow. Intelligence profoundly insulted, I'm even a Nick Cage fan.
  2. MikeS
    Mar 29, 2009
    1
    Trite. Tomato-surprise ending. Fails to suspend disbelief. Plot holes you could drive an asteroid through. Characters you don't care about. And on and on.
  3. ZachridW.
    Apr 3, 2009
    1
    This is one of the most boring and most predictable movies I've ever seen. In fact "Knowing" is the perfect title for it, because I _knew_ the whole story 10 seconds after the boy opened the envelope. So this whole thing was a waste of time. [THIS CONTAINS SPOLIERS!] It's a far below-average "The world ends next Thursday"-flick. And perhaps the plot-twist, that judgement day is This is one of the most boring and most predictable movies I've ever seen. In fact "Knowing" is the perfect title for it, because I _knew_ the whole story 10 seconds after the boy opened the envelope. So this whole thing was a waste of time. [THIS CONTAINS SPOLIERS!] It's a far below-average "The world ends next Thursday"-flick. And perhaps the plot-twist, that judgement day is upon Nicolas Cage, would have been surprising to someone, if they haven't already given it away in the movie-posters. You know that the world will end, that there is nothing Mr.Cage can do about it, you know that these guys are aliens and you know that they will take the kids with them and blahblahblah... the whole story seems to be assembled out of a "screenplay-construction-kit" or they just pulled cards with tags like "aliens", "end of the world" and "foresight" on it, and filled the gaps with special-effects. ...oh ok, well the special effects are good. So the movie feels like something M. Night Shyamalan and Roland Emmerich threw up on a tequila driven night. Expand
  4. ChristofR
    Apr 7, 2009
    2
    Nice action sequences - That's all. Ridiculous plot. Ridiculous acting. So many cinematic mistakes. Don't watch it - It isn't worth any money to spent!
  5. TimH
    Jul 10, 2009
    0
    This movie scared me straight! I now believe in Jesus and couldn't be happier!
  6. CharlesD
    Jul 9, 2009
    2
    This is just another in a long line of poor Nicholas Cage films, he has apparently had so much botox as to render his facial muscles inoperable and he cannot now make any expression beyond constant mild suprise. Further to this the plot of this film is dire, the first 30 minutes are quite good, which is why this film gets 2 stars instead of 0, but after that the plot decends into madness This is just another in a long line of poor Nicholas Cage films, he has apparently had so much botox as to render his facial muscles inoperable and he cannot now make any expression beyond constant mild suprise. Further to this the plot of this film is dire, the first 30 minutes are quite good, which is why this film gets 2 stars instead of 0, but after that the plot decends into madness and the director manages to get out of his own labyrinthine plot by using aliens/angels and explaining nothing very well at all. do not waste your money on this film. Expand
  7. ScottV.
    Aug 1, 2009
    3
    Stupid is the best word to describe this movie. After viewing the ending, everything that happened prior to it is totally irrelevant and played NO part in the entire movie! Yes that's right the entire plot of this movie is 100% pointless once you see the ending, so why did I waste all of my time trying to understand the meaning of everything happening up to the ending, because I was Stupid is the best word to describe this movie. After viewing the ending, everything that happened prior to it is totally irrelevant and played NO part in the entire movie! Yes that's right the entire plot of this movie is 100% pointless once you see the ending, so why did I waste all of my time trying to understand the meaning of everything happening up to the ending, because I was stupid to rent it! I won't spoil the ending for you just in case you feel like wasting almost 2 hours of your life but the only highlight of the movie was a cgi plane crash somewhere in the middle of the movie (again, this was totally pointless to the ending). Even the critics were kind in their reviews! Expand
  8. joeh
    Jan 18, 2010
    0
    It felt like this movie was written by a group of brooding college students with too much time on their hands. While on one hand you have plot points so meticulously constructed that you forget there is an actual story unfoldidng, on the other you have gaping holes so big you'd think they were made by a Boeing 747. Not only is it stupid, but pretentious at the same time, talk about a It felt like this movie was written by a group of brooding college students with too much time on their hands. While on one hand you have plot points so meticulously constructed that you forget there is an actual story unfoldidng, on the other you have gaping holes so big you'd think they were made by a Boeing 747. Not only is it stupid, but pretentious at the same time, talk about a real winning combination. Collapse
  9. JenniferM
    Oct 17, 2009
    0
    This was one of the worst movies I've ever seen. It didn't flow well and half way in, when you didn't think it could get any worse, It DID! I love Nicolas Cage but I couldn't in this. His acting along with everyone elses was horrible. the story was even strange & choppy, special effects looked so fake, and it feels like they were trying too hard.. I watched with with This was one of the worst movies I've ever seen. It didn't flow well and half way in, when you didn't think it could get any worse, It DID! I love Nicolas Cage but I couldn't in this. His acting along with everyone elses was horrible. the story was even strange & choppy, special effects looked so fake, and it feels like they were trying too hard.. I watched with with an 11year old who even said how horrible this movie was. It's too bad. Expand
  10. WilliamW.
    Aug 29, 2009
    1
    I give this a 1 for almost keeping me interested at the start, but it very quickly turns into one of the dumbest big budget films played with a straight face I've ever seen. SPOILER ALERT - if higher beings know the future, can travel through space, etc, then why choose all this weird ambiguous whispering and symbolic nonesense to get people to do as they're told. It makes less I give this a 1 for almost keeping me interested at the start, but it very quickly turns into one of the dumbest big budget films played with a straight face I've ever seen. SPOILER ALERT - if higher beings know the future, can travel through space, etc, then why choose all this weird ambiguous whispering and symbolic nonesense to get people to do as they're told. It makes less than no sense. Plot wise this is complete drivel, only some ok CGI saves about five minutes of this movie. Cage is terrible, mostly because his lines are so stupid, at times he actually explains plot points out loud as if the audience were as dim witted as the writers. Avoid. Expand
  11. kgm
    Mar 28, 2009
    3
    Cage plays a MIT professor in possession of a secret code that seems to predict disasters with unerring accuracy. The setup to this is actually fairly well done and the movie works well but then it drifts into some sort of pseudo-religious, pseudo-alien mumbo jumbo and as Revelation 3:16 so eloquently states:
  12. Peter
    Apr 1, 2009
    0
    This is quite possibly the worst film I've ever seen, patronising and confusing at the same time. Without giving away any spoilers the end just doesn't make sense and there's a nasty anti science subtext (He's a bad father because he's a scientist?). On top of this the effects and acting are seriously sub par. There is also the somewhat offensive use of real life This is quite possibly the worst film I've ever seen, patronising and confusing at the same time. Without giving away any spoilers the end just doesn't make sense and there's a nasty anti science subtext (He's a bad father because he's a scientist?). On top of this the effects and acting are seriously sub par. There is also the somewhat offensive use of real life disaster-esque footage for entertainment purposes with far too many essentially pointless shots of horrific daths. I can't even recommend this as a so-bad-its-good film. I honestly don't understand how anyone thought this was good. It's not entertaining, thought provoking or inspiring. It's just bad. I want my money, and worse, 2 hours of my life, back. Expand
  13. JimF
    Apr 4, 2009
    3
    Given the presence of Nicholas Cage, who can go under the radar and succeed, as he did in last year's way-underrated "Next", and Alex Proyas, who has shown himself to be an innovative, often visionary director of action, "Knowing" has to be considered a major disappointment. Is Hollywood so clueless about real religious experience that it thinks it proceeds from depression to Given the presence of Nicholas Cage, who can go under the radar and succeed, as he did in last year's way-underrated "Next", and Alex Proyas, who has shown himself to be an innovative, often visionary director of action, "Knowing" has to be considered a major disappointment. Is Hollywood so clueless about real religious experience that it thinks it proceeds from depression to complete skepticism to fanatical certainty based on some numbers scrawled by a young girl and placed in a time capsule 50 years earlier. It;s enough to give credibility and substance to Bill Maher's adolescent view of religion in "Religulous". However, Proyas can still direct a great action sequence. Expand
  14. muhammads
    Apr 6, 2009
    0
    I KNOW never to let my idiot friends choose what movie to watch next time!!! black stones, albinos, aliens and spaceships, and nicolas cage (bad acting -same thing- ). seriously, why is nicolas cage acting when he can't act??? This movie was only half as bad as i had expected it to be up till the part where you find out that the albinos are actually aliens, who are actually god, andI KNOW never to let my idiot friends choose what movie to watch next time!!! black stones, albinos, aliens and spaceships, and nicolas cage (bad acting -same thing- ). seriously, why is nicolas cage acting when he can't act??? This movie was only half as bad as i had expected it to be up till the part where you find out that the albinos are actually aliens, who are actually god, and who are trying to save the human race from it's apparent doom according to whispers that only two children can hear, and a series of numbers only nicolas cage can interpret... don't watch this movie even if you are tied to a chair with your eyes held open and a gun pointed to your head with the threat that if you don't watch your head will be blown off... it's that bad. and i'm not saying that just because i don't like nicolas cage. ok maybe a little. Expand
  15. Denisdodokonyero
    Apr 9, 2009
    9
    Full or flaws but a damn good movie. OMG, the effects of the accident scenes....blew my mind.
  16. caporegime
    Jun 15, 2009
    3
    This is like your inside the mind of an elementary student daydreaming.
  17. Lauren2
    Jul 10, 2009
    0
    One thing's for sure, if Armageddon every actually does happen, it couldn't possibly be as bad as this movie.
  18. NR
    Jul 27, 2009
    1
    This movie is confusing, illogical and rife with poor acting. Worst, it's slow moving and boring. This movie makes me sad for the state of Hollywood.
  19. RonaldS.
    Mar 21, 2009
    2
    "But it is Caleb's father, professor John Koestler, who makes the startling discovery that the encoded message predicts with pinpoint accuracy the dates, death tolls and coordinates of every major disaster of the past 50 years. As Ted further unravels the document's chilling secrets," In Metacritics synopsis, who the heck is Ted?
  20. DaveW
    Mar 23, 2009
    1
    Too many plots to develop one working story with disturbing high-budget disaster scenes you'd expect to see in a Final Destination flick.
  21. StevenW
    Mar 24, 2009
    2
    This is seriously one of the worst movies I have seen. The plot was stupid, the acting was terrible, and the script was also bad. It might seem good to those children in the range of 10 to 13 years old simple because of the special effects and a few eerie scenes but other than that it is terrible.
  22. NancyB.
    Mar 28, 2009
    1
    Absolutely awful. Cage is a joke with his wide eyed wonderment. Plot made no sense, they couldn't figure out if they wanted aliens or angels. Gave it a 1 instead of 0 because, for some unknown reason, I didn't walk out.
  23. TomD
    Mar 29, 2009
    1
    Terrible film. I think at one point i caught a glimpse of the release date of the movie on that list of his.
  24. JoeS.
    Apr 1, 2009
    0
    God-awful. Just horrific. How can anybody like this?
  25. RKZ
    Apr 30, 2009
    3
    So, a genius mathematician uses a white board to track the number progression when he could throw it into the computer and get a quick answer? And a 10-year-old boy doesn't know enough not to approach a car with a stranger driving? And the ending is even worse! Not much here to recommend--bad writing, bad writing, and walk-through performances. Did I say bad writing?
  26. PaulW
    Apr 3, 2009
    9
    This movie is much better than the meta score given by the "critics." I was going to blow the movie off, based on the OVERWHELMING poor reviews. But then I saw that Roger Ebert, one of the three critics whose reviews I value, rated it highly. I was pleasantly surprised. The story line was interesting, the CGI off the chain, and the ending somewhat surprising. In truth, I believe the This movie is much better than the meta score given by the "critics." I was going to blow the movie off, based on the OVERWHELMING poor reviews. But then I saw that Roger Ebert, one of the three critics whose reviews I value, rated it highly. I was pleasantly surprised. The story line was interesting, the CGI off the chain, and the ending somewhat surprising. In truth, I believe the conflict between the users overall score and the metacritic score turns on the anti-religious posturing of many media critics. I'm not making any value judgments for or against religion or spirtuality - merely commenting on most media critics response to movies with underlying spiritual themes (see the LA Weekly review). Expand
  27. EnzoP.
    Jun 22, 2009
    1
    Pathetic! The start and the middle of the movie were ok. But, the ending is so stupid you would never want to even talk about the movie. Knowing is probably the worst movie of the year.
  28. MissyMouse
    Jun 24, 2009
    3
    Good start . Epic failure ending.
  29. DanielV.
    Jul 10, 2009
    3
    Can not say that I enjoyed this movie to its fullest, or anywhere close to it. To be honest, it wasn't very good, and parts of the plot was ridiculous. However, not a terrible movie. Ill recommended for a buy, unless you really want to; So, renting it would be better.
  30. DO
    Jul 27, 2009
    1
    Pathetic...this was one of the most stupid, predicted movie I have ever seen.
  31. DennisS
    Jul 28, 2009
    0
    Seriously disappointing film. Slow and plodding, unnecessary profanity, poor graphics.. and who wants to see a herd of wildlife on fire? Then there is the whole spiritual mess that the film developed. This is, in my opinion, the worst Cage film I've seen and certainly isn't worth the time or dollars to see it.
  32. BronwynN
    Apr 18, 2009
    1
    Although interesting in the initial concept, this film ended as the worst movie I have ever seen. Poor acting on all parts, and an ending that never ends.... Although a sci-fi fan and open minded, this movie left me wishing I hadn't wasted 2 hours of my time.
  33. MalloryY.
    Apr 22, 2009
    1
    This movie was TERRIBLE! After watching it my husband and I both wished we had gone to see Monsters v Aliens in place of this. Absolute crap.
  34. DavidM
    Jul 13, 2009
    1
    Started off half-decent, but by half way through it started to drag on and I couldn't wait for it to be over.
  35. Oct 3, 2010
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Knowing's writer needs to have an IQ check. While the film was enjoyable, the logic was just horrible. if your going to make aliens come to preserve the human race, then they either shouldn't predict the future, except maybe the solar flare, or they just shouldn't be aliens. The aliens were a little bit unexpected after you see the pictures of God and the sun or the priest dad. Otherwise, great film. Expand
  36. Dec 12, 2011
    0
    The first half is enjoyable enough, except for Cage's acting, which is a shame since he's in every shot of the movie. However, as events unfold they become more and more ridiculous until the jaw-droppingly idiotic last ten minutes, which abandons any pretense of intellectualism and, rather than produce some explanatory rabbit out of its hat, plumps for hokey pseudo-religious imagery and anThe first half is enjoyable enough, except for Cage's acting, which is a shame since he's in every shot of the movie. However, as events unfold they become more and more ridiculous until the jaw-droppingly idiotic last ten minutes, which abandons any pretense of intellectualism and, rather than produce some explanatory rabbit out of its hat, plumps for hokey pseudo-religious imagery and an orgiastic bout of SFX. In the film's final moments, disbelief isn't just suspended, it's hung, drawn and quartered on the alter of stupid CGI. Expand
  37. Jan 9, 2011
    0
    What exactly was the purpose of this film? I could have found better uses for the millions spent on this horrible movie. I really can't believe any one gave this a high rating.

    This movie is completely hosed from the start and spends the entire time mixing myths and folklore with religious undertones, special effects and wishful thinking. The story has no believability and I find it
    What exactly was the purpose of this film? I could have found better uses for the millions spent on this horrible movie. I really can't believe any one gave this a high rating.

    This movie is completely hosed from the start and spends the entire time mixing myths and folklore with religious undertones, special effects and wishful thinking. The story has no believability and I find it very difficult to suspend my disbelief system in order to enjoy this movie.

    Don't get me wrong, I like Nicolas Cage, but Jesus dude, couldn't you pick a better script than this? Oh, yeah, tax issues, gotta pay the man.

    When I first saw this movie I thought it was from the same people who made The Happening, but I see that it was from another moron who knows every thing about the technical side of movies but nothing about good scripts and directing.

    I don't think a 1,000 writers with a 1,000 re-writes could have made this a good enough movie to waste money on and it is a good thing I got to see it for free.
    Expand
  38. Mar 16, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was pretty good at the beginning, I thought the storyline was really cool. But then it involved Aliens. The ending was horrible like what is Nicholas Cage supposed to tell the authorities....."Oh, I just let my son and my friends daughter go on an Alien spacecraft" Overall a pretty stupid movie. Expand
  39. Aug 16, 2010
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. okay, the film was nicely made and the story worked for itself and it was quite simple but catching and tense. but there is one big problem. why on earth would the aliens play with people by giving them cryptic messages, being mysterious weirdos and throwing black stones around for fifty years, if they can simply come, take the kids and go away?! ah, i know, then there wouldn't be any movie... Expand
  40. Philip
    Jul 7, 2009
    0
    Possibly the worst movie ever made - although you might not hate sitting through it as much as some movies which may be better. That may sound like a contradiction but wait until you see it... which you really shouldn't!
  41. MikeH.
    Aug 29, 2009
    0
    Why does nicolas cage keep getting acting jobs? he's dreadful! he displayed one facial expression throughout the entire movie, a movie which would have been terrible even with a decent main actor. albinos, aliens, black pebbles, spacecrafts, adam and eve, and still the most unbelievable part was nicolas cage's acting.
  42. Aug 27, 2010
    3
    The plot errors and bad writing seem to be the least of this movie's worries, and considering the movie's flaws, that's saying a lot.... Nicolas Cage has never looked so ridiculous (ok, that's a lie, but I need to fill the 150 character count)
  43. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    I thought this movie was amazing, the best I've seen in a while. The plotline was cool and the special effects were amazing. Nicolas cage and Rose Byrne were awesome in it. I can't believe how some people didn't like this movie.
  44. MarkW.
    Mar 20, 2009
    8
    KNOWING is a film which appeals to the innate curiosity of the filmgoer to find out, "to know" what will happen next as a result of the revelation of the meaning of mysterious numbers hidden long ago by a school child in a time capsule. In brief, the acting is solid; the mystery is continuous and well-sustained; the special effects are spectacular - likely the best I have ever seen - and KNOWING is a film which appeals to the innate curiosity of the filmgoer to find out, "to know" what will happen next as a result of the revelation of the meaning of mysterious numbers hidden long ago by a school child in a time capsule. In brief, the acting is solid; the mystery is continuous and well-sustained; the special effects are spectacular - likely the best I have ever seen - and so realistic, that they are a bit startling to see unveil themselves; the music throughout is excellent; and the plot is original, with an ending that will leave the reader thinking about the message of the move well into the night. Thumbs Up, and kudos to the Proyas for having made a very good, bold and even visionary movie. Expand
  45. Droog
    Mar 23, 2009
    10
    I feel like I
  46. Oct 13, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's an excellent movie with decent acting, editing, and camera, with a good suspense buildup. What went wrong? The ending. It just threw EVERYTHING good about it into the rubbish bin. It came out of nowhere, made no sense, was over-dramatized, and turned the entire thing into a religious film. Expand
  47. DaveF
    Apr 2, 2009
    4
    I don't understand the high ratings some users have given this film. While this movie does have a great premise and I will agree that the FX are astounding, the ending is a complete let down and cop-out. This is a typical Hollywood effort, tons of potential and you leave feeling flat and cheated. If you thought the end of the last Indiana Jones movie was great, go see it, otherwise I don't understand the high ratings some users have given this film. While this movie does have a great premise and I will agree that the FX are astounding, the ending is a complete let down and cop-out. This is a typical Hollywood effort, tons of potential and you leave feeling flat and cheated. If you thought the end of the last Indiana Jones movie was great, go see it, otherwise be prepared for a disappointment. Expand
  48. BenD
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    Comedy of the year! The final reel's dialogue is the stuff of comedic genius. Problem is someone should have told the scriptwriter that it wasn't a comedy in the first place.
  49. DeeD
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    I'm not a religion nut...haven't been to church in 20 years......but I look at this film as explaining the crazyness of the Revelations chapter of the bible, in scientific terms........if you read the book of Revelations ...you would think that it doesn't make any logical sense...and it's NO WAY.....if 12 year old kids saw this stuff happening...this is how they mayI'm not a religion nut...haven't been to church in 20 years......but I look at this film as explaining the crazyness of the Revelations chapter of the bible, in scientific terms........if you read the book of Revelations ...you would think that it doesn't make any logical sense...and it's NO WAY.....if 12 year old kids saw this stuff happening...this is how they may remember it, or pass it down to the next generations.......I live in Florida..and some people drive 1000 miles to save some turtles, and Sea World would spend $1,000,000 to try to say a whale....my wife MAKES my save spiders I catch in the house (and put them outside)...and 15 years ago..we were driving, and a cat ran out in front of me....and I hit it...she made me, run around for 20 minutes to catch the cat, and take the cat to a vet and spend $200...also WE can predict some major weather events....wouldn't it seem logical if some advanced life form, could predict our impending doom because of their super advanced scientific knowledge, they would try to save some of us, and help us by moving a few of us to a new safe location, the same as somebody would help a turtle out of a busy road (and its 100% sure death) and relocate it to some safe spot...we are always trying to save any animals from extinction....and spending $millions...I think that advanced life forms would do it too......my view of the movie is that they want you to think that this happened before...maybe 5000 years ago, some children were saved, and their adventure was written into the bible........and to go further......maybe every 5000 years......our planets become useless.... and some super advanced being (just like a zoo keeper, of a pet owner) keeps saving us ,and relocating a few of use to a new world with a "tree of life".....in the movie's story, it happened before to some children.....Adam and Eve, and through their viewpoints and stories passed down...the bible was written.......in the start of the movie, they say millions of planets could support life...so maybe every 5000-10000 years it happens over and over...and these advanced beings are seen as angels, and also you could throw in that they created life in their mirror image (like the bible says)....even thought they only changed thier looks so they did not freak out everyone while they were trying to save some people,they only wanted to blend in......also the part in the bible..those that heard the call were the ones choosen...the whispers were the call...and they chose the ones to be best fit.....and ready soon to start reproducing to start a new world....and there were more spaceships...so other animals and children were saved....some fo these critics say Mr Cage was too serious....I don't think too many MIT professors would be acting like clowns.......I agree with Roger Ebert...100 out of 100...I think the movie was right on target.....the perfect union of science and religion...or explaining religion in more scientific terms....I also give the movie a 100 out of 100 for coming up with a new "End of the World" idea that I never heard of before....why couldn't it happen?....if it happens every 300,000 years... would you be reading about it in some Roman scrolls?...I THINK NOT.....we can't even stop a cold, aids, or swine flu...I'm sure we will not be able to predict the end of the world...and I thought I heard all of the end of the world ideas...this one is original !!!!!!!!!.......most of those critics are CRAZY>>>>>>>> Expand
  50. KennyO
    Dec 18, 2009
    10
    I thought the soundtrack was good. Reminds me of those 1950s horror films. The disaster scenes were very well executed. The story is grim and depressing. For some people/critics who cannot accept such a storyline (end of the world) may ridicule it.
  51. JamesA
    Jul 14, 2009
    5
    Bad acting all around, redundant plot elements, and a foreseeable twist that undoes the entire premise of the movie, without so much as a legit explanation, make this a movie that you can afford to skip.
  52. JorgeM.
    Aug 28, 2009
    8
    This movie is probably the most underrated flim of all time its actually awesome and the ending was great!!!!!!!!!!
  53. JackM
    Jan 17, 2010
    9
    Great movie, way to go on the Christian symbolisms. The pebble is most likely Jesus for without Jesus theres no salvation. Only the children get saved because God requires "child like" faith to enter heaven, the aliens are actually angels come to pickup the faithful before the disaster of the world just like the Rapture event. And only those who hear the call will be saved (call to Great movie, way to go on the Christian symbolisms. The pebble is most likely Jesus for without Jesus theres no salvation. Only the children get saved because God requires "child like" faith to enter heaven, the aliens are actually angels come to pickup the faithful before the disaster of the world just like the Rapture event. And only those who hear the call will be saved (call to Christian salvation) Those who hear the whispers are basically Christians considered by the Godless to be weird even psychotic. Yet in the end they were the ones saved. Expand
  54. PJC
    Nov 22, 2009
    10
    You have to understand bible and bible prophecy to truly appreciate the literary beauty of this film. Study the author and the license he allowed the director to take and you'll appreciate it more.
  55. shaune
    Aug 25, 2009
    8
    At no point are you bored. character development is a bit lacking and that's what i imagine the critics are moaning about. otherwise, a suspenseful, fun, original movie. box office doesn't lie.
  56. Sep 25, 2010
    9
    The film starts out as a sort of silly cliché idea about the ability to see the future. It expands into so much more, though. Everything throughout is intense and well-designed. The dialogue is nothing to write home about, but the actual characters are very human. You never know what is going to happen next, despite the inevitable being made pretty obvious with the wholeThe film starts out as a sort of silly cliché idea about the ability to see the future. It expands into so much more, though. Everything throughout is intense and well-designed. The dialogue is nothing to write home about, but the actual characters are very human. You never know what is going to happen next, despite the inevitable being made pretty obvious with the whole "code-that-forsees-disasters" thing. The best thing about the film is its philosophical parts. Much of its story is very symbolic of Biblical tales. By no means is it preachy, but it certainly provides ideologically sensitive material. Overall, this film is not perfect, but its unique journey through humanity and their reaction to the impending end of the world is brilliant. Expand
  57. Sep 19, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie starts up as an interesting story, how the professor, Cage, discovers the true story about the letter. It gets kind-a creepy when the "men in black" enter the scene. It uses the normal cliches to create unneeded tension, AKA "mysterious men who disappear when you look back" and so on.
    The story keeps going down slowly through the film, but it isn't a bad film to watch.
    Just remember that this is not the "ultimate" film you will remember after years have past.
    Or you might remember the end. It just plain sucked. Yea.
    Expand
  58. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    Awesome film!! They did a great job of mixing Religion and science together. It is very rare for anyone to tell a story of these two coexisting but yet, this movie did! Just awesome! Ending was very satisfying and it did not let you down like most films do.
  59. Jan 13, 2011
    1
    Over time it seems Nicholas Cage's acting has got worse and worse. His movies quickly following. A plot filled with so many horrendous plot holes I couldn't even start, bad SFX, terrible acting, failure to suspend disbelief, an ending that has gone a million miles off track from where it began. Seriously it starts as a grade B horror film, then turns into some kind of overdone soap operaOver time it seems Nicholas Cage's acting has got worse and worse. His movies quickly following. A plot filled with so many horrendous plot holes I couldn't even start, bad SFX, terrible acting, failure to suspend disbelief, an ending that has gone a million miles off track from where it began. Seriously it starts as a grade B horror film, then turns into some kind of overdone soap opera episode, and then finally into a certain very famous Spielberg movie (you'll know when you see it). Some of the dialogue is almost the same by the end. The audience was laughing all the way out of the theater at how moronic the whole thing was. so for those theater leaving laughs I will bump this movie up to a 1/10 Expand
  60. Feb 18, 2012
    0
    Why such a graphic, horiffic air plane crash? And at Logan Int'l Airport, 100 miles from where I live, no less. I've flown more than a few times-I know flying is safe-but I'm flying in less than 4 months..I can't get the scene, the jet chrashing, multiple explosions, burning, screaming people, out of my head. Millions of people fly..Why include such a graphic scene to such a largeWhy such a graphic, horiffic air plane crash? And at Logan Int'l Airport, 100 miles from where I live, no less. I've flown more than a few times-I know flying is safe-but I'm flying in less than 4 months..I can't get the scene, the jet chrashing, multiple explosions, burning, screaming people, out of my head. Millions of people fly..Why include such a graphic scene to such a large demographic? Poor taste.To those of you who fly, please avoid this movie. Rated XXX for graphic, horiffic violence. Expand
  61. Aug 25, 2012
    4
    I can't actually put my finger on the reason why this film wasn't that good but it wasn't. The plot as a whole is fairly intelligent but I think it must be the acting and could even be something as minor as the soundtrack. Anyway sorry for the lack of information in this review, I am genuinely confused by this film.
  62. MikeM
    May 8, 2009
    8
    I wouldn"t say that this movie didn"t have any low points but it kept me engaged the whole time. I think 8.5 would be my rating. My wife agrees.
  63. SamM.
    Jul 2, 2009
    8
    Let me start of by saying i hate nickolas cage as an actor, but i don't have a bad thing to say about this film. it was an original take on something quite old.
  64. DeanD
    Jul 29, 2009
    9
    I was astounded when I noticed Roger Ebert voted this movie a "10' when most other reviewers voted this movie much lower. I read some of the User comments about why they didn't like the movie. Some of them admitting they were unable to understand the movie. I do not think it's wise to broadcast one's intellectual shortcomings on the Internet. Then I read Roger I was astounded when I noticed Roger Ebert voted this movie a "10' when most other reviewers voted this movie much lower. I read some of the User comments about why they didn't like the movie. Some of them admitting they were unable to understand the movie. I do not think it's wise to broadcast one's intellectual shortcomings on the Internet. Then I read Roger Ebert's review in which he substantiated his high score. His review is comprehensive and to me...makes sense. My whole family (ages 9-46) watched this movie and everyone of us enjoyed this movie. Expand
  65. AlexS
    Mar 20, 2009
    9
    Most of the times, the films that get mixed reviews prove to be the more interesting examples of filmmaking, ones that divide opinions dramatically, balls-out go-for-broke entertainment. When a film is uniformly well-reviewed, that sometimes insinuates that it panders to its critics, giving them exactly what they want - glossy, slick entertainment (what "The Reader" strived so hard to Most of the times, the films that get mixed reviews prove to be the more interesting examples of filmmaking, ones that divide opinions dramatically, balls-out go-for-broke entertainment. When a film is uniformly well-reviewed, that sometimes insinuates that it panders to its critics, giving them exactly what they want - glossy, slick entertainment (what "The Reader" strived so hard to achieve, but thankfully failed). And when a film is generally badly reviewed - well, it's rare that it actually turns out to be any good (see "Miss March"). What I don't get about "Knowing" is the fact that all the critics seemed to hate it - except one that happens to be my favorite: Roger Ebert. Ebert, especially recently, has been known to be a bit too kind on some films, but he always justifies his review, making it hard - or interesting - to debate with. The man's been around for a while, and agree or disagree - he knows film better than 99% of you out there. So how come he gave "Knowing" 4 stars, named it one of the best sci-fi films he's ever seen, and got so inspired by it he went on to write a whole essay about determinism vs randomness, while every other critic seemed to hate the film? I think there are mutliple reasons for this. I just saw the film - and as a film-lover myself (not QUITE as experienced as Mr. Ebert - nor will I probably ever be) who has seen thousands and thousands of features - I can assure you that "Knowing" is, in fact, quite excellent. Sure, there are some cheesy/Hollywoody lines of dialogue, and a few patchy parts where the plot mechanics creak and squeak a little bit - but overall, I walked out of the theater with my jaw still open, astounded by what I had just witnessed. Critics have a prejudice against Nic Cage, you see. They tend to gang up on actors who are known to make unfortunate choices sometimes. But look at Pacino and De Niro's last few films. Wake up, people - Cage is one of our top living actors - who else has as much range as this guy does? (Read the last two paragraphs of Ebert's review of "Adaptation" to see what I mean.) Sure he' sleepwalked through "Bangkok Dangerous" and "Ghost Rider". But he also starred in the aforementioned "Adaptation", "Leaving Las Vegas", "Raising Arizona", "Matchstick Men", "Weather Man", "Bringing Out the Dead", etc. In "Knowing" he's almost in every single scene, and he carries it with aplomp, showing the mounting desperation and terror as few other actors of his caliber could match. The fact that certain critics even refer to his "perhaps botoxed" face is completely irrelevant criticism, dripping with irony and unjustified prejudice. I also disagree that the film is a mix-up pf genres. I think it flowed very well. Alex Proyas is a skillful director ("Dark City" is a masterpiece), and he handles the big budget well. The special effects serve the story instead of just showing themselves off, like, say, in "Transformers" (which surprisingly got much better reviewed - and was a crappy, dumb film with no point). Watch the airplane-crash sequence in "Knowing", filmed in a stunning single-shot handheld style, a-la "Children of Men" - it's masterclass filmmaking that will take your breath away. Or the train-wreck scene. As for the ending - well, that's a whole other story. Forget "Armageddon", "Deep Impact", and especially "Day After Tomorrow" and "The Day the Earth Stood Still". I am obsessed with apocalyptic themes, and let's just say this is how I imagine it in my nightmares. It will blow you away; I witnessed the audience in the theater, eyes wide and full of terror and wonder. This could happen. NASA has been talking recently about solar flare activity. Look it up. It's scary. To conclude, unlike those other apocalyptic blockbusters, "Knowing" has thought behind it. It questions things like religion, fate, faith, and chaos. A similar film that stunned me equally was Zemeckis' "Contact", another underrated gem. "Knowing" has an intellectual backbone, tremendous sfx, auter-ish trademarks and a powerful central performance. This is what blockbusters shoud be like. So screw those other critics. Listen to Ebert, if just this once. Expand
  66. AlA.
    Mar 30, 2009
    10
    This movie has to be one of the best movies I have seen in awhile. I typically do not like science fiction movies, but this movie grabs you from the begining and does not let you go. If you were to watch the trailer you may think Knowing is just another movie that predicts future events, but that could not be futher from the truth. The story is original and keeps you guessing in a smart This movie has to be one of the best movies I have seen in awhile. I typically do not like science fiction movies, but this movie grabs you from the begining and does not let you go. If you were to watch the trailer you may think Knowing is just another movie that predicts future events, but that could not be futher from the truth. The story is original and keeps you guessing in a smart and fresh way that few movies have brought to the big screen in quite some time. Knowing is a great movie that is a must see: when it's all over you will take a deep breath and literally thank yourself for going to see it. Expand
  67. MerlaL
    Jun 20, 2009
    6
    alright...i am sick and tierd of dumba$$ fu*cking movies where the reason for all the events are caused by fuc*king aliens,whether is the problem,solution ect..Next time come up with atleast a good ending or don't even bother...p.s NO MORE CHARACTERS WITH DEMENTIA...peace!..P.S.S...FINAL CONCLUSION THESE MOVIES SUCK BALLS...610 just because the only thing that sucked was the ending...peace
  68. wetwebwork
    Jul 7, 2009
    6
    Knowing isn't as dire as people make out, but... it's too long. Three quarters in and we were ready to start fast forwarding. It really could have done with editing down, because the story isn't bad, and the plane crash and subway scene are stunning. Of course the transcendent Christian ending is appalling, but wouldn't have mattered so much if the film had been tighter.
  69. RyanS
    Jul 9, 2009
    8
    Great movie, completely captivating. The special effects were jaw-dropping and the ending was spectacular!
  70. MikeL
    Aug 20, 2009
    4
    This movie tries to create an M. Night Shyamalan type of "twist"; however, it twists itself too far and becomes confusing and disconnected. The movie never knows whether it is a disaster flick, a horror film, a sci-fi thriller, or a mystery. Unfortunately, it isn't any of them.
  71. RobertI.
    Sep 5, 2009
    7
    A movie that relies more on psychological doubt than literal representation, it can make your hair stand up. A few scenes, such as a crashing plane, provide enough realism to underscore the unknown. A top-tier psycho-sci-fi.
  72. C.E.d
    Mar 21, 2009
    7
    This is one of those movies that you will either like or not, there is no middle ground. I thought it was a good story, aren't they supposed to be for our imagination?
  73. KevinG
    Mar 20, 2009
    10
    I was expecting a lot, but this was even greater than what I could have imagined.
  74. SerinaF.
    Mar 20, 2009
    10
    One of the best movies I have seen in a long time, suspenseful amazing movie I loved it!! would watch it over and over and thats saying allot because I usually hate watching movies more than once. Will be buying it on blue ray when it comes out!!
  75. BobF.
    Mar 22, 2009
    9
    The contrast between reviewers' opinions and movie goers' ratings for this flick illustrate the taste gap between the two groups.
  76. TFO
    Mar 23, 2009
    6
    I liked the CGIs, from beginning to end. Apocalyptic Revelations-inspired ending seemed a bit rushed, especially the Deux Ex Machina discovery of the solar mega-flare. Given the dire consequences, the characters seemed surprisingly accepting of their fate? This film was worth the mantinee price.
  77. NathanR.
    Mar 23, 2009
    9
    Go with Ebert on this one. One of the best sci-fi films in recent years. Great effects, interesting and unusual premise for a Hollywood film, and some really well-crafted sequences. Alex Proyas succeeds once again.
  78. Timmy
    Mar 25, 2009
    8
    Don't listen to the critics. They just don't like the the christian aspect of this film. It's a solid sci-fi film with some very intense moments. You'll like it if you like a good dark movie.
  79. Bob
    Mar 25, 2009
    9
    Other than Roger Ebert who is on the money with his score of 100 the other professional critics missed the mark entirely. This is a good movie that explores whether our fate is predetermined or random. The only criticism I had was that the ending could have been a little better if Nicholas Cage would have told the secret to our Government and they did nothing. Then it would have been true Other than Roger Ebert who is on the money with his score of 100 the other professional critics missed the mark entirely. This is a good movie that explores whether our fate is predetermined or random. The only criticism I had was that the ending could have been a little better if Nicholas Cage would have told the secret to our Government and they did nothing. Then it would have been true to life. A great film for science fiction fans of all ages. Expand
  80. AlexanderMileman
    Mar 26, 2009
    8
    The better ideas from half a dozen 1950's sci-fi b-movies thrown in a blender to make an unexpected treat. Nic Cage (far from my favourite actor) seems to be channelling Jimmy Stewart and brings an emotional maturity I hadnt thought him capable of anymore.
  81. RobertO
    Mar 27, 2009
    10
    I am absolutely impressed at such a great film.. I'll be honest. I didnt expect it to be THAT GOOD. This film shook me off my feet, great scrip, great direction, acting, you name it...This film is out of the extraordinaire. What can I say? This is truly a MASTERPIECE of science fiction...A real jewel...It
  82. JamesS
    Mar 20, 2009
    10
    An amazing science fiction film that is comparable to Children of Men and War of the Worlds.
  83. MichaelS
    Mar 30, 2009
    7
    This movie kept me engaged, but suffered from some serious plot holes. I thought the special effects were great.
  84. VictorT
    Apr 13, 2009
    4
    Giving a 4 on the FX part of it, but towards the end of the show was a huge disappointment...why don't they name the children after Adam n Eve??
  85. CarolS
    Apr 4, 2009
    9
    I loved this movie. It was thought provoking, and interesting. Fast paced, with judicious use of CGI...powerful. Thought that Nicholas Cage did his best work here that we've seen in a long time. Roger Ebert got it right.
  86. MarkD
    Apr 4, 2009
    4
    Extremely disappointing. Expected a film and got an over-the-top flick. Ebert was on crack with his review. He must have sent the kid to the candy store in his place. Dark City, Proya's masterpiece sets the viewer up for this collosal letdown of biblical Hollywood proportions. This flick rips off Signs, Da Vinci Code, Close Encounters, War of the Worlds and waxes it to a smooth shine Extremely disappointing. Expected a film and got an over-the-top flick. Ebert was on crack with his review. He must have sent the kid to the candy store in his place. Dark City, Proya's masterpiece sets the viewer up for this collosal letdown of biblical Hollywood proportions. This flick rips off Signs, Da Vinci Code, Close Encounters, War of the Worlds and waxes it to a smooth shine with Armegedon special effects. It is the ultimate disaster flick because of spectacular and terrifying subway and airplane crashes and oh yeah the film itself is a disaster. Nicolas Cage is a great actor but he should stop doing Wil Smith garbage. This movie could have been edited down to 90 minutes and been not half bad but it got drunk on effects after it couldn't sustain the intrigue for more than 45 minutes well snap crackle pop. The camera work in this film is stunning no question and there are some of the best action scenes I have ever seen. But this is Alex Proyas so something has got to be good. This will not be added to my scifi DVD collection because it lends nothing new to the genre what so ever. Expand
  87. SamuelC
    May 10, 2009
    4
    The film itself wasn't bad, it is the ending that ruined it for me, but Nicolas Cage was good and, in my opinion, you should go watch that movie, then leave like 15 minutes before the end.
  88. GeorgeM
    Jul 10, 2009
    8
    I've never been a big fan of disaster films...because they often come off as very cliche, but Knowing does something a little different...it melds together a paraoid thriller WITH a disaster film and it actually makes for an entertaining combination. In 1959 a time capsule gets put in the ground, and inside the capsule is a sheet of paper that a little girl (with a "gift") fills with I've never been a big fan of disaster films...because they often come off as very cliche, but Knowing does something a little different...it melds together a paraoid thriller WITH a disaster film and it actually makes for an entertaining combination. In 1959 a time capsule gets put in the ground, and inside the capsule is a sheet of paper that a little girl (with a "gift") fills with random numbers...but in reality these numbers aren't random, they predict diasters that will happen over a 50 year span...Nick Cage's character finds this, and the tension mounts to find out how it will all end. The movie does a decent job of keeping the watcher on edge...things seem uncertain throughout but an alarming dread is there at all times, it gives the film a feeling of uncertainty...that perhaps there is hope but at the same time it just dosent look good for our characters. It gives a very creepy "tingling up the spine" feeling...this is one of the first movies that has ever made me feel helpless and cold inside...that seems bad...but i feel that was the movie's intention to an extent. The movie touches on some subject matter (religion, life in outer space) that many will find "eye-rollingingly" annoying...but i found it to be rather intriguing and many will also find the ending to be rather "hokey", but instead of hokey...i found it refreshingly "different". I've never been a big Nick Cage fan...and his last few outting have been terrible to the point where i felt he was about to go the way of the dodo in Hollywood...but thankfully, he's redeemed himself in this film. RECOMMENDED. Expand
  89. Johnny2cents
    Jul 12, 2009
    5
    I'm on the fence on this one. Only because I love Alex Proyas. Two of his past movies have been landmarks in thier genres but I 'm not sure of 2 things here. One, why why why use Nick Cage? His hair and teeth are a constant distraction. Two, shouldn't M. Night Shyamalan sue for infringement? Like many movies they start of with great hope and then fizzle into the hamster I'm on the fence on this one. Only because I love Alex Proyas. Two of his past movies have been landmarks in thier genres but I 'm not sure of 2 things here. One, why why why use Nick Cage? His hair and teeth are a constant distraction. Two, shouldn't M. Night Shyamalan sue for infringement? Like many movies they start of with great hope and then fizzle into the hamster wheel trying to catch up with its self. Grant it the special effects, plane crash in particulair, were pretty cool but Lord the ending was a mish mash of everything you can possibly think of. Speaking of thinking, me is thinking that Alex wasn't thinking but at least it was still better than anything M. Night has done since The Sixth Sense. Expand
  90. IanB.
    Jul 12, 2009
    10
    I watch almost every sci-fi film that is released. I love the genre. I also really like the supernatural genre as well. Most films that try to combine these categories stumble in one way or another with unbelievable story-lines, plot holes or hokey concepts, but that is not the case with "Knowing". I can't remember watching a film that was so well paced, gripping and, considering the I watch almost every sci-fi film that is released. I love the genre. I also really like the supernatural genre as well. Most films that try to combine these categories stumble in one way or another with unbelievable story-lines, plot holes or hokey concepts, but that is not the case with "Knowing". I can't remember watching a film that was so well paced, gripping and, considering the material and complexity of the plot, did so well at tying it all together. Cage might be the only drawback as he kind of hams his way through the performance at times. The disaster sequences are spectacular, every one of them. The film generates an ongoing creepy tension that never lets up and the ending works as well as any big budget sci-fi film you will ever see. Roger Ebert got this one right. Two Thumbs Way Up ! Expand
  91. TonyB.
    Jul 19, 2009
    6
    This was a pleasant surprise and deserved better treatment from the critics and better support from the public. It would have been even more successful if the lead role had not been given to Nicolas Cage, probably the poorest major actor in America today. Rose Byrne, however, was fine.
  92. BillH
    Jul 27, 2009
    8
    Surprising to me no critic saw the 4 men in black as The Four Horsemen of the Apocalyspe or made ties to Mayan preditions (numbers) to holocast in 2012 or to the Nostradamus predictions about the end of the earth in 2012. It is also the year scientists say there will be a massive alignment of the planets. Interesting how they tied it into a super-massive C.M.E. (coronal mass ejection).
  93. M.J.P
    Jul 7, 2009
    8
    Honestly, I expected a little more drama, minus the aliens that shot beams of light from their mouths like headlights on a truck. The number sequence puzzle was rather creative though, but personally, I was outraged by the way September 11 was used as a source of entertainment. As for Nicholas Cage, whom I have always been a big fan of, I must say that he should stick with children's Honestly, I expected a little more drama, minus the aliens that shot beams of light from their mouths like headlights on a truck. The number sequence puzzle was rather creative though, but personally, I was outraged by the way September 11 was used as a source of entertainment. As for Nicholas Cage, whom I have always been a big fan of, I must say that he should stick with children's movies along the line of Disney. Along with the dreadful speacial effects, some might say that this film was an absolute, epic fail that would make you want to bang your head against a wall with the predictable ending, all in all, it was still entertaining in my perspective, which gives reason to why I gave it such a high rating. Expand
  94. AndrewS
    Aug 17, 2009
    4
    This film doesn't really figure out what it wants to be. Is it science vs religion? Or just a straight action film? The plot holes are so huge its mind blowing. Why would aliens tell a little girl that bad events are going to happen? What does a rail crash have to do with the apocalyptic end? The destruction of the earth isn't really a new concept and it is brave to go along This film doesn't really figure out what it wants to be. Is it science vs religion? Or just a straight action film? The plot holes are so huge its mind blowing. Why would aliens tell a little girl that bad events are going to happen? What does a rail crash have to do with the apocalyptic end? The destruction of the earth isn't really a new concept and it is brave to go along with it (which I guess is what some of the critics that gave positive reviews are referring to). But the hokum of the aliens taking two children to repopulate a new planet? Why only two? The space ship is massive! And what are the black stones for? This film could have been really good, but just ended up a mess. Its worth seeing for the plane crash and subsequent scene, the rest mmfftt. Expand
  95. ManusA
    Aug 18, 2009
    4
    This was one of the biggest disappointments I have ever seen. It lacked emotion throughout, the performances literally felt non-existent, and the ending DID NOT WORK.
  96. JHH
    Aug 2, 2009
    9
    One of the most entertaining family fare we have watched this year! Some scenes too strong for the faint of heart and although the conclusion is predictable, it is nonetheless rewarding.
  97. AminE.
    Oct 9, 2009
    6
    Doomsday coming...! thats the point, no godzilla, no dracula, no zombie. no any ludicrous stranger things. but its like kidding.
  98. BillyS
    Mar 20, 2009
    5
    I don't think I saw the same "Knowing" that Ebert saw. The Knowing I saw a ridiculous, end of the world piece of crap with an ending right out of the Scientology handbook!! Come on Roger, do you have a piece of the profits or what?
  99. Alec
    Mar 20, 2009
    10
    Intelligent, well paced, great acting, with an excellent twist at the end! Highly recommended.
  100. JackD.
    Mar 20, 2009
    9
    One of the most powerful movies I've seen in years. Part Omen, part Uber disaster movie, part Close Encounters and all riveting. Even the heavy handed ending or some plot loopholes didn't spoil it's power.
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 27
  2. Negative: 11 out of 27
  1. 50
    Science fiction fans will feel gypped, disaster movie fans will appreciate about 10 minutes of screen time and be bored by the rest, and no one else will care.
  2. 100
    Knowing is among the best science-fiction films I've seen -- frightening, suspenseful, intelligent and, when it needs to be, rather awesome.
  3. Reviewed by: Jim Ridley
    30
    What would a Christian Apocalypse movie look like with a big budget, a talented director, and star power of higher wattage than a discount Baldwin brother? Here comes the answer: like a glum hybrid of the "Final Destination" movies, an Irwin Allen disaster bash, and the kitschiest parts of Darren Aronofsky's "The Fountain."