Kung Fu Panda 2

Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    May 24, 2011
    60
    For an animation studio that too often specializes in the frivolous and glib (begone, Shrek series!), the move to the dark side is refreshing.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Heath Jr.
    May 30, 2011
    50
    Exquisite looking but substantially hollow.
  3. 50
    There just isn't the same zingy rapport. Seth Rogen's praying mantis and Jackie Chan's monkey have no more than a dozen lines between them. Even Jack Black's Po is more subdued.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    May 25, 2011
    50
    And, yes, Kung Fu Panda 2 is a little darker and a little more intense than the first film, especially for very young viewers.
  5. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    May 27, 2011
    42
    Kung Fu 2 does almost NOTHING to advance the story, to deepen the characters, or to charm, amuse or entertain.
  6. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    May 26, 2011
    42
    The sequel remains visually beautiful and strikingly designed, but otherwise, it's a surprise in all the wrong ways.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 397 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 98
  2. Negative: 3 out of 98
  1. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    This is one of the few sequels that are better then the original. '' Kung Fu Panda 2 '' delivered a touching, brilliant and good story. I likeThis is one of the few sequels that are better then the original. '' Kung Fu Panda 2 '' delivered a touching, brilliant and good story. I like the fact that it gets serious about Po's origins (without spoiling anything). There was a lot of fighting (even a little bit to violent) and the kung fu was bad-ass. The way the Furious five and our Dragon warrior fought was spectacular. I was looking forward to see if the villan (Shen) would be as much as evil and hardcore, since Tai Lung (in the first movie) was the perfect bad guy. Again, he was a bad-ass villan, even better than Tai Lung. Also, this movie delivers a great message. Not only the kids will love this movie, the adults to. It's the perfect family movie. Full Review »
  2. Oct 4, 2011
    7
    Eh...There really isn't much to say about "Kung Fu Panda 2" compared to its prequel. I mean the action and comedies are great as well as theEh...There really isn't much to say about "Kung Fu Panda 2" compared to its prequel. I mean the action and comedies are great as well as the story, but everything sorta lacks of focus and consistency. Regardless of the cons, however, its still a great summer movie to watch with your kids. Full Review »
  3. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    ITs definitely not the best kids movie ever made, but its somewhere up there. I mean even for an adult its quite funny to watch with kids.ITs definitely not the best kids movie ever made, but its somewhere up there. I mean even for an adult its quite funny to watch with kids. It's debatable if first one is better, but i say they are both good.
    quite worth the time
    Full Review »