Paramount Pictures | Release Date: June 6, 2008
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 431 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
383
Mixed:
35
Negative:
13
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
CamilleJun 15, 2008
All I can say was that it was alright. Not bad, of course, but nothing special. It was short and had a very simply laid out beginning, middle, and end. Certain parts were dragged out a bit more than necessary and others were over quicker All I can say was that it was alright. Not bad, of course, but nothing special. It was short and had a very simply laid out beginning, middle, and end. Certain parts were dragged out a bit more than necessary and others were over quicker than they should have been, like the solution to the mystery of the Dragon Scroll. It was just completely unprompted and almost awkwardly shoved into a scene in the movie where it didn't really fit. Jack Black (beside the animation itself)is really the only phenomenal part of film. His personality really adds to the character and makes him likable, relatable, and ultimately enjoyable. I'd recommend it for viewers with younger children. Other than that, I'd rent when it comes out on video. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
ChadS.Jun 7, 2008
They're animals, not people; but "Kung Fu Panda" take place in China, and the animals are voiced by both, American and Asian-American actors. Viper(Lucy Liu) and Monkey(Jackie Chan) are Chinese, but Tigress(Angelina Jolie) and They're animals, not people; but "Kung Fu Panda" take place in China, and the animals are voiced by both, American and Asian-American actors. Viper(Lucy Liu) and Monkey(Jackie Chan) are Chinese, but Tigress(Angelina Jolie) and Mantis(David Cross) are pretending to be Chinese, like David Carradine in "Kung Fu". The panda bear, the animal most iconographical to Mainland China, is part of the covert yellow-face minstrel act, too, made even more intriguing by its black and white markings. Po(Jack Black) is a kung fu fan like Taimak in Berry Gordy's "The Last Dragon", who was black, and a kung fu master like Cane, in the aforementioned series that was originally planned to be a star vehicle for Bruce Lee; needless to say, Carradine was white. In a film with Jackie Chan, the closest thing we have to the late Lee, it's interesting to mention that the Anglo-American actor gets to read the ancient prophecy, and not somebody of actual Asian descent. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
4
ClifC.Mar 9, 2009
Mediocre. I was bored by this movie, really. So cliché!...
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
MarkB.Nov 21, 2008
Mediocre at best.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
4
RyanC.Jun 4, 2008
Typical Dreamworks animation fare - formulaic, unoriginal, uninspired. Don't waste your money.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
vidmanJun 12, 2008
The previews looked funny, but I initially hesitated to watch it because the last few Jack Black movies were disappointments. Well, you can add this one to the list. There are a few laughs, but most of the jokes aren't funny. And the The previews looked funny, but I initially hesitated to watch it because the last few Jack Black movies were disappointments. Well, you can add this one to the list. There are a few laughs, but most of the jokes aren't funny. And the drama is something we've already seen in better movies by Pixar (and probably by Dreamworks as well). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
DRewFJun 11, 2008
The very definition of mediocrity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
gm101Oct 11, 2010
I really had high hopes for this movie, especially when I heard Jack Black and Jackie Chan were in it. Unfortunately, I was really disappointed with the movie. With the exception of Po and Shifu, all the characters, especially the furiousI really had high hopes for this movie, especially when I heard Jack Black and Jackie Chan were in it. Unfortunately, I was really disappointed with the movie. With the exception of Po and Shifu, all the characters, especially the furious five, were one-dimensional. Lame plot, and I barely got to hear Jackie Chan! And now they're making a sequel? DreamWorks, unless you make this sequel your "Dark Knight", you won't be seeing me watching Kung Fu Panda 2. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
solomsApr 17, 2015
I miss the animation movies from my time. This is not fun, this is something that I would like to do when I can't sleep. A Kung Fu Panda, not my cup of tea
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews