Kung Fu Panda

Kung Fu Panda Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 419 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Enthusiastic, big and a little clumsy, Po is the biggest fan of Kung Fu around…which doesn’t exactly come in handy while working every day in his family’s noodle shop. Unexpectedly chosen to fulfill an ancient prophecy, Po’s dreams become reality when he joins the world of Kung Fu andEnthusiastic, big and a little clumsy, Po is the biggest fan of Kung Fu around…which doesn’t exactly come in handy while working every day in his family’s noodle shop. Unexpectedly chosen to fulfill an ancient prophecy, Po’s dreams become reality when he joins the world of Kung Fu and studies alongside his idols—the legendary fighters Tigress, Crane, Mantis, Viper and Monkey—under the leadership of their guru, Master Shifu. But before they know it, the vengeful and treacherous snow leopard Tai Lung is headed their way, and it’s up to Po to defend everyone from the oncoming threat. Can he turn his dreams of becoming a Kung Fu master into reality? Po puts his heart-and his girth-into the task, and the unlikely hero ultimately finds that his greatest weaknesses turn out to be his greatest strengths. [Dreamworks] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Light and goofy, yet the fight scenes, which are the heart of the film, are lickety-split mad fun.
  2. At once fuzzy-wuzzy and industrial strength, the tacky-sounding Kung Fu Panda is high concept with a heart.
  3. It's not an instant classic, but it's imaginatively drawn, full of charming characters, alive with action sequences and blissfully free of the snickering scatology and endless pop-culture references.
  4. 75
    The result is a genuinely pleasing kung fu movie that kids and grown-ups can enjoy.
  5. I'm going to go out on a limb here and say that this is probably the best movie so far this year about a kung-fu fighting panda.
  6. Tongue-in-cheek dialogue, inventive slapstick and fight sequences, and luminous production design make this a treat.
  7. 50
    It's impressive enough to look at, and the voice talent – especially Black and Hoffman - doesn't disappoint, but all the CGI wankery and high-end talent only barely allows Kung Fu Panda to rise above cliché.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 89
  2. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. CaleA.
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    WALL-E is at least a 9, and so is Kung Fu Panda. I don't know why the score is low right now. This is not to be missed. do yourself a WALL-E is at least a 9, and so is Kung Fu Panda. I don't know why the score is low right now. This is not to be missed. do yourself a favor and watch it at 1080p res bluray etc. I'm hoping that score will go up when it releases on dvd and bluray in a couple weeks. a must see. I rarely give out 10s, im very picky, but this animation is my personal flavor. they did an amazing job. very much appreciated. Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Kung Fu Panda has great visuals, but the real reason for Kung Fu Panda being so awesome is that the story is great and Po the panda is amongKung Fu Panda has great visuals, but the real reason for Kung Fu Panda being so awesome is that the story is great and Po the panda is among the best animated characters ever. Expand
  3. David
    Jun 7, 2008
    9
    I was not going to even write anything about this but wow Chad S., get a life!! I have no clue what all that rambling was about. Needless to I was not going to even write anything about this but wow Chad S., get a life!! I have no clue what all that rambling was about. Needless to say, this was a fun movie to go to and watch. Expand
  4. Feb 8, 2016
    9
    In an animated film about a fat, bumbling panda, you'd expect it to be there to entertain the kiddies and that would be that. Oh my, you areIn an animated film about a fat, bumbling panda, you'd expect it to be there to entertain the kiddies and that would be that. Oh my, you are so wrong. Kung Fu Panda boasts impressive visuals and animations, an excellent cast lead by the oh so hilarious Jack Black (who really seems like he has a lot of fun with the role), a formulatic but entertaining story, and a threatening but humourous villain in Tai Lung. It's one of my favourite, if not my MOST favourite Dreamworks film. If you haven't seen it by now, you're sorely missing out. While everybody was kung fu fighting, where were you? Expand
  5. DaveF
    Jun 26, 2008
    8
    Adorable, delightful action-comedy with panache. Why didn't anyone think to do martial arts with Warner Bros.-style cartoons before? Adorable, delightful action-comedy with panache. Why didn't anyone think to do martial arts with Warner Bros.-style cartoons before? Jack Black is amusing enough, but the real treat is the artistry and animation. I did not expect to love this movie. Expand
  6. Mar 11, 2015
    8
    Outrageously entertaining! Jack Black, along with the rest of the voice cast, does an incredible job of making us believe that these animalsOutrageously entertaining! Jack Black, along with the rest of the voice cast, does an incredible job of making us believe that these animals are actually part of a kung fu team. I loved this movie from beginning to end. The witty humor, the hidden adult humor, the fight sequences, the visuals, and the storytelling, are all small parts that come together to make this movie one to remember. Dreamworks has definitely hit it's mark in super-stardom. Common sense has just been kicked into me and I am ready for so much more. This movie is just not enough. Kung Fu Panda is incredible!!! Expand
  7. RyanC.
    Jun 4, 2008
    4
    Typical Dreamworks animation fare - formulaic, unoriginal, uninspired. Don't waste your money.

See all 89 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants

    Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants Image
    Published: June 16, 2010
    This week's "Toy Story 3" is Pixar's 11th feature film, and the animation house has established a remarkable record with its 10 previous releases. How does Pixar's biggest competitor, DreamWorks Animation, stack up?
  2. Best of January 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of January 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: January 30, 2016
    Browse our handy guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring video games, TV shows, albums, and films released during January.
  3. Film Friday (11/6): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (11/6): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: November 6, 2015
    Get a quick update on the latest film news and watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Charlie Kaufman's Anomalisa, Quentin Tarantino’s The Hateful Eight, Spike Lee’s Chi-Raq, Michael Bay's 13 Hours, plus Concussion, Alice Through the Looking Glass, Kung Fu Panda 3, and much more.
  4. Film Friday (6/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (6/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: June 19, 2015
    Get an update on the latest film news and watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Cannes hit Sicario, plus Kung Fu Panda 3, Dark Places, The Peanuts Movie, People Places Things, and much more.