User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 86
  2. Negative: 7 out of 86
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KellyS.
    Jun 8, 2007
    9
    Brilliant acting, dark and painful to watch, however the movie , the music, her life all amazing.
  2. WillH.
    Jun 13, 2007
    10
    This movie is an extaordinary experience and Ms.Cotillard gives a tour de force performance! Just as some U.S. critics never 'got' Piaf, some present day critics didn't get this film. Even if you are not familiar with Piaf, you will be astounded by the voice and the film.
  3. ScottP.
    Jun 9, 2007
    10
    The critics missed this one, raw and powerful, with a climactic sequence that manages to be bleak and despairing, and uplifting and deeply moving at the same time.
  4. JamesL.
    Jul 29, 2007
    10
    I thought this was a beautiful and mesmerizing film in which the weak point was me; the viewer. It is the best film I have seen this year. I went into the film knowing nothing about Edith Piaf and rushed home to search her on the web. A brilliant piece of work.
  5. FScottS.
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    An amazing engaging film of a conflicted tormented talented individual. A first rate experience in the movie theatre.
  6. VeraC
    Jan 7, 2008
    9
    Mesmerizing. Marion Cotillard 10, rest of ensemble 9, movie 8. Watched it on the plane and later rented the DVD and on rewatching admired the feel and the flow of movie even more. Think the non-linear telling makes it a better movie.
  7. BarryJ.
    Nov 25, 2007
    9
    Totally engrossing. The audience stood and applauded at the end. Marion Cotillard was excellent. One of the finest film experiences I have ever had. And the directing and editing were very effective. You came to understand the pitiful, wasted life of this artist who rode so high but could not shake her drug and alcohol problems or her roots. Like Janis Joplin, her body only lasted into Totally engrossing. The audience stood and applauded at the end. Marion Cotillard was excellent. One of the finest film experiences I have ever had. And the directing and editing were very effective. You came to understand the pitiful, wasted life of this artist who rode so high but could not shake her drug and alcohol problems or her roots. Like Janis Joplin, her body only lasted into her early forties. The movie tells the story so faithfully, sadly, unfortunately. But so elegantly. Certainly worthy of nomination. Expand
  8. JasonA
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    fitting an entire life into a film is impossible. and so with that i say the editing and storyline was bold and courageous. at the expense of having the viewer keep up with the timeline, the movie gave life to the deep tragedies her voice carried in her songs.
  9. Alana
    Jun 15, 2007
    10
    C'etait magnifique!!!! The story was incredible and Marion Cotillard even more so. Bravo!!!
  10. RitB
    Jun 18, 2007
    9
    If you see this film you will remember it for a long, long time not only for the superb acting by Marion Cotillard but for the songs of Edit Piaf. It
  11. Kevin
    Jun 23, 2007
    10
    A great movie! Its dream like sequence presumes that the audience is either familiar with Edith's life or will be motivated to find out more after the movie. The random sequence is untidy but quite original and works well in this case. Biopics that start at the end like "Evita" are no longer that original. Marion Cotillard makes you believe that she is Edith. My only complaint is A great movie! Its dream like sequence presumes that the audience is either familiar with Edith's life or will be motivated to find out more after the movie. The random sequence is untidy but quite original and works well in this case. Biopics that start at the end like "Evita" are no longer that original. Marion Cotillard makes you believe that she is Edith. My only complaint is that the movies does overdramatize an already difficult life when it did not need to. I for one would not call Edith's life a tragic one, but one filled with tremendous highs and loves, in addititon to shattering and tragic lows. Of note, Edith was surrounded by people who truly cared about her and she died in the arms of a much younger second husband who catered to her every need. Unlike many tragic figures, she did not die alone. Expand
  12. AdaM
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    I highly recommend this movie, but it is long and because the storyline kind of flash forward and backward a bit too much, it can get confusing at times (a lot of the time leaping took place between her late 20s and early 30s, therefore her looks didn't change very much so it gets hard to get the sequence right, the fact that I had to read the caption doesn't help but it's I highly recommend this movie, but it is long and because the storyline kind of flash forward and backward a bit too much, it can get confusing at times (a lot of the time leaping took place between her late 20s and early 30s, therefore her looks didn't change very much so it gets hard to get the sequence right, the fact that I had to read the caption doesn't help but it's my fault for not understanding French!! Because of the length bring a cushion with you if you can (I was in a cinema with well worn seats that resemble recliners, I had to crane my neck throughout that 140 minutes in order to watch the movie and not the cinema's ceiling). I am going to watch it again this week with a seat at the back (so that it is easier to read the caption while watching the rest of the screen) and a cushion. Expand
  13. BillyS.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Nicle Kidman played Virginia Woolf, Charlize Theron played Aileen Wournos, Reese Witherspoon played June Carter Cash, Helen Mirren played Queen Elizabeth and they won 4 of the last 5 Best Actress Oscars for playing famous women,with that in mind, go ahead and engrave Marion Cotillard's name on the 2007 Best Actress Oscar because she not only plays Edith Piaf in Le Vie En Rose, she Nicle Kidman played Virginia Woolf, Charlize Theron played Aileen Wournos, Reese Witherspoon played June Carter Cash, Helen Mirren played Queen Elizabeth and they won 4 of the last 5 Best Actress Oscars for playing famous women,with that in mind, go ahead and engrave Marion Cotillard's name on the 2007 Best Actress Oscar because she not only plays Edith Piaf in Le Vie En Rose, she actually becomes Edith Piaf! It just may be the first case of a true channeling ever captured on film. It is, without a doubt, without a flaw and without an asterick, one of the five greatest female performances ever put on film! Bravo, little sparrow, Bravo. Expand
  14. Fantasy
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    Tremendous movie worthy of OSCAR consideration for Marion Cotillard who is simply superb as the late Edith Piaf. I am at a loss to understand why this film is not in wider release. It is a work of art and should not be missed. A perfect 10!
  15. Alexandra
    Jul 14, 2007
    9
    I thought this film was fantastic, and am perplexed by the reviews. Marrion Cotillard's performance as Edith Piaf was astonishing, harrowing, and the film was constructed in a way as to symbolize the various complexities that made Edith the truly unique star that she was. This film is great for anyone who appreciates the triumph of spirit over inconceivable odds. Extraordinary.
  16. bobG.
    Mar 29, 2008
    9
    i'm not sure if the construction of the history was the best, but for me it was good enough; but what mezemerize me the most is the exceptional performance of Cotillard.
  17. David
    Jun 13, 2007
    10
    Marion Cotillard's performance is one of the most electrifying, totally committed tours de force I've ever seen; astonishing, riveting, and utterly haunting. The film that contains it is harrowing to watch, bleak and dark (as well as quite beautiful), relentless and perhaps over-long...but it is also a fever-dream and a work of art, that makes no judgment on, and draws no easy Marion Cotillard's performance is one of the most electrifying, totally committed tours de force I've ever seen; astonishing, riveting, and utterly haunting. The film that contains it is harrowing to watch, bleak and dark (as well as quite beautiful), relentless and perhaps over-long...but it is also a fever-dream and a work of art, that makes no judgment on, and draws no easy conclusions about, an extraordinary, and extraordinarily brief and tragic, life. I dare you to look away. Expand
  18. SylviaE.
    Jun 14, 2007
    10
    I saw this film a few days ago and am still riveted by it. Marion Cotillard's performance is extraordinary, I have never seen an actress encompass a role so completely. Although harrowing at times; the combination of story, cinematography, music and performance makes the experience well worth while. This one is a keeper for the ages.
  19. MarkG.
    Jun 18, 2007
    10
    Marion Cotillard's sensitive portrayal of Edith Piaf is truly one of the most affecting and devastating performances in cinema history, as powerful and moving as any I have ever seen. I have a BA in drama, have seen countless thousands of films and this movie shook me to my core. Anyone who wants to be an actor should watch this film and see what it is all about. This is the top of Marion Cotillard's sensitive portrayal of Edith Piaf is truly one of the most affecting and devastating performances in cinema history, as powerful and moving as any I have ever seen. I have a BA in drama, have seen countless thousands of films and this movie shook me to my core. Anyone who wants to be an actor should watch this film and see what it is all about. This is the top of Mt. Everest, the pinnacle of what is possible, what goes beyond acting to the realm of truly being, to channeling the soul of another and letting it possess you completely. Few portraits have ever been so utterly true. Marion Cotillard is the greatest actress of her generation. Expand
  20. bobb
    Jul 22, 2007
    9
    Academy award performance! Giulietta Massina revisited. Outstanding production. 10 minutes too long.
  21. XavierP.
    Sep 22, 2007
    10
    Beautiful, compelling, perfect acting (Oscar caliber), capturing.
  22. JakeP.
    Feb 17, 2008
    10
    I don't typically attack other postings in my review, but the fact that 'advance scout team' guy Mark B. spent such a great deal of effort degrading Cotilllard's brilliant performance is baffling to me. This movie was extraordinarily well made, and Cotillard's performance is impeccable. This is the stuff of legends. Great film.
  23. Sep 13, 2010
    9
    A wonderful performance from Marion Cotillard as Edith Piaf.
    With a strong supporting cast, the film keeps your attention for the whole 2 & a half hours.
    The incidental music is superb, so much that I bought the soundtrack.
  24. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    Since I saw Marion Cotillard in the movie '' Inception '', I became a fan, because she's such a beautiful and talented actress. After I found out she won an Oscar for this movie, I had to see it. '' La vie en rose '' (original title is '' La môme '' ) is a captivating, entertaining and melancholic movie. It's the first time that I really felt sad for a character. MarionSince I saw Marion Cotillard in the movie '' Inception '', I became a fan, because she's such a beautiful and talented actress. After I found out she won an Oscar for this movie, I had to see it. '' La vie en rose '' (original title is '' La môme '' ) is a captivating, entertaining and melancholic movie. It's the first time that I really felt sad for a character. Marion delivered such an amazing performance, that I couldn't even recognized her. She totally deserved that Oscar. It's the kind of movie that a teacher will make the students watch in class for an educational purpose. Well, it would have been the best. I enjoyed it and I had no problem understanding (okay okay, I speck french, sorry for putting it in your face). What I mean is, it's better to see it in the original language. Because if you see it with english subtitles, or if it's translated in english, it won't be necessarily the same thing (emotions, effect, plus it doesn't always translate expressions correctly). Anyway, french or not, you can still be amazed by this film. The cinematography is wonderful. The filmmakers did a good job for creating the ambiance from approximately 1920 to 1963. Of course, it also has some great classic songs. I wish I knew Marion Cotillard earlier, but I'm glad that I had the chance to see it. If you're a fan of dramas or melancholy, this movie is for you. Expand
  25. Sep 23, 2011
    9
    Just as a biopic should be, it's all about one person. If the actress playing Edith Piaf wasn't up to scratch, the film wouldn't work at all. Thankfully, Marion Cotillard is absolutely captivating. The inhabits the role to such an extent that you can forget that you're watching an actress. The film itself, through the way the story is told, is able to manipulate your emotions soJust as a biopic should be, it's all about one person. If the actress playing Edith Piaf wasn't up to scratch, the film wouldn't work at all. Thankfully, Marion Cotillard is absolutely captivating. The inhabits the role to such an extent that you can forget that you're watching an actress. The film itself, through the way the story is told, is able to manipulate your emotions so effectively that you may find yourself laughing one moment and sobbing fat tears the very next. Piaf's iconic songs also perfectly compliment the story of her remarkable, if tragic life. Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Hurtling and impassioned, driven by some of the greatest popular music ever recorded, this wildly overripe and unkempt biopic is a true experience.
  2. Reviewed by: Ella Taylor
    50
    Uplifted beyond its merits by a stunning performance from Marion Cotillard, the humdrum biopic of Edith Piaf, La Vie En Rose, jogs obligingly along with Piaf the legend rather than the woman.
  3. La Vie en Rose elevates Piaf the archetype over Piaf the artist. Although I question this approach, I'm not sure it could have been done any differently, at least given the facts of Piaf's life. If there is such a way, Duhan didn't find it.