Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 43
  2. Negative: 6 out of 43
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Jan 29, 2014
    100
    It resonates with delicacy, passion and restraint, touching the heart in places where cynics fear to go.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Sep 3, 2013
    90
    Reitman keeps a strong grip on all the aspects of the story to prevent it from becoming corny, unduly melodramatic or obvious.
  3. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Jan 31, 2014
    88
    It is a yarn. But it's so full of passion, poetry, and humor that it becomes, for the time, quite real.
  4. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jan 30, 2014
    88
    Labor Day is an admittedly strange hybrid. Rarely have I seen such outrageous plot points executed with such lovely grace.
  5. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Sep 3, 2013
    83
    There's a certain elegant simplicity to the movie's execution that maintains a spirit of familiarity but also keeps the material afloat.
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. Jan 10, 2014
    3
    I'll admit that Jason Reitman is just not my guy. It does hit some odd tones along the way, which is something I generally enjoy. ButI'll admit that Jason Reitman is just not my guy. It does hit some odd tones along the way, which is something I generally enjoy. But there's an intense corniness to the melodrama of this movie that I find to be a strikeout, even if he was swinging for the fences by trying something offbeat. Full Review »
  2. Apr 28, 2014
    9
    Labor Day has a familiar vibe to it, I have seen bits and pieces of the story before, and I have seen similar characters on the big screen andLabor Day has a familiar vibe to it, I have seen bits and pieces of the story before, and I have seen similar characters on the big screen and on the small screen, but it is all about the direction and how the director decides to create deep characters, effective story and a heartbreak, Jason Reitman succeeds in all these things, thus making Labor Day one of the best movies of 2013. Labor Day is highly recommended! Full Review »
  3. Sep 13, 2014
    5
    Not once did I buy into the romance. Here you have a depressed slug and an escaped "innocent" convict that displays no emotion or humor orNot once did I buy into the romance. Here you have a depressed slug and an escaped "innocent" convict that displays no emotion or humor or anything that would be considered human. I could sense there was supposed to be a lot of tension building, but I could care less. It was pretty stupid, if not completely stupid. Full Review »