User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 48
  2. Negative: 7 out of 48
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 28, 2014
    9
    Labor Day has a familiar vibe to it, I have seen bits and pieces of the story before, and I have seen similar characters on the big screen and on the small screen, but it is all about the direction and how the director decides to create deep characters, effective story and a heartbreak, Jason Reitman succeeds in all these things, thus making Labor Day one of the best movies of 2013. LaborLabor Day has a familiar vibe to it, I have seen bits and pieces of the story before, and I have seen similar characters on the big screen and on the small screen, but it is all about the direction and how the director decides to create deep characters, effective story and a heartbreak, Jason Reitman succeeds in all these things, thus making Labor Day one of the best movies of 2013. Labor Day is highly recommended! Expand
  2. Apr 17, 2014
    9
    With a special narration by Toby Maguire and despite a predictable ending, Labor Day successfully presents a melodrama film without too-over emotional. Another good performance from Kate Winslet.
  3. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    This is a unique, very artistic film. The cinematography focuses on a soulful, subtle and nuanced direction and the sound-score is mesmerizing. They each reflect the underlying emotion and tension of every scene. Jason's choice to direct such a different kind of film gives him great merit ... and the result is a multi-layered, rich very moving film that takes one in a myriad ofThis is a unique, very artistic film. The cinematography focuses on a soulful, subtle and nuanced direction and the sound-score is mesmerizing. They each reflect the underlying emotion and tension of every scene. Jason's choice to direct such a different kind of film gives him great merit ... and the result is a multi-layered, rich very moving film that takes one in a myriad of emotional directions. He deserves great credit for this risk-taking, as well as for his thorough, thoughtful and extremely artistic direction. Cynics will not like this film. Mature folks with deep life experiences will understand its power. A remarkable film ... ahead of its time. Expand
  4. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    This truly caught me off guard. Jason is an excellent writer, but I don't how Brolin and Winslet would mesh on screen. Under all of the glitz, glamour, explosions, in your face type cinema, this simplistic, yet very tense drama is oldschool: Great writing, great acting, excellent cinematography.
  5. Feb 1, 2014
    10
    This eloquently simple, yet passionately tense movie is something to be remembered. The breathtaking cinematography beautifully meshes with the closeness of the characters' captured emotions in which you can't help but accredit to the perfect chemistry of the cast. Labor Day is ingeniously refreshing compared to what we consider to be "Box-Office Hits" today. Also, if you've read the book,This eloquently simple, yet passionately tense movie is something to be remembered. The breathtaking cinematography beautifully meshes with the closeness of the characters' captured emotions in which you can't help but accredit to the perfect chemistry of the cast. Labor Day is ingeniously refreshing compared to what we consider to be "Box-Office Hits" today. Also, if you've read the book, it adds an intense appreciation for the important, minor details of this movie. Expand
  6. Mar 20, 2015
    10
    This is one of those movies that you think is just going to be OK, then all of a sudden your in really deep and realize that this is one of the best movies you have seen in a long time! I think this is Kate Winslet's best work since Titanic who plays the scarred mother, and certainly one of Josh Brolin's better movies although he was very good in "No Country for Old Men". Even GattlinThis is one of those movies that you think is just going to be OK, then all of a sudden your in really deep and realize that this is one of the best movies you have seen in a long time! I think this is Kate Winslet's best work since Titanic who plays the scarred mother, and certainly one of Josh Brolin's better movies although he was very good in "No Country for Old Men". Even Gattlin Griffith who plays the son and has a coming of age role, puts in a spectacular performance, you might have remembered him as the son in "Changeling". This movie makes some good points that people may not at all be who you think they are, and that things on the surface may not always be as they seem. If your looking for a movie that pulls you in and fires on a lot of emotions, and truly one that will make an impression, this movie could do it. I certainly will buy this one and perhaps just pull it out to watch every Labor Day, why not as we have all those special movies for other occasions! This movie certainly fits into that category (special). Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 43
  2. Negative: 6 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Cath Clarke
    Mar 18, 2014
    60
    What keeps this out of Nicholas Sparks bumper-paperback territory are terrific performances and Reitman’s control of the drama.
  2. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    Mar 17, 2014
    80
    A tender, nostalgic and warm ‘family’ drama which also quietly seethes with the threat and tension of imminent danger. Labor Day shows a new side to Jason Reitman as a filmmaker, and we like it.
  3. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Feb 6, 2014
    50
    If you can get past the ludicrous fantasy — well, wait, that’s the problem. You can’t get past the ludicrous fantasy.