Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 21, 2006
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 412 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
237
Mixed:
55
Negative:
120
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JoshC.Jul 21, 2006
Great movie--but you have to watch it as a fable. Not a horror film, not a "M. Night-twist" film, but as a fable. Enjoyed the characterizations. A rare summer movie that actual made me feel something while watching it, and think a lot afterwards.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NicoleV.Jul 22, 2006
I didn't know what to expect and given the reviews, I wasn't expecting too much thinking the story might be confusing or, as one critic said "with too many holes in it". It is not confusing at all!! And the story was great- I didn't know what to expect and given the reviews, I wasn't expecting too much thinking the story might be confusing or, as one critic said "with too many holes in it". It is not confusing at all!! And the story was great- inspiring, humorous, suspenseful, symbolic, heartfelt... It definitely surpassed my expectation! I liked MNS other movies, but this is my favorie now by far and I have greater respect for his art now. I can see where some critic gave bad reviews because MNS basically makes fun of them by incorporating a critic character into the film as someone who doesn't know good films. The critics definitiely don't know a good film when they see it! This maybe a fairytale, but many people missed that it is still a representation of life now. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DavidAug 4, 2006
critics have been much to severe on this flick, its not "signs" or "sixth sense", but, it is a great fairy tale telling, with the odd characters we have to expect from this screenwriter. that a character playing a film/book critic is the critics have been much to severe on this flick, its not "signs" or "sixth sense", but, it is a great fairy tale telling, with the odd characters we have to expect from this screenwriter. that a character playing a film/book critic is the only victim of a grizzly (off screen) death, likely motivated most of the red ink. well worth matinee money! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RandyM>Aug 5, 2006
I was a bit skeptical when first hearing about Lady in the Water. I admit I do love Shyamalan's movies, but this one looked a little strange. And after seeing it, I admit it, it still is strange. But Lady in the Water is one of the most I was a bit skeptical when first hearing about Lady in the Water. I admit I do love Shyamalan's movies, but this one looked a little strange. And after seeing it, I admit it, it still is strange. But Lady in the Water is one of the most captivating fables I have ever witnessed. The movie also gets bonus points for having some pretty frightening sequences. The Scrunts are terrifying. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KeliAug 6, 2006
I absolutely adored this movie. It's been a while since I read any theatre theory, but I thought the "sloppy filmaking" felt more like an intentional alienation effect, used to make the audience ponder why Shyamalan would transport an I absolutely adored this movie. It's been a while since I read any theatre theory, but I thought the "sloppy filmaking" felt more like an intentional alienation effect, used to make the audience ponder why Shyamalan would transport an epic fantasy into a thoroughly modern setting. I am so glad I went to see it in spite of the negative reviews. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RandallP.Sep 1, 2006
M. Night Shymalan, achieves old world mythic reverence for the unknown... in the most mundane of urban settings. The film contrasts what we know with what we feel... or at least used to feel .. towards the shadows and noises that disturb us M. Night Shymalan, achieves old world mythic reverence for the unknown... in the most mundane of urban settings. The film contrasts what we know with what we feel... or at least used to feel .. towards the shadows and noises that disturb us at night. This isn't meant to be shlock horror.. it is meant to be dark fantasy.. the way the old world feared fairy ringy and dopplegangers... Has our sense of wonder been so eroded that we trash even the exploration of this theme? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ShereefE.May 8, 2007
I believe the people reviewing this movie are too sick to understand the truthness of Night's movies. You all seem to judge Night's movies on the basis of them being Horror movies. BUT THEY ARE NOT HORROR MOVIES!! As some, who may I believe the people reviewing this movie are too sick to understand the truthness of Night's movies. You all seem to judge Night's movies on the basis of them being Horror movies. BUT THEY ARE NOT HORROR MOVIES!! As some, who may sometimes be able to open their minds to new ideas, may have noticed, all of his films relate to a certain important topic on life: such as religion, self-hate, self-ignorance, society and it's corruption on people, and even politics. If one just looks at the trailer, thinking that Night takes on the Horror genre at full, and runs to watch a movie they hope will present headless ghouls, bloody beasts, gruesome monsters and all the like (IMO this type of horror film is disgusting, and it has evolved in the last 10 years devastatingly, perhaps to keep the people's minds off what is truly horrible in this world), it is only normal that they will be dissapointed. However, if one goes into the Theatre with a clear conscience on his mind, he will soon realise the pureness of the film. This review is not only for The VIllage, but also for all the other Night movies that I feel were undoubtedly underrated, such as The VIllage or Signs. Some people are unable to understand that Night does not undertake the Horror genre as his dominating genre, he simply uses it to spice up his film and make it slightly more enticing and eye-grabbing for the people. And again, one must always remember that the horror genre has moved to heights that were before unimaginable. So to compre Night's horror with these new horrors would be to compare something non-comparable. That is all I have to say. I hope you will take this review seriously, and remember that I am not writing this review in hate towards the mainstream reviews, but simply in anger towards how they rate such movies that do not comply to one genre alone. Peace to you all. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
HarvG.Oct 19, 2009
Weird, all the negative reviews. I had a knot in my throat several times in the movie. I can totally understand why someone wouldn't like this movie, but to say M.N.S. can't tell a story is wrong.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
K.ShanmugaJul 21, 2006
Simply and truly superb. Shyamalan has once again proved his superior movie making abilities. I am sure that "Lady..." will once again prove all those critics wrong and be a runaway hit.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
SusanH.Jul 21, 2006
beautiful and suprising. Disagree with most of the reviews, again.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
GregoryB.Jul 22, 2006
I can't believe this got such low reviews from critics, but I can see why. M. Night, isn't really liked by them in the first place, cast himself a small part in his own movie, and even had a critic character in this that was made I can't believe this got such low reviews from critics, but I can see why. M. Night, isn't really liked by them in the first place, cast himself a small part in his own movie, and even had a critic character in this that was made fun and says in the movie, "there is nothing original anymore." Well if that critic would have stepped out of the screen, he would have seen something that was. If you liked the village, you will like this. It is a beautiful story that is intriguing as it is hypnotic. It is "slow" as there isn't anything blowing up every 5 seconds, but who wants that 24/7. The acting is superb and as I don't think he should have necessarily cast himself in this, he does a good job. GO SEE IT. My fiancee and I love his movies and were talking for an hour after this one. Critics should drop their biases and grudges and see this movie for what it really is, a compelling and thought provoking tale. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JeffreyA.Jul 22, 2006
I never expect much from critics, but reading the reviews before seeing the movie my expectations were a lot lower. However, I was completely blown away after watching the movie. M is brilliant in creating a fairytale that shadows paradigm I never expect much from critics, but reading the reviews before seeing the movie my expectations were a lot lower. However, I was completely blown away after watching the movie. M is brilliant in creating a fairytale that shadows paradigm shifts that are occuring in our present time. I love the characters, the way they evolve over time and the emotions they create on film. If you can connect with this movie through it's layers and symbolism you will be in for a beautiful movie experience. As for holes in the story line, uhm, there are none! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
CynthiaL.Jul 27, 2006
I found the movie entertaining. A story, that kept my attention to the very end. I think the critics wanted this movie to fail. They were panning it before people got a chance to see it for themselves.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PopR.Jul 31, 2006
If this movie was made by Sofia coppola or Spielberg without changing anything Critics would give an excelent review to Lady, but their critics are about Night Shyamalan not about the movie, therefore his movies are not made for they, are If this movie was made by Sofia coppola or Spielberg without changing anything Critics would give an excelent review to Lady, but their critics are about Night Shyamalan not about the movie, therefore his movies are not made for they, are made for us, the common public who without prejudices only go to the theaters to enjoy a fantastic and original tale. Remember he ( Night ) gave us the best performances of Bruce willis, Mel gibson, Holey joel osment and Bryce dallas...etc. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SarahB.Jul 31, 2006
Being a fan of Shyamalan I couldn't wait for this movie to come out. I believe he did not disappoint. One thing with M. Night that I love is that you have to get past the "horror" in his movies and look for the deaper meaning and Being a fan of Shyamalan I couldn't wait for this movie to come out. I believe he did not disappoint. One thing with M. Night that I love is that you have to get past the "horror" in his movies and look for the deaper meaning and intricate story. I thought "Ladyin the Water" was his most spectacular attempt in story telling, as beautiful stories go. I loved the symbolism, the humor, the suprise. It was Shyamalan and I loved it! Perhaps I'm biased, but I think everyone should give this one a try. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
BitBurnJul 30, 2006
This was, yet, another strong picture by M.Night and yes its right up there with Sixth Sense, Signs and The Village. A matter of fact, the movie was exactly what I come to expect from M.Night and I mean this in a good way. Yes, he uses the This was, yet, another strong picture by M.Night and yes its right up there with Sixth Sense, Signs and The Village. A matter of fact, the movie was exactly what I come to expect from M.Night and I mean this in a good way. Yes, he uses the same twists and spookiness as usual and this is possibly why he was booed by Hollywood critics but, come on, the guy has nothing to prove here. His recipe works, just like a Big Mac, and that's why we like it so much! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
DamienDarko777May 6, 2011
Meh. This movie is a little too heavy-handed for its own good, but if you can forgive that, then it turns out to be a pretty good fairy tale horror-fantasy with some decent scares and laughs.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MaryS.Aug 1, 2006
It was what I expected. A very sensational movie that I want to see again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SriHarshaKJul 23, 2006
WOW and Awesome were the two words tht came to my mouth after watching the film. Almost perfect.....one of his best. And critics should just shut up and limit themselves to the normal crap that they like. Worth watching twice and i am dying WOW and Awesome were the two words tht came to my mouth after watching the film. Almost perfect.....one of his best. And critics should just shut up and limit themselves to the normal crap that they like. Worth watching twice and i am dying to watch it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Jul 26, 2006
Good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DianaG.Aug 11, 2006
One of best this year, but not a movie for all kind of people ( critics for example ). A wonder tale, film made of heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PabloEJan 10, 2008
Maybe I am stupid, but I was touched by this movie. It is just a fairy tale after all and in my humble opinion much better than all that predictable Harry Potter cultural non-sense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EddieS.Jul 22, 2006
Definitely better than what the critics would have you believe. maybe they were offended by the movie critic character in the movie...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LouV.Jul 22, 2006
Something different and memorable good acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
OliverC.Jul 23, 2006
This movie is very different than what the commercials suggested, it isn't really a scary movie though it has scary parts. Its fun, a lot of fun, and the problem people have with this movie is that they take the plot too seriously. Of This movie is very different than what the commercials suggested, it isn't really a scary movie though it has scary parts. Its fun, a lot of fun, and the problem people have with this movie is that they take the plot too seriously. Of course it doesn't make perfect sense because it's a fairy tale. It means more than that, to me it tried to show how important all of the people you meet in life are even if they have small roles and how people can accomplish things if they work together. It also has cool monsters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewX.Jul 23, 2006
Tina B. has proven to me in her review that she simply did not understand the point, message, or purpose of this excellent fairytale. The fact that she refers to is as not plausible shows that she was not willing to accept any sort of Tina B. has proven to me in her review that she simply did not understand the point, message, or purpose of this excellent fairytale. The fact that she refers to is as not plausible shows that she was not willing to accept any sort of fantastical child's story that personally made me feel like I was five again. One of the reason's Shyamalan is a genius is the subtle lines ans scenes he carefully puts in to remind the audience that they should forget about all the serious crap that plagues us today and remember what it was like to be a child when you would truly believe a story like this could be real. It was a very affecting and inspiring movie that I recommend everyone see. Critics needs to stop being so old and take the sticks out of their you know wheres. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SilusG.Jul 23, 2006
Not MNS's best, but certainly a solid showing... and his larger budget is nicely reflected in better creature work. The difficulty is that this movie is a fairy tale
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DesireeD.Jul 24, 2006
My favorite of M.N.S. , some critics hate his movies, why?, I love his style.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CathyS.Aug 1, 2006
I can enjoy a lot this kind of suspense, stories and actings. Giamatti excelent as usual, ( Oscar must pay attention ).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DerekG.Aug 1, 2006
Perhaps a bit too literal of a "fairy tale," but I truly don't understand why the critics are trashing it so badly. Perhaps it's because of the critic character in the film. Did Shyamalan hit a bit too close to home?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Aug 14, 2006
Good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShawnO.Aug 17, 2006
This is not a movie for people who don't like to think about what they're seeing (most movie critics). The film is full of symbolism that must be understood to appreciate the story. If you're not willing to do that, don't This is not a movie for people who don't like to think about what they're seeing (most movie critics). The film is full of symbolism that must be understood to appreciate the story. If you're not willing to do that, don't bother going. It's really not a horror movie as some of the previews suggest. This is one of the best films of the year and well worth seeing a second time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MannytoAug 18, 2006
Be happy and enjoy this great movie, is it for kids?, yes and for all ages, don't feel so old like many critics!!.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AngelitoAug 10, 2006
Of course it is not like Citizen Cane, there is no comparisons, but this is another time and genre, genre dominated by Night S., an excelent movie, like always taking risks, I like the result.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrendanAug 2, 2006
Lady In the Water definantly does not deserve the low ratings these critics are giving. Shyamalan wrote this whole story for goodness sake! You must be pretty darn talented to come up with a story such as Lady in the Water. I definitely Lady In the Water definantly does not deserve the low ratings these critics are giving. Shyamalan wrote this whole story for goodness sake! You must be pretty darn talented to come up with a story such as Lady in the Water. I definitely reccomend this movie to anyone. Great job Shyamalan! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FreddyF.Aug 3, 2006
Well I think its a good movie, among the best 3 of this first mid of year, there are no perfect movie but this special film deserves more than 8.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisI.Aug 4, 2006
Simply one of the best movies I've ever seen. I'll see it again, too, which is a rare thing for me to do. If I'd listened to the "professional critics" I would have missed out on something wonderful. The movie takes the Simply one of the best movies I've ever seen. I'll see it again, too, which is a rare thing for me to do. If I'd listened to the "professional critics" I would have missed out on something wonderful. The movie takes the mundane and elevates it to the unique. It takes the common and lifts it to the special. I left the movie feeling better about the world and the people in it, and strangely moved to want to be a better person. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RandallturnerAug 5, 2006
Loved it. This is exactly what it is advertised, a bedtime story. I'm going to be a father soon, and I can't wait to share it with my boy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SignerAug 6, 2006
Mikel G. is completely right!, many of us ( the critic public ) are not fools, we know and recognize when a movie has all we want to see, an excellent bedtime story, for me its director is one of the best top 3 of this early century, The L. Mikel G. is completely right!, many of us ( the critic public ) are not fools, we know and recognize when a movie has all we want to see, an excellent bedtime story, for me its director is one of the best top 3 of this early century, The L. In the Water is for all those adults who still knows how to be happy in this hard life with wars and Tsunamies, please dont forget you were children!, keep the faith and hope like a child does!. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HowardC.Aug 7, 2006
A warm tale told lovingly and beautifully. Critics have a baffling vendetta against Night, but his movies will outlast them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
A.Aug 8, 2006
Like always another movie full of surprises, thanks Mr. Night. Good!.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AscenV.Feb 1, 2007
I love this film. Nothing important can be achieved without the participation of everybody. Everyone has something to say, especially children. They are nearer to the truth than adults. The voice of the heart is more powerful than the voice I love this film. Nothing important can be achieved without the participation of everybody. Everyone has something to say, especially children. They are nearer to the truth than adults. The voice of the heart is more powerful than the voice of reason (critics). The simpler the person is the most important his task may be. We dont need to go very far to find our purpose. Everything we need is just so close to us that we are not usually aware of it. The boy as the interpreter reading cereal boxes was so good!! This is one of my favourite films!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeyC.Mar 5, 2007
Poignant. Original. A terrific story told without swearing, blood, graphic violence, or sex. It's got fantasy, mystery, comedy, and suspense. Maybe the critics don't like the film because Shyamalan mocks them so directly. One of Poignant. Original. A terrific story told without swearing, blood, graphic violence, or sex. It's got fantasy, mystery, comedy, and suspense. Maybe the critics don't like the film because Shyamalan mocks them so directly. One of the better films I've seen in a while. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrickinmediaApr 2, 2007
This movie is simply Brilliant!!! Very original, full of fantasy, but in a very real,
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KalakaN.Jun 9, 2007
This is the first time I have ever seen a movie like this. The opening act, where Mr. Heap is in a cupboard under a sink killing an insect, is absolutely unique; all the way through to where the Asian girl translates that her mother wished This is the first time I have ever seen a movie like this. The opening act, where Mr. Heap is in a cupboard under a sink killing an insect, is absolutely unique; all the way through to where the Asian girl translates that her mother wished she could be more like her sister that married a dentist is so true to life, even though this is a first rate fantasy film. I loved it. I look at it often because there is always something I didn't get or see from a previous viewing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephenPApr 2, 2009
This is my favorite movie. People who review these films should not be taken so seriously. This film is not a horror movie, but an incredible story of love, redemption, and sacrifice. Those words could be used to describe many films, but as This is my favorite movie. People who review these films should not be taken so seriously. This film is not a horror movie, but an incredible story of love, redemption, and sacrifice. Those words could be used to describe many films, but as a teenage boy who is quite a film enthusiast, never have I seen a film that has impressed me more in the acting department (let alone cinematography, music, or direction) than Lady in the Water. I am not a fan of Shyamalan at all, as I didn't like Sixth Sense, Signs, or the Happening. But this movie, this is something different. This movie made me want to make films when I grow up. This movie actually changed my life, and M Night's character in the movie wasn't him blowing his own horn... he was simply filling the part of a character who was in the BEDTIME STORY he thought up for his kids. I love this movie, and I only wish that people could have another chance to see this. I was fourteen when I saw this film, and I cried. I was a fourteen year old teenage boy... and I cried. Paul Giamatti, Bryce Dallas Howard, (heck, even Bob Baraban) do a fantastic job. This movie will one day (hopefully) be seen for what it really is: a cinematic masterpiece. Obviously, my views are shared with a few other folk around, the high ratings for this movie are aplenty on this website. Thank you, M Night Shyamalan for changing my life with your beautiful film, and thank you Metacritic for allowing my voice to be heard. Peace. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DerekP.Dec 29, 2006
This is a movie that requires an imagination, which, obviously, there is a lack of in the world today, and a child-like open mind towards the story.... granted, it drags on in some parts and it is somewhat korny, it is a movie that goes to This is a movie that requires an imagination, which, obviously, there is a lack of in the world today, and a child-like open mind towards the story.... granted, it drags on in some parts and it is somewhat korny, it is a movie that goes to many levels untouched in film today... if you really admire the splendor of this film, you'll realize the originality and fantasy that is seen in few other films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterC.Dec 3, 2006
This movie, so under-rated and so misunderstood, rises to such beautifulness that it made me cry and if you really give it a chance it might touch you deep as well. The whole idea of oneness; deployed into such grandeur, making so much sense This movie, so under-rated and so misunderstood, rises to such beautifulness that it made me cry and if you really give it a chance it might touch you deep as well. The whole idea of oneness; deployed into such grandeur, making so much sense especially considering how our world is so very much screwed up nowadays (war in the middle east, poverty, aids, etc). No other movie has taken my breath away as much as this one did in years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobS.Jul 21, 2006
very original which is more than you can say about other films around. And funnier than I expected. I will see it again to catch more details.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
XcriticJul 21, 2006
A very good thriller-fantasy movie to see this summer,,,well if u want something different!.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MelecioR.Jul 22, 2006
I enjoyed it a lot, forget the critics. Its definitely very original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DentonM.Jul 22, 2006
The movie was excellent. It checked the box on another genre for M. Night: fairy tale. For some reason the system decided to not like M. Night, and they've taken it out in ad homonym attacks on him. It's too bad, because they are The movie was excellent. It checked the box on another genre for M. Night: fairy tale. For some reason the system decided to not like M. Night, and they've taken it out in ad homonym attacks on him. It's too bad, because they are guilty of what they accuse him of doing, using their craft to promote their own selfish agenda. This movie is an excellent movie and will stand the test of time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HeatherC.Jul 23, 2006
I go to movies to be entertained. I've been told a good movie is one that makes you forget you're wearing a watch so you never look to see how long it's been going. This movie did that for me. True it's contrived and not I go to movies to be entertained. I've been told a good movie is one that makes you forget you're wearing a watch so you never look to see how long it's been going. This movie did that for me. True it's contrived and not very believable but isn't that what a fairy tale is. While there's not much entertainment in the world right now it was a fun 2 hours to go to the theater and be swept away by this story and the incredible acting of Bryce Dallas Howard. I've enjoyed all of Shyamalan's movies and I think I'm one of a few so I feel this was money well spent and a good way to spend the day in rainy New England. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NannyR.Jul 23, 2006
I´m not in agreement with critics, they only want to see mistakes in movies, I just want to see a good movie and enjoy it, and this film has everything to make me feel like a child again. These kind of stories must see them twice to I´m not in agreement with critics, they only want to see mistakes in movies, I just want to see a good movie and enjoy it, and this film has everything to make me feel like a child again. These kind of stories must see them twice to appreciate each detail, they only see once and looking for mistakes, I can not imagine them eating pop corn ! je, je !. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LuckyLuxJul 23, 2006
I wonder with this picture, Shyamalan is a great director and actor, many have envy of him?, maybe, others , want names?, are too but too overrated, but this Lady is into the water of my imagination.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LauritoJul 23, 2006
Hey, some critics are crazy!!, You must go and see it...If you enjoyed Signs ang the sixth sense, maybe the village, this could be your favorite movie of M. Night, yes!, the misunderstood director of our times, but a real filmaker, director, Hey, some critics are crazy!!, You must go and see it...If you enjoyed Signs ang the sixth sense, maybe the village, this could be your favorite movie of M. Night, yes!, the misunderstood director of our times, but a real filmaker, director, producer, writer and also a good actor, The lady is so original, that others Hollywood commercial options will be forgettables as soon as you leave the theaters!, I discover that Mr. Night can laugh about critics who are so bad to call themself critics, because they write on a diary , magazine o appears on T.V. are better? than a Complete Director as Night, no!, If they were filmmakers dont could be this movie better, it dont need it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BlakeK.Jul 23, 2006
This movie might not be scary, but it's definately good. The whole movie is basically a bedtime story come true. Not big on twists, but I think it has a nice pace, and has some thought provoking ideas. This isn't the best movie M. This movie might not be scary, but it's definately good. The whole movie is basically a bedtime story come true. Not big on twists, but I think it has a nice pace, and has some thought provoking ideas. This isn't the best movie M. has made, but it's not horrible. Don't listen to the critics, it's worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LindaS.Jul 23, 2006
The crowning compliment came from my daughter as we were discussing the film on the way home from the movies today ... "Shyamalan's movies may not always be knock-down excellent, but I love going to them because they are different -- The crowning compliment came from my daughter as we were discussing the film on the way home from the movies today ... "Shyamalan's movies may not always be knock-down excellent, but I love going to them because they are different -- 'always something you don't expect." And I agree. M. Night is original. That's what keeps me going to his movies. And I suspect that LITW grows on you with multiple viewings much like The Village did. It bothers me that both TheVillage and LITW were marketed as horror movies. Neither one of them fit that bill. The Village was a haunting romance and LITW was a story of rebirth and new beginnings. 'Loved it. (I voted it an 8 instead of a 10 because SIGNS is my #10 MNS movie.) :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LiddyaS.Jul 23, 2006
Mizzle D. is completely insane...and dont know appreciate the real art of movies, because no one like this great movie deserves less than 6, and there are a lot of art here, hey wake up...and you poor anonymous!!. Dont go to the movies if Mizzle D. is completely insane...and dont know appreciate the real art of movies, because no one like this great movie deserves less than 6, and there are a lot of art here, hey wake up...and you poor anonymous!!. Dont go to the movies if you hate 'em. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TheWatcherJul 23, 2006
The critic in me wants to boo and hiss and cry in disappointment. The 5-year-old in me wants to stand up and applaud." I just copy this great review !!. The most adecuate to this film. Thank you MR. Alex Sandell of JUICY CEREBELLUM
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TylerW.Jul 23, 2006
An interesting peice of work. Giamatti and Howard are excellent;Shyamalan's role in the cast of this film was not at all bad.As for some of the nay-sayers out there who hated this movie I have this to say;Shyamalan does not glorify An interesting peice of work. Giamatti and Howard are excellent;Shyamalan's role in the cast of this film was not at all bad.As for some of the nay-sayers out there who hated this movie I have this to say;Shyamalan does not glorify himself by acting in a key role.That's like saying Mel Gibson's role as William Wallace in Braveheart [which he directed] was an egotistical, selfrightous decision. And Shyamalan's choice to kill off the film cridict wasn't meant to give a big fuck you to the critics who misjudge him, but it was supposed to show what happened to the non-believer,cynic of The Cove appartment complex. Sadly though, most film criticts are very cynical, narrow-minded people.This film wasn't what I expected, but it was still a fine vessal of a story.It's a lot more entertaining than the sundance Indie. sh.. that has been popular lately. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelR.Jul 23, 2006
It's interesting to me that people either strongly like or strongly dislike this movie. There is much more to LITW than meets the eye. This "Story" is clearly a very personal offering about MNS himself and the inspired muses who he It's interesting to me that people either strongly like or strongly dislike this movie. There is much more to LITW than meets the eye. This "Story" is clearly a very personal offering about MNS himself and the inspired muses who he feels (rightly) are sent to him from God. Would that we all felt such a sense of responsibility for those things we are blessed with, temporal and spiritual. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EricH.Jul 23, 2006
Fun summer movie, definitely better than how the critics are portraying it. Although some parts did seem a bit self-indulgent, the overall effect of the movie imparted that same magical feel that the best of MNS' works possess. Great Fun summer movie, definitely better than how the critics are portraying it. Although some parts did seem a bit self-indulgent, the overall effect of the movie imparted that same magical feel that the best of MNS' works possess. Great escapist experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
A.BryanJul 23, 2006
Very charming story, however M's choice to play the role he did came across as very pretentious. Overwise enjoyable, Paul Giamanti as always did a wonderful job!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JulietteJul 24, 2006
Simply a very good movie!!. you must see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ElginB.Jul 25, 2006
Frankly, I think this movie was just a big F.U. to Shyamalan's critics, and not just with the film critic character. In fact, the movie breaks lots of "rules" filmmakers and other storytellers are supposed to follow. The characters are Frankly, I think this movie was just a big F.U. to Shyamalan's critics, and not just with the film critic character. In fact, the movie breaks lots of "rules" filmmakers and other storytellers are supposed to follow. The characters are thinly drawn and often stereotypical; the plot twists in the movie seem almost ad hoc and are often advanced by exposition instead of through action. Beyond that, Shyamalan has a lot of fun with his reputation by casting himself as a Messianic writer who's opus is entitled "The Cookbook"-- sounds like a reference to the Twilight Zone, to me. And, of course, there's the character of Farber himself who is made fun of in a much more overt fashion. Anyway, I think this movie was Shyamalan's attempt at showing that he can do everything the wrong way and STILL make an entertaining movie. The fact that he succeeds only shows how much of a true talent he is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZamF.Jul 25, 2006
Better than lost in traslation?, so far!!, that critics favorite boring movie in wich nothing happens, copy from a Japanese movie and they decided to give an oscar for being original?? ja, ja, Original script is Ladiy in the water, ( and not Better than lost in traslation?, so far!!, that critics favorite boring movie in wich nothing happens, copy from a Japanese movie and they decided to give an oscar for being original?? ja, ja, Original script is Ladiy in the water, ( and not boring ). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayE.Jul 25, 2006
M. Night Shyamalan's movies from this point out will all have a crippling flaw--they are not Sixth Sense. Any person who walks into a theater will expect a haunting thriller with a Big Twist at the end. When they see a heart-warming M. Night Shyamalan's movies from this point out will all have a crippling flaw--they are not Sixth Sense. Any person who walks into a theater will expect a haunting thriller with a Big Twist at the end. When they see a heart-warming though dark fairy tale with eccentric and interesting characters... they will be grossly dissapointed. What we have is a children's fairy tale that is told for the grownups, with dark visuals and off-beat characters with some very funny moments. We need to approach it as we approached the fairy tales of our youth. We know how to do that. What we have is a Tim Burton movie as told by M. Night Shyamalan. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KirinH.Jul 25, 2006
Heard the bad reviews and went to see it anyways. I liked it a lot. Of course, I loved Unbreakable and many hated that one too. I think he is a genios...who else can be that imaginative? At least it is not a rehash of everything else!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardD.Jul 25, 2006
[***SPOILER***] As an experienced movie viewer, and self-esteemed critic, compared to the other movies I've seen this year, (Pirates of the Carribean 2, The Omen, among others...) this movie was a breath of fresh air. Here's where[***SPOILER***] As an experienced movie viewer, and self-esteemed critic, compared to the other movies I've seen this year, (Pirates of the Carribean 2, The Omen, among others...) this movie was a breath of fresh air. Here's where it is different from those others...it was hilarious, it was of appropriate length, the acting was great (except for the girl who played story...she didn't really impress), the plot was involved and actually went somewhere. I hated this movie for it's lack of the trademark Shyamalan twist, and yet I loved every minute of it. This movie is not "The Sixth Sense 5" as many expected. This movie stands alone as a great work, and Paul Giamatti stands as one of my favorite actors of the day. For all the critics who say "Shyamalan just wanted to justify his own work by casting himself as a writer whose work will eventually influence a great leader of the future (forecasted by the narf)." Now, OK, I would have agree with those critics about that prior to seeing the movie, but now after watching it, I really think he's just giving a giant middle finger to those critics. And if directors are not allowed to make a movie of their own...not allowed to involve creative spirit in the process of making the movie, then we will be left with a myriad of movies just like The Omen...plastic, pre-packaged copies of the same movies over and over again. Justification? One of the characters of the Lady in the Water, Mr. Ferber, is a fervent, realistic movie critic. One of the finest lines of the movie comes directly from his mouth: "Originality doesn't exist in Hollywood anymore." Shyamalan just said in six words what I have rambled about for an eternity in this post - that he made an original movie. Show me a movie you think is related to this one, and I'll tell you how you are wrong. I stand by Shyamalan as one of the premier directors of today, picking up where Spielberg, Lucas, and other great directors of the past four decades have left off. (Honestly, what was the last good Spielberg flick you saw?) I am a creative mind, and I respect others with creative purpose. See any movie by Darren Aronofsky and you will agree (I can't wait to see the Fountain). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JeremyW.Jul 26, 2006
For the record: I loved "6th Sense" & "Signs", but hated "Unbreakable" & "The Village"--especially "The Village. So, that said, I was very skeptical when I paid my $10 to go see this movie. As it turned out, I was pleasantly surprised. This For the record: I loved "6th Sense" & "Signs", but hated "Unbreakable" & "The Village"--especially "The Village. So, that said, I was very skeptical when I paid my $10 to go see this movie. As it turned out, I was pleasantly surprised. This movie is not great, but it is entertaining. Most importantly, M.Night does not try to tack on some lame, completely implausible twist ending as in "The Village". He basically just made a bedtime story full of colorful characters and evil beasties. Compared to a lot of the other crap Hollywood has tried to force on us this Summer, this movie holds it's own around 7.0 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LarryH.Jul 26, 2006
A beautiful fairy tale that forces it's way into The Cove's reality. I don't understand why the critics are bashing this film. It's superb storytelling and great acting. Give me a film like this over the overly praised A beautiful fairy tale that forces it's way into The Cove's reality. I don't understand why the critics are bashing this film. It's superb storytelling and great acting. Give me a film like this over the overly praised Spiderman movies any day! Shyamalan is one of the best (if not the best) storytellers around. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AngelM.Jul 26, 2006
A powerful metaphor with a lot of heart -- which probably isn't what people expected or wanted from it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HeidiH.Jul 26, 2006
Garfield 2 better than this amazing movie?, come on Critics!, sometimes you are so absurd!, this Night's movie has all that I want to see in the theaters: Art, why are you so afraid to recognize it, giving the same opinion that others ( Garfield 2 better than this amazing movie?, come on Critics!, sometimes you are so absurd!, this Night's movie has all that I want to see in the theaters: Art, why are you so afraid to recognize it, giving the same opinion that others ( critics ). Open your eyes,,, mmm! and your mind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MireC.Jul 26, 2006
Good, amazing, original, I love this kind of suspense and the tales made for the kid inside of me always looking for surprises.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SGJul 27, 2006
Critics are incredibly stupid to rate this movie, which is a fairy tale told in modern symbols, as having a lack of logic. They didn't get it!! It's not meant to be taken seriously or to be a magic to modern life type Critics are incredibly stupid to rate this movie, which is a fairy tale told in modern symbols, as having a lack of logic. They didn't get it!! It's not meant to be taken seriously or to be a magic to modern life type story---it's a bed time story for childreren, and nothing more. I think they just don't know how to advertise his movies properly. The characters are all simple because they live inside of the director's "childeren' book" which apparantly he concocted for his own kids. The only one of his movies that should be examined under the logics of real life is 6th sense. The others, like this one, are just folk tales or fairy tales. Critics are a waste of space. This was not a bad movie, if you recognize that its a fairy tale for kids. He has some damn good atmpospher tricks that no other director has. nuff said. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MissL.Jul 27, 2006
Gosford park, lost in traslation, The new world are some of the critic's favorite movies, they gave them good reviews, they like boring stories with out feet niether heads, and I think they hate the Talented Mr. Night Shyamalan...but Gosford park, lost in traslation, The new world are some of the critic's favorite movies, they gave them good reviews, they like boring stories with out feet niether heads, and I think they hate the Talented Mr. Night Shyamalan...but ok, The lady is a great movie that must be seen for all who believe in art, creativity...well I almost believe He is our Alfred Hitchcok. And could be better!!. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AngelG.Jul 28, 2006
A very good option for this season not so commercial and more creative than others.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JenniferP.Jul 29, 2006
It's a fairy tale. I went into the theatre aware that this movie was going to be a fairy tale, and it was everything I expected it to be. This sort of movie is for the kind of person that believed all those bedtime stories as a child, It's a fairy tale. I went into the theatre aware that this movie was going to be a fairy tale, and it was everything I expected it to be. This sort of movie is for the kind of person that believed all those bedtime stories as a child, and still wants to to believe in them now. There are little nuances, touches of humanity and humour in the film that bring it to life and flesh out the characters. The professional, paid critics out there may have seen too many movies for this one to truly ring as it should. Who should watch it? The casual moviegoer, the dreamer, the person who is satisfied with a simple story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BellaF.Jul 29, 2006
Beautiful story, I like it more than Pirates and Superman, this was made with a lot of heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PhishLJul 29, 2006
Either you love it or hate it. i think we should watch it with an open mind, keeping in mind its a fairy tale. also its something different, not like all the other formulaic crap that comes out of hollywood's bowels every single day!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanN.Jul 31, 2006
Contrary to most of the media critics on here I actually enjoyed the movie. Part of the problem is that in the previews it was billed as a scary movie which it certainly is not. It's more fantasy than anything and should be viewed as Contrary to most of the media critics on here I actually enjoyed the movie. Part of the problem is that in the previews it was billed as a scary movie which it certainly is not. It's more fantasy than anything and should be viewed as such. Just relax and watch a decent bedtime story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimothyP.Aug 1, 2006
Best movie of 2006 so far...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JerrodE.Aug 10, 2006
I really cannot believe that critics would bash this. I dont think it would be much of a stretch to imagine their real reasoning is his blatant stab at movie critics in the film. I personally give the man props for standing up for himself, asI really cannot believe that critics would bash this. I dont think it would be much of a stretch to imagine their real reasoning is his blatant stab at movie critics in the film. I personally give the man props for standing up for himself, as well as constructing one hell of a bedtime story. Shyamalan killed with this one and everyone knows it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TrinityX.Aug 18, 2006
Does not need a long review, is simple, don't hate art or original expressions, relax, the time is not over for a happy ending. Good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickR.Aug 27, 2006
I think you have to be in the right mood to enjoy this movie. It's a fairy tail not hi-art. The critics should get over themselves. Totally enjoyed it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BelorekhaAug 5, 2006
At this decade for me Shyamalan is one of the best and amazing-talented young directors, all his films are so original, some seems have envy of this, see again Lady in the water fool critics, this require more appreciation!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikelG.Aug 5, 2006
I think that the fact that they had a scene were they savagely tore apart and killed a movie critic might be the reason that the eggocentric critics wrote bad reviews... Shyalaman probably new that they were gonna write a bad review. I I think that the fact that they had a scene were they savagely tore apart and killed a movie critic might be the reason that the eggocentric critics wrote bad reviews... Shyalaman probably new that they were gonna write a bad review. I personally loved they movie and I give 100 thumbs up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChacasAug 6, 2006
Thank you stupid critics who say this movie is silly ?, you are calling us silly to all this 60 or 70 percent- part of the audience who really liked and enjoyed this amazing tale, after all Shyamalan is making his films for us, not for you!, Thank you stupid critics who say this movie is silly ?, you are calling us silly to all this 60 or 70 percent- part of the audience who really liked and enjoyed this amazing tale, after all Shyamalan is making his films for us, not for you!, for you are dedicated his character of movie critic who is killed!!, je, je... ok. you offend our way of think. But dont going to stop us of going to the theaters to see it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArthurH.Aug 8, 2006
This picture is maybe the best of this year until now. Bryce and Giamatti are brilliant!, others must learn " this is a good suspense ". Lady will be on my mind for a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SalAAug 8, 2006
Beautifully crafted story. Shymalan is simply a master of storytelling, I have enjoyed all of his movies to date.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaisukeISep 8, 2006
An extraordinary good movie: original, fantastic, true, warmhearted. [***SPOILERS***] The encounter of an old myth and modern world is compelling. The roles were acted in a very natural way. Fun and drama were well balanced. The photography An extraordinary good movie: original, fantastic, true, warmhearted. [***SPOILERS***] The encounter of an old myth and modern world is compelling. The roles were acted in a very natural way. Fun and drama were well balanced. The photography was wonderful and so was the musical score. The message that people have forgotten to the listen to their inner voices is compelling. They have to do so again in order to stop the self destruction of mankind. This important and widely ignored truth is told here as a modern fairy tale. This is one of the best films I ever saw. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GenRJan 25, 2007
I really liked this movie. Much more than
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TrevorGJan 26, 2007
Like Derek P. already said....you really have to have an imagination to enjoy this film. If you do open up your imagination though, and decide to let the movie take you in.....you'll be pleasantly surprised. In my opinion this is up Like Derek P. already said....you really have to have an imagination to enjoy this film. If you do open up your imagination though, and decide to let the movie take you in.....you'll be pleasantly surprised. In my opinion this is up there with Shyamalan's best work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeterRJan 28, 2007
This is a something you'll love or hate, but there's no way it will leave you indifferent. That should be reason enough to give it a chance, what you might discover is an incredibly beautiful movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AngelaHAug 15, 2009
I am continually drawn to this work every time I stumble upon it on cable -- and no matter what I was doing or should be doing -- am drawn back into it without fail, like a moth -- or 'butterfly' -- to the flame. And I don't I am continually drawn to this work every time I stumble upon it on cable -- and no matter what I was doing or should be doing -- am drawn back into it without fail, like a moth -- or 'butterfly' -- to the flame. And I don't for the life of me understand the critics' near-universal negative response to this movie. It makes me think they perhaps deserve the just-desserts fate of the critic in the movie. I thought critics were usually enamored with originality, multi-layered narratives, and meditations on film and storytelling. That this movie is all of these is undeniable. That is also beautiful and magical in the extreme is also without doubt. Perhaps it is these two more 'feminine' attributes that are lacking in today's critics -- notably, still mostly male -- and that is why the near universal defiling of this work of a true original master. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LouPDec 22, 2006
This is a well-made, well-acted and fun movie. I don't know much about Shymalan, but its obvious that the critics have some preconceived dislike for the man and are not taking the movie on its own entertainment merits. It appears to me This is a well-made, well-acted and fun movie. I don't know much about Shymalan, but its obvious that the critics have some preconceived dislike for the man and are not taking the movie on its own entertainment merits. It appears to me that it is the critics and not Shyamalan who are taking themselves way too seriously. Just like the critic in the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdRMJul 21, 2006
Marvelous. SImply marvelous, if you open your head to a movie which is not mainstream by any movies. It is a piece of art and, as such, you have to comprehend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamiN.Jul 21, 2006
An incredible film, a poetic challenge to the audience. Better than 99% of Hollywood rubbish!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KimberlyG.Jul 21, 2006
This is not about a lady in the water, grass wolves or flying monkeys. It is simply about how a group of culturally diverse people come together to make something great happen!! It shows us that we as neighbors, no matter how young, how This is not about a lady in the water, grass wolves or flying monkeys. It is simply about how a group of culturally diverse people come together to make something great happen!! It shows us that we as neighbors, no matter how young, how emotionally broken or mentally ill can ban together to make a difference. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful