Lady in the Water

Lady in the Water Image
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 402 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 36
  2. Negative: 14 out of 36
  1. If the ultimate goal is entertainment, then Lady in the Water enthusiastically rises to the task. In a movie laden with enough symbolism, shamanism and mythic lore to make Joseph Campbell dance a tribal jig, Shyamalan never forgets to have fun.
  2. 58
    The man has gifts -- but acting and, it's increasingly clear, storytelling aren't among them.
  3. One of the more watchable films of the summer. A folly, true, but watchable.
  4. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    40
    Lady doesn't work. Although he detonates a few terrific frissons involving the scrunt, the stabs at comedy are lurching and arrant. The spreading of tension from one character to many dilutes the mood. The would-be rapturous Spielbergian ending is on the wussy side.
  5. 38
    This is sloppy filmmaking, and it's likely to wipe away whatever luster still remains to Shyamalan's reputation.
  6. 33
    If you're not a fan of M. Night Shyamalan's convoluted, teasing thrillers, you'll find that getting into this movie is like cracking a puzzle in which the constructor keeps breaking his own rules or grabbing new ones from ultra-thin air.
  7. Wall Street Journal
    Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    10
    This cloying piece of claptrap sets a high-water mark for pomposity, condescension, false profundity and true turgidity -- no small accomplishment for the man whose last two features were the deadly duo "Signs" and "The Village."

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 220
  1. FrankM.
    Jul 26, 2006
    10
    Giamatti was brilliant as usual. Will I go see it again in the theaters like I did Signs and The Village? -yes. Will I rent or buy the DVD Giamatti was brilliant as usual. Will I go see it again in the theaters like I did Signs and The Village? -yes. Will I rent or buy the DVD when it comes ou?t -yes of Couse!!. For me the creativy is the best. Expand
  2. DianaG.
    Aug 11, 2006
    10
    One of best this year, but not a movie for all kind of people ( critics for example ). A wonder tale, film made of heart.
  3. ShereefE.
    May 8, 2007
    10
    I believe the people reviewing this movie are too sick to understand the truthness of Night's movies. You all seem to judge Night's I believe the people reviewing this movie are too sick to understand the truthness of Night's movies. You all seem to judge Night's movies on the basis of them being Horror movies. BUT THEY ARE NOT HORROR MOVIES!! As some, who may sometimes be able to open their minds to new ideas, may have noticed, all of his films relate to a certain important topic on life: such as religion, self-hate, self-ignorance, society and it's corruption on people, and even politics. If one just looks at the trailer, thinking that Night takes on the Horror genre at full, and runs to watch a movie they hope will present headless ghouls, bloody beasts, gruesome monsters and all the like (IMO this type of horror film is disgusting, and it has evolved in the last 10 years devastatingly, perhaps to keep the people's minds off what is truly horrible in this world), it is only normal that they will be dissapointed. However, if one goes into the Theatre with a clear conscience on his mind, he will soon realise the pureness of the film. This review is not only for The VIllage, but also for all the other Night movies that I feel were undoubtedly underrated, such as The VIllage or Signs. Some people are unable to understand that Night does not undertake the Horror genre as his dominating genre, he simply uses it to spice up his film and make it slightly more enticing and eye-grabbing for the people. And again, one must always remember that the horror genre has moved to heights that were before unimaginable. So to compre Night's horror with these new horrors would be to compare something non-comparable. That is all I have to say. I hope you will take this review seriously, and remember that I am not writing this review in hate towards the mainstream reviews, but simply in anger towards how they rate such movies that do not comply to one genre alone. Peace to you all. Expand
  4. CynthiaL.
    Jul 27, 2006
    8
    I found the movie entertaining. A story, that kept my attention to the very end. I think the critics wanted this movie to fail. They were I found the movie entertaining. A story, that kept my attention to the very end. I think the critics wanted this movie to fail. They were panning it before people got a chance to see it for themselves. Expand
  5. DanN.
    Jul 31, 2006
    7
    Contrary to most of the media critics on here I actually enjoyed the movie. Part of the problem is that in the previews it was billed as a Contrary to most of the media critics on here I actually enjoyed the movie. Part of the problem is that in the previews it was billed as a scary movie which it certainly is not. It's more fantasy than anything and should be viewed as such. Just relax and watch a decent bedtime story. Expand
  6. MitchM.
    Feb 25, 2007
    4
    I went into this film with a GREAT attitude, really wanting to get lost in this supernatural world, and enjoyed it out of the box. But ... I went into this film with a GREAT attitude, really wanting to get lost in this supernatural world, and enjoyed it out of the box. But ... as each scene dragged on, with more layers of incomprehensibly convoluted and voluminous dialogue that supposedly dilineated this "other world" ... my eyes became droopy, and I became snoozy, and suddenly I didn't care what was in the pool, or under the grass, or in the trees, or ... zzzzz. Expand
  7. MarkC.
    Jul 21, 2006
    0
    What a bunch of hooey! MNS has gone totally over the edge if he thinks this is at all 1) interesting, 2) intriguing, 3) scary, 4)other What a bunch of hooey! MNS has gone totally over the edge if he thinks this is at all 1) interesting, 2) intriguing, 3) scary, 4)other worldly. In fact, it's none of the above. It's just plain stupid and a complete waste of celluloid! MNS, it's time to try a new genre. Expand

See all 220 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.