Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: May 8, 2002
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 68 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
57
Mixed:
9
Negative:
2
WATCH NOW
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
amaraJan 22, 2012
Lagaan is a great movie and even surprised to know that it has cracked my GMAT Examination as well. I had joined Climb First for GMAT preparation and I met Mr. Vinod there who has cleared his examination. He advised me to prepare strategyLagaan is a great movie and even surprised to know that it has cracked my GMAT Examination as well. I had joined Climb First for GMAT preparation and I met Mr. Vinod there who has cleared his examination. He advised me to prepare strategy plan as per Lagaan movie. At Climb first, Vinod advised me that to crack GMAT Examination, 11 things are very important, same like 11 members in a team. 1. Quant, 2. English, 3. Analytical Writing Assessment,
4. Level of Difficulty 1 & 2, 5. Keep in Mind about different range of questions, 6. Time Management, 7. Stress Management, 8. Shortlisting of Universities, 9. Tips for Interview, 10. I should justify why I want to do MBA, 11. Where I see myself after MBA. These are the 11 things. If we can coordinate and club all these 11, then we can make it as a team and can hit the goal. I really appreciate Vinod whom I met at Climb First to give these tips I applied and cleared my GMAT. I got a score of 730 in GMAT.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
AnujaS.May 16, 2002
Classic David vs Goliath movie. Absolute entertainment!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SydneySJun 6, 2005
Fantastic movie with amazing songs that you'll never get bored of listening to. Plot is sound, and though trivializes some of the issues in colonial india, is accurate in other respects and is an overall good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BridgetM.Sep 9, 2002
It has everything you could want in a film plus managing to make cricket exciting!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShabazzOct 8, 2003
This is an excellent movie it played out the perfect way with the lead character ending up with the women of his life time and the musicals are still playing in my head it is an epic, it shows another side of the world duiring lesser timesThis is an excellent movie it played out the perfect way with the lead character ending up with the women of his life time and the musicals are still playing in my head it is an epic, it shows another side of the world duiring lesser times and makes you feel as though you wish you were there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CathyV.Jan 23, 2004
Wonderfull movie. First movie from India I have seen and am excited about seeing more movies like this one. The music is rythmicly seductive into standing up and dancing. The lyrics are inspiring and heart marming. The caracters are more Wonderfull movie. First movie from India I have seen and am excited about seeing more movies like this one. The music is rythmicly seductive into standing up and dancing. The lyrics are inspiring and heart marming. The caracters are more than easy to fall in love with. You forget it is a movie and all of a sudden you are there. I can only hope to find the DVD online to purchase and watch all the time. Last but not least, even my music loving 4 year old boy loves it and sings along. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
qayyumy.Mar 5, 2005
Good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
margaritaJul 31, 2005
Brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RD.Oct 10, 2006
Brilliant movie. Aamir Khan rocks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SidP.May 18, 2007
One of the finest movies ever produced in India.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CandiceW.Oct 16, 2002
Most refreshing movie in ages.. Long yes, but how many times does a good movie leave you wanting more? A movie that takes time helps you experience it more.. how climatic would a 20 minute sports event be? [Ed: ***Potential Spoilers****] I Most refreshing movie in ages.. Long yes, but how many times does a good movie leave you wanting more? A movie that takes time helps you experience it more.. how climatic would a 20 minute sports event be? [Ed: ***Potential Spoilers****] I was thrilled that Bhuvan stayed with Gauri.. I sympathized with Elizabeth but was far more rooting for Gauri.. it's about time a movie shows a guy sticking with someone from his home town than "the new exotic one"! I was confused at the end when the narrator said elizabeth remained Bhutans Radje(sp), as I didn't see Bhutan ever show any love towards Elizabeth, and was pleased! Elizabeth's love was not necessarily anything special.. it's always easy to fall in love with a good man, esp if there are so few around. So what if the chinese hated crouchingtiger and the Indians hated this movie.. our countries aren't known for having the same values-Why would we like the same movies? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]May 14, 2002
It's a hindi movie which are known to be long...if you overlook that you can see this as a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DerekH.Jul 29, 2002
Splendid entertainment, if a tad long. The rich (admittedly textbook) characters bring fullness to the story, propelling it along. Remiscent of "Rocky" in an odd, appealing way. Sensational cinematography, with some catchy musical numbers Splendid entertainment, if a tad long. The rich (admittedly textbook) characters bring fullness to the story, propelling it along. Remiscent of "Rocky" in an odd, appealing way. Sensational cinematography, with some catchy musical numbers ("Mitwa" is still going through my head). A healthy exposure to Bollywood film-making. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidJ.Jul 7, 2002
A visually gorgeous extravaganza. The music and dance does not seem forced or tacked on. The best movie of the summer. Never boring, even at 4 hours.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ValerieOct 14, 2003
This was an excellent movie. I kept looking at the clock, dreading that it was approaching time for this movie to end. This is the type of movie you have in your library.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JigarD.Jun 15, 2003
One of the best Indian movies to come out in a long long time. Lagaan is a celebration of what drives us Indians mad- Cricket . It may be hard to digest for those of u not used to the Bollywood way of film making - espescially the length , One of the best Indian movies to come out in a long long time. Lagaan is a celebration of what drives us Indians mad- Cricket . It may be hard to digest for those of u not used to the Bollywood way of film making - espescially the length , But i felt this movie really crosses borders. If you have watched cricket , Lagaan is a must see movie primarily because it makes you feel like you are in the match. Makes you understand why you are so passionate about the silly game in the first place. Okay so the ending was predictible but it was a great 3.5 hour experience to get there. If you haven't watched cricket in your life - Watch the movie. Maybe you'll become like a billion other crazy Indians and fall for the game. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TanjaJ.Apr 20, 2004
Absolutely gorgeous! Watch it!! - I did (6 times). ;)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomE.Jan 18, 2005
This movie is pure and compelling entertainment. My first Bollywood movie is now one of my all-time favorites. The songs do pop up out of nowhere, but they are also wonderful music with exciting choreography. The drama is powerful, the This movie is pure and compelling entertainment. My first Bollywood movie is now one of my all-time favorites. The songs do pop up out of nowhere, but they are also wonderful music with exciting choreography. The drama is powerful, the characters are strong, and the romance, humor and the cricket match are all enjoyably presented. This is a movie for fans of all ages. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatC.Apr 15, 2005
Long, melodramatic, hypothetical & predictable. But it still works because of its skillful presentation of emotional ploys, and its persistence in violating fundamental editing conventions to achieve total immersion in its experience - it Long, melodramatic, hypothetical & predictable. But it still works because of its skillful presentation of emotional ploys, and its persistence in violating fundamental editing conventions to achieve total immersion in its experience - it has a feel similar to Fiddler On The Roof in that regard. While its unhurried pace reflects elements of hindu culture, it doesn't come across as alien. If presented as a mini-series, the pace would have been familiar. Watch it over a few sittings, and enjoy the delightful musical numbers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ganeshv.May 22, 2005
Very good movie... great story... great songs... a movie about confidence and determination... very inspiring... i'm a big fan of cricket and the game in the movie was well choreographed and was as exciing as a real odi cricket game... Very good movie... great story... great songs... a movie about confidence and determination... very inspiring... i'm a big fan of cricket and the game in the movie was well choreographed and was as exciing as a real odi cricket game... it was nominated for academy as best foreign film... deserbed to win but unfortunately didn't... but still a great job!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AbyB.Mar 5, 2006
Very well made, Exciting and very bold to make a film like in indian market which eventually clicked!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SabineE.Jan 7, 2007
I loved the movie, it is one of the few Bollywood movies I have seen and it is by far the best. I would rate it much much better than what Hollywood churns out today. I could watch it over and over-I especially enjoyed listening to the I loved the movie, it is one of the few Bollywood movies I have seen and it is by far the best. I would rate it much much better than what Hollywood churns out today. I could watch it over and over-I especially enjoyed listening to the soundtrack. Well done! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeskaE.Aug 15, 2002
I loved the movie! I noticed that it didn't seem to end, but it didn't bother me (I had nothing else to do). But anyway, I hardley noticed how long it was because I was caught up in it and I enjoyed it so much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Aug 18, 2002
"Lagaan" gets away with so much. Example: Elizabeth(Rachel Shelley) has fallen in love with Bhuvan(Aamir Khan) and is in the process of telling him so, but stops short by retreating from Hindi when she gets to the revolutionary declaration. "Lagaan" gets away with so much. Example: Elizabeth(Rachel Shelley) has fallen in love with Bhuvan(Aamir Khan) and is in the process of telling him so, but stops short by retreating from Hindi when she gets to the revolutionary declaration. She tells him, "I've fallen in love with you," in English. It's so old-fashioned but there's such an earnestness in Shelley's face and voice, you feel her ache. And since Khan looks like a matinee idol from the old Hollywood studio system, his occupation of the screen as a romantic male lead isn't an anachorism because his Tony Curtis visage was made for such unabashed overtures. If there is a flaw in "Lagaan", it's this: We like Elizabeth so much, our rooting interest might be for her as Bhuvan's future wife. That's probably not what Ashutosh Gowariker intended. But his film is crossing oceans and an American audience might like Elizabeth better than Gauri. But there are many things people of all persuasions can agree on. The musical numbers are wonderful. The cricket match sets a new standard in the filming of a sport. And the running time is not a problem. Don't miss this opportunity to learn a little something about the Bombay film industry. "Lagaan" is a honest-to-goodness feel-good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NitikaK.Nov 22, 2003
Too good for a bollywood movie...undoubtedly one of the best churned out by the industry so far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GayathriMay 18, 2006
Extremely good. It was perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Annoymous1Jan 10, 2013
The best Indian movie by Amir Khan and well deserving. This movie should have already won a Oscar! The start is funny and during the play all those dramatic moments are great! This tale is about courage and teamwork and must be watched andThe best Indian movie by Amir Khan and well deserving. This movie should have already won a Oscar! The start is funny and during the play all those dramatic moments are great! This tale is about courage and teamwork and must be watched and even though it is 3 hours it is definetly worth it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews