Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Aug 15, 2014
    91
    Katz, who has been saddled with the deadly label "mumblecore" in the past, and Stephens ("Pilgrim Song") combine sensibilities of dry wit and warm earnestness in precise proportions. It's also further proof, if it were needed, that smart, funny, entertaining films are always around, even in the dog days of summer. You just have to know where to look.
  2. Reviewed by: Diane Garrett
    Jul 16, 2014
    90
    A balm for the harried soul, Land Ho! is part travelogue, part therapy session. Watching it could inspire you to call an old friend or book a trip to an exotic locale. Maybe both.
  3. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Aug 14, 2014
    88
    Land Ho! is a hot spring of a movie: It fizzes a lot, and you come out feeling better than you went in.
  4. Reviewed by: Glenn Kenny
    Jul 11, 2014
    88
    In movies, there’s “character driven,” and then there’s “CHARACTER driven.” Earl Lynn Nelson, who plays one of the two lead roles in Land Ho! a truly disarming and beguiling movie, seems from all indications to be an all-caps character.
  5. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Apr 22, 2014
    88
    That the filmmakers consistently catch the nuances of character that bind the two men to each other, rather than simply tracing the pros and cons of their dispositions, is what gives the film its melancholic yet vibrant resonance.
  6. Reviewed by: Daniel Fienberg
    May 22, 2014
    83
    It's a funny and moving film about aging, but it's also a wacky journey across Iceland with two characters who are instantly likable and ultimately quite lovable.
  7. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jan 27, 2014
    83
    Treasuring small victories and mood above all else, Land Ho! makes it possible to engage with its subjects' pathos and experience their sense of renewal along with them.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jul 26, 2014
    4
    It's a comedy, at least it is supposed to be.
    Two 60+ ex-brothers-in-law who used to be married to two sisters go to see Iceland.
    Good
    cinematography.
    Some delicate scenes, done masterfully. But many more dull dialogs. A few laughs. When I left the theater I felt disappointed.
    Full Review »