User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 152 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 152
  2. Negative: 51 out of 152
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 3, 2012
    2
    If you're looking for fun **** this is your zombie movie. If you want decent film-making, stay away. This movie is garbage to anyone expecting anything remotely serious.
  2. Nov 30, 2014
    0
    Its s***. I guess they ran out of ideas so they came up with thinking zombies. What a load of c***. Story is horrible, actors are horrible and the entire movie is one giant waste of time.
  3. Mar 30, 2015
    0
    Terrible terrible terrible movie, don't watch it. I know you are here because you love walking dead and you are looking for zombie movies to hold you over for the next season but DON"T WATCH THIS MOVE. Its stupid and not in a fun way.
  4. Mar 3, 2012
    1
    A brainless 95 minute poetry reading where a zombie movie should've been.
  5. Jun 8, 2014
    0
    That´s the worst Zombie production I have ever seen. Brainless, boring script, cheap story. Please: WHO gives that production more than 1 point. I really don´t understand that.
  6. hansc.
    Nov 24, 2005
    1
    This film sucks, very bad acting and dialog.
  7. DavidM.
    Dec 2, 2005
    2
    One of the worst movies I've ever seen. The only reason this movie got good reviews is because of Romero's reputation and the so called "satire" of democracy, completely overlooking the fact that the acting and plot were terrible. Just because you can find a few parallels between society and a plot does not make it good. If this was not a Romero film and wasn't expected to One of the worst movies I've ever seen. The only reason this movie got good reviews is because of Romero's reputation and the so called "satire" of democracy, completely overlooking the fact that the acting and plot were terrible. Just because you can find a few parallels between society and a plot does not make it good. If this was not a Romero film and wasn't expected to have an underlying social commentary, this would've been seen as a stupid, chear horror movie. None of the actors had a real personality, and the dialogue was complete s... As for the people saying that it didn't rely on cliched scare tactics, I don't think zombies sneaking up on people in the dark is exactly the pinnacle of originality for the genre. If you think this movie is a smart horror film, you're an unintelligent personwho can only repeat ideas from other people without having a thought of your own. It probably makes you feel better about yourself, allowing you to forget for a short time that your IQ doesn't break 100. Expand
  8. TonyF.
    Jan 18, 2006
    1
    An outstanding acheivement of directorial ineptitude. Romero is a dried-up hack. I'm embarassed for him.
  9. ElliottM
    Jun 27, 2005
    4
    The commentary was blatant, the characters were shallow, and the ending was ambiguous to the point where it rendered the movie practically useless. Still, it was perfectly entertaining for an afternoon getaway. It just wasn't, you know, a good film. Not really at all - though there were some spectaculatr gore scenes which should please anyone that goes to see this kind of film. The commentary was blatant, the characters were shallow, and the ending was ambiguous to the point where it rendered the movie practically useless. Still, it was perfectly entertaining for an afternoon getaway. It just wasn't, you know, a good film. Not really at all - though there were some spectaculatr gore scenes which should please anyone that goes to see this kind of film. Still, these high marks from critics must be compliments of Romero's obvious, ultimately shallow commentary. Pretty disappointing. Expand
  10. Printninja
    Jun 27, 2005
    2
    I am amazed that a movie like Batman Begins got a lower rating then Land Of The Dead. This picture was a BOREFEST. I went in with such high expectations, too. I, for one, am tired of the whole rich vs poor, society is crumbling from within, message in horror/sci-fi movies. For those critics who feel this feat raised Land of the Dead above mediocre zombie fare, I have to disagree. This I am amazed that a movie like Batman Begins got a lower rating then Land Of The Dead. This picture was a BOREFEST. I went in with such high expectations, too. I, for one, am tired of the whole rich vs poor, society is crumbling from within, message in horror/sci-fi movies. For those critics who feel this feat raised Land of the Dead above mediocre zombie fare, I have to disagree. This movie, was easily the most boring horror flick I've ever seen. I think Return of the Sith held more suspense for me, and that's not saying much! NONE of the characters were worth caring about. Dennis Hopper wasn't nearly evil enough for the few implied killings he did. I mean, so what? John Leguizamo, while effective in almost any role he plays, was wasted in this movie. He was cleary running on empty with this script. The script, for that matter, borrowed from so many other movies... it was ghastly! Maybe it's me. Maybe I've just gotten too old to be scared by special effect guts being ripped apart & eaten, but then why did I enjoy last year's Dawn Of The Dead so much. One word: Suspense. Too bad George Romero forgot to put some in this latest outing. Expand
  11. p33t
    Jul 1, 2005
    1
    Good idea with no follow through. i have to preface by saying im a HUGE fan of the zombie flick genre. and the premiss of this movie had promiss. but that was it. ever other aspect fell short if not missed completely. in a world gone wrong we have a cast of well dressed GQ-esque street people...not buying it. worst makeup, indoor outdoor sets.....GG BLOOD SPLATTER?!?!?! come on! im sorry, Good idea with no follow through. i have to preface by saying im a HUGE fan of the zombie flick genre. and the premiss of this movie had promiss. but that was it. ever other aspect fell short if not missed completely. in a world gone wrong we have a cast of well dressed GQ-esque street people...not buying it. worst makeup, indoor outdoor sets.....GG BLOOD SPLATTER?!?!?! come on! im sorry, the was NO substance to this movie. it wasnt even good in a bad way. it was like Disney meets NotLD. oh one thing WAS done right though...the zombies move slowly again. hence the score of 1. a movie to avoid if you want to hold on to the memory of the zombie movie genre. Expand
  12. Gpsippy
    Jun 24, 2005
    4
    Which film are these people watching? The gore was juicy and fun. The politics were shallow and slapping you in the head like an 11th grade Marxism thesis. The acting was laughable, especially coming from the Big Bubba zombie growling through dentures. The movie has little of the cinematic feel of past Romero efforts (Martin is 10x better), and most reminds me of Ghosts of Mars, in terms Which film are these people watching? The gore was juicy and fun. The politics were shallow and slapping you in the head like an 11th grade Marxism thesis. The acting was laughable, especially coming from the Big Bubba zombie growling through dentures. The movie has little of the cinematic feel of past Romero efforts (Martin is 10x better), and most reminds me of Ghosts of Mars, in terms of a past horror master going through the motions with a Sci-Fi channel budget. Expand
  13. matt
    Jun 27, 2005
    2
    This movie sucked. i can't believe it got a rating of 74. it must be out of respect for romero. this is total b-movie crap, something you'd see on the sci-fi channel.
  14. DD
    Jun 27, 2005
    3
    I'm a fanboy of this type of movie, but this was pretty poor. Smart zombie? Why is he groaning so much? Why am I laughing at him groaning? The cameos of actors that were in other zombie movies were not fun to watch, they were pathetic and pulled fans out of the narrative. All the basic character types are here, and it's topped with plenty of obvious death scenes. A kid wearing a I'm a fanboy of this type of movie, but this was pretty poor. Smart zombie? Why is he groaning so much? Why am I laughing at him groaning? The cameos of actors that were in other zombie movies were not fun to watch, they were pathetic and pulled fans out of the narrative. All the basic character types are here, and it's topped with plenty of obvious death scenes. A kid wearing a walkman in the middle of the night while on zombie patrol? A military force that can be overtaken in less than a minute? No realism. No fright. No elaboration on the futility of the situation. Romero throws in a "Live and Let Live" idea at the end of this that is so forced it's laughable. It just pops up at the end - no previous mention of it - no scenes to build up to it. It was like there were a few seeds of interest, and then they were lost. We never really see fiddler's greene. The little I saw looked like a mall. Ya-hoo. If this is the crux of the story, the lavish life taking place there should be pushed home. Expand
  15. Jaimak
    Jun 28, 2005
    3
    I'm a big zombie fan, and I was looking forward to this, after all it's a return to the genre by the man who started it all right? Well, it wound up being boring, poorly paced and not all that interesting. Let alone scary. I was really quite disappointed. Last year's remake of "Dawn of the Dead" rocked this movie's face.
  16. isaacxx
    Jul 19, 2005
    0
    Since the united states founding, more than 55 million immigrants from every continent have settled in the United States. In fact, with the exception of Native Americans, everyone living in this country is either an immigrant or the descendent of voluntary or involuntary immigrants. this romero movie is nothing but anti-mexican propaganda. from romeros point of view the solution to masive Since the united states founding, more than 55 million immigrants from every continent have settled in the United States. In fact, with the exception of Native Americans, everyone living in this country is either an immigrant or the descendent of voluntary or involuntary immigrants. this romero movie is nothing but anti-mexican propaganda. from romeros point of view the solution to masive imigration from the suth is this "just shoot them in the head." Expand
  17. JohnF.
    Jun 27, 2005
    1
    Not a very good zombie movie. Slow at points and to use the term "Masterpiece" to describe this movie is a crime.
  18. Marco
    Jan 18, 2006
    1
    Without exaggerating, this was the absolute worst movie I've seen in years. An inane commentary on how we, the living, have oppressed the poor, misunderstood zombies. That's not a joke. [***Spoiler***] The movie is about how the living need to stop being so hateful and judgemental... towards ZOMBIES! The underprivelaged humans make a necessary alliance with the brain-eating Without exaggerating, this was the absolute worst movie I've seen in years. An inane commentary on how we, the living, have oppressed the poor, misunderstood zombies. That's not a joke. [***Spoiler***] The movie is about how the living need to stop being so hateful and judgemental... towards ZOMBIES! The underprivelaged humans make a necessary alliance with the brain-eating undead because the two have a common enemy, a much greater threat... CAPTALISM! I can't even make this stuff up! This is really Romero's movie: a treatise on fleah-eating bolshevism. Even as I type it I can barely even believe it. I gave it a "1" instead of a "0" only because it ended. Expand
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    90
    George A. Romero shows 'em how it's done in Land of the Dead, resurrecting his legendary franchise with top-flight visuals, terrific genre smarts and tantalizing layers of implication.
  2. The latest installment could well be Romero's masterpiece. Taking full advantage of state-of-the-art makeup and visual effects, he has a more vivid canvas at his disposal, not to mention two decades worth of pent-up observations about American society.
  3. 63
    It's not startling or frightening enough.