Universal Pictures | Release Date: June 24, 2005
5.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 223 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
100
Mixed:
39
Negative:
84
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
jebus21May 3, 2012
If you're looking for fun **** this is your zombie movie. If you want decent film-making, stay away. This movie is garbage to anyone expecting anything remotely serious.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
0
Tessara_VejganNov 30, 2014
Its s***. I guess they ran out of ideas so they came up with thinking zombies. What a load of c***. Story is horrible, actors are horrible and the entire movie is one giant waste of time.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
daniel_Jun 8, 2014
That´s the worst Zombie production I have ever seen. Brainless, boring script, cheap story. Please: WHO gives that production more than 1 point. I really don´t understand that.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
mustard_tigerMar 30, 2015
Terrible terrible terrible movie, don't watch it. I know you are here because you love walking dead and you are looking for zombie movies to hold you over for the next season but DON"T WATCH THIS MOVE. Its stupid and not in a fun way.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
CooterPatooterMar 3, 2012
A brainless 95 minute poetry reading where a zombie movie should've been.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
hansc.Nov 24, 2005
This film sucks, very bad acting and dialog.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
DavidM.Dec 2, 2005
One of the worst movies I've ever seen. The only reason this movie got good reviews is because of Romero's reputation and the so called "satire" of democracy, completely overlooking the fact that the acting and plot were terrible. One of the worst movies I've ever seen. The only reason this movie got good reviews is because of Romero's reputation and the so called "satire" of democracy, completely overlooking the fact that the acting and plot were terrible. Just because you can find a few parallels between society and a plot does not make it good. If this was not a Romero film and wasn't expected to have an underlying social commentary, this would've been seen as a stupid, chear horror movie. None of the actors had a real personality, and the dialogue was complete s... As for the people saying that it didn't rely on cliched scare tactics, I don't think zombies sneaking up on people in the dark is exactly the pinnacle of originality for the genre. If you think this movie is a smart horror film, you're an unintelligent personwho can only repeat ideas from other people without having a thought of your own. It probably makes you feel better about yourself, allowing you to forget for a short time that your IQ doesn't break 100. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
TonyF.Jan 18, 2006
An outstanding acheivement of directorial ineptitude. Romero is a dried-up hack. I'm embarassed for him.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
PrintninjaJun 27, 2005
I am amazed that a movie like Batman Begins got a lower rating then Land Of The Dead. This picture was a BOREFEST. I went in with such high expectations, too. I, for one, am tired of the whole rich vs poor, society is crumbling from within, I am amazed that a movie like Batman Begins got a lower rating then Land Of The Dead. This picture was a BOREFEST. I went in with such high expectations, too. I, for one, am tired of the whole rich vs poor, society is crumbling from within, message in horror/sci-fi movies. For those critics who feel this feat raised Land of the Dead above mediocre zombie fare, I have to disagree. This movie, was easily the most boring horror flick I've ever seen. I think Return of the Sith held more suspense for me, and that's not saying much! NONE of the characters were worth caring about. Dennis Hopper wasn't nearly evil enough for the few implied killings he did. I mean, so what? John Leguizamo, while effective in almost any role he plays, was wasted in this movie. He was cleary running on empty with this script. The script, for that matter, borrowed from so many other movies... it was ghastly! Maybe it's me. Maybe I've just gotten too old to be scared by special effect guts being ripped apart & eaten, but then why did I enjoy last year's Dawn Of The Dead so much. One word: Suspense. Too bad George Romero forgot to put some in this latest outing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
p33tJul 1, 2005
Good idea with no follow through. i have to preface by saying im a HUGE fan of the zombie flick genre. and the premiss of this movie had promiss. but that was it. ever other aspect fell short if not missed completely. in a world gone wrong Good idea with no follow through. i have to preface by saying im a HUGE fan of the zombie flick genre. and the premiss of this movie had promiss. but that was it. ever other aspect fell short if not missed completely. in a world gone wrong we have a cast of well dressed GQ-esque street people...not buying it. worst makeup, indoor outdoor sets.....GG BLOOD SPLATTER?!?!?! come on! im sorry, the was NO substance to this movie. it wasnt even good in a bad way. it was like Disney meets NotLD. oh one thing WAS done right though...the zombies move slowly again. hence the score of 1. a movie to avoid if you want to hold on to the memory of the zombie movie genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
mattJun 27, 2005
This movie sucked. i can't believe it got a rating of 74. it must be out of respect for romero. this is total b-movie crap, something you'd see on the sci-fi channel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DDJun 27, 2005
I'm a fanboy of this type of movie, but this was pretty poor. Smart zombie? Why is he groaning so much? Why am I laughing at him groaning? The cameos of actors that were in other zombie movies were not fun to watch, they were pathetic I'm a fanboy of this type of movie, but this was pretty poor. Smart zombie? Why is he groaning so much? Why am I laughing at him groaning? The cameos of actors that were in other zombie movies were not fun to watch, they were pathetic and pulled fans out of the narrative. All the basic character types are here, and it's topped with plenty of obvious death scenes. A kid wearing a walkman in the middle of the night while on zombie patrol? A military force that can be overtaken in less than a minute? No realism. No fright. No elaboration on the futility of the situation. Romero throws in a "Live and Let Live" idea at the end of this that is so forced it's laughable. It just pops up at the end - no previous mention of it - no scenes to build up to it. It was like there were a few seeds of interest, and then they were lost. We never really see fiddler's greene. The little I saw looked like a mall. Ya-hoo. If this is the crux of the story, the lavish life taking place there should be pushed home. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JaimakJun 28, 2005
I'm a big zombie fan, and I was looking forward to this, after all it's a return to the genre by the man who started it all right? Well, it wound up being boring, poorly paced and not all that interesting. Let alone scary. I was I'm a big zombie fan, and I was looking forward to this, after all it's a return to the genre by the man who started it all right? Well, it wound up being boring, poorly paced and not all that interesting. Let alone scary. I was really quite disappointed. Last year's remake of "Dawn of the Dead" rocked this movie's face. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
isaacxxJul 19, 2005
Since the united states founding, more than 55 million immigrants from every continent have settled in the United States. In fact, with the exception of Native Americans, everyone living in this country is either an immigrant or the Since the united states founding, more than 55 million immigrants from every continent have settled in the United States. In fact, with the exception of Native Americans, everyone living in this country is either an immigrant or the descendent of voluntary or involuntary immigrants. this romero movie is nothing but anti-mexican propaganda. from romeros point of view the solution to masive imigration from the suth is this "just shoot them in the head." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JohnF.Jun 27, 2005
Not a very good zombie movie. Slow at points and to use the term "Masterpiece" to describe this movie is a crime.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MarcoJan 18, 2006
Without exaggerating, this was the absolute worst movie I've seen in years. An inane commentary on how we, the living, have oppressed the poor, misunderstood zombies. That's not a joke. [***Spoiler***] The movie is about how the Without exaggerating, this was the absolute worst movie I've seen in years. An inane commentary on how we, the living, have oppressed the poor, misunderstood zombies. That's not a joke. [***Spoiler***] The movie is about how the living need to stop being so hateful and judgemental... towards ZOMBIES! The underprivelaged humans make a necessary alliance with the brain-eating undead because the two have a common enemy, a much greater threat... CAPTALISM! I can't even make this stuff up! This is really Romero's movie: a treatise on fleah-eating bolshevism. Even as I type it I can barely even believe it. I gave it a "1" instead of a "0" only because it ended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful